More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 19.2%
Worth A Look39.2%
Average: 20.8%
Pretty Bad: 8%
Total Crap: 12.8%

8 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wedding Crashers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"A raunchily R-rated rom-com that actually has some heart."
4 stars

Hey, some clever screenwriter thought, why not take all the things that boys like in a comedy (raunch, pratfalls, profanity, and bare breasts) and combine them with all the things that girls seem to like (romance, sweetness, dashing scoundrels)?? We'll market the thing as a "guy movie rom-com" and get jokers like Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn to star in it! And what do you know: Now only did the movie get made ... but it doesn't suck!

One half raunchy sex romp and one half good-natured romantic comedy, David Dobkin's Wedding Crashers succeeds for a variety of reasons -- not the least of which is the one-two leading man punch of Wilson and Vaughn. The guys are precisely as horny and silly as we want them to be, but they're also imbued with a few stray traces of "real guy" niceness. So while Wedding Crashers begins as a raucous and slightly vulgar sex comedy, the two leads are slowly wheedling their way into your hearts -- and this is when the romance material pops up, and, against all logical odds, we're completely fine with the lighthearted lovey-doveyness, because we like these characters.

Wilson and Vaughn play a best-pal pair of divorce mediators ... but their main love is the art of the wedding crash. Posing as two obscure relatives from who-knows-where, John and Jeremy slink their way into a variety of wedding parties, always there to have a good time, enjoy lots of great food / alcohol, and (of course) snag a few lovely bridesmaids for a good ol' fashioned one night stand. J & J are both very charming and funny, which helps one to overlook the fact that, basically, they're misleading and emotionally abusing women for sex....

But therein lies much of the fun. Vaughn, Wilson, Dobkin, and screenwriters Steve Faber & Bob Fisher are clearly intent on plowing right through the PC barriers; although Wedding Crashers never really achieves true crassness, there's a gleefully sophomoric and perpetually horny tone to the duo's dalliances. They're just overgrown frat boys trying to have a little fun.

But, and here's where the romance comes in, John manages to fall madly in love with one particular maid of honor. She's Claire Cleary, a young woman who's painfully gorgeous as well as the daughter of a rather intimidating politician. Despite the glowering presence of her current boyfriend, Claire invites John and Jeremy to join her family at their mega-swank and palatial estate.

And here's where Wedding Crashers switches from Animal House-style debauchery to Meet the Parents-style comedy of social errors. It's a tonal shift that's swift and rather abrupt, and I would contend that Wedding Crashers earliest scenes are its very best, but it's the two leads who keep the flick chugging along quite amiably. Wilson is the puppy-eyed lovestruck charmer; Vaughn is the oversexed and sarcastic schemer. The setting might change appreciably, but the actors just keep on truckin' while delivering some healthy laughs.

Although Wedding Crashers is clearly a two-man show, one would be foolish not to appreciate the performances of Rachel McAdams (basically the "straight man" here, but very adorable and very charming), Isla Fisher (who steals some great scenes for her very own, by being very funny and very sexy at the same time), and the always brilliant Christopher Walken. (Walken seems at his most mellow and sedate in this particular movie, which is not something I really expected, but hey, it's Walken; who am I to complain?)

This goofy little farce is not without its shortcomings: it employs that stupid old "foul granny" schtick that's, quite simply, never funny -- and the movie really does slow down to a crawl in its third act, as if it doesn't really know how it should end. Small stumbling blocks, sure, but a movie with this many solid laughs shouldn't have to resort to tired old material ... and it should absolutely not overstay its welcome.

But all things considered: "Wedding Crashers" is an absolutely perfect date movie for those between the ages of 18 and 40. It's got lots of playfully profane material, two solid comedians working overtime, and just enough well-earned sweetness to keep everybody happy. It ain't high art, and it sure isn't deep, but you'll laugh a lot, you'll get a happy ending, and you'll see a bevy of gorgeous women. Not a bad way to spend a Friday night.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12583&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/15/05 18:58:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/15/15 stanley welles sloppy and endless and endlessly sloppy 1 stars
4/12/10 art AN EXCELLENT SATIRE!,don't let this one get away! 5 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight About as overrated as Something About mary, and not as funny. 3 stars
10/20/08 RYAN GILBEY Dan Burns should have gotten a nomination for Creating Wedding Crashers the best Comedy eve 5 stars
10/17/08 BIG FAN DAN BURNS THE CREATOR OF 2005 #1 COMEDY "WEDDING CRASHERS" HIT A HOME RUN AGAIN, BEST FILM 5 stars
7/30/08 the dork knight It gets funnier toward the end, but not by much 3 stars
6/21/08 PAUL SHORTT BY MY COUNT, IT DOESNT JUST CRASH, IT BURNS 1 stars
6/25/07 johnnyfog Overrated. Vaughn's scenes are funny, but the rest is blah. 3 stars
5/13/07 Claude Tyson Claudelicous so delicious gecko bags 1 stars
4/18/07 David Pollastrini lots of hot women in this! 3 stars
2/25/07 AJ Muller Funny as all hell; Vaughn and Wilson lock it up, Walken rocks, McAdams is perfect. 4 stars
12/30/06 DavidWebber Good not great, but fun. 4 stars
12/13/06 Dude Very Funny 4 stars
11/11/06 Jamethon At last! A COMPLETELY laugh-free comedy! How bold and original! 1 stars
10/20/06 LaWRY I BASHED UP THEO pardoen 1 stars
10/14/06 Eric It was alright... overrated though. Some funny scenes, but lots of gaps in between them. 3 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard YUCK! I got up and left the theater after 30 minutes. Stupid & idiodic. 1 stars
9/14/06 Travis Barker this movie was a good funny laugh, my homeboys and i comment the jokes all the time 5 stars
8/01/06 drydock54321 nice funny movie 4 stars
7/31/06 Mike Brian McKay is an ignorant jack ass 5 stars
7/31/06 Lawrence Sabadi Lawry Kix Ass 1 stars
6/08/06 Ashley Hinz Rent or buy the Unrated Version, just to see the grandma some more. 5 stars
6/04/06 millersxing Definitely not on my all-time list of funniest comedies. Ho-hum. 3 stars
5/23/06 Lawrence Sabadi very funny movie...................lawry rules 2006 4 stars
3/12/06 Chris Wilbik Pretty lame, not many funny scenes and rather boring. 2 stars
3/07/06 Steven Lewis hilarious, a must own 5 stars
1/24/06 Phil M. Aficionado Just read EricDSnider's review. Spot on. Cute flick but nothing special 3 stars
1/23/06 Del Very few funny parts. Turned the DVD off halfway through. 1 stars
1/18/06 Ole Man Bourbon Nothing even happens during the first hour. Meh. 2 stars
1/16/06 Jim Cute but overly long. Like a wedding reception. 4 stars
1/15/06 chris f really funny film 5 stars
1/09/06 Anthony Feor It loses a star for Bore and stupid crude humor that was not needed, But still funny 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Okay but too many romcom cliches, not enough laughs, overated 3 stars
1/02/06 Jeff Anderson Hilarious & refreshingly alive! Vaughn & Wilson are great, but Fisher is an absolute scream 5 stars
12/25/05 emre kaplan very very very sweat girl claire cleary.... 5 stars
11/01/05 TESSA A. EBARRETE TEH BEST COMEDY FILM I'VE SEEN IN YEARS. THE TEAM UP OF OWEN AND RACHEL IS GREAT. HOPE THEY 5 stars
10/27/05 Michael Kondo this movie was actually quite funny, i had my doubts when i first got there but it was good 5 stars
10/27/05 venty Hi-o 5 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz The begining was slow and repetitive, after that a decent flick. 3 stars
10/25/05 The EZ1 Best Comedy of the Year...so far. 4 stars
10/18/05 Agent Sands 1st 45 minutes: Hilarious pretend-con flick. After that: A ridiculous, uneven mess. 3 stars
10/11/05 Adrienne Absolutely hilarious, laughed so hard, I started to cough, I'll wanna learn every line 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod absolutely an insult to human intelligence the lowest of the low 1 stars
9/06/05 Frenzy Really good comedi 4 stars
8/25/05 Tom Benton One of the best comedies of the last decade. Wilson, Vaughn and Jane Seymour are excellent. 4 stars
8/22/05 deeza Pathetic, not funny, poor script - a mess. 1 stars
8/14/05 Zephyr J Hideous. Awful Directing sinks good cast. 1 stars
8/12/05 Sully Isla Fisher can tie me up any night....she's on fire...!!!! 4 stars
8/11/05 Christian This movie was very unfunny. Just watch for the great chemistry between Wilson & Vaughn. 2 stars
8/09/05 Taylor Fladgate A very fun romp...as a comedy, it's the best this year 5 stars
8/07/05 sbpat21 very funny, but way too long 4 stars
8/07/05 Roy Smith I liked Will Farrel. The End Times are Here! 5 stars
8/06/05 Will S Nice, funny movie - yes its an unoriginal plot, but the script and acting are brilliant! 4 stars
8/06/05 Christopher Jones This movie was a very funny movie. This is the most laughs I've had in a while. 5 stars
8/04/05 orpy worst movie I've seen in a while 1 stars
8/03/05 Dan Great first half, crappy second half 3 stars
8/02/05 Clatz Laughed hard at times, but what was up with Walken? He looked half asleep in this film. 4 stars
8/01/05 Greg This is what the older comedy audience has been waiting for since American Wedding. 5 stars
8/01/05 R clarance, autumn, i don't want to criticize you, i just want to understand you.. 1 stars
7/30/05 Zandalee There has been too much hype for this mediocre movie. 2 stars
7/29/05 Autumn This was an awesome film. I haven't laughed so hard in a longtime. My stomach hurt aftwrd 5 stars
7/28/05 JoH2O I loved it, Miss _h fuck you 5 stars
7/26/05 Laura Lee Macleod stupid, boring not funny movie, big let-down 1 stars
7/26/05 miss_h how bmuch more BAD FILMS & BAD ACTORS playing stoopid parts for way too much money? 1 stars
7/26/05 Indrid Cold All the romantic comedy cliches are forgivable because it's actually funny. 4 stars
7/25/05 ClaranceTheCobra 2hrs of laughs ++ Hilarious dialogue, and priceless scenes 5 stars
7/23/05 Dan Too much off a romntic comedy. Would have been better if it were more like "Old School" 3 stars
7/21/05 jcjs fun, funny, light hearted, good time, laughs 4 stars
7/21/05 Vince An AWESOME FILM. Better second time viewing cuz u actually catch hidden jokes. 5 stars
7/18/05 kerry Too much language and sexual stuff 1 stars
7/17/05 cpbjr did drag, but owen and vaughn were TREMENDOUS! 5 stars
7/17/05 KCobain Vaughn elevates this. 4 stars
7/17/05 8=====D so sexy 8=======D *fap* *fap* *fap* 5 stars
7/17/05 ajay was laughing out loud for the first 3/4, the last bit kept it from being fuckin' awesome 4 stars
7/17/05 astrotart Edited down to 90 min, this movie would have been awesome. Vaughn was absolutely precious! 4 stars
7/16/05 Jim The Movie Freak Reasonably entertaining. Special cameo steals the show. Vaughn was hysterical 3 stars
7/08/05 Ray Average 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jul-2005 (R)
  DVD: 03-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Aug-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast