More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.81

Awesome: 26.67%
Worth A Look: 3.33%
Average: 23.33%
Pretty Bad: 17.78%
Total Crap28.89%

7 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Adventures of Shark Boy and Lava Girl in 3-D, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Lybarger

"You don’t need the 3D glasses to see the flaws."
3 stars

I deeply admire Robert Rodriguez for the same reason I admire Roger Corman. When their movies are good (Rodriguez’s “El Mariachi,” “Spy Kids” and “Sin City” and Corman’s stylish Poe adaptations), they are terrific and clearly made with love. The filmmakers’ devotion to their craft trumped their microscopic budgets. And when their films are bad, you can at least feel relief knowing that nobody paid much for them.

That comforting thought makes it easier to sit through Rodriguez’s latest “The Adventures of Shark Boy & Lava Girl in 3-D.” The multi-tasking filmmaker has outsourced the story to his seven-year-old son Racer Rodriguez, and the lad has clearly inherited his dad’s dense imagination.

In the make-believe planet Drool, where the title characters live, people have to dodge the evil Mr. Electric (George Lopez) and his army of plughounds (dogs with extension chord heads). They also can sail down the Stream of Consciousness (you see lots of brains floating around) or see a different take on milk and cookies.

The eye candy that father and son create would actually be nicer to watch without the 3-D effects. Because of the positioning of the red and blue lenses in the glasses, the colors look flat, and eyestrain starts kicking in.

Unfortunately, Racer also has his father’s occasionally sloppy storytelling (Robert, of course, polished the script). The main plotline features an imaginative lad named Max (Cayden Boyd) who gets bullied by his classmate Linus (Jacob Davis) because Max insists his superhero pals Shark Boy (Taylor Lautner) and Lava Girl (Taylor Dooley) are real.

His skeptical teacher Mr. Electricidad (Lopez) doesn’t do much to help the lad, and his parents (Kristen Davis and David Arquette) do little but argue with each other. Before Max can get too upset, his pals show up and take him to Drool to save the planet.

It’s hard to tell what the Rodriguez family intended to convey with the film. The “Spy Kids” movies were able to stress the importance of family without getting preachy. With jarring changes in tone and sketchy characters in “Shark Boy and Lava Girl,” it’s hard to tell why people (and imaginary creatures) are behaving the way they do or to be interested in their welfare. Having Lautner abruptly break into awful song doesn’t help things proceed.

The cast seem to be struggling with the effects that they can’t see during shooting, and some look confused, bored or (in Lopez’s case) competing with the special effects.

Because Robert Rodriguez’s quick and cheap techniques, he’s more likely to come back with something more worthy of his talents. It’s a shame that viewers have discovered Racer Rodriguez’s talents before he’s really had a chance to develop them.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12429&reviewer=382
originally posted: 06/12/05 12:03:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/23/09 Erika I really liked this movie!!!!It was awesome and i wished they would of made a second movie 5 stars
9/10/08 lil jj i like the movie 5 stars
4/21/08 katelyn i love the songs best but i still love the movie 5 stars
3/24/08 Vanessa I really like the song 5 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK As a film critic, i had to see it. Was Rodriguez High when he thought of this? 1 stars
4/18/07 David Pollastrini Great fx 2 stars
2/15/07 Kristin Stefankiewicz I have an idea for Shark boy and lava girl 2 5 stars
12/31/06 ron steven beautiful movie 5 stars
12/17/06 Danielle santos this movie was so cool i loved ie so much. 5 stars
7/07/06 drydock54321 totally boring 1 stars
5/17/06 Paoal Gonzalez shark boy u are so hot!!!!!!!!!!but I relly did not like the movie 3 stars
4/16/06 Jackie I expected more from the guy who made Spy Kids. Great job Rodreguiz. 2 thumbz way...down! 1 stars
4/08/06 mattew grice i think that sharkboy and lavagirl is the best film i have ever seen 5 stars
2/28/06 someone who HASNT SEEN THIS MOVIE ITS THE BIGGEST LOAD OF CRAP IVE EVER SEEN. AND I HAVNT EVEN SEEN IT 1 stars
2/28/06 someone who hates sharkboy and lavagirl 3d WORST CRAP IVE EVER SEEN THIS MAKES SESAME STREET LOOK AWESOME 1 stars
2/25/06 dupadoit cool 5 stars
2/24/06 kay valentine i want meet with you 5 stars
10/28/05 Jonathon Holmes Rodriguez should be ashamed of himself 1 stars
10/20/05 leanne i thing this movie is the best movie ever 5 stars
10/11/05 Tom Burns Cool scenery, not the best story though. 4 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands Rodriguez's son is going to hate him when he's older. WHO THE FUCK LET HIM MAKE THIS MOVIE? 1 stars
10/08/05 Teya love it 5 stars
10/06/05 pinhead groovy to the max 5 stars
9/22/05 tatum Robert, every LSD trip does not deserve a film... 1 stars
9/22/05 Fritz The kids couldn't even sit through it. Terrible. 1 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes Rodriguez should be ashamed of himself 1 stars
9/04/05 homeboy gotta love it 5 stars
9/04/05 Stephanie Throckmorton As with most 3-D films, illusion of things flying out of the screen at you is best part. 3 stars
9/03/05 SharkBoy Best movie Ever !!! any who thourt it sucks is a freak im Sharkboy 5 stars
8/06/05 Zack Note to Robert Rodriguez: YOUR KIDS FILMS SUCK! Make more action flicks! 1 stars
8/03/05 Cin So Deadly 5 stars
7/29/05 dupadoit so cool 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Films like this will kill the genre. 1 stars
7/09/05 jess taylor is SOO hot, oh and the movie rocked 5 stars
7/06/05 Cibeus My daughter thought it was as good as Herbie. Someone on screen barfs every five minutes. 2 stars
7/01/05 gc.hd.hu cool 5 stars
6/30/05 woohoo rad 5 stars
6/29/05 Victoria Sinn Best movie I've ever seen!! 5 stars
6/23/05 nicole i laughed through this whole movie & the glasses made it too dark 4 stars
6/21/05 Linda Tran It was an awsome movie 5 stars
6/21/05 Louise Too dark! My son had to take off the glasses to watch. Bad 3-D; no DVD for us! 2 stars
6/20/05 Pro-Shark Boy Too awesome to say 83 5 stars
6/15/05 Shirin de Silva I thought it was a good flick, although yes, I hate 3d. Saw it three times. 4 stars
6/15/05 matt o'brien this movie this is so fuckin awsome 5 stars
6/15/05 Chris This is The first movie that i have ever seen that gave me a migrane and made me throw up 1 stars
6/14/05 Allan Silliphant Rodriguez blew this by not trying to use the best 3D processing available with colored 3d 3 stars
6/14/05 Agent Sands I've never walked out on a movie B4, but Rodriguez is REALLY testing my patience nowdays!!! 1 stars
6/11/05 Krisan Graves Ouch, the reviews on this one has to hurt! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Jun-2005 (PG)
  DVD: 20-Sep-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Sep-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast