More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.09

Awesome48.27%
Worth A Look: 25.87%
Average: 16.4%
Pretty Bad: 5.54%
Total Crap: 3.93%

21 reviews, 307 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Batman Begins
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Precisely the sort of movie that the lifelong & loyal Bat-fans deserve."
5 stars

Director Christopher Nolan pulls off so many amazing things with "Batman Begins" that it's almost impossible to nitpick the few things that he did not. (Katie Holmes as an intrepid district attorney??) Dark, moody, entirely atmospheric, and positively reeking of poetic doom & gloom, "Batman Begins" is not only the most straight-faced super hero adaptation to ever hit the silver screen; it's quite simply one of the very best.

Forget Adam West and his kitschy 60's Batman. Fun stuff, to be sure, but not exactly the sort of vibe we're looking for these days. Put aside your affection for the two Tim Burton films -- and do everything you can to forget that the two Schumacher adaptations ever existed. The year is 2005, and we're in the mood for a dark and meaty rendition of the Batman tale, and to say that director Christopher Nolan and screenwriter David Goyer have combined to pull off the near-impossible, well, that would not be an understatement.

The decision to make a stone-faced serious version of the classic Batman story is a potentially dangerous one indeed. Delve too deeply into the melodrama and you risk becoming laughable; stray too far from the derring-do heroics that we all know and love and you risk becoming boring. Batman Begins is neither laughable nor boring; in fact it's the slickest, smartest, and most dramatically exciting Batman movie ever made.

We begin knee-deep in Origin Story, which is precisely where we want to begin. Young Bruce Wayne, aimless and tortured following the brutal murder of his beloved parents, forsakes the family fortune and climbs aboard a boat to oblivion. After somehow ending up in a brutal prison cell tucked into the deepest mountains of Asia , Bruce is "rescued" by a mysterious man named Henri Ducard. Seems that Ducard is a member of the mysterious and exceedingly dangerous clan known as the League of Shadows, and they see a potential recruit in the miserable Mr. Wayne.

But things between master and apprentice go horribly awry, as these things are apt to do in adventure stories, and Wayne makes the decision to return home to the crime-laden city of Gotham. It's there that the disillusioned multi-millionaire will reacquaint himself with a former love, re-stoke the flames of friendship with his loyal butler Alfred, and butt heads with a variety of corrupt bastards, most of whom cannot acknowledge any sort of justice that doesn't involve a quick smack to the skull.

It's Batman's hellacious homecoming, and his return is an absolute joy to behold. And as I sit here trying to catalog all the components of Batman Begins that thrill and excite me, I feel a logjam forming inside my brain, so I opt to break out the bullet-points -- just so I don't leave anything out.

--Nolan's take on Gotham City is the unholy marriage of Blade Runner, Fritz Lang, and P.T. Barnum. This is a stunningly slick and amazingly run-down location, stocked with keening skyscrapers, perpetually dank & drippy alleyways, and more variegated villains than you can shake a bat-stick at. If "feast for the eyeballs" is a compliment, than Batman Begins is an eternal buffet of stunning sights.

--The screenplay, courtesy of Mr. Nolan and Dark City scribe David Goyer, is not even remotely interested in sticking to the flashy action bits and ever-cackling do-badders. There's a real sense of drama here, as if the filmmakers refused to deliver simple spectacle at the expense of heart, soul, and a story that actually moves you while it tickles your eyes. Themes involving fathers & sons, the devious appeal of vigilante justice, and the ways in which fear & hatred can be honed into something constructive ... there's a lot more going on in Batman Begins than just broken jaws, groovy gadgets, and frequent fisticuffs. Rare that a super hero action flick will deliver something that you'll actually want to think about once the end credits begin to roll, but Nolan & Goyer accomplish the feat with confidence and stylish efficiency.

--The cast, which is quite simply one of the best ensembles you're ever likely to come across. As Bruce Wayne / Batman, Christian Bale hits the ball right out of the park. Those who already love the guy from movies like American Psycho and The Machinist might not be all that shocked by Bale's flawless performance, but they'll be among the ones who enjoy it the most. And to those who are relatively unfamiliar with Mr. Bale, well, prepare to be blown away. The supporting cast is a who's-who of high-end and well-admired pros: Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman, Tom Wilkinson, Gary Oldman, Liam Neeson, Rutger Hauer ... it's almost too much for a movie geek to bear. Special praise is due to the scene-stealing performance by Cillian Murphy, who plays as dual a role as Bale does, only with a lot more oozing hatefulness. Alas, the only rough spot in the cast proves to be the seriously miscast Katie Holmes as the damsel / D.A. in distress. Granted, she's pretty much the only female in a testosterone-heavy adventure, but the lovely young actress simply doesn't seem to have the gravity or experience necessary to hang with all these bad boys. Still, she's very cute, which certainly doesn't hurt.

--The music, as collaborated upon by James Newton Howard and Hans Zimmer. While it doesn't necessarily have that "hero theme" that movies like Superman and Spider-Man do, the musical score is a generally subtle / intermittently majestic backbone to all the onscreen craziness. Frankly it's one of the best scores of the year.

--The fun! Much of the early press for Batman Begins has been reporting, quite accurately, that this is as serious and straight-faced as a super hero movie could ever be. But that doesn't mean you won't get a whole lot of kinetic chaos and breathtaking butt-kickin' for your $9.50. And what makes the action scenes so damn enjoyable (particularly the freakishly fun finale) is that Nolan, Goyer, and their army of fellow filmmakers spend a lot of time laying an emotional foundation beneath these characters. You could watch a rock-video-style action sequence and have a damn good time with it, but when a bunch of crafty filmmakers give you a reason to care about the dazzling donnybrooks, well that's just some damn excellent filmmaking right there. (Another relatively infinitesimal gripe: a few of the more "up close and personal" fisticuffs are directed in a style that might incite some confusion and/or visual whiplash; sometimes it's pretty tough to tell who's smashing who in the throat.)

So hats off to DC Comics and Warner Bros. Films for a variety of reasons: they saw what everyone in the world (justifiably) hated about Batman & Robin, and they set out to produce the polar opposite of that malformed abortion. Gone is the camp, the kitsch, the awful dialogue and the irksome tongue-in-cheek tone. In their place is now a fantastic origin story populated by effortlessly engaging characters who spout provocative dialogue in service to a three-act structure that makes as much simple sense as it delivers a supremely satisfying story. This is a deep, dark, and astonishingly entertaining movie -- easily one of the best times I've had at the multiplex in the past several years.

You're just not going to find "popcorn entertainment" of a higher caliber than "Batman Begins." You'll pull your hair out trying, so don't even bother. Better to drop your box office bucks on this brilliantly good time, thereby informing the powers-that-be that THIS is what we want out of our comic book movies. Batman now has a movie that can stand alongside the wonderful big-screen adventures of Superman, Spider-Man, and The X-Men. Basically, it's a great time to be a geek.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12435&reviewer=128
originally posted: 06/15/05 21:26:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good start in the trilogy 4 stars
4/27/16 Ken Great movie. Christian Bale was a great Batman. 5 stars
2/15/15 enicmatic al rubbish begins 1 stars
10/08/13 Steve M Best of the trilogy, in my opinion. 5 stars
7/19/13 Joe I like this Batman. 4 stars
10/11/12 austin love it 5 stars
9/17/12 K-Hutch Saw it once in '06 & didn't like it, but loved TDK. Watched BB tonight, great movie! 4 stars
8/29/12 Alex Figueroa One of my all time favorites! 5 stars
7/25/12 the truth yes 5 stars
4/19/12 Sheryl Granholm So good! 5 stars
10/19/11 Magic A great Greek tragedy on how in conquering one's fears, you lose your self-identity. 5 stars
1/13/11 Dane Youssef Could Batman exist in real life? After seeing this movie, I believe so. A real-life Batman. 5 stars
8/07/10 Dr.Lao If Bale hadn't been so boring, I might have given this poorly written mess 3 stars 2 stars
1/20/10 Stanley Thai The first Batman movie I actually thought was good. It's fantastic and dark! 5 stars
1/13/10 Quirinius Snobb Great themes of fear, revenge, and justice. Excellent movie. 5 stars
6/18/09 keithsquall better than TDK, just gets better watching it mulitple times 5 stars
2/16/09 Glenn Amazing take on the Batman character, makes the previous 2 Batman films look amateur! 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. better than all the other batman movies combined, except TDK. 4 stars
10/18/08 AshleyRockO Now this is what a Batman movie is supposed to be. Not the fairy tale fantasy crap from b4! 5 stars
9/06/08 Halad65 A great movie. Christian Bale was excellent. 5 stars
7/10/08 ben dover over-rated my fucking arse burtons an over-rated tramp 5 stars
6/21/08 GARY MAZIN Criminals are not complicated? This is BATMAN we're talking about right? 1 stars
6/21/08 David V Great Batman movie but a little over-rated. 4 stars
5/18/08 jm My favorite comic book film of all time. 5 stars
5/17/08 Anthony Feor Has everything better than the other films, but still not nearly likeable. 3 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ENGAGING SUPER HERO FLICK THAT IS BOTH REALISTIC AND FANTASTIC 4 stars
5/04/08 Phil Over-rated, Nolan can't do action, Bale disappoints.Burton did it best. 2 stars
3/10/08 Jayme Isaacs One of the Best Batman Movies Ever 5 stars
1/26/08 man best of the series 5 stars
12/02/07 davidbobo20 great movie! the best batman movie ever! way better than V for Vendettta! 5 stars
11/27/07 dude fantastic 5 stars
11/22/07 Jose Luis Best Batman ever but Holmes wasn´t a good choice, she is so bad actress. 4 stars
11/10/07 g webster bringing The Batman back from the cinematic grave,awesome movie! 5 stars
10/04/07 The Film Maker Great film but Katie Holmes? Worst actresses ever. Ever. 4 stars
10/03/07 wall best superhero movie ever 5 stars
9/15/07 dude great 5 stars
8/04/07 Hello Stranger they finally made a serious batman film. its not all the way great, neither bad. but good! 4 stars
7/28/07 Wee Todd Didd Right back up there with the first one. Batman doesn't kill, but he doesn't have to save. 4 stars
7/11/07 ARg Killed the shumacher curse 5 stars
6/20/07 johnnyfog Highly overrated. Bad villains, but Bale is perfectly fine. 4 stars
6/15/07 Anthony G Best Superhero movie ever made. 5 stars
5/18/07 movieman best film of the year 5 stars
5/15/07 967 I enjoyed it. Bale is great as Batman. 4 stars
5/05/07 Rachel M. This movie was a joke! Adam West or MK will ALWAYS be the Bat!! THIS SUCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/05/07 Dave it rocks 5 stars
3/30/07 mb Interesting Movie 4 stars
3/08/07 man probobly the best comic book movie ever 5 stars
3/07/07 dprodigy Too much crap in Tibet 4 stars
3/04/07 becky Was one of my favourite movies of all time 5 stars
2/22/07 johnnyfog Bale is a better Bruce Wayne then Batman, but still better than Superman Returns 4 stars
2/17/07 Vip Ebriega 'Batman' as a more serious crimefighter. 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Tim Burton could have loved this. 4 stars
1/31/07 action movie fan the best batman movie-clever innovative and exciting 4 stars
1/19/07 movieman great movie 5 stars
12/29/06 Todd lightyears ahead of the campy bullshit they put out in the late 80's early 90's. 5 stars
12/28/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Bale is good Bruce Wayne, but Batman...not so much. Still, Oldman's in it 4 stars
12/17/06 Jen in Denmark great story, acting and effects! 5 stars
12/06/06 Dude Undeniably Fantastic 5 stars
12/04/06 Anthony G Jeremy said it right, the second best of the batman movies. 4 stars
12/04/06 DasuberDing The way Batman is supposed to be, dark. 5 stars
11/16/06 GARY MAZIN Why I hated Batman Begins? I felt like I was stuck in limbo. Stop talking about fear! 1 stars
11/10/06 Austin Wertman THE ONLY COMIC BOOK MOVIES BETTER THAN THIS ARE THE SPIDER-MAN FILMS 5 stars
11/06/06 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 4 stars
10/19/06 Henry Es la mejor Batman de todas, Batman Forever y Batman & Robin fueron apestosas 5 stars
10/14/06 peter film sucked. it as boring and tedious, and wasnt very comic book-like. Keaton is still BM! 1 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies The second best of the Batman movie 4 stars
9/05/06 anthonyuk batman goes back to his dark roots, bale is class yet again 5 stars
8/13/06 Dan Gibson Christian Bale IS Batman ! Cannot wait for the next chapter. 5 stars
7/19/06 Michael Origin was boring. Why start over with the series? It's downhill after this one. 5 stars
7/11/06 Joseph P. Hughes My favorite movie ever. Thank you Mr. Nolan, Mr. Goyer, WB, C. Bale et al. 5 stars
7/01/06 drydock54321 great story line 5 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley Brilliant retooling of an icon. Bale is outstanding in a great cast - sequel please. 5 stars
6/06/06 ES Incredibly well adapted, finally a Batman movie that's smart and exciting. 4 stars
5/21/06 Jennifer Smith I was doubtful at first but i sat down and watched it, and I LOVE it 5 stars
5/14/06 K. Pearlman God, I love Batman, but this was an insult!!!! 2 stars
4/21/06 Jack An instant 4 out of 5 5 stars
4/10/06 Thomas Semesky Best of the Batman movies. More down to earth. 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer CHRIS NOLAN IS THE JESUS CHRIST OF THE FILM INDUSTRY! PRAISE THE GREAT SAVIOR! 5 stars
3/25/06 Aldo first half really good...second half the plot loses focus 4 stars
3/24/06 Dethbyhashi Possibly The Best Superhero Movie Ever!!! 5 stars
3/12/06 C Vega good movie the batman franchise is back on track...but still not as good as burtons movies. 4 stars
2/05/06 Shawn Gadberry I know it was a huge hit...but I was bored. 3 stars
1/20/06 Taylor Fladgate Batman, Inc. saved the best movie for last. Awesome! 5 stars
1/08/06 Quigley the movie is amazing after multiple viewings. Bale is great, but Cillian Murphy is awesome! 5 stars
1/04/06 Piz Will they give it up with Batman already. 3 stars
1/01/06 Tanya loved it and the first one with Jack nicholson 5 stars
1/01/06 Jasper Caine sucked and story was clunky, but...still pretty darn good. Not great, though. 4 stars
12/24/05 Michele not the best plot 3 stars
12/22/05 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Almost as good a Jack and Michael 4 stars
12/07/05 Eden Not as fun as Burton's batmen but good direction to go in 4 stars
11/23/05 merp a very uneven film, moments of cool cinema marred by some bad choices. 3 stars
11/23/05 Punker A masterpiece? No, not quite. A good, solid Batman film? Yes, certainly. 4 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Good film w/ great cast. 4 stars
11/21/05 Kibble I agree with Quigley, improves vastly on second viewing. 4 stars
11/21/05 Quigley way better the second time. Christian Bale was awesome, and a very clever story. 4 stars
11/21/05 Indrid Cold Easily the best Batman movie; makes Schumaker look like an idiot. 4 stars
11/17/05 kevin kindersley expensive arthouse studio film,Great! 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Being a longtime Batman fan, this was an absolute masterpiece. Batman fan or not. 5 stars
11/14/05 "I am going to..." is a faggot Oooh, we're all REALLY scared, dipshit underwear stain. 3 stars
11/13/05 JeromeBosch Chiropteran clad hero at his best! 5 stars
11/10/05 Brock Holtzclaw Best Yet! 5 stars
11/09/05 Stan L revisit *how* Batman evolved in early days, that is enjoyable 4 stars
11/02/05 cooler fuck this batman shit.Nolan stick to memento filmmaking 1 stars
10/30/05 farnqwo straight comic book boring stuff; Batman&Robin - now thats entertainment!! 2 stars
10/30/05 peterspam Seriously, what was so great about this film? It was fucking boring as dog shit. 3 stars
10/29/05 Jumpin' Jesus Yeah, how DARE anyone have an opinion different than my own on this overrated film?!?!?!?!? 1 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz Just a great movie all around. 5 stars
10/27/05 chris in the original batman the joker killed batmans parents not a street thug crap remake 1 stars
10/26/05 Richard Brandt Pretty far-fetched as far as Batman stories go 4 stars
10/26/05 Suk-R-Punch Ummmmm...when did Alfred become Cockney? 3 stars
10/26/05 Nick_Voro Individuals like Nolan are keeping HollyW afloat & from falling in control of hacks(Bay) 5 stars
10/26/05 Katie Evridge Better than any other Batman movies. 5 stars
10/25/05 The EZ1 Well done story/movie. 5 stars
10/25/05 ali i loved it, great action and great history on batman 5 stars
10/24/05 Suk-R-Punch Quite mediocre condering all that's been said about it...huge disappointment. Too bad. 3 stars
10/23/05 HL Nothing great here...hype unjustified. 3 stars
10/21/05 Ariadne Christina Renee Gladstone Only 20 years after great depression, Gotham has Leer Jets, internet and SUVs?????????????? 3 stars
10/21/05 Ava Rice Best of Batman flicks so far, but still cartoonish and contrived. 4 stars
10/20/05 tatum My faith in Hollywood has been restored 5 stars
10/19/05 Gumbo T'was okay...just like SPIDER-MAN 2...not bad, but no masterpiece like people said. 3 stars
10/17/05 Crapture Has its moments, but not anywhere near the "great" movie it's made out to be...far from it. 3 stars
10/15/05 OodlesofOs I just didn't see what the big deal was and I've been reading Batman comics my whole life. 3 stars
10/14/05 gasp One or two good scenes...the rest is merely passable. OVERRATED!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
10/13/05 Bryant Gumby With all the fanboys fellating this movie, this big shock is that it's merely OK. 2 stars
10/12/05 Quigley cilian murphy ruled a sscarecrow, bale was awesome and so was freeman. well made but lame. 2 stars
10/12/05 Anthony Gizum Meh...overrated-as-hell. Too slow, dull villains, Caine was crap. 2 stars
10/10/05 Biz-e How in the HELL could they make Batman so BORING?!?!?! They achieved the impossible!!!!!!! 2 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands OK, it was good, but with a cast like that and a director like that, I expected WAAAY more. 4 stars
10/08/05 mouth OMG this film sucks soooo bad, Christian Bale was awful..pace was horrible, villains sucked 1 stars
9/30/05 ShabbaRanks Lemme see: Joker dies. Bad. Joe Chill dies. Good??? Fuck all of you... 1 stars
9/23/05 Jakub BORINGMAN BORES THE AUDIENCE INTO BEING BORED FROM ALL THE BOREDOM...BEGINS. 1 stars
9/19/05 Jonathon Holmes the best film of the summer 5 stars
9/19/05 mung Overrated, overhyped, overpraised MEDIOCRITY!!! 3 stars
9/16/05 drippy Meh...I thought it was very average and totally overrated. 3 stars
9/07/05 Bitchum People kept bugging me to see this and now that I have...I'm underwhelmed. T'was OK. 3 stars
9/06/05 Alex Best Batman ever! Christian Bale outstanding! 5 stars
9/05/05 JubJub Bale was great (as always) but there's really nothing else here to recommend. Skip it. 2 stars
9/04/05 Quigley christian bale, gary oldman, & cillian murphy are awesome, but lame action and plot ruin it 2 stars
9/03/05 Craven Aside from a few GREAT scenes, this is pretty tame. I was bored most of the time. 3 stars
9/02/05 Mailk They tried so hard to make it realistic, they forgot to make it any fun whatsoever. 3 stars
9/02/05 Prequels stink! Better than Revenge of the shits! 4 stars
9/02/05 Edward I love this movie, THE GOLDEN CHILD. Eddie Murphy was so funny in this!!! Hahahahahaha!!! 3 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez Not as good as everyone said. Quite lame, actually. 2 stars
8/30/05 Brisbane Yeah, it's better than Schumacher...it's also as lifeless as a decomposing cow. 3 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny They should have just called it BRUCE WAYNE BEGINS...and then something about a Bat guy. 3 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw I didn't think it was so faithful - they killed Joe Chill!!!!!! You don't do that!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
8/28/05 hicks I thought this movie was really good. The first hour gives you plenty to sleep through... 3 stars
8/27/05 Joker If this is the "real" Batman, give me the fake one anyday! ANY DAY!!! 3 stars
8/26/05 cam-ron Slow, maudlin, tedious, by-the-numbers script, stunted performances, the most wooden Batman 3 stars
8/26/05 Termite Christ, BATMAN: DEAD END was more entertaining than THIS!!!!!!! 3 stars
8/25/05 Copper What movie was everyone else watching? I apparently wandered into the wrong one. 3 stars
8/24/05 salamone Almost as boring and bad as HULK...almost. 2 stars
8/23/05 Quigley As good as Bale was, this film was too confusing. The action sequences sucked big time. 2 stars
8/22/05 MC Serch You all loved this before it even came out. This is mediocrity squared. 3 stars
8/22/05 rizo This is JUST as unfaithful as the previous films, yet you love it? MORONS, all of you!!!!! 3 stars
8/21/05 chris hagopian It was a moving and inspriing comic book film 5 stars
8/20/05 marv Sickeningly overrated, but...not bad, not great. 3 stars
8/20/05 Cardigan Definitely the most boring, dull, and flat Batman movie ever made. 3 stars
8/20/05 Derek Morse Probably the best Batman movie ever made... 4 stars
8/19/05 Gaston Bale was great, Caine was not, Nolan's direction was...meh. Film was satisfying but empty. 3 stars
8/19/05 JiJi As another user said, I never thought I'd be so bored at a Batman movie. So sad. 3 stars
8/18/05 stumblebug A totally overrated, mediocre affair from start to finish...I don't see what everone saw... 3 stars
8/17/05 JeunetRocks Poorly shot, badly directed, god-awful script, you've all been brainwashed by Warner Bros. 3 stars
8/17/05 Billy Denniston Brought the bigscreen bat back to its dark, twisted roots. Nolan and Bale were perfect. 5 stars
8/16/05 jacob Painstakingly dull. One of the most (if not THE most) BORING superhero movies ever made. 3 stars
8/15/05 Snickerdoodle The first 2 Batman movies were scary, the last 2 too silly, this was really good 5 stars
8/15/05 calli A boring mess with Bats driving a giant, black yam around Gotham...pass... 3 stars
8/14/05 Mr. Teal Intelligent script? It had the same plot of all the others! Bad guys destroy Gotham. 3 stars
8/14/05 President Evil I left the theater severely underwhelmed except for Bale's awesome performance. 3 stars
8/13/05 ash Nolan's technique: turn camera into "on" position, go make a sandwich, yell "cut," go home. 4 stars
8/13/05 Willard I never in my life thought I could be that bored at a Batman movie. 3 stars
8/12/05 Kelly go see this for the action not the story 3 stars
8/11/05 cumber I honestly don't see what everyone saw in this film...it was no fun at all and badly shot. 3 stars
8/11/05 laurian Great cast, good script, I just wish the action sequences weren't that choppy. 5 stars
8/11/05 SidVicious PAINFULLY self-serious, dull, and worst of all...lifeless. For total geeks only... 3 stars
8/11/05 AmandaGhost After the boring-as-hell first hour, things pick up...but not much. 3 stars
8/11/05 celia T'was okay...rather bland and curiously flat...audience was bored... 3 stars
8/10/05 Krull Poison gas released on Gotham...gee, where have we seen THAT before??? 3 stars
8/09/05 cactusboy I think it's the best Batman movie after the 1989 film...but that ain't saying much.... 3 stars
8/09/05 Mr. Durden The best comic book movie yet. 4 stars
8/09/05 Dredd Sure, it's better than Schumacher...but I've had cysts that were better than Schumacher... 3 stars
8/08/05 Chris Redfield I thought this was WAY overrated, but still good...definitely better than Schumacher's... 3 stars
8/07/05 Marthatk Best movie of the year! Loved it! When's the next one? 5 stars
8/07/05 Cass Nolan should go back to his little arthouse films and leave Bats to Burton, sorry... 1 stars
8/06/05 Greg Ursic My favorite Batman movie. Period! 5 stars
8/05/05 Gallic It should have been called BATSHOMON...:::yawn::: 3 stars
8/05/05 Martin Literate, spectacular and intimate comic-book adaptation. Roll on the sequel! 5 stars
8/04/05 dew-e Can you say OVERRATED? 1 stars
8/03/05 Brandy Harrington Batman good, Spiderman better. 5 stars
7/30/05 Eddie Batman good spiderman bad 5 stars
7/24/05 bullit16 Raises the bar set so high by the X-Men and Spider-Man flicks 5 stars
7/24/05 Monster W. Kung Fuck that crappy Tim Burton Batman, this is the real deal. 5 stars
7/23/05 Quigley boring and long. the action was way too choppy and the plot confusing, but Bale was awesome 2 stars
7/21/05 Shena Johnson It Blew me away, this is a must see movie. 5 stars
7/20/05 Chris Not only the best batman, but also the best superhero flick 5 stars
7/20/05 Littlepurch Fantastic acting, terrific and intelligent plot and some of it was bloody terrifying! 5 stars
7/19/05 Ex-Fan What in the fuck was going on in this retard film, Freeman and Caine carry the film 1 stars
7/19/05 Comic fanboy Very well done, but the origin is so long, the movie could be titled "Bruce Wayne Forever" 3 stars
7/14/05 Clark Kent Best comic book film since Superman... 5 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Why was there no final showdown between Batman and Scarecrow?!?!? 4 stars
7/14/05 Matt Rudawsky Batman rises from the ashes of movies 3&4 to soar great heights over my high expectations 5 stars
7/12/05 sbpat21 A beautifully dark vision of the Dark Knight 5 stars
7/11/05 Brian Feiler bout time 5 stars
7/11/05 8=====D best batman 5 stars
7/11/05 Peteca It's very good, but too dark man! 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma Fuck Spiderman! This is the Comic Book film to watch. 5 stars
7/09/05 Steve Blackwood THIS is the Batman I've been waiting for! 5 stars
7/08/05 the untrained eye Good, but not great. I'll probably never watch it again. 4 stars
7/08/05 Uncle Salty Don'e very well. Aside from Katie, no complaints. 4 stars
7/08/05 William Vollmer very very good 4 stars
7/06/05 Terry If only every superhero film was made this way.... 4 stars
7/06/05 Todd Anyone remember the Batman song that Prince did? 5 stars
7/06/05 Da_Nas Damn good story. At last Batman is back! 5 stars
7/05/05 Charlene Javier Snoozer 3 stars
7/04/05 M not much happens, freeman and bale are awesome, holmes belongs with dawson!! 3 stars
7/04/05 Ice Queen caine, freeman, murphy, neeson,oldman excellent the rest (yawn!) 3 stars
7/03/05 Jay Norris Christian Bale is Batman. There aren't enough chars here to convey my thoughts. hmm review? 5 stars
7/03/05 Zefram Mann It even has Zsasz! Who even remembers Zsasz from the comics?! The writers sure did. 5 stars
7/03/05 Quigley i saw clever things being made, but it ended up wasting good actors and time. don't bother. 2 stars
7/02/05 Elizabeth Kaspar Bad sets,little imagination,too much "realism",stupid polics,foreign cults2blame sez it all 3 stars
7/02/05 Mickey The first good Batman movie! And a good movie, period. 5 stars
7/01/05 green gremlin At last, a decent "Batman" movie !!! 5 stars
7/01/05 Edler Weird story but great overall. 5 stars
7/01/05 Phan the Man Uh............I'm Thinkin!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/30/05 Ahnold I beg to differ - this movie sucks all ass! 1 stars
6/30/05 John good origin story...impressive visuals and good story 4 stars
6/30/05 Chris The best movie of this year. 5 stars
6/30/05 John Ay Enjoyed it, captured the dark undertones well 4 stars
6/29/05 Joseph Barale Thank you, Nolan. You have revived the franchise by making this great movie 5 stars
6/29/05 Jack Farnsworth No waste of God damn time. 5 stars
6/29/05 Jiz Good movie, and no Chris O'Donnell! Kick ass! 5 stars
6/29/05 bug,at Great! 1st batman should've been called "The Joker"..this one earns its name!! 5 stars
6/29/05 Ole Man Bourbon Too long 4 stars
6/29/05 Obi Wan The Dark Knight returns...3 viewing and it's still awesome!! 5 stars
6/29/05 Marce Eh.. OK. Better than the others, but honestly, did Katie need to be there at all? 4 stars
6/28/05 Burt Ward Holy Batman Begins Batman! This movie kicks ass. PFFT! SPLAT! 5 stars
6/28/05 Adam West Biff! Kapow! 5 stars
6/28/05 Mike V Best Batman movie 4 stars
6/28/05 goatfarmer couldn't wait for it to end 1 stars
6/28/05 katheryne i don't like it 2 stars
6/27/05 Travis Best comic book adaptation I have ever seen. Definately the best of all the Batman movies. 5 stars
6/26/05 Daveman Quite possibly the best Batman film yet, shame about the editing and score though. 4 stars
6/26/05 The Hitman This is what I've been waiting for since I was 5. This is the real Batman. Awesome! 5 stars
6/26/05 Maya gets everything right 5 stars
6/26/05 Chris Barts Very good indeed. Stands up to Batman 1989. 5 stars
6/26/05 Is everyone insane? What's the matter with you people, this was a cliché-filled bore!!!!! 1 stars
6/26/05 Uncle Phucker Very intense and fare exceeded my expectations. Holmes was only weak link in this chain. 5 stars
6/26/05 Charlene Javier Please don't kill me. I didn't like it as much. 3 stars
6/25/05 Caiphn Best comic adaptation I've ever seen. Bale is awesome as usual. 5 stars
6/25/05 Pozzo The first awfully good movie of Batman. 5 stars
6/24/05 Obi Wan Still great after a second watch!! 5 stars
6/23/05 jcjs wonderful 5 stars
6/23/05 Justin Wald Fucking Awesome 5 stars
6/22/05 tonyblairnumber1jerk apartfrom despising tony blair ; ) batman begins looks alot better than the other 4 5 stars
6/22/05 Monster W. Kung BY FAR the best Batman movie ever made. 5 stars
6/21/05 Brendan Great. Waited in vain for Rutger Hauer to become really bad not just naughty. What a waste. 5 stars
6/21/05 Naka A genuinely GOOD film, all around. Absolutely must-see. 5 stars
6/21/05 Littlepurch In UK this had a 12 rating and was FAR too scary for that, but an intelligent, amazin film! 5 stars
6/21/05 Obi Wan Felt like I was reading the comic and it came alive onto the screen! Better than '89!! 5 stars
6/21/05 a fan Finally, a Batman vehicle that worthy of the Dark Knight legacy. Bring on the sequel! 5 stars
6/21/05 ownerofdajoint A great movie! DO NOT MISS THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
6/21/05 Troy Winston Amazing Film. Amazing. 5 stars
6/21/05 R poor schumacher.. all that hand lotion gone to waste when he saw this batman.. 5 stars
6/20/05 Lola This Batman actually has a pair of wings! 5 stars
6/20/05 michaelb14 The best Batman, slightly better than Burton's Batman IMO, and it redeems Schumachers crap 5 stars
6/20/05 Kisuta Excellent! Almost as good as the '89 Batman. 4 stars
6/20/05 Malcolm Finally, a successful union of thrills, depth, and even hope - excellent! 5 stars
6/20/05 Charlene Javier Overrated. 3 stars
6/20/05 Manu Ginobli 2nd best Batman film. (I liked the Nicholson version better.) 5 stars
6/19/05 tmcmistress so...you'll take Penguins W/Rockets, then, Ry? Begins=near-perfect. 5 stars
6/19/05 mARK hOLMGREN Hard to criticize this one. A really excellent revisioning of an old story. 5 stars
6/19/05 Koitus Very good - best of the "Batman" movies, yet! Much truer to his "origin." PHAT "Warbler!" 4 stars
6/19/05 Ray Damn good 5 stars
6/19/05 BaseT Very good, but not perfect. MUCH MUCH better than any previous Batman! 5 stars
6/19/05 Nicole If you are looking for an action movie, don't see this - this is a lot of story. 4 stars
6/18/05 Hack-SAW Not as memorable as the first two, but better than the last two films.....................! 4 stars
6/18/05 LAmAlice adding the twist to a superhero flick 5 stars
6/18/05 K. Sear Possibly the best of the Batman flicks (or maybe not). 4 stars
6/18/05 Danny Acosta Batman ROCKS! 5 stars
6/18/05 jd good 5 stars
6/18/05 Howard Well crafted but will Bruce ever refrain from letting the leading ladies know his identity 5 stars
6/18/05 Aaron Smith One of the great comic adaptations. 5 stars
6/18/05 Nancy Really good - best of the comic book movies that I've seen 4 stars
6/17/05 Negative Christopher Nolan does it again. AWESOME !! 5 stars
6/17/05 mysanDOTde I am sorry, but BATMAN BEGINS is totally overrated. The action sequenzes suck! 2 stars
6/17/05 KingNeutron 3 1/2 *'s; I dunno, I was just expecting a bit more based on all the glowing reviews. 3 stars
6/17/05 Peteco Too dark, too slow at the beginning, but good 4 stars
6/17/05 Dan Best. Comic Book Movie. Ever. Welcome to superstardom, Christian Bale. 5 stars
6/17/05 Dom I'm sending a copy to Val Kilmer 5 stars
6/17/05 Jay The best superhero movie for the best superhero 5 stars
6/17/05 Kristina Williams It was bordering on being "Hulk" serious, then I saw the Tumbler in action. WHOOO! 5 stars
6/17/05 Vicious Christian Bale makes Batman believable and intimidating. An excellent comic adaptation/film 5 stars
6/17/05 Philip Buckley-Mellor Perfect, just perfect. 5 stars
6/17/05 Titus Act 1 is just a bit too tedious for a 5 star rating, but this is good stuff. 4 stars
6/17/05 Terry Chapman FINALLY a real Batman movie! 5 stars
6/16/05 The Talking Elbow There's no reason not to enjoy this movie, though it does start kinda slow. 5 stars
6/16/05 carlos r guzman the best for last? NO the best comes at the beginning! Nolan is the man for the Bat-man! 5 stars
6/16/05 X-naut Its been 15 years since i seen a great batman movie,its about time! 5 stars
6/16/05 Sal Superhero noir loses its edge trying to explain "shadowy" plots against Gotham. 4 stars
6/16/05 ajay They are *finally* taking these movies seriously. Good acting, great directing. Fuck Lucas 5 stars
6/16/05 Pooh'sHoney Christian Bale is exquisite: THE perfect choice for Batman! 5 stars
6/16/05 Jim The Movie Freak Best Batman movie, one of 2005's best and just as good as Spiderman 2. 5 stars
6/16/05 malcolm dark, violent, and a little scary. perfect! 5 stars
6/15/05 BrianWilly Best damn Batman yet! 5 stars
6/15/05 Brian a damn fine superhero movie 5 stars
6/15/05 SnailWithoutAShell Just came back from the premiere, Loved it,Not as good as the 1989 one,But its way up there 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jun-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Jun-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast