More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.53

Awesome: 15.72%
Worth A Look45.91%
Average: 21.38%
Pretty Bad: 9.43%
Total Crap: 7.55%

13 reviews, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Mr. and Mrs. Smith (2005)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Ursic

"Couples therapy was never this exciting!"
4 stars

The Seven-Year Itch. Itís that point in a relationship, where the passion is all but gone, and all that sustains you is the knowledge that if you bail, you not only donít pass GO, you have to start all over again. For John (Brad Pitt) and Jane (Angelina Jolie) Smith, the dreaded impasse has arisen at the five-year mark. In an attempt to salvage what is left of their marriage they seek the advice of a counselor. What emerges, aside from their nearly insurmountable communication problems is that the Smiths are harboring secrets. However unlike most spouses who might hide the evidence from their latest spending binge, or try to cover up that wayward tryst with a secretary, their dilemma is more delicate: how does one explain that they are a world renowned assassin? And worse yet, what do you do when you learn you are in direct competition with your spouse?

I was beginning to wonder if the fates were conspiring against me - how else does one explain the fact that when I went to the promotional screening they were sold out even though a seat had been set aside for me with my name on it? Clearly when the pass says arrive early, they are not jesting. Undaunted, I decided to wait a week and a half to let the hype die down. So the following Saturday night, I make the 45 minute trek to the closest theater that is showing it (well, at least the closest one that I have a pass for). I arrive 20 minutes before showtime only to discover that it has sold out again. Iím decidedly unimpressed. A week later I head out once again, this time with a friend in tow, when lo and behold we get entry. The curse is lifted.

Roughly ten minutes in, and Iím wondering why my colleagues tried to warn me off this film with lukewarm reviews. Not only is it better than average, Iím consistently laughing at the none too subtle relationship references, and loving the pyrotechnics. And judging by the response, the rest of the audience (including my friend Frank) appears to share in my sentiments.

Whether sheís playing a tongue in cheek one dimensional action figure, or a mental patient, Angelina Jolie exudes a combination of charisma and unpredictable power that grabs you by the throat. Iíve also enjoyed Brad Pitt in most of his roles, especially when he steps away from the glamour, ala Kalifornia, or Snatch Ė too many people seem to forget that behind the gorgeous looks is a talented actor. So how can you go wrong with these two working together? You canít.

Jane, a study in contrasts - one minute sheís the demure perfect housewife, the very picture of civility, and a suave calculating killer the next Ė is the perfect foil for Jack, the under controlled other half who tends to share his feelings a little too readily. Pitt and Jolie share an uncommon familiarity, that one usually only sees with real couples (which may have had something to do with the many rumors). When theyíre exchanging barbs Ė whether itís in the safety of the marriage counselorís office or mid brawl Ė it feels real. It is this chemistry that sustains the story whenever the explosions wane (and there are some great ones).

In spite of the 15 minute lull in the final act I found [b]Mr and Mrs. Smith [/b] amusing, could readily relate to the pairís dilemmas (with the exception of the whole battling assassins thing) and more importantly I got my weekly dose of things going boom. All in all a great popcorn flick.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12432&reviewer=399
originally posted: 07/03/05 19:15:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/06/12 JP Ward A preemptive vanity project 2 stars
3/17/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE, SLICK ACTION ADVENTURE 3 stars
9/16/09 Caro Awesome action film...the cast is perfect and the comedy is brilliant. Love it to pieces! 5 stars
3/16/09 Monday Morning With such high-powered stars, why such a lame movie? 2 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
2/11/08 steve the ending sucks i was sittin there thinking why cant they die 1 stars
11/04/07 theyapper Some funny moments 3 stars
1/28/07 mets1986 Great fun.......... 5 stars
1/06/07 jeff one of the best couples since boggie and bacal- i thought it was GREAT!! 5 stars
12/21/06 ES Sleep through the first half hour, but when the fighting starts it ain't half bad 3 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini great action with a few comedy bits 3 stars
10/05/06 Charles Tatum Um, what was all the fuss about? 3 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist 1 WAY TICKET TO THE STUPIDFEST CONCERT!! 1 stars
7/08/06 Anthony Feor Jolie couldn't even save this wreck 1 stars
6/14/06 drydock54321 most of it was great and fun to watch, but NO ENDING! 3 stars
6/05/06 mary not good 1 stars
5/03/06 Ashley Hinz Loved it. I would like a sequel, but it might ruin the original. 5 stars
4/28/06 Alana M. Barquero I thought that this movie was great. Plus it has two HOT actors in it. 4 stars
2/28/06 Amber Wellman It's awesome.. it's funny,romantic,hot.... It's brillant! 5 stars
2/11/06 Loopt Sure it is slick and watchable, but not exactly containing much below the belt... 3 stars
2/10/06 Carolyn Rathburn awesome, loved the action and the naughtiness 5 stars
2/04/06 Denise Duspiva funny 4 stars
1/24/06 sweetgrrl1972 It's ALL in the fricken trailer so if you've seen that, you 've seen the "best" of the film 1 stars
1/23/06 Soha Molina Bad movie 1 stars
1/14/06 ALDO first half very good second half very bad 3 stars
1/09/06 Anthony Feor Brad and Angelina should consider retirement 2 stars
1/01/06 Anne Treadwell Didn't like the idea that violence (really nasty violence) is a marriage saver. 2 stars
12/23/05 chris total shite 1 stars
12/18/05 J.D. Pittman III I'm watching it agian now. It's hilarious besides the action. 5 stars
12/10/05 Quigley even though brad (please stop "acting") and jolie had chemistry, the movie was a cartoon 3 stars
12/05/05 od fun. strongly recommended. 5 stars
11/29/05 Cedric Angelina Jolie could get diarrhea, videotape it & be most watchable since Girl Interrupted. 1 stars
11/25/05 diana rogers it was a fun movie! 5 stars
10/20/05 Agent Sands Contrived, annoying, unfunny. Good technical filmmaking, but script is headache-inducing. 2 stars
10/12/05 Ava Rice More evidence that Angelina Jolie is a no-talent "actress" who lucked out once. 2 stars
9/13/05 bbbr good action mate 5 stars
9/06/05 Jakob Bascoban Boring action-comedy. Badly Written!!! 2 stars
8/28/05 Tom Burns Action packed and very, very funny. 5 stars
8/03/05 Sean D Good chemistry between Pitt and Jolie. Great movie. 5 stars
7/22/05 Quigley this movie is a cartoon story with total cartoon action. pitt & jolie had chemistry though 3 stars
7/20/05 Chris Much better than expected 4 stars
7/18/05 Rick Plenty of funny "married people moments", and Vince Vaughn's grandmother scene...priceless 3 stars
7/18/05 john Clothes is too revealing in movies theses days, no wounder Guys are doing stuff to women 1 stars
7/14/05 Matthew Rudawsky A bunch of unbelievable shootups, no real sex, no real plot. Don't bother. 1 stars
7/12/05 Anne There should have been more of Vince Vaugn and Adam Brody, good action-packed movie 5 stars
7/11/05 KELLEN MATHERS Entertaining plus Angelina Jolie - can't miss 4 stars
7/11/05 Peteca Entertaining 4 stars
7/05/05 Charlene Javier Angelina Jolie is HOT! The movie not so. 3 stars
7/05/05 whatevr at the very least, a good time killer 4 stars
7/05/05 Monday Morning A warm chunk of stool with too much action and not enough plot. 2 stars
7/04/05 DONALD Good premise. Gets boring. Too long. 3 stars
7/04/05 dave boring, and not worth reccomending 2 stars
7/03/05 sir spam-a-lot decent eye candy movie 4 stars
6/30/05 Minh minh 5 stars
6/30/05 Kankasaur The matinee was worth my 5 (or 6) dollars 4 stars
6/30/05 John Ay Enjoyed it a great deal. 4 stars
6/28/05 katheryne I really like they make a good couple i love them 5 stars
6/27/05 Koitus Like an "Ahnold" flick - apparently NO ONE is accurate! Angelina sexier in "Taking Lives!" 3 stars
6/23/05 sally angwin Brad and Angelina what more can I say??? 5 stars
6/23/05 M A re-done 'true lies', funny and awesome chemistry between the pitt/jolie 5 stars
6/18/05 Nancy Funny, Great Chemistry exactly what a summer flick should be 4 stars
6/17/05 Peteco Very good entertainment 4 stars
6/16/05 David Fun stuff if you can ingore the SUV sized plot holes and inconsistencies 4 stars
6/15/05 Titus Ending was weak, but all in all this was much better than most of the crap this year. 4 stars
6/14/05 E-FUNK Turn your brain off and enjoy. Pitt's funniest role. Angelina is pure eye-candy. 4 stars
6/13/05 Brangelina fan Great movie, stunning actors with undeniable chemistry, this pic will keep you on the edge 5 stars
6/13/05 Conrad Truly excellent fun 4 stars
6/13/05 Gini Fun, popcorn fare. A perfect summer movie - laughs and explosions 4 stars
6/13/05 jcjs no brainer funsi 4 stars
6/13/05 Charlene Javier Bored in between the awesome action scenes. 3 stars
6/13/05 Ornith My husband and I laughed ourselves sick-wit, booms, and *really* nice eye candy. Yea!!! 4 stars
6/12/05 BrianWilly Hilarious and exciting movie. 5 stars
6/12/05 KingNeutron Vaughn almost steals the show; very funny moments from all 3 major actors. 4 stars
6/12/05 NP Action sequences too long, story too weak. 1 stars
6/12/05 Lord Jiggy Funny, twisted, loses its way a little, but very enjoyable 5 stars
6/11/05 Krisan Graves What Chemistry! No wonder he left Jennifer, but i am still pissed at him :( 5 stars
6/11/05 Rosa St James LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT TO PIECES! 5 stars
6/11/05 Jay Typical hollywood action crap. 1 stars
6/11/05 Paul Did you just say "wankerous?" 3 stars
6/10/05 Littlepurch WAY better than I was expecting. Cast were perfect, action was great and it was hilarious!! 5 stars
6/10/05 Christen how awesone two prople that are married try and kill each other(ha ha ha) 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Jun-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Jun-2005


Directed by
  Doug Liman

Written by
  Simon Kinberg

Cast
  Brad Pitt
  Angelina Jolie
  Vince Vaughn
  Adam Brody
  Angela Bassett
  Keith David



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast