More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 19.2%
Worth A Look39.2%
Average: 20.8%
Pretty Bad: 8%
Total Crap: 12.8%

8 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wedding Crashers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Too long by 30 minutes, but good up till then."
3 stars

Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson, frequent visitors to each other's movies, have not played the leads together in one until now, with "Wedding Crashers." Vaughn and Wilson, along with Wilson's brother Luke, Ben Stiller, Will Ferrell -- they all feel interchangeable at times, like you can put any two of them as stars of a movie and it will turn out OK.

That is the case with "Wedding Crashers," which stars Vaughn and Wilson as two overgrown frat boys who show up uninvited to weddings, mingle with the guests, ingratiate themselves into the family, and then have one-night stands with whatever pretty young ladies they can find at the reception. Will Ferrell has a cameo, but he might just as well have been one of the stars, with, say, Ben Stiller making the cameo and Vaughn sitting this one out.

"Starsky & Hutch" had Stiller and Owen Wilson with Vaughn in a secondary role and a cameo by Ferrell, and "Old School" had Luke Wilson, Vaughn and Ferrell, "Dodgeball" had Vaughn and Stiller, and "Anchorman" starred Ferrell but had cameos by Stiller, Luke Wilson and Vaughn, and I think they were all in "Zoolander," and do you see what I mean?

"Wedding Crashers" doesn't do much to distinguish itself from the pack, but it is a ribald, sophomorically funny exercise in prankery. Vaughn and Wilson play Jeremy and John, two lifelong friends and divorce mediators who, by consequence of their profession, have a dim view of marriage and commitment. They live in the Washington, D.C., area, where June marks the beginning of a tremendous wedding season. With the right cover story ("We're Uncle Ned's kids"; "We knew Sanjay in college"; etc.) and a well-honed ability to fit in with any crowd, they spend every weekend eating free food, drinking free booze and sleeping with free women.

The event of the season is the wedding of a daughter of U.S. Treasury Secretary William Cleary (Christopher Walken). Crashing this would be like a community college dropout crashing Harvard. They boys do it, but they hit snags. Jeremy hooks up with the bride's younger daughter Gloria (Isla Fisher), who turns out to be a virginal nutcase who thinks this means Jeremy wants to marry her. And John falls for Gloria's other single sister, Claire (Rachel McAdams), who already has a boyfriend (played by Bradley Cooper). That the boyfriend is a possessive, unfaithful jerk goes without saying; if he were likable, we'd feel bad when John eventually steals his girl, not to spoil anything for you.

Before they can stop it, John and Jeremy are whisked away on a family weekend with the Clearys to their Maryland home, where Jeremy tries to avoid Gloria and John tries to woo Claire away from her beau. At the homestead, we meet the usual tiresome variety of family oddballs, including the bitter gay son (Keir O'Donnell), the seductive, alcoholic mom (Jane Seymour), and the -- heaven help us, another one of these? -- foul-mouthed grandma (Ellen Albertini Dow).

The screenplay itself, by Steve Faber and Bob Fisher, should have been overhauled before being filmed. The entire last act -- fully 30 minutes of the movie -- is unnecessary, dragging the story along slowly to its painfully obvious conclusion. Audiences don't mind a predictable plot if the journey is enjoyable, but this one becomes considerably less funny as it goes, milking the rift between John and Claire (after her inevitable discovery of his lies), and then between John and Jeremy, for far more screen time than they need. This is an 85-minute movie that's been stretched into 119 minutes.

But the two leads are a good pair, Vaughn's rapid-fire delivery nicely complementing Wilson's lazy-surfer drawl. Bradley Cooper demonstrates he is not cut out for broad comedy as the cartoonishly evil boyfriend, but then you've got Isla Fisher, delightfully loony and a welcome addition as Gloria. And of course any supporting role played by Christopher Walken is fun just for his sheer, bizarre Walkennness. Walken was in "Envy," too, you'll recall, with Ben Stiller, as well as that great cowbell sketch on "SNL" with Will Ferrell, and -- oh, never mind.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12583&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/15/05 17:03:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/15/15 stanley welles sloppy and endless and endlessly sloppy 1 stars
4/12/10 art AN EXCELLENT SATIRE!,don't let this one get away! 5 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight About as overrated as Something About mary, and not as funny. 3 stars
10/20/08 RYAN GILBEY Dan Burns should have gotten a nomination for Creating Wedding Crashers the best Comedy eve 5 stars
10/17/08 BIG FAN DAN BURNS THE CREATOR OF 2005 #1 COMEDY "WEDDING CRASHERS" HIT A HOME RUN AGAIN, BEST FILM 5 stars
7/30/08 the dork knight It gets funnier toward the end, but not by much 3 stars
6/21/08 PAUL SHORTT BY MY COUNT, IT DOESNT JUST CRASH, IT BURNS 1 stars
6/25/07 johnnyfog Overrated. Vaughn's scenes are funny, but the rest is blah. 3 stars
5/13/07 Claude Tyson Claudelicous so delicious gecko bags 1 stars
4/18/07 David Pollastrini lots of hot women in this! 3 stars
2/25/07 AJ Muller Funny as all hell; Vaughn and Wilson lock it up, Walken rocks, McAdams is perfect. 4 stars
12/30/06 DavidWebber Good not great, but fun. 4 stars
12/13/06 Dude Very Funny 4 stars
11/11/06 Jamethon At last! A COMPLETELY laugh-free comedy! How bold and original! 1 stars
10/20/06 LaWRY I BASHED UP THEO pardoen 1 stars
10/14/06 Eric It was alright... overrated though. Some funny scenes, but lots of gaps in between them. 3 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard YUCK! I got up and left the theater after 30 minutes. Stupid & idiodic. 1 stars
9/14/06 Travis Barker this movie was a good funny laugh, my homeboys and i comment the jokes all the time 5 stars
8/01/06 drydock54321 nice funny movie 4 stars
7/31/06 Mike Brian McKay is an ignorant jack ass 5 stars
7/31/06 Lawrence Sabadi Lawry Kix Ass 1 stars
6/08/06 Ashley Hinz Rent or buy the Unrated Version, just to see the grandma some more. 5 stars
6/04/06 millersxing Definitely not on my all-time list of funniest comedies. Ho-hum. 3 stars
5/23/06 Lawrence Sabadi very funny movie...................lawry rules 2006 4 stars
3/12/06 Chris Wilbik Pretty lame, not many funny scenes and rather boring. 2 stars
3/07/06 Steven Lewis hilarious, a must own 5 stars
1/24/06 Phil M. Aficionado Just read EricDSnider's review. Spot on. Cute flick but nothing special 3 stars
1/23/06 Del Very few funny parts. Turned the DVD off halfway through. 1 stars
1/18/06 Ole Man Bourbon Nothing even happens during the first hour. Meh. 2 stars
1/16/06 Jim Cute but overly long. Like a wedding reception. 4 stars
1/15/06 chris f really funny film 5 stars
1/09/06 Anthony Feor It loses a star for Bore and stupid crude humor that was not needed, But still funny 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Okay but too many romcom cliches, not enough laughs, overated 3 stars
1/02/06 Jeff Anderson Hilarious & refreshingly alive! Vaughn & Wilson are great, but Fisher is an absolute scream 5 stars
12/25/05 emre kaplan very very very sweat girl claire cleary.... 5 stars
11/01/05 TESSA A. EBARRETE TEH BEST COMEDY FILM I'VE SEEN IN YEARS. THE TEAM UP OF OWEN AND RACHEL IS GREAT. HOPE THEY 5 stars
10/27/05 Michael Kondo this movie was actually quite funny, i had my doubts when i first got there but it was good 5 stars
10/27/05 venty Hi-o 5 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz The begining was slow and repetitive, after that a decent flick. 3 stars
10/25/05 The EZ1 Best Comedy of the Year...so far. 4 stars
10/18/05 Agent Sands 1st 45 minutes: Hilarious pretend-con flick. After that: A ridiculous, uneven mess. 3 stars
10/11/05 Adrienne Absolutely hilarious, laughed so hard, I started to cough, I'll wanna learn every line 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod absolutely an insult to human intelligence the lowest of the low 1 stars
9/06/05 Frenzy Really good comedi 4 stars
8/25/05 Tom Benton One of the best comedies of the last decade. Wilson, Vaughn and Jane Seymour are excellent. 4 stars
8/22/05 deeza Pathetic, not funny, poor script - a mess. 1 stars
8/14/05 Zephyr J Hideous. Awful Directing sinks good cast. 1 stars
8/12/05 Sully Isla Fisher can tie me up any night....she's on fire...!!!! 4 stars
8/11/05 Christian This movie was very unfunny. Just watch for the great chemistry between Wilson & Vaughn. 2 stars
8/09/05 Taylor Fladgate A very fun romp...as a comedy, it's the best this year 5 stars
8/07/05 sbpat21 very funny, but way too long 4 stars
8/07/05 Roy Smith I liked Will Farrel. The End Times are Here! 5 stars
8/06/05 Will S Nice, funny movie - yes its an unoriginal plot, but the script and acting are brilliant! 4 stars
8/06/05 Christopher Jones This movie was a very funny movie. This is the most laughs I've had in a while. 5 stars
8/04/05 orpy worst movie I've seen in a while 1 stars
8/03/05 Dan Great first half, crappy second half 3 stars
8/02/05 Clatz Laughed hard at times, but what was up with Walken? He looked half asleep in this film. 4 stars
8/01/05 Greg This is what the older comedy audience has been waiting for since American Wedding. 5 stars
8/01/05 R clarance, autumn, i don't want to criticize you, i just want to understand you.. 1 stars
7/30/05 Zandalee There has been too much hype for this mediocre movie. 2 stars
7/29/05 Autumn This was an awesome film. I haven't laughed so hard in a longtime. My stomach hurt aftwrd 5 stars
7/28/05 JoH2O I loved it, Miss _h fuck you 5 stars
7/26/05 Laura Lee Macleod stupid, boring not funny movie, big let-down 1 stars
7/26/05 miss_h how bmuch more BAD FILMS & BAD ACTORS playing stoopid parts for way too much money? 1 stars
7/26/05 Indrid Cold All the romantic comedy cliches are forgivable because it's actually funny. 4 stars
7/25/05 ClaranceTheCobra 2hrs of laughs ++ Hilarious dialogue, and priceless scenes 5 stars
7/23/05 Dan Too much off a romntic comedy. Would have been better if it were more like "Old School" 3 stars
7/21/05 jcjs fun, funny, light hearted, good time, laughs 4 stars
7/21/05 Vince An AWESOME FILM. Better second time viewing cuz u actually catch hidden jokes. 5 stars
7/18/05 kerry Too much language and sexual stuff 1 stars
7/17/05 cpbjr did drag, but owen and vaughn were TREMENDOUS! 5 stars
7/17/05 KCobain Vaughn elevates this. 4 stars
7/17/05 8=====D so sexy 8=======D *fap* *fap* *fap* 5 stars
7/17/05 ajay was laughing out loud for the first 3/4, the last bit kept it from being fuckin' awesome 4 stars
7/17/05 astrotart Edited down to 90 min, this movie would have been awesome. Vaughn was absolutely precious! 4 stars
7/16/05 Jim The Movie Freak Reasonably entertaining. Special cameo steals the show. Vaughn was hysterical 3 stars
7/08/05 Ray Average 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jul-2005 (R)
  DVD: 03-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Aug-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast