More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.52

Awesome32.55%
Worth A Look: 23.88%
Average: 20.21%
Pretty Bad: 9.97%
Total Crap: 13.39%

20 reviews, 261 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


War of the Worlds (2005)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Destructo-licious, but that's about all there is to it."
3 stars

Steven Spielberg, in the first hour or so of "War of the Worlds," summons the apocalypse with all his genius for suspense and sadism. Yes, sadism. I've long felt that Spielberg has a lot of anger to work off -- it's come out in the oddest ways in some of his films -- and here he gets to kill most of us off via tripod-riding aliens who squash millions of people as if they were less than ants.

Knocking over buildings, flinging cars in the air, up-ending ferries, zapping screaming humans into ash, Spielberg is, make no mistake, having the time of his life. War of the Worlds differs from a callow destruct-a-thon like Independence Day in that the large-scale carnage, with catastrophe building on catastrophe, thrills as much as it hurts. This is really the first whack Spielberg has had at depicting mass destruction since 1941 over twenty-five years ago, and he shows all the summer-movie whippersnappers how it's done. When the aliens emerge from the cracked asphalt of New Jersey and begin their brutal business, you can safely strap in for some of the most awe-inspiring work Spielberg has done in years.

The rest of War of the Worlds, though, is hit or miss. The problems, for some, may begin with Tom Cruise as the film's default hero -- Ray Ferrier, a divorced dad who never grew up. Spielberg's portfolio is full of men like Ray, and they were more believable when smaller-scale actors like Richard Dreyfuss were playing them. In Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Dreyfuss, playing an equally childlike father, gave off a schlumpy Everyman vibe, but with a manic gleam that kept you unsure what he was going to do. Certainly Spielberg wouldn't find it in himself to give us a hero who leaves his wife and kids behind, as Dreyfuss did; and Tom Cruise is not the sort of actor who makes you nervous in that way, at least not in this kind of role. Cruise hurts the film because you don't buy for a minute that a summer movie starring Tom Cruise will end with him or his two kids (Dakota Fanning and Justin Chatwin) anywhere near dead. A remake of War of the Worlds directed by Spielberg would have sold itself; it didn't need star power, and if Spielberg had cast someone like Paul Giamatti -- an actor who can play someone who might fail -- the movie would be more successfully terrifying.

As it is, we're not sure why Ray, running with hundreds of others on the chaotic streets, doesn't get zapped along with the dozens who get reduced to ash constantly on either side of him, other than the fact that he's Tom Cruise. As written and played, Ray has nothing much going for him aside from bulldog determination. He has to protect his kids at all times and at all costs, thwarted by one crisis or another (sometimes it's aliens, sometimes it's panicked mobs of people), and you get the sense that he's being punished for being an absentee father. Millions of humans perish by fire so that Ray the deadbeat dad can redeem himself through action -- or action-movie action.

Apparently it wouldn't be a Spielberg film these days without a stretch of film that makes little sense and could be deleted with no harm done, and here we have Ray and his little daughter holing up in a basement with a grim-faced survivalist played by Tim Robbins. The climax of this plot thread serves no purpose other than to prove that Ray will do anything to keep his daughter alive, except that the proof is kept behind a closed door. For Robbins' part, playing a gun-toting redneck, he gives the sort of crude performance -- to paraphrase Pauline Kael -- only a very dedicated liberal would give. His character is Bad News the second we lay eyes on him, because he's rural and he's armed. Spielberg and Robbins are both capable of more subtlety than this.

Some viewers have been bothered by the film's wealth of 9/11-inspired imagery -- the missing-person posters, the flakes of ash that used to be flesh falling everywhere. Spielberg gets a pass there -- 9/11 showed us all what real disaster looks like, and it would be disingenuous of the movie to go back to the relatively clean zap-zap of something like Independence Day or, for that matter, the original 1953 War of the Worlds. If the destruction is unavoidably exciting, the aftermath is by necessity sobering and chilling. A director can be of two minds about the carnage he wreaks -- we saw it in the famous "Ride of the Valkyries" helicopter-attack sequence in Francis Coppola's Apocalypse Now, equal parts invigorating and appalling. Spielberg, following H.G. Wells' book, eschews the ID4 formula of "Aliens attack; we hit back." The power of our military is shown to be haplessly meaningless against the well-shielded aliens; the aliens' downfall, as relevant today as in Wells' day, is simply the arrogance of dominion. Too confident in their ability to wipe out big foes, they don't account for smaller ones.

In the end, this War of the Worlds plays on American fears much the same way earlier versions of the story (including Orson Welles' notorious 1938 radio hoax) did -- in this case, terrorism, with a side order of unease about the way things are going in Iraq. (Talk about the arrogance of dominion; if anyone finds it implausible that aliens would invade a planet they know fatally little about, how about a country that starts a war on bullshit pretenses with an insufficient number of troops and threadbare equipment, hoping that the people will greet us as liberators? We have met the aliens, and they are us.) It's fun to analyze summer entertainment this way, if not terribly satisfying; it doesn't make the movie larger than it is. I still prefer Tim Burton's flamboyantly goofy Mars Attacks, which had no agenda other than to blow stuff up for fun.

Spielberg blows stuff up better than anyone -- he proves himself the maestro of that by-now-degraded game. But he does it so well that it's a hard act for even the maestro to follow.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12482&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/27/06 12:17:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/20/14 nice penalty removal USA 4 stars
4/10/14 WilliamBoudreaux USA 3 stars
1/28/14 jzzcdutgjmc USA 2 stars
8/29/13 Tammy Woodall I'm not really into Science Fiction movies, but this movie had me watching it regardless. 4 stars
9/17/12 VLTampa The sound the aliens make in this movie makes my skin crawl. 4 stars
3/14/11 Katie Fogle Dakota Fanning was great, but I'm not really a fan of alien movies. 3 stars
1/10/11 Quigley One of the most underrated blockbusters in history. People need to watch this film again. 5 stars
10/24/10 Zaid Flawed..flawed...flawed and Tim Robbins scene is unnecessary 2 stars
9/27/10 art the only MENACE in this movie was DAKOTA FANNING! 1 stars
6/22/10 christy spires This movie is awesome and it really makes you wonder about life on other planets!! 4 stars
3/08/09 SandySue Excellent! Can't go wrong with Spielberg & Tom together! 5 stars
2/11/09 Stewart Another terrible special effects movie. Stupid characters and a cliched story. 1 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J Fun watch. 4 stars
10/26/08 Martian ack ack ack 1 stars
10/13/08 blythe brown this movie's obvious unrealism, in certain respects (and bratty children)hurtItGreatly 2 stars
5/29/08 PAUL SHORTT A VISUAL AND TECHNICAL ACHIEVEMENT, BUT UNDERWHELMING ON EVERY OTHER LEVEL 1 stars
3/31/08 Raika One start because that's the lowest I can give. 1 stars
3/03/08 ladavies I can't stand Tom Cruise, but I saw this movie anyway... and kind of liked it 3 stars
2/14/08 2hoursdead Can I PLEASE strangle those two whiny, bratty children? PLEASE?? I'll pay! What crap! 1 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann If you enjoy Dakota Fanning screaming like a bat for two hours, then this movie is for you. 1 stars
10/24/07 Beau A very entertaining movie, Dakota Fanning is a very talented girl! 4 stars
9/08/07 H. A complete waste of time and money and a completely unnecessary movie 1 stars
8/16/07 Jusquick Brilliant acting amazing effects and I chewed all my nails off, thanks Mr S! 5 stars
8/13/07 Annonomiss What, Colin?! Nothing about 911 in this dreary sad waste of time movie. Bad. (period) 1 stars
7/01/07 Lyrical poet If you haven't seen it don't read muwhobbit 's reveiw because she tells you the ending 4 stars
6/07/07 Danielle Ophelia Summer movies don't get much better than this. Spielberg films do. 4 stars
5/16/07 Booksworm I never thought I'd say this, but David Cornelius and I actually agree on something. 5 stars
5/12/07 Browncoat Matt,you are an idiot.The acting was great,the plot was well developed,and the fx rock! 5 stars
5/01/07 Tracey Chambers not even entertaining by accident 2 stars
4/23/07 Matt What A joke! No story line, bad acting, and a worse ending make all the great fx for naught 1 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK ''It's not a war - it's an extermination!'' Really? I thought it was a Gay rights parade... 2 stars
4/17/07 Reesefire Black If you didn't like the ending to this movie, then you completely missed the point. 5 stars
4/04/07 Double M One of Cruise's weakest movies, the same goes for Spielberg.. yet it's still good enough.. 4 stars
4/03/07 Guido Sanchez Really a useless, silly film with a terrible ending dragging it down to 1. 1 stars
3/20/07 dude pretty good 4 stars
3/14/07 man screw Independance Day? not by a lomg shot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/03/07 Sam Soule Really good, thriller. But ParkerHale85, you could have used better language, your childish 5 stars
2/17/07 Vip Ebriega A solid Steven Spielberg movie. His best by far. 5 stars
1/31/07 action movie fan very good remake-the best film of 2005 4 stars
1/22/07 jeannie karlsen I HATE TOM CRUISE I HATE THIS MOVIE IF THERE WERE A '0' STAR I'D GIVE IT! 1 stars
12/12/06 Decimeo1 well it was a GREAT movieacrors was the BEST!! 5 stars
11/23/06 Austin Wertman GREAT MOVIE, BUT NOT AS GOOD AS JURASSIC PARK OR THE LOST WORLD 4 stars
11/22/06 jdean62 The worst.. The LAST Cruise movie I will ever see and lost all respect for Spielberg!! 1 stars
11/13/06 ParkerHale85 hmm...i would say this film sucks cock, is a cock and is fucking retardidly shit 1 stars
10/31/06 pete.chesworth Good scenes but left me feeling that it could have been so much better 3 stars
10/19/06 David Pollastrini great fx 5 stars
10/16/06 Charles Tatum Plays more like an FX highlight reel than a plot driven movie 3 stars
9/26/06 Donny good when you turn off your mind 3 stars
9/19/06 Joyster not worth the money spent 1 stars
8/16/06 anthonyuk true to the original but somewhat disappointing 3 stars
8/14/06 Sharon tim robbins was hott but the movie is gay gay gay gay gay gay gay!! 3 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Exquiste remake, very awesome aliens& FX!! 5 stars
7/15/06 rick james it sucks grabarge collector 1 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen Cruise actually does a good job, its the script that fails in this forgettable movie 3 stars
6/24/06 drydock54321 irritating characters, especially those two kids. I'd like to punch them in the nose. 3 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Great effects but major plot holes 3 stars
6/03/06 Carol Baker This is a pretty good movie for a remake. It follows the book and is a good update on the 4 stars
5/30/06 Agent Sands Despite the shittiest possible ending, it has some good, tense moments. 4 stars
5/26/06 dr.mendonca.correia@oninet.pt Martians walking so easily on Earth?! Who was Spielberg's consultant for this turkey?... 1 stars
5/14/06 Ron Green Great special effects! I was on the edge of my seat throughout this movie. 5 stars
5/05/06 emma awesome 5 stars
4/25/06 Jack A Steven Spielberg rocker 5 stars
4/03/06 Quigley one of my favorites. Spileberg made this movie not just awesome, but chilling. see it. 5 stars
3/15/06 rupert yes its bad tho still better than starwank revenge of the shite 2 stars
3/11/06 Reklc No plot, stereotypical ending... and Cruise just survives everything,bah- 3 stars
2/26/06 Larry Brown No story, Tom Cruise simply walks thru the movie so that we can see people get vaporized. 1 stars
2/20/06 Tanya excellent until you get to the last 15 minutes then hollywood kicks in 3 stars
2/01/06 Savannah The best movie in the WORLD 5 stars
1/25/06 Paul Best "alien invasion" sequence ever seen 5 stars
1/23/06 Ronin My expectations were higher. Unfortunately it's just so so. 3 stars
1/20/06 Mike Pulido Spielberg's films are usually worth the price of admission 4 stars
1/18/06 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Aside from some Visual effects, This was a steaming pile of shit. 1 stars
1/02/06 R.W.Welch Nice try but no match for the '53 classic. 3 1/3 sporks. 3 stars
1/01/06 Quigley you people have no clue. the CG destruction was epic. better than Star Wars 3? by a mile 5 stars
12/31/05 Jeff Anderson Terrible, enough said. Cruise's disgraceful ego was bad enough, but THIS! Don't bother!!!!! 1 stars
12/27/05 Tombstone not worth a damn 1 stars
12/22/05 Ethan M. After all the hype this movie put out, I was dissapointed. 3 stars
12/21/05 Carolyn Rathburn good grafics, love Dakota 4 stars
12/20/05 Stephen Kent Best movie ever created 5 stars
12/16/05 sunking alien ships must have risen through all the holes in the plot. Awful!! 1 stars
12/16/05 Danny Sucked big, fat, hairy ass. 1 stars
12/14/05 Indrid Cold Spielberg shows us why he's the master in several brilliant scenes, but the plot sucks. 4 stars
12/12/05 gray "good film 'cept those annoying people that kept getting in the way" 4 stars
12/12/05 Bad Critic I expected more. 3 stars
12/12/05 Ahnold Spileberg has lost ability to create believable characters. He's a big-budget hack now. 3 stars
12/07/05 Quigley an unforgettable theater experience. cruise wasn't bad, and the effects were spetacular. 5 stars
12/06/05 Monday Morning All EFX, no substance. Chubby rain...that's what to be scared of. 3 stars
12/03/05 Zenny visually amazing, otherwise pretty good 4 stars
12/02/05 George Utterly awful,just a Cruise vehicle,Stick with the original movie! 1 stars
12/01/05 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Sucked Balls 1 stars
11/30/05 Robert Quinn unforgetable and intense action 5 stars
11/28/05 Hans Voerknecht What a waste of money and time and talent 2 stars
11/27/05 Christine Hosie better than expected,fast paced,lots of action 5 stars
11/25/05 Idiot_for_LMP Didn't want to see but glad I did. Worth It for Fanning alone 4 stars
11/24/05 cr good story, good visual effects, and unrentless action= a spielberg classic 4 stars
11/23/05 merp Yeah this ones a blasting ride, with focus on human element rather than large scale wonder 4 stars
11/14/05 Lanie Richardson Great movie! Dakota Fanning was unbelievable! 5 stars
10/31/05 Quigley this movie was jsut incredible. with spileberg directing, harldy anything goes wrong. 5 stars
10/29/05 Gretchen Seitz Right watchable. Possibly best performance by a scientologist since SWIMFAN 4 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz Pretty fun, enjoyable at least. 4 stars
10/26/05 Richard Brandt Almost 30 years after CE3K, Steve's still remaking "The Searchers" 4 stars
10/26/05 Nick_Voro Overrated bec of Spielberg but hype aside it meets one’s expectations. Fanning is amazing. 5 stars
10/25/05 The EZ1 Enjoyable, loud summer popcorn flick. 4 stars
10/20/05 Agent Sands Riveting up until the pat ending. One scene of HILARIOUS comic relief. 4 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes so entertaning that I almost forgive Cruise for being an an asshole...ALMOST! 5 stars
9/14/05 Pinkline Jones Cruise plods big time in this sick-making and pointless colostomy gurgle 1 stars
9/14/05 Beth Blackburn It was freaking awesome!! Tom Cruise and Dakota Fanning are just a perfect match! 5 stars
9/09/05 Ric Genuinely terrifying; this is Spielberg's most entertaining movie since The Last Crusade. 5 stars
9/06/05 Barney Fife III *sigh* More Spielberg crap. 1 stars
9/05/05 Daryl Walker The fillm is a terrifying sci-fi masterpiece. 5 stars
9/04/05 Quigley what is wrong with you people? this movie rules so much! spielberg is the man. see it! yes! 5 stars
9/03/05 Eagle Movie has great FX but story and plot subpar 3 stars
8/28/05 Tom Burns One of the best remakes i have seen in awhile. 5 stars
8/25/05 Eden Brilliant first 2 acts but the third kills film 4 stars
8/23/05 Courtney McCarty THIS MOVIE WAS KICK ASS!! and all those who hated it have serious movie scoring issues. 5 stars
8/21/05 chris hagopian Slightly disappointing but still worth a look 4 stars
8/17/05 Frenzy Idoit story, dumber ending 1 stars
8/16/05 Mark Radburn War Of The Worlds is a kick-ass movie 5 stars
8/15/05 paris hart Fantastic fun movie,chilling and intense with gr8 performences NOT BORING 5 stars
8/13/05 Frenzy No story, poor acting, bad ending 1 stars
8/12/05 chrislyn d best 5 stars
8/10/05 jessica awesome and excellent 5 stars
8/09/05 Bubba Fish A below-average plot, with above-average action sequences makes it well... average. 3 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary I liked it, but I have a hard time watching most Spielberg movies more than once. 3 stars
8/04/05 Steve Wentworth If you've read the book or heard the musical version, you're in for a BIG disappointment. 2 stars
7/30/05 E Canfor-Dumas Poorly scripted, lacking in logic or believable characterisation; terrible ending... 2 stars
7/29/05 Thurisaz Brilliant in reintepreting so much of the novel without ruining it. For fans, made by fans. 5 stars
7/29/05 guy hedul kick ass secial effects 5 stars
7/28/05 Obi Wan Very Good Movie...but the 3rd act kinda let me down 5 stars
7/26/05 manuel A wonderful tracking shot in the car has me going back. 5 stars
7/26/05 Laura Lee Macleod for all the special effects- average, silly ending 3 stars
7/26/05 Ty Spiceland It starts off great, but falls apart about halfway through 3 stars
7/26/05 george vlahos best photography i can remember seeing since forgiven 5 stars
7/25/05 Suke Epic scenes, forced human story. Is it worth $10.75? 3 stars
7/25/05 John Bale More Spielberg than H. G. Wells, some excellent SFX however 4 stars
7/25/05 Stan Parker Sci Fi at its best. Although I thought Rays Kids were the worst thing about the movie. Ando 5 stars
7/24/05 Steve Newman Fantastic film, special effects, story, acting, aliens, dead bodies - all awesome - go see 5 stars
7/23/05 Quigley spielberg delivers and he delivers well. truly a jaw-dropping unforgettable film experience 5 stars
7/22/05 Jordan this movie was nothing like the book and tom cruise have kis w/o his gay lover rob thomas? 2 stars
7/20/05 Sir Dude This was much better than the old one. Tom Cruise did a great job in this movie. Go see it! 5 stars
7/19/05 Ex-Fan Fucken awesome, apart from the iffy finale, preety good fucker 5 stars
7/19/05 steve if i hear another person say 'post-911 world' i will vomit blood (the movie rules btw) 5 stars
7/19/05 War of the Worlds fan The narrow focus on Cruise and lack of scenes showing tripods firing death rays, ruined it 3 stars
7/19/05 herkos akhaion spectacular 5 stars
7/17/05 daveyt really wanted to enjoy it, effects overshadow content... 3 stars
7/16/05 mohd lal amer it is very fantistiec movie 5 stars
7/16/05 kevin completely unbelievable but pretty 3 stars
7/15/05 yo holy,fucking,shit. This is fucking crazy 5 stars
7/15/05 Aye Total crap? there is sumthin rong wit u ppl. This film is intense! 5 stars
7/15/05 Phil Nobbs Intense, gripping summer entertainment. Could have been longer, the finale is a bit rushed. 4 stars
7/15/05 bdboudreaux Plot holes a plenty and just plain insulting 1 stars
7/13/05 Spielberg rules Best movie of the year, fun and thoughtful 5 stars
7/13/05 Marty Aron It is a great movie! My son Jason and I are getting it ASAP! 5 stars
7/13/05 yo HOLY SHIT, this movie was so fucking good.GOD DAMN 5 stars
7/12/05 Frenzy Wast of money and time! 1 stars
7/12/05 Dirk the movie sucks big time... and that camera working after the EMP?! bwahaha 1 stars
7/12/05 shawn an absolute joke. this is from the guy who made jaws??? no way. 1 stars
7/12/05 sbpat21 ruthlessly frightening 4 stars
7/12/05 Koitus Bridge and ferry scenes were AWESOME! Very realistic, anxious moments / screenplay. 4 stars
7/11/05 kabir911 Independance day anyday, totally boring apart from 10 minutes of action !!??? 2 stars
7/11/05 KELLEN MATHERS Lots of action but not much plot 3 stars
7/11/05 slanes The special effects are awesome and so is the acting. 5 stars
7/11/05 ty mills excellent film, keeps you on the end of your chair 5 stars
7/11/05 8=====D badass! 5 stars
7/11/05 Jack Zane This film was so bad I was sick to my stomach. There is NO justice if it breaks even. 1 stars
7/11/05 Peteca Un bolazo, mucho ruido y pocas nueces, livianita, livianita 2 stars
7/11/05 me frog the ending sucks, but the ending is about two minutes 5 stars
7/10/05 Zefram Mann The imagery in this movie will kick you in the nuts, and won't stop till near the end. 5 stars
7/10/05 bullit16 Creepiest, most intense, most "wow"-inducing movie I've seen in a long time 5 stars
7/10/05 mickey rolda good parts just did not jell to make a great movie 3 stars
7/10/05 Rick Cabral The scariest film I've ever seen 5 stars
7/10/05 Daveman A paranoid right-wing fantasy, you'd be forgiven for thinking Ann Coulter wrote it. 2 stars
7/09/05 Dayvee Great special effects, but that's about it. 3 stars
7/09/05 Nevermind the repeat reviewers, this is Close Encounters' evil twin. The Grinch 5 stars
7/08/05 NA NA NA movie sucks,tom cruise is the luckiest man in this movie,sucks all ass 1 stars
7/08/05 Uncle Salty WORTHLESS, don't waste your time or money 1 stars
7/08/05 ELI FUCK Y'ALL!! The ending was illogical, but who the hell CARES?? The rest of the movie rocks 5 stars
7/08/05 John some good sequences somewhow make up a disapointing whole 3 stars
7/08/05 C. Burke This film had as much to do with 9/11 as Iraq. It sucked by the way 1 stars
7/08/05 Jack WTF! Square dancing in LA? 2 stars
7/07/05 Dave Great Special effects but horrible story, terrible pacing, and unbelievable ending ruin it 2 stars
7/07/05 DJP Steven has lost his way - story too flawed for his past achievements 2 stars
7/07/05 AP I kept hoping maybe tom cruise and the kids would die. 2 stars
7/07/05 Christine Hernandez The aliens went thru the trouble to bury tripods, but not R&D the blood compatibility? 2 stars
7/07/05 Elizabeth Blackey Great action; made me jump out of my seat a lot. Weak on plot and lame ending. 4 stars
7/07/05 andre sucky 2 stars
7/06/05 Nicholas Sheldon It's sad. Spielburg has lost his sense of wonder since JP & Private Ryan. 3 stars
7/06/05 Alex Worst movie i've seen in 1 or 2 years. and the pie was waiting for them in Boston. WTF? 1 stars
7/06/05 Aaron Grossfeld Worst remake I have ever seen! 2 stars
7/06/05 Ole Man Bourbon Mars Attacks! was better and more plausible 2 stars
7/06/05 Marlene Spielberg's worst 1 stars
7/06/05 Tyrantis Again, BEST ALIEN INVASION MOVIE EVER! 5 stars
7/05/05 Byzantine_101 Was'nt too bad but... Special effects & big name actors can't make up for the lack of plot! 4 stars
7/05/05 Giri has the movie come to an end? why did the martians die? why did i go to watch the movie? 1 stars
7/05/05 roy silly 1 stars
7/05/05 Charlene Javier Worst Spielberg movie since The Lost World. 2 stars
7/05/05 AE Smart horribly disturbing... Cruise had me wishing the martians had better aim... 2 stars
7/05/05 Ross Sewage This film is pretty bad. My suspension of disbelief is that the script was approved. 2 stars
7/05/05 Titus Good acting, good effects, but still a pretty stupid movie. 2 stars
7/05/05 Chris Tucker It Just Plain Sucks. 3 stars
7/05/05 Brian Awesome spectacle, good acting, massive plot holes, poor science, ridiculous ending 4 stars
7/04/05 Farren Minns Great film, but shame about the sugary sweet ending. 5 stars
7/04/05 tj This movie disrespected my wallet and intelligence, someone get me spielberg on the horn! 1 stars
7/04/05 Mark Outstanding! One of Spielberg's best. 5 stars
7/04/05 Robblebeary one word: crap 1 stars
7/04/05 Tyrantis BEST ALIEN INVASION MOVIE EVER! BEST ADAPTATION OF THE BOOK TOO! 5 stars
7/04/05 Todd Danieley Most Visually and Audibly Film I have ever encountered. Incredibly Shocking. 5 stars
7/04/05 edsdv awesome, thrilling, that's steven in great form 5 stars
7/04/05 M Chilling and all round great acting, ending is let down, typical hollywood! 5 stars
7/04/05 ALDO well worth watching....In the cinema..... 4 stars
7/04/05 goatfarmer superb: most credible alien invasion movie 5 stars
7/04/05 y2mckay an impressive display of sound and fury that falls apart the minute any scrutiny is applied 3 stars
7/04/05 Lord Jiggy Remove the Cruise-bashing, watch it for what it is...good film, strange pacing, good acting 4 stars
7/04/05 Evelyn Demirchian Amazing film, disturbing at times but truly a Spielburg masterpiece 5 stars
7/04/05 Jesse Special effects are great, story is good, supportive science is weak as hell. 4 stars
7/04/05 matt absolutely crazy!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/04/05 Tediboy I'd rate it an 8 out of 10 for excellent special effects & scary aliens! 5 stars
7/03/05 Vic i like to..however it was a let down and strayed from the story line ppl werre expecting 2 stars
7/03/05 Aaron W. This is one of the three worst movies I've ever seen! 1 stars
7/03/05 Melissa I was blown away by this movie...usually alien movies are cheesy, this one was awesome. 5 stars
7/03/05 Ornith Entertaining, but stays with the book's anticlimatic ending. 4 stars
7/03/05 Dan R. Good suspense for the first hour... pretty good acting... everything else sucked. 2 stars
7/03/05 Nixon what a crap movie. dakota fanning is so annoying with 1 stars
7/02/05 Agent Sands TERRIFIC first hour. DULL ending. 4 stars
7/02/05 Mxt One of Spielberg's laziest movie 3 stars
7/02/05 Mahone a tedious and extremely boring film 2 stars
7/02/05 Kankasaur Our microbes kick ass and their microbes suck...USA! USA! USA! 2 stars
7/02/05 kaz good acting and FX..no story.. 3 stars
7/02/05 BahamutFlare Great Acting, some errors but based on the novel... it was done well. 4 stars
7/02/05 dude (astoria.mung.net) Thank you! I kept thinking this is the first real post-9/11 film made and it just brothered 4 stars
7/02/05 Captain Craig WAR? What war? I must have blinked. 3 stars
7/02/05 kendrick excellent, could not keep my eyes off this movie, this blows all the rest out of the water! 5 stars
7/02/05 MaXine Harker I "knew it was a snake when I picked it up" and was not disappointed when I got bit!! 4 stars
7/02/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble A throwback to the silly monster flicks of the 50's. 4 stars
7/02/05 gyro_44 Ending is a cop-out (maybe better explained in the book); rest is spectacular and scary. 4 stars
7/02/05 Uncle Phucker For being P-13 this was well done and very freaky. 5 stars
7/01/05 Seana This movie blows all other alien invasion movies away. The acting of Tom Cruise and Dakota 5 stars
7/01/05 green gremlin Great effects...could have done with a better script 4 stars
7/01/05 JACK B SMELLY I THINK I SAW THE WRONG movie, other THAN THAT..............COOL 5 stars
7/01/05 David Hollands After...oh my, 16 YEARS, Spielberg finally gets back in the groove. An entertaining ride. 4 stars
7/01/05 Naka GLORIOUS. Fascinating for putting a human face on the carnage. 5 stars
7/01/05 Eddie Just a remake w/better effects seen it before 3 stars
7/01/05 werwer Total Crap 1 stars
7/01/05 Eden Even though it had alot of changes from the book, it was oddly still faithfull. 4 stars
7/01/05 TJ Nelson Worst movie I have ever seen 1 stars
7/01/05 Phil Buckley-Mellor Not perfect but the most terrifying film I've ever seen 5 stars
7/01/05 David Against All Hopes 3 stars
6/30/05 Sonya A. Willis Independence Day + Signs=I expect better from Spielberg 4 stars
6/30/05 ERIC BELOW AVERAGE 2 stars
6/30/05 Mitch great movie with a horrible ending. doesn't explain anything. 4 stars
6/30/05 Intelligent One total crap. matrix + independence day + son being alive at end = super crap 1 stars
6/30/05 allen plot holes Matt LeBlanc could pilot a spaceship through. an ending to snicker at. 1 stars
6/30/05 Ganesh Bhat Shockingly disappointing Movie. Am still recuperating. 2 stars
6/30/05 ajay good movie, would've kicked ass with a decent ending 4 stars
6/30/05 John Shannon Put all Spielberg's flicks in a blender, and you'll get this. A giant BLAH. 3 stars
6/30/05 Amy Teitter Steve Spielberg Takes Another Crap on the Big Screen and wastes another 2 hrs of my life 1 stars
6/30/05 Burt Ward another awesome spielberg film. 5 stars
6/30/05 Jim The Movie Freak Koepp still can't write a third act to save his life but still an excellent film 4 stars
6/30/05 Gary Steaming pile of dog sh*t...this movie is ET for teens.not a compliment! 1 stars
6/30/05 Dave One of Spielberg's worst films. 2 stars
6/29/05 Wayne Demers Great acting, story, special fx, and sound fx. Lousy ending. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Jun-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast