More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.7

Awesome83.9%
Worth A Look: 9.32%
Average: 2.54%
Pretty Bad: 1.69%
Total Crap: 2.54%

2 reviews, 106 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

Crimes Against Humanity by Jay Seaver

Murder at 1600 by Charles Tatum

Mr. Bean's Holiday by Charles Tatum

subscribe to this feed


Blues Brothers, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"We're on a mission from God."
5 stars

"It's 106 miles to Chicago, we've got a full tank of gas, it's dark and we're wearing sunglasses." "Hit it."

The Blues Brothers is one of those one-of-a-kind films that just can't be duplicated. (John Landis and Dan Aykroyd pretty much proved it in 1998 with their disappointing sequel.) The writers came up with a perfect melding of screwball comedy, spontaneous dancing and blues-rock showcase.

The story begins with Jake (John Belushi in one of his last grea... ah, fuck it... in his LAST great performance indeed) getting out of prison and shuttled off by his brother Elwood (Aykroyd). They pay a visit to the orphanage they grew up in and the "penguin" who looked after them (Kathleen Freeman). They learn from her and their blues mentor Curtis (Cab Calloway) that the orphanage owes $5,000 in property taxes and unless it shows up at the tax office in 11 days, the orphanage will be forced to close.

A subsequent revival service at a nearby Baptist church (led by His Funkiness James Brown) inspires Jake to come up with a plan: Get the old Blues Brothers Band back together and put on a fund-raising show. It won't be easy, though... most of the old band members have more sensible jobs now, and it doesn't help to have Aretha Franklin for a wife, either.

Along the way to the concert, they encounter a gang of neo-Nazi white supremacists, a vengeful honky-tonk band, an even more vengeful pyromaniac of a woman (Carrie Fisher), and lots and lots of law-enforcement folk. Among these Illinois' Finest, for no particular reason, is John Candy as a criminal investigator. Other cameos include Ray Charles, John Lee Hooker, Chaka Khan and Steven Spielberg (as the tax assessor who takes the Blues' money at the end).

Sure, a few parts of it are pretty crazy (You can make a car backflip over another by just slamming on the brakes? Yeah, right. And what's with casting Laugh-In's poet laureate Henry Gibson as a neo-Hitler?), but the whole effort is such a zany, madcap comedy rush that the illogical parts of it don't subtract much from the film.

And the action... well, it's a demolition derby enthusiast's dream: tons of police cars are wrecked and piled up; one of them rips into an 18-wheeler; a shopping mall gets gutted; Chicago's city hall gets some of its doors chopped up and blown away; and Princess Leia blows up a run-down hotel and a propane tank. All in the name of comedy and entertainment.

The Blues Brothers is a classic in its own league. Although it wasn't a blockbuster at the box office or a winner at the Oscars, it's on its way to being a cult-fave legend (if it hasn't achieved that already).

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1260&reviewer=9
originally posted: 11/04/98 03:00:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.

User Comments

2/20/12 BoulderDan Way overrated. Not that funny and stupidly impossible car chases. 2 stars
2/24/11 Lucy Why would anyone hate this film hence dislike it?! It's one of the best films of all time! 5 stars
12/09/10 Jeff Wilder Easily the best SNL based movie. Fantastic musical numbers. 5 stars
8/09/10 John Aster Habig Seriously funny in a dry way with great action and a kickass soundtrack 5 stars
5/28/10 PAUL SHORTT OFF THE WALL BUT ENGAGING CHASE COMEDY WITH GOOD NUMBERS AND CAMEOS 3 stars
9/24/09 Rick "BallzDeep" Best movie ever made... totally vintage with best historical influences of music 5 stars
6/03/09 Evolbob Funny, Crazy, Historically important culturally, did I say funnnny!! 5 stars
2/26/08 pkr the coreography of car-crashes.. and blues of the brothers. 5 stars
8/08/07 David Cohen Proof that not all movies based on SNL sketches have to suck 4 stars
7/16/07 tom I watched it again, and I LOVED IT! 5 stars
5/17/07 Burton Mercer 5 Stars and 3 orange whips 5 stars
4/30/07 Ziggy "Four Fried Chickens and a coke, And dry White Toast please." Best movie EVER! 5 stars
3/23/07 ManBelushi Oooh, I love this movie. 5 stars
2/28/07 American WereBelushi AWESOME! I LOVE IT! I LIKE CAR CRASHES! 5 stars
1/06/07 beefy 5/5 my 3rd fav film ever after green mile and forrest gump 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist This is some of the classic sh*t to be owned, complete w/ some childhood memories of it!! 5 stars
8/03/06 Nicole Classic films a must see! Chicago at its best 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty IT IS SO GOOOD 5 stars
12/06/05 Indrid Cold The 2 good movies from SNL (this and Wayne's World) share the same kind of surreal humor. 4 stars
8/20/05 jason read the best musical movie with the best car chases ever 5 stars
7/03/05 Eddie A great movie and a classic 5 stars
6/03/05 Pinkline Jones Simply the Most overrated Comedy of All Time 1 stars
2/24/05 Kitina Blues "i guess ure really up shit creek" i luv Joliet Jake! lol 5 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops Cool, cool movie. Cool, funny movie 5 stars
1/26/05 Steve Michaud A true '80s gem; brimming with genuine laughs, excellent music, and outstanding auto stunts 5 stars
1/23/05 Jeff Anderson This loads of fun film defines what a true classic is! GREAT CAST, MUSIC, & DIRECTION!!!!!! 5 stars
1/22/05 Kitina Blues wat kind of an idiot is ralph anyway? u aint a movie expert, stupid!! 5 stars
1/20/05 keithers.. What a classic movie... 5 stars
12/23/04 DON BECK THE MALL SCENE---FANTASTIC 5 stars
11/24/04 Julia Shumway I would give it more stars if I could! 5 stars
8/28/04 dustin waht an awsome mobie 5 stars
8/28/04 michael best mobie ever 5 stars
7/20/04 Chris Schurrer Great, Better Than Great 5 stars
7/08/04 Spinz This movies alright juss cuz of John Belushi 4 stars
6/27/04 Joseph Van Horn The best movie of all time, a true classic. 5 stars
6/06/04 Kitina Blues i luv john belushi & dan aykroyd!!!!!! this is the best movie EVR, hands down!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/04 Mandee This movie is hilarious!!! 5 stars
5/18/04 Kitina Blues My Catholic Christianity teacher luvs this movie, and i luv it more!!! JAKE!!!!!! 5 stars
5/14/04 TKvanB A True Classic 5 stars
4/29/04 The Dude This movie is great, I Hate Illinois Nazis. 5 stars
3/21/04 Siamese Toga Princess OMG! I LUV JOHN BELUSHI! 5 stars
3/05/04 Big pimpin Jesus H Tapdancing Christ i see the light!! this movie is amazing 5 stars
2/24/04 Mike Knode Kick Ass Movie!! One of the funniest movies ever 5 stars
1/28/04 Kitty B. Raz sucks!!!! 5 stars
1/28/04 adam kick ass 5 stars
1/26/04 Kate best movie ever! 5 stars
12/30/03 Kitty B. JOHN!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/30/03 R.W. Welch Sometimes inspired music-comedy hampered by overblown finale. 4 stars
12/18/03 Made In America 122 WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BEST MOVIE EVER MADE VERY COMICAL SO COOL WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 5 stars
10/11/03 Nikki Jean Theophobia if i could, i would immortalize belushi in gold and display it with my st. theresa statue 5 stars
10/10/03 KooKuKrazeeKitti john belushi deserves an academy award 4 this classic 5 stars
9/22/03 MellCat_Slayer_de_Jake "well then, i guess you're really up 'shit creek'"-U PEOPLE HAVE TO SEE THIS AWESOME MOVIE! 5 stars
9/21/03 CAT BLUES it rocked the house not only was aykroyd great but belushi was the backround of dan 5 stars
9/07/03 Kitty J. Blues Judging by my name its the greatest movie of all fucking time!!! 5 stars
8/31/03 Kitty Kelso i know EVERY ONE of the songs they sing by heart. LONG LIVE JOHN BELUSHI!!!! 5 stars
8/30/03 Kitty B. I know John Belushi's style, and he really kicked ass!! 5 stars
8/23/03 michael fox best show 5 stars
7/22/03 Proffessor_X Fully Sick Mate 5 stars
6/27/03 cochese They dont make em like this anymore. Funny as hell. 5 stars
6/24/03 Anthony Easily one of the funniest movies, ever. 5 stars
6/23/03 Jack Hoff Superb 5 stars
6/22/03 John Aster Habig Belushi and Aykroyd are the apex of SNL duos 5 stars
2/05/03 Matthew Hutchison Good Music 5 stars
2/04/03 Turtle One of the funniest movies ever! One of Aykroyd's all-time best. However, skip the sequel. 5 stars
1/24/03 Anonymous Excellent combination of a comedy and a musical 5 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones An Avalanche of Celluloid Faeces - Utter Garbage 1 stars
11/09/02 Steve essential cool 5 stars
11/07/02 moviemachine We're on a mission from God. 5 stars
11/01/02 Jay Fucking awesome!!! 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano The best movie of all time. I hate Illinois Nazis! 5 stars
10/20/02 Jay Hilarious musical! 5 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Loud and a little dull, but great action 4 stars
10/10/02 Justin "We're on a mission from God." 5 stars
9/20/02 Joel Dever American Classic 5 stars
4/13/02 Nightwing It's one of THE MOST INCREDIBLE classic Movie I ever seen 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden Not Very Fun At All...Music Can Be Pretty Good At Times Though. 3 stars
11/22/01 Riverone Scott Carden obviously likes Bon Jovi. Good music and comedy. And car chases. 4 stars
11/04/01 Sir Galahad It's strength is as the strength of ten because it's soul is pure 4 stars
10/16/01 jim way over rated..blues brothers 2000 was much more fun to watch musicly speaking 3 stars
9/04/01 Henry Ginsberg One of the best musicl comadys ever. 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean The best movie spawned from SNL! Fuck Wayne's World. 5 stars
8/26/01 Monster W. Kung Absolutely my favorite musical. Plenty of fun, good music, and good cinematography. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) One of me and my brother's faves. 5 stars
6/21/01 J Carden, scott...oh forget it. THIS MOVIE RULES! 5 stars
4/30/01 Steph Williams This is the best film ever made!! I love you Elwood!!! The music rocks my world..... 5 stars
2/19/01 wyrock utter nonsense, but fun as hell 4 stars
2/07/01 Turtle One of the funniest films in history. Elwood has to be one of the top comedy characters. 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog One word "Belushi". Can you say masterpiece. 5 stars
11/23/00 Eli Kaberon IT ROCKS 5 stars
11/14/00 Big Top Scott Dull and melodramatic for a comedy. John Belushi is overrated, just because of his death 1 stars
11/07/00 Kevin Parsons One of the best made! 5 stars
11/02/00 Lars Dahl Jorgensen Funniest film ever! Great Soundtrack 5 stars
9/27/00 Croweater one of those films you never get sick of. One of my faves. 5 stars
9/17/00 Jed A film of pure excellence. One of the best 80's movies ever. 5 stars
5/13/00 Andrew Mooney Best film ever. A need to see and own. 5 stars
5/11/00 Mark Moore The king of all cult movies 5 stars
11/01/99 luke buchanan this movie goes off!!!!!!!! 4 stars
7/14/99 Kevin Favorite movie ever. Its style is simply unmatched in film. 5 stars
7/07/99 Dax It's a cult classic for a reason. The soundtrack is a must-have for blues fans too. 5 stars
11/08/98 {{{OZ}}} A good movie, but not the classic so many see it as. 4 stars
11/06/98 spork-girl frank oz has a cameo too. i like the amll scene. there's a reason they don't let me drive 5 stars
11/05/98 tom i just don't think it's funny---at all 2 stars
11/05/98 Silent Rob A film legend! See what mismanaged excess can produce, if mismanaged properly! 5 stars
11/04/98 Vick Di Brecci Not particularly funny but awesome musical performances. Love the hidden Billy Joel gag! 4 stars
11/04/98 Johny Classic 5 stars
11/04/98 Bad Kosh The classic is better than Blues Brothers 2000. Watch it. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-1980 (R)
  DVD: 30-Aug-2005

UK
  10-Oct-1980 (15)

Australia
  26-Dec-1980 (M)


Directed by
  John Landis

Written by
  Dan Aykroyd
  John Landis

Cast
  John Belushi
  Dan Aykroyd
  Cab Calloway
  John Candy
  Henry Gibson
  Carrie Fisher



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast