More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome48.08%
Worth A Look: 34.62%
Average: 7.69%
Pretty Bad: 3.85%
Total Crap: 5.77%

1 review, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Little Shop of Horrors (1986)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"What a movie musical SHOULD be... and flesh-eating plants, too!"
4 stars

Little Shop of Horrors has the dubious distinction of being the Last Live-Action Movie Musical Made That Doesn't Suck.

Believe it... after this film came out in 1986, no one has ever made a film with song-and-dance numbers that didn't seem stupid (Blues Brothers 2000), boring (Newsies) or contrived (Everyone Says I Love You). All the good musicals ever since have been animated. Makes you wonder when we'll ever see a GOOD live-action musical again.

The storyline: Dorky Seymour (Rick Moranis), working at a flower shop in a run-down part of the big city, longs to win the heart of fellow co-worker Audrey (Ellen Greene) while tolerating her father the boss, Mr. Mushnik (Vincent Gardenia), and greaser dentist Orin Scrivello (Steve Martin with hair other than white for once). In the middle of all of this, a mutant plant begins to talk and develops an appetite for human blood. Audrey II, as Seymour affectionately names the plant, promises to give Seymour a new life - and possibly Audrey I's love - if he makes good with supplying fresh O-positive. At first, this is blood donated from Seymour himself, but soon the plant's appetite gets out of control and starts swallowing people whole.

Little Shop of Horrors is based on the critically-acclaimed Broadway musical of the same name. And don't let the title fool you: this Horrors story is played solely for campiness and laughs, with very little blood spilled. The songs are of the early-sixties doo-wop variety, and the killer plant is state-of-the-art Animatronics, with a voice of a jive-talkin' attitude-laden Grover (voice by Levi Stubbs Jr.) Tichina Arnold, Michelle Weeks, and Tisha Campbell provide a Greek-by-way-of-Motown chorus.

This is one sick, twisted and humorous film that won't disappoint. And hopefully Hollywood can make a decent musical like this one again. (Somebody say "Rent": The Movie?)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1261&reviewer=9
originally posted: 11/04/98 02:49:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/07/10 karamashi Its a pretty decent adaption. I kind of like the new ending though it is a cheat. 4 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White plot funny , songs forgetable and acting ho hum 3 stars
10/25/07 Krud The first and last time I ever admired a Rick Moranis character. ':P 5 stars
5/29/07 Av I love John Candy's character. 5 stars
3/20/07 David Cohen Liked the music, the ending was a cop-out though 4 stars
8/26/05 ES As bad as the movie was, that plant was a friggin marvel of puppetry 3 stars
2/19/05 DM Well directed and perfectly cast, but the stage show was far better. 4 stars
2/16/05 Wilt Chamberlin Roger Corman's version was better 3 stars
11/20/04 Emily Fantastic cult favourite with a few lovingly naff touches 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. I like this musical comedy horror 5 stars
8/21/04 Tyrantis 2nd best musical EVER! I wish my school would do it instead of the Sound of Music. 5 stars
8/03/04 Blair good frolicing fun 4 stars
4/29/04 Megan L. One of the best musicals I've ever seen. 5 stars
4/08/04 g money freakin awesome!you suck if you hate this film 5 stars
3/27/04 Littlepurch. One of best eva musicals! All actors were fantastic and made a gr8 team together. 5 stars
3/21/04 The Guru Funny as hell. Great music. 5 stars
1/11/04 I Would A stark raving bonkers and utterly hilarious musical. 4 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum This only comes alive when Steve Martin was onscreen 2 stars
9/27/02 Tom Fleeman Anybody who rated against this movie had their heads up their assses! A cult classic. 5 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron Geesus Christ!!! Steve Martin was the freaking dentist???!!! 5 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Bill Murray is hilarious. 4 stars
9/06/01 Butterbean The best I've seen Steve Martin! Funny as hell! 4 stars
8/31/01 Henry Ginsberg Absolutly brilliant. 4 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Greatest musical ever. "I THRILL WHEN I DRILL A BICUSPID!!!" 5 stars
6/29/01 Elvisfan Agree w/Sklorsh, I couldn't hate this movie more than I already do 1 stars
6/21/01 Orin Scrivello, D.D.S. I pose a question: Whose more evil, Laurence Olivier in "Marathon Man" or Steve Martin? 4 stars
4/02/01 Andrew Carden You get a few good gags, and some nice dance numbers. 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Stick with the original....at least it had character 2 stars
1/15/01 Sklorsh This is the most ANNOYING piece of dog shit movie. Do youself a favor and miss it. 1 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Nice effects, great music, and very funny! 5 stars
11/01/00 love it sure kicks ass - i liked the Dentist and i am about to be one too!!!!!! 5 stars
5/30/00 maria I love this movie,is the best movie in the world and its starring,Rick Moranis,is the best 1 stars
5/17/00 John Martin The best musical I've ever seen! 5 stars
5/13/00 Tracy Grund A fun inconsequential musical comedy. The Audrey 2 special effects are incredble! 4 stars
3/08/00 Jacob Bloberger Awsome 5 stars
3/08/00 Chris Perry I watched it in school and it kept me awake!! 5 stars
3/03/00 Patricia DeLeeuw IT"S AWESOME!!!!!! 5 stars
2/10/00 Thanos6 Best musical ever! I just wish the new DVD would include the alternate ending! 5 stars
1/02/00 Joshua T. The best movie about flesh-eating plants I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Can't think about a single wrong thing about it. 5 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle This is such a cute and good movie! Totally an over the summer rental! 5 stars
1/25/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) Basically I like it. The dentist bits are super. 4 stars
12/20/98 bizzy love it 5 stars
11/08/98 Lord Of The Dunce Haven't seen this for many years, but I wasn't a major fan way back when. 3 stars
11/05/98 Silent Rob A stellar achievement in all departments. See the DVD version if at all possible! 5 stars
11/05/98 Nate Dogg An all time classic... Campy as hell, and that's how we like it.... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1986 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Frank Oz

Written by
  Howard Ashman

Cast
  Rick Moranis
  Ellen Greene
  Vincent Gardenia
  Steve Martin
  Bill Murray
  John Candy



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast