More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.33

Awesome59.42%
Worth A Look: 26.09%
Average: 8.7%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 5.8%

3 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


First Blood
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dill Havarti

"Lay bare your skeleton, your error, your pain"
4 stars

We heard about this film for weeks before it came out. Adults in the small town I grew up in wouldn't talk about it. Saying Viet Nam was like talking about sex; an issue best left for parents to explain.

John Rambo brought to life the post-war
struggle. Identity, place, fraternity,
and love all hid in the shadows, away
from the 'Nam vet's glare.

When this film came out, my Mom worked
for the Forest Service (or "Smokey the
Bear") in the typing pool in Corvallis,
Oregon on the West coast of the US. She
took me to see First Blood and she
caught a bunch of flack for doing it.
But my Ma' wanted me to get the whole
story.

My Mom was kind of an old socialist in
the French feminist egalitarian way. In
the mid to late seventies, her resolve
faded like the French femenist movement,
swaying along the path, adopting
religious tones mixed with pragmatism.
But Mom didn't let her slowed activism
change how she raised my step-siblings
and me. If we asked, we got a truthful
answer. She told us love was great. She
told us good friends were the most
important thing. She told us life was
messy and painful sometimes, too.

In a way I think US parents wanted to
forget about the seventies. Nixon was
in the crapper still. The shock of the
number of dead men hadn't really sunk
all the way in. The total devastation
to those left living could only be
guessed at.

First Blood was an important step, bringing more of the story to the screen than just apocalypse. Sly Stallone humanized our social deficiency brilliantly.

Life is simple, but life is very hard sometimes; this is displayed wonderfully in this first John Rambo episode. Too bad about the sequels.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1259&reviewer=95
originally posted: 06/04/00 11:57:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2016 Monster Fest For more in the 2016 Monster Fest series, click here.

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell dull & sadistic 1 stars
6/15/14 Jamie Loved this review, so insightful. Just a great movie! 5 stars
8/15/10 bored mom A seriously meaningful classic unlike the sequels. Still resonates strongly well after Nam. 5 stars
2/20/10 art STALLONE"S BEST ROLE!,{I ROLL MY EYE"S!} 1 stars
1/25/10 Chad Dillon Cooper A one man Hostess twinkie on a rampage. 1 stars
8/03/09 PAUL SHORTT DISTURBED PSYCHOLOGICAL ADVENTURE WITH SOME GOOD ACTION SEQUENCES 3 stars
4/09/09 Hiroshi Probably my favorite Stallone film. 5 stars
5/18/08 carlos G Better dialogue woulda done world of good, but Denehy great & not cheezy 80s/2008 gungho 4 stars
8/09/07 EZ $$ that's a huge gun 5 stars
7/14/07 Quigley Why is this so overrated. It's amazingly average, despite some cool scenes. 3 stars
6/13/07 al smith amazing one of the best films of the 80's 5 stars
1/01/07 johnnyfog No one believes me when I say this film has emotion. Thanks Stallone for the shitty sequels 5 stars
7/17/06 Indrid Cold Some great acting tempers the 80s cheesiness of it, but it still is far from a classic. 4 stars
3/20/06 Klondo yeah, we get it Snider: You Hate George Bush 5 stars
1/10/06 Cody a excellent action movie with good story and great perf. by stallone 4 stars
8/22/05 ES An amazing movie, the sequels were not 5 stars
7/29/05 tony EXELLENT PICTURE! 5 stars
3/13/05 Ronin Excelent. Still entertaining. A classic of the genre. Quite deep too. You MUST see it. 5 stars
2/16/05 Sugarfoot Absoluate classic. 5 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson A surprisingly good film with Stallone at his best! A great double-bill with 1982's RUCKUS. 4 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton One of Stallone's best; entertaining to the max. 4 stars
2/04/04 Spiderfan729 I had low expectations but while being crazily different from the book, it delievers! 5 stars
1/17/04 justin osborn i loved this movie 5 stars
12/27/03 Spiderfan729 The book freakin' rocked! David Morrel is a great writer! 5 stars
11/29/03 Jaron A brillian film!!! This film Captures the reality of after-war experiences... 5 stars
11/27/03 John it's exiting and involving - one of the best scores by Mr Goldsmith 5 stars
7/14/03 Sam Moszynski Best Rambo film. One of Sly's best! 4 stars
3/10/03 Jack Sommersby Too implausible to resonate, yet too exciting to ignore. 4 stars
3/09/03 jack b nimble Great movie 5 stars
5/19/02 john waite stallones best..more human than the sequels..nice knife to!..ohh.and he crys!..ahhhhh 5 stars
4/05/02 Justin My favorite Sly film without a doubt! 5 stars
3/06/02 Nate Makes alot of sence. One of the best movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent This is sweet!!! 5 stars
1/03/02 thijs mulders it's deeper than you think, not just action but also drama 5 stars
11/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The the best of the Rambos, even though it's the first. 3 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith Perfect Stallone movie to feature his machismo! 5 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung One of Stallone's best. Still isn't that good. 3 stars
3/01/01 R.W. Welch Less superficial than the bulk of Stallone's flicks and fairly intense. 4 stars
1/08/01 Captain Klerp Poor Production, believable acting, but a good plot with important Vietnam Undertones 4 stars
12/24/00 Destruction Worker Dude, I live in Corvallis too! 5 stars
11/03/00 Cristopher Revilla the key to the movie is the ending, listen carfully, and you'll know why its a great movie 5 stars
9/10/00 jasper stapleton instant classic 5 stars
8/23/00 zall lets see how many words does he speak here? 1 stars
6/17/00 Bender Shine shoe Shine shoe. Hilarious Action flick 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Fucking 'A' 5 stars
11/24/98 Fred Only decent Rambo movie. After the sequel, I figure Sly signed with Satan. 3 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce Gave Sly a new chance at a career post-Rocky. Best of the series. 5 stars
11/03/98 Silent Rob Remove the topicality from the plot and it's.....nothing special. 3 stars
11/01/98 Vick Di Brecci An ok movie but watch out for Sly's silly climactic speech and Crenna's bad lines 4 stars
11/01/98 Oz A great movie. Free of patriotic fervor, darker and more real than the others. 5 stars
11/01/98 J-Guy (the MFC) liked the movie. liked the video game more. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Oct-1982 (R)
  DVD: 23-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A (15)

Australia
  02-Feb-1983 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast