More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome: 15.52%
Worth A Look58.62%
Average: 10.34%
Pretty Bad: 11.21%
Total Crap: 4.31%

6 reviews, 80 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Yesterday by Peter Sobczynski

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Analyze This
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Surprisingly witty, surprisingly sharp, dumb but fun."
4 stars

After years of trying, Billy Crystal has finally found a comedy to appear in that is actually funny. And who would have guessed that Robert De Niro could turn the usually hyper Crystal into a straight man?

Analyze This has got two things going for it. Robert De Niro and the writers. Crystal, though there's no doubt the guy has comedic talent, is pushed to the back seat as De Niro just eats up the screen in his role as a terminally depressed mobster who forces psychiatrist Crystal to be his doctor.

Okay, so De Niro has done the mobster thing a billion times, but he really brings a new element to his usual mobster schtick here, and quite frankly the guy gives a five star performance. He's funny, he's got the timing down, he doesn't piss around and from the opening scene, the lines coming from him are genuinely 'non De Niro'. The one area of contention is when De Niro has to break out in tears - overdone, overblow, unreal and the only patch on an otherwise top notch outing.

Crystal is all he needs to be. It's testimony to the guy that he didn't try to out-funny De Niro because a lesser comic (say Chris Tucker) would have ruined the film by doing so (a la Fifth Element).

The supports range from poor to excellent (Lisa Kudrow being strangely unfunny and Joe Viterelli being uncharacteristically superb, Chazz Palminteri is completely toilet, but really he's never anything but) and the plot is relatively hole-free, in as much as you'd care to break it down.

The thing is, this is certainly not the comedy classic of our time, or even a repeat viewer, it's simply a funny flick that won't press you to think too much.

The ending of the film is somewhat of a let-down, but only because what precedes it runs so well. Harold Ramis has to take the blame for some sloppy direction here and there, but overall the end product is sound enough to get by, especially if the audience is big.

Take out the over-crying, any scene involving Kudrow and the occasional over-worked joke and what you have is five stars all over. But, with all the above included, a four star rating is about right. Definitely not a waste of your money.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1239&reviewer=1
originally posted: 03/08/99 03:16:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell very funny forget the haters 4 stars
4/08/13 PAUL SHORTT SLICK, SMART SATISFYING COMEDY WITH A GREAT STAR PERFORMANCE 4 stars
8/25/10 art WHO NEED"S THIS? 1 stars
8/19/09 Jeff Wilder Quite funny even if the premise isn't as novel as it thinks it is. 4 stars
8/23/07 Quigley De Niro and Crystal have great chemistry. One of the funniest movies I've seen in a while 5 stars
11/04/06 bobby tired ethnic comedy vehicle. Crystal is typical shmatza and DeNiro stooped to this? 2 stars
3/16/04 mr mister funny as hell, when will they make one called "analyze deez nutz? 5 stars
2/20/04 Agent Sands A contemporary classic; hilarious, well-acted, well-written. 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Crystal is only bright spot in this pandering-down-to comedy. 2 stars
12/31/02 Jake entertaining and at times amusing but quite forgettable and mediocre 3 stars
11/21/02 chris why the hell are they making a sequal to this crap??!! 2 stars
4/27/02 Le Chemin Moins Suivi Good cans wasted in lame misfire. 2 stars
2/10/02 Andrew Carden Other Then Funny Performances, This Film Is Stupid and Quite Confusing. 2 stars
1/12/02 R.W. Welch Slightly absurdist take on the Mafia, works pretty well most of the time. 4 stars
9/11/01 Butterbean Drags at the end. DeNiro was cute as he bursts out crying while cursing out Crystal 3 stars
8/29/01 Gary Kudrow gets typecast, Billy does Woody & DeNiro cries. That's how unsubtle this satire is. 2 stars
4/04/01 radium I liked Joe Viterelli (Jelly) here. Absolutely ripping. 4 stars
4/02/01 The Bomb 69 Deniro was good as always but there were only a few laughs 3 stars
2/16/01 James Not a bad film. VERY interesting main premise, but not totally believable. 3 stars
11/20/00 Matthew Bartley Very funny although it seemed to drag a bit 4 stars
10/13/00 Jason decent...see it if there isn't a symphony in town 4 stars
10/13/00 Josh I must have missed the funny parts.... 3 stars
10/02/00 Madoc69 De Niro proves he can do comedy with the best of them 4 stars
9/26/00 Sully not funny at all...in fact - one of the most boring comedy's I've ever seen 1 stars
9/25/00 Muhammad not that good 3 stars
9/24/00 Jed Quite possibly the best thing for deniro/crystal. 5 stars
5/04/00 Elvisfan Very funny! 4 stars
4/10/00 Richard Wright Amusing, but having a more believable plot would have helped. Enjoyable, very forgettable. 3 stars
2/25/00 fire-n-ice funny!!! i laughed my ass off!!! 5 stars
12/30/99 hum simple but funny. see it on video when you want something funny but dont want to think 3 stars
9/27/99 Brian Most notable: DeNiro giving a deathly funny performance all while playing it very straight. 4 stars
8/03/99 dbx yawn. 1 stars
8/02/99 JimBob ok movie, but not the blockbuster it was made out to be 3 stars
7/29/99 PRM Loved it, Deniro great as always 4 stars
7/24/99 jvt One-note, nothing special 3 stars
7/23/99 Geoff Stang Sucked and thats it. funny in parts but as a whole it blew. 2 stars
6/28/99 Ricardo In spite of Billy Crystal it's pure fun but the idea could be better explored 4 stars
6/26/99 David It's real funny, what more do you want? 4 stars
6/13/99 Costars Serious solution to depression! 4 stars
5/29/99 Voyant For once, an original comedy. 5 stars
5/07/99 Diptherio I HATE THAT GIRL FROM FRIENDS 1 stars
4/30/99 Derf Ttoille Deniro, Crystal --- 'nough said! 5 stars
4/17/99 Dan Moore Deniro's crying scenes was one of the only times that I cringed at his acting ability. 4 stars
4/13/99 little jerry Entertaining flick.Loved DeNiro sobbing on the ground while Crystal went"Bang,Bang". 4 stars
4/12/99 Randall See it once, not as good with repeated viewing 4 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo For once Billy Crystal didn't get on my damned nerves, Deniro rocks! 4 stars
4/10/99 Bob Is there any way for me to get these 2 hours of my life back? 1 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder I expected more from the man who brought us Animal House, Ghostbusters, and Groundhog Day. 4 stars
4/09/99 Meepos This was a good fun flick. Some iffy spots, but well worth seeing. 4 stars
4/08/99 Bob, Lord of Evil Sometimes movies only need to be fun to earn... 4 stars
4/07/99 Geoffrey T. Spaulding THIS MOVIE WAS FUCKING AWESOME! DENIRO IS FUNNY AS HELL! 5 stars
4/01/99 Blubberbot I didn't hate it! 3 stars
3/31/99 The Graduate Fun flick. De Niro's a great sport to indulge in self-parody like this. 4 stars
3/28/99 Robert Deniro I'm gonna wack all the fucks that didn't give my movie 5 stars 5 stars
3/27/99 Technorama Gangsters and comedy, now's that a good blend! 4 stars
3/26/99 Film Review Definately the funniest movie in years. 4 stars
3/24/99 jvt One note and ridiculous, but not without laughs 3 stars
3/21/99 Daddy Rich Funniest movie since Rush Hour. DeNiro is very funny and a hard ass at the same time. 5 stars
3/19/99 Daria Finally, a good Billy Crystal movie... 4 stars
3/18/99 Heather You will like this movie, yes you do! 5 stars
3/18/99 S.B. Glowinski DeNiro and Crystal are just hysterical together. I laughed till I wetted myself. 5 stars
3/18/99 Scott Stipe Really Good, Crystal and Dinero have good chemistry 5 stars
3/17/99 Mr Showbiz Crystal's back in good form. He wisely underplays and makes for a great foil. 4 stars
3/16/99 Alexis Worth a look 4 stars
3/15/99 Matt worth your 7 bucks 4 stars
3/14/99 Malbert Disappointing... 4 stars
3/13/99 Cool Thing De Niro's funniest role ever, Crystal's best for a while. 5 stars
3/13/99 Sarah Smith Funny movie 4 stars
3/12/99 Jeff HOUN funny movie, crystal/deniro very entertaining 4 stars
3/12/99 Chuckeye Funny without slipping into slapstick 4 stars
3/10/99 Ah Dooey If you're bored, then this is the type of movie you oughta see. The best! 4 stars
3/08/99 Kozmic Comedy mafia movies seem to always work.Crystal had to do the straight lines he isn't funny 4 stars
3/08/99 Josée Go see it if you're depressed. It's a really good therapy! 5 stars
3/06/99 Mike Rotch DeNiro and Crystal rule this movie! 4 stars
3/01/99 Ken This movie was GREAT. Loved the scene where Billy Crystal does the Dinero impression 5 stars
2/27/99 Viral Messiah De Niro's the best! He's awesome! 4 stars
2/12/99 Kirgo1 good moments 4 stars
2/03/99 The Dude So fucking great-Oh how I love this in the mornining 5 stars
2/03/99 Lindsay One of the funniest films I've ever seen. DeNiro and Crystal are fabulous! 5 stars
1/25/99 Dark Horizons Good Will Hunting meets Goodfellas on laughing gas 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Mar-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  14-May-1999

Australia
  11-Mar-1999


Directed by
  Harold Ramis

Written by
  Ken Lonergan
  Phoef Sutton

Cast
  Robert De Niro
  Billy Crystal
  Lisa Kudrow
  Kyle Sabihy
  Molly Shannon
  Max Casella



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast