More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 19.2%
Worth A Look39.2%
Average: 20.8%
Pretty Bad: 8%
Total Crap: 12.8%

8 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Aladdin (2019) by Jay Seaver

All Is True by Jay Seaver

Fugue by Jay Seaver

Aniara by Jay Seaver

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum by Jay Seaver

Long Day's Journey Into Night (2018) by Jay Seaver

Shadow by Jay Seaver

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché by Jay Seaver

Hustle, The by Peter Sobczynski

Detective Pikachu by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Wedding Crashers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by William Goss

"Wedding Bliss"
4 stars

The combination of Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson, along with a surprisingly solid supporting cast, makes 'Wedding Crashers' one of the funniest films of the year.

Chronic bachelors John Beckwith (Owen Wilson) and Jeremy Klein (Vince Vaughn) invite themselves to weddings and become the life of the party in their pursuit for women. However, at a high-profile ceremony, John falls for Claire (Rachel McAdams), while Jeremy can't escape her clingy sister, Gloria (Isla Fisher).

With a concept this basic, it is up to the main men to carry the film. The pair have a contagious chemistry, a fine balance between Vaughn's high-strung antics and Wilson's laid-back demeanor. However, the supporting actors earn just as many laughs as those top-billed. Christopher Walken plays it straight as Treasury Secretary Cleary, father to Claire and Gloria, while Jane Seymour lets loose as Cleary's vivacious wife. While the Cleary son and grandmother each shine, it is Fisher, as the demented Gloria, who just barely steals the show, especially when she comes in handy during a dinner scene. In fact, an unsurprising third-act cameo is the only performance that fails to measure up, if only due to their screen time (or lack thereof).

The key aspect of the film is its R rating. This is an R-rated comedy in a different sense than The Girl Next Door or Eurotrip, but that of Stripes and August's The 40-Year-Old Virgin, where the intent is to embrace the rating instead of abusing it. New Line originally intended for this film to be PG-13, which would have been disasterous. Thankfully, the studio wised up and, as a result, released a hilarious adult comedy. While there is a bit of pointless nudity, everything else, every sexual gag and foul word, is worth it. Another noteworthy aspect is the film's length. A two-hour running time is unusually long for a comedy, but the film manages not to drag horribly except towards the end, when the more predictable parts of the plot kick in.

At one point in the movie, John is addressing Claire on her speech before the reception, and reminds her that "people like funny." That sounds like a lesson learned. In a summer this dark and serious, a movie like 'Wedding Crashers' is exactly what audiences need: an R-rated laugh riot that knows how to have fun and lots of it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12583&reviewer=409
originally posted: 10/25/05 15:06:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/15/15 stanley welles sloppy and endless and endlessly sloppy 1 stars
4/12/10 art AN EXCELLENT SATIRE!,don't let this one get away! 5 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight About as overrated as Something About mary, and not as funny. 3 stars
10/20/08 RYAN GILBEY Dan Burns should have gotten a nomination for Creating Wedding Crashers the best Comedy eve 5 stars
10/17/08 BIG FAN DAN BURNS THE CREATOR OF 2005 #1 COMEDY "WEDDING CRASHERS" HIT A HOME RUN AGAIN, BEST FILM 5 stars
7/30/08 the dork knight It gets funnier toward the end, but not by much 3 stars
6/21/08 PAUL SHORTT BY MY COUNT, IT DOESNT JUST CRASH, IT BURNS 1 stars
6/25/07 johnnyfog Overrated. Vaughn's scenes are funny, but the rest is blah. 3 stars
5/13/07 Claude Tyson Claudelicous so delicious gecko bags 1 stars
4/18/07 David Pollastrini lots of hot women in this! 3 stars
2/25/07 AJ Muller Funny as all hell; Vaughn and Wilson lock it up, Walken rocks, McAdams is perfect. 4 stars
12/30/06 DavidWebber Good not great, but fun. 4 stars
12/13/06 Dude Very Funny 4 stars
11/11/06 Jamethon At last! A COMPLETELY laugh-free comedy! How bold and original! 1 stars
10/20/06 LaWRY I BASHED UP THEO pardoen 1 stars
10/14/06 Eric It was alright... overrated though. Some funny scenes, but lots of gaps in between them. 3 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard YUCK! I got up and left the theater after 30 minutes. Stupid & idiodic. 1 stars
9/14/06 Travis Barker this movie was a good funny laugh, my homeboys and i comment the jokes all the time 5 stars
8/01/06 drydock54321 nice funny movie 4 stars
7/31/06 Mike Brian McKay is an ignorant jack ass 5 stars
7/31/06 Lawrence Sabadi Lawry Kix Ass 1 stars
6/08/06 Ashley Hinz Rent or buy the Unrated Version, just to see the grandma some more. 5 stars
6/04/06 millersxing Definitely not on my all-time list of funniest comedies. Ho-hum. 3 stars
5/23/06 Lawrence Sabadi very funny movie...................lawry rules 2006 4 stars
3/12/06 Chris Wilbik Pretty lame, not many funny scenes and rather boring. 2 stars
3/07/06 Steven Lewis hilarious, a must own 5 stars
1/24/06 Phil M. Aficionado Just read EricDSnider's review. Spot on. Cute flick but nothing special 3 stars
1/23/06 Del Very few funny parts. Turned the DVD off halfway through. 1 stars
1/18/06 Ole Man Bourbon Nothing even happens during the first hour. Meh. 2 stars
1/16/06 Jim Cute but overly long. Like a wedding reception. 4 stars
1/15/06 chris f really funny film 5 stars
1/09/06 Anthony Feor It loses a star for Bore and stupid crude humor that was not needed, But still funny 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Okay but too many romcom cliches, not enough laughs, overated 3 stars
1/02/06 Jeff Anderson Hilarious & refreshingly alive! Vaughn & Wilson are great, but Fisher is an absolute scream 5 stars
12/25/05 emre kaplan very very very sweat girl claire cleary.... 5 stars
11/01/05 TESSA A. EBARRETE TEH BEST COMEDY FILM I'VE SEEN IN YEARS. THE TEAM UP OF OWEN AND RACHEL IS GREAT. HOPE THEY 5 stars
10/27/05 Michael Kondo this movie was actually quite funny, i had my doubts when i first got there but it was good 5 stars
10/27/05 venty Hi-o 5 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz The begining was slow and repetitive, after that a decent flick. 3 stars
10/25/05 The EZ1 Best Comedy of the Year...so far. 4 stars
10/18/05 Agent Sands 1st 45 minutes: Hilarious pretend-con flick. After that: A ridiculous, uneven mess. 3 stars
10/11/05 Adrienne Absolutely hilarious, laughed so hard, I started to cough, I'll wanna learn every line 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod absolutely an insult to human intelligence the lowest of the low 1 stars
9/06/05 Frenzy Really good comedi 4 stars
8/25/05 Tom Benton One of the best comedies of the last decade. Wilson, Vaughn and Jane Seymour are excellent. 4 stars
8/22/05 deeza Pathetic, not funny, poor script - a mess. 1 stars
8/14/05 Zephyr J Hideous. Awful Directing sinks good cast. 1 stars
8/12/05 Sully Isla Fisher can tie me up any night....she's on fire...!!!! 4 stars
8/11/05 Christian This movie was very unfunny. Just watch for the great chemistry between Wilson & Vaughn. 2 stars
8/09/05 Taylor Fladgate A very fun romp...as a comedy, it's the best this year 5 stars
8/07/05 sbpat21 very funny, but way too long 4 stars
8/07/05 Roy Smith I liked Will Farrel. The End Times are Here! 5 stars
8/06/05 Will S Nice, funny movie - yes its an unoriginal plot, but the script and acting are brilliant! 4 stars
8/06/05 Christopher Jones This movie was a very funny movie. This is the most laughs I've had in a while. 5 stars
8/04/05 orpy worst movie I've seen in a while 1 stars
8/03/05 Dan Great first half, crappy second half 3 stars
8/02/05 Clatz Laughed hard at times, but what was up with Walken? He looked half asleep in this film. 4 stars
8/01/05 Greg This is what the older comedy audience has been waiting for since American Wedding. 5 stars
8/01/05 R clarance, autumn, i don't want to criticize you, i just want to understand you.. 1 stars
7/30/05 Zandalee There has been too much hype for this mediocre movie. 2 stars
7/29/05 Autumn This was an awesome film. I haven't laughed so hard in a longtime. My stomach hurt aftwrd 5 stars
7/28/05 JoH2O I loved it, Miss _h fuck you 5 stars
7/26/05 Laura Lee Macleod stupid, boring not funny movie, big let-down 1 stars
7/26/05 miss_h how bmuch more BAD FILMS & BAD ACTORS playing stoopid parts for way too much money? 1 stars
7/26/05 Indrid Cold All the romantic comedy cliches are forgivable because it's actually funny. 4 stars
7/25/05 ClaranceTheCobra 2hrs of laughs ++ Hilarious dialogue, and priceless scenes 5 stars
7/23/05 Dan Too much off a romntic comedy. Would have been better if it were more like "Old School" 3 stars
7/21/05 jcjs fun, funny, light hearted, good time, laughs 4 stars
7/21/05 Vince An AWESOME FILM. Better second time viewing cuz u actually catch hidden jokes. 5 stars
7/18/05 kerry Too much language and sexual stuff 1 stars
7/17/05 cpbjr did drag, but owen and vaughn were TREMENDOUS! 5 stars
7/17/05 KCobain Vaughn elevates this. 4 stars
7/17/05 8=====D so sexy 8=======D *fap* *fap* *fap* 5 stars
7/17/05 ajay was laughing out loud for the first 3/4, the last bit kept it from being fuckin' awesome 4 stars
7/17/05 astrotart Edited down to 90 min, this movie would have been awesome. Vaughn was absolutely precious! 4 stars
7/16/05 Jim The Movie Freak Reasonably entertaining. Special cameo steals the show. Vaughn was hysterical 3 stars
7/08/05 Ray Average 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jul-2005 (R)
  DVD: 03-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Aug-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast