More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.07

Awesome49.15%
Worth A Look: 28.81%
Average: 3.39%
Pretty Bad: 16.95%
Total Crap: 1.69%

5 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Spanish Prisoner, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"Nobody looks at a Japanese tourist."
5 stars

The best movie ever made in the history of earth cinema (a fan's slight exaggeration.)

This movie is just incredible. I love movies where there's so many plot twists that the second you think you know what's going on, you find out you're completely wrong, or just only partially right. This movie is as close to Hitchcock as i've seen in the 90's. David Mamet really did a great job, despite maybe one or two bad lines and the fact he gave his wife Rebecca Pidgeon a role which she wasn't perfectly suited for, but oh well, i dig her ears. Steve Martin is incredible in this role. after A Simple Twist of Fate i kinda wonder if Martin should even bother doing serious roles, but he really does them wonderfully, i guess Fate was a fluke.
It's hard for me to describe this movie, because the second i say anything i'm gonna give away something you'll never see coming, thereby spoiling the fun of it all. I guess i can go so far as to say this movie has nothing to do with a Spanish prisoner, it takes place in modern day New York mostly. Its just about this guy who created a secret formula for his company and of course everyone wants it. For tha luva Maud, go rent this movie, its really great.

How can you still be sitting there at your desk after reading that review?! Go rent it!!!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1262&reviewer=30
originally posted: 11/04/98 04:57:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Starz Denver Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Starz Denver Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

12/26/10 the dork knight Dreadful community player actors, reading lines like they're on Ambien.. 2 stars
6/13/09 Mary Predictable, boring, with lame "twists" 2 stars
2/11/09 Banana Phone good thriller with insane twists, drags a bit in some parts but overall very good 4 stars
12/11/08 djorian 3 un fracaso total! bad dialogue, bad casting, a lame plot, boring, a complete waste of time 1 stars
7/30/08 the dork knight why are these actors so bland? Is it on purpose? 3 stars
4/24/07 Will If you don't know the mom-kid scene was a parody you shouldn't review movies this smart. 5 stars
8/20/05 ES Dull, be prepared to sit and stare for a while, not worth the watch 2 stars
7/25/05 Jake A smart, complex, and ingaging thriller 5 stars
10/06/03 Jack Sommersby Smoothly done, but dramatically sparse and easily figured out. 2 stars
7/17/03 Mr. Hat Very very engrossing & enjoyable. Steve Martin is an excellent villain. Thumbs up 4 Mamet. 5 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Good, but The Water Engine was much better (TSP's predecessor, also by Mamet). 4 stars
6/03/02 R.W. Welch Twisty and involving plot line pretty well carried out though the ending is a bit too pat. 4 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight trys a little too hard.....Glengarry Glen Ross it ain't. 3 stars
12/24/00 joh wow-holy fuck was this good 5 stars
9/04/00 DarcyElaine I nearly spent the 2nd half of TSP peeking out from under my desk -- INCREDIBLY suspenseful 5 stars
5/26/00 Add Great stuff, totally involving with great performances from all concerned. See it now! 5 stars
5/15/00 seldom scene easy to follow and easy to guess wrong 5 stars
12/18/99 Matthew Smith a thriller that will suck you in from start to finish. 5 stars
9/25/99 KK 5 Stars all the way!!! Never got the recognition it deserved when it was released. 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Really really good for 3/4 then it drops off a little yet noticeably 4 stars
1/26/99 donkey_dew I can't get enough of this. Mamet is king! 100% enjoyable stuff. 5 stars
1/14/99 Steve Kelley Fantastic film, all around. 5 stars
12/27/98 demon_shredder This movie rocked. David Mamet rules. 5 stars
12/20/98 Binky Wow! Where was this hiding when it was released!?! 5 stars
11/19/98 Doobie Boy This was an unexpectedly great film. I loved it. 5 stars
11/08/98 Christ Monkey Like THE GAME done better. 5 stars
11/08/98 {{{OZ}}} This is a good fucking film. 5 stars
11/04/98 Johny First half depends on your liking of deadpan dialouge. Second is loads of fun. 4 stars
11/04/98 Bluntman Loads of fun. Blows away THE USUAL SUSPECTS with its mind game plot 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Apr-1998 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Oct-1998 (M)


Directed by
  David Mamet

Written by
  David Mamet

Cast
  Campbell Scott
  Rebecca Pidgeon
  Steve Martin
  Ben Gazzara
  Ricky Jay
  Felicity Huffman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast