More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.18

Awesome56.99%
Worth A Look: 21.32%
Average: 11.03%
Pretty Bad: 4.41%
Total Crap: 6.25%

15 reviews, 182 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Serenity
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Marc Kandel

"Wherein I tell you I loved the film and order you to get the series."
4 stars

Space Opera at its best, Western at its heart, more Steampunk than Cyberpunk in execution, a frontier film that’s compelling and accessible, and more fun and coherent than a dozen Star Wars prequels… or at least the three crude blunders in existence.

When I was a kid I loved action figures. I’d play for hours on end, and over time, the original brands ceased to exist for me- GI Joe, Transformers, Star Wars, Marvel, over time I did away with the labels and simply created my own characters out of the archetypal figures and ideas packaged for me at the store, and ended up having even more fun as I lent my own ideas to the mix and allowed for the figures to move beyond the limitations of their fact sheet on the box. Joss Wheedon, director of Serenity strikes me as a like individual who not only had the same strategy, but never tired of such toys, and wanted to take his childhood heroes further into his own imagination, only now using actors as his “action figures”. Serenity and its parent series Firefly, are the culmination of this dream, where we see familiar ideas and characters taken in wonderfully new and fresh directions. This is a man who knows how to play with his toys.

Plot: The weary, battered crew of the Firefly-class space freighter Serenity must come to terms with its most dangerous cargo, a girl named River Tam whose unstable mind may hold some of the most important secrets of the universe, including a way to destabilize the oppressive, unassailable Alliance Government that wields a tight fist over most of the inhabited planetary systems in the known galaxy. It won’t be easy. Targeted by remorseless government agents, frightening nihilistic cannibals and backstabbing opportunists, the crew must unravel the secrets River possesses while at the same time keeping themselves safe from the most formidable opponent of all, River herself, perhaps the most dangerous woman in the galaxy, teetering on the edge of complete psychosis from the damage done to her under the Government’s knife to the point where she may no longer be able to distinguish friend from foe.

The film is a grand finale to the Sci-Fi Western TV show that weds elements from the brief series to an encapsulated, satisfying film full of rich story and wonderful spectacle that remarkably doesn’t require prior knowledge of the show that birthed it for a nascent audience member to enjoy. We already understand where these characters are coming from, their foibles, weaknesses, strengths, mysteries. Each one in some form is based on an iconic image where the blanks can be filled in by what the viewer already expects from the archetype. Wheedon’s gift is to make them accessible, humorous and new, even to the most jaded science fiction aficionados.

We’ve all beheld some form of this plot before, whether it’s found in an episode or film with the second title words being Trek or Wars, the strange dark, yet common and utilitarian societies of “Blade Runner” or “Aliens” or in the panels of a comic book. There are recognizable action figures and from every genre. Wheedon retools, reshapes and brings everyone to life with motivations, pasts, secrets, truths, loves, hates and humor: The handsome rogue with an inescapable conscience, the loyal soldier, the flawed princess, the comedic thug, the spiritual guide, the innocent yet brilliant problem solver, the witty, cowardly pilot, the stuffy good hearted scientist, the space prodigy. You’ll see Wheedon’s love of all things Han Solo, X-Men and Cowboys peeking through every frame, only rather than spinning a tired playlist of clichéd favorites trying to get by on audience recognition and CGI effects alone, he carefully adds his unique fingerprints to the formula, allowing each character to breathe and live in a fully realized world where the extraordinary is the ordinary, and the human condition is palpable and unchanged from the world we know today. Oh, and there’s zombies too. Spaaaaace zombies. Kinda.

From a purist standpoint, the film is not the same animal as the series, preferring to lean more towards space battles and the intrigue of River Tam’s storyline, eschewing the Western flavors that were delved into so richly in almost every episode of the short lived season where the sci-fi angle was almost incidental. While a longtime viewer might miss the open plains of the frontier worlds where Malcolm Reynolds and his crew must make their way as smugglers, thieves, guns for hire, and whatever else they can do to put food in their mouths and fuel in their ship (though there is a good ol’ fashioned bank robbery at the very beginning), the tighter focus hardly makes this outing a dealbreaker. In fact, the film’s singular plot ensures other plot threads are drawn in, allowing Malcolm an opportunity to continue his private defiance if not war against an enemy to who he has never personally surrendered in his heart of hearts. We also find out if ship’s engineer Kaylee Frye ever gets laid, so hey, I’m happy. Kinda sweet on Kaylee, me.

I myself had never seen the show prior to the film, and found myself still drawn in to this world and its characters. And at film’s end, what did I do but netflix the series, which myself and my wife devoured in a scant 3-4 days, followed by a second viewing of the film, now doubly enjoyable for all the nuance and in-jokes we missed the first time around. I should also note my knowledge from the film did not tarnish my enthusiasm or wonderment at the series, and in fact may very well have added some flavor to my viewings knowing what was to come. Admittedly, the short life of the series didn’t allow Wheedon to truly explore any particular arc or aspect of the show with any vivid detail save perhaps for River’s story, so even if you’ve meticulously picked apart ever last episode and started five forums on it, the movie does not suffer from treading ground already covered in the series. In fact, a viewing of the series post-film will make one realize that for every question answered there are more than a few that we may never actually know.

If you just wanted to hear about the film itself, now’s a good time to move on to some other portion of our site. Me, I’m gonna take a moment to talk about the series.

I did not partake of Firefly when it was on for a number of reasons, among them being general disinterest in Wheedon’s prior work, Buffy The Vampire Slayer (I like my vampires more “Salems Lot” and less… well… “Buffy”, coupled with an intense dislike for Sarah Michelle Gel-Ar that to this day I cannot easily explain), some lousy marketing on Fox’s part making me believe this was simply and erroneously “Teens In Space” (really, really bad marketing since the show couldn’t be farther from this infuriating concept), and finally Fox’s general habit of playing the drunken abusive father to their red-headed stepchild programming, smacking it completely out of order and kicking it into the dark room of Friday night where of course it quietly died of ratings malnutrition and network neglect, replaced by “Fastlane”, a rancid glop of pigshit so forgettable I can’t even gift it with the incorrect synopsis with which I was able to mistakenly identify Firefly. I can only surmise it involved some sort of speedy vehicular activity, drugs, tweenage men with blonde buzz cuts, “ripped abs” and “intense” looks, and obnoxiously attractive women who wouldn’t touch 99.9% of their pudgy male demographic unless they had at least an ounce of cocaine to trade for a second’s peek at their lower back tattoo. “Fastlane” is, alas, no longer with us, leaving the world no poorer for its absence. The same cannot be said for Firefly, a groundbreaking, fantastically entertaining series if there ever was one.

Here’s the secret: The “Firefly” series is actually where the meat lies, even moreso than the movie. The film is a goodbye of sorts, and if I may paraphrase Stephen King for a second, goodbyes are simply an ending, it's the journey that’s the fun part. Firefly is a satisfying, addictive journey across a universe that offers more of a final frontier than anything Star Trek could purport to furnish (and I consider myself something of a Trekkie, so please don’t construe this as an insult to the father fiction). Firefly distills essence of the Western, utilizing starships rather than stagecoaches but also adding the promise and disappointment of the future that fuses the struggles of the past with modern day wry humor, sarcasm and self-awareness. Imagine day to day life in the pre-rebellion Millennium Falcon, in a part of the galaxy where every world visited is a fusion of a Blade Runner and a Leone Spaghetti town. It's a simplistic description, but like I said, you’ll see how this cast and story defies weary expectations and breathes life into this universe.

Firefly remarkably doesn’t require aliens to make space more interesting, preferring to explore the human condition at the fringes of space where life goes on much as it did in the 1870’s, despite the existence of amazing technology and startling sociopolitical change. It is hand-to-mouth drama, where the goal is not to re-ignite a dying sun or stop waves of cyborgs, but to live free finding work and food where it can be found. Yes, there is a view of life in the shadow of an evil empire, and yes, there is plenty of technobabble and interstellar intrigue, but the core is the open, blinding vistas of Leone, the idealism of Sturges, and the ruthlessness of Peckinpah (okay, maybe not quite[./i] that ruthless, but good enough for government work). In a way, the series initial losing battle and the resurrected triumph of the film is just so Firefly in its defiant, last stand scramble, its quite apropos, even poetic. And I have yet to banish the theme song of the show from my mind. It's a download waiting to happen, a beautiful, stirring tune blending campfire Southwestern crooning with a haunted Celtic theme.

The passion I’ve developed for the show is similar to a sister series also lamented in its absence, the Sci-Fi Channel’s original series Farscape which brought fresh ideas and refined perspective to the malnourished science fiction landscape. At a glance, the two shows could not be more different, but upon a closer investigation it’s clear that each treads a parallel path despite the more obvious divergences (Farscape was all about a lone man in a galaxy of aliens, giving a man-on-the-street perspective to a surreal situation). Both series grounded themselves in universes where there were no antiseptic starships, no clear morality or clean living, and dire consequences for every action which followed them from show to show, refusing to encapsulate moral lessons between starting and finishing credits. Stakes are always high, and mistakes deadly and regrettable, but there was also a sense of joy and wonder to both shows, and a certain emphasis on humor and absurdity that made the characters more vivid and relatable than many of their contemporaries.

These days I’ll still pick up an action figure or two (or eighteen). They mostly get posed on a shelf, a whimsical decoration to remind me not to get too old and providing a nice sense of satisfaction that the stuff I couldn’t afford back in the day is now something I can indulge as a hobby. Wheedon hasn’t stopped playing though, and it’s refreshing to see how far beyond limitations the man can go, particularly when even the most tired sci-fi concepts can be blended with the most done to death Western fables and spun into lustrous narrative gold time and time again.

It’s sad to know we’ve reached the end of the line with the crew of Serenity. This show gave its audience more heart, adventure, and innovation within the genre in its 13 episodes and one film than most TV material can provide in a seven year run. But as I have stated, the idea of the rebel holdout Malcolm Reynolds and his crew, bowed but unyielding, taken down by bureaucracy but holding their heads high among the common folk, well, it’s just so damn appropriate, that even this defeat (and that’s only a defeat in the network sense, considering the fan rally that got them a motion picture), is still a win in the time honored tradition.

Serenity is a springboard piece to new sci-fi viewers, a new chapter for loyal fans to enjoy, an action film for folks looking for a good time at the movies, and a tearful farewell to true believers wrapping up not all, but more than a few loose ends, giving closure to a series that deserved better than thirteen episodes.

Though the journey is at its end, the tale of Serenity and her crew pass on into the stuff of legend. A better send off, I cannot imagine.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12621&reviewer=358
originally posted: 08/24/06 00:24:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Edinburgh Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Edinburgh Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival For more in the 2006 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

12/01/13 KALUNAKIMO SERENITY ROCKS! BROWNCOATS UNITE!! WHEDON RULES!!! 5 stars
10/05/12 mike miller A must see for any Firefly fan(like myself.) 5 stars
3/08/12 fuzzylizard Intelligent without being highbrow: characters discover simple but powerful message 5 stars
9/24/11 psychoillogic expressing anything positive about this flick exposes ones lack of movieviewing experience 1 stars
8/08/11 WENDY Not quite the ending I wanted but better than nothing 4 stars
1/09/10 Ben C Big fan, saw the movie without having seen the series went out and got the seriies 5 stars
11/04/09 Kurtis Serenity is a great conclusion to the short-lived series. Touching and exciting. 5 stars
9/13/09 Miriam This film is absolutely brilliant! It's funny, slick, emotional, and awesome! 5 stars
7/20/09 Leonis Boring and overrated! 8 on IMBD! Nerds/Buffy fans need to get a life or get laid! 2 stars
10/10/08 man huh? 1 stars
6/22/08 J Black OK, like the series better. Wish Firefly hadn't been cancelled 4 stars
5/06/08 Neil Foster If only everyone who saw it had watched ALL the Firefly eps first ! 5 stars
3/30/08 Chiya Recently discovered firefly. serenity was mostly just mal &river, but brilliant. Shiny. 5 stars
12/10/07 Russell Liscomb Note how everyone giving it one star has poor grammar skills and no valid argument? 5 stars
11/27/07 dude boring and confusing 1 stars
11/22/07 fools♫gold I agree with all who like this. And only people who give it 5 stars like it! :P 5 stars
10/04/07 Akbar For Firefly fans only, otherwise boring soap opera tripe 2 stars
10/02/07 JohnnyFaye Melcom Renolds is a great caption you, a man you can follow. 4 stars
7/22/07 ben dover amazing fuck off lucas you fat cunt 5 stars
7/17/07 Andy Just brilliant, and shiny to boot 5 stars
7/02/07 Transid Great admiration for Firefly, but dissapointed in this 2 stars
6/17/07 Tom Lifelong Star Wars fan, but sorry folks... Firefly/Serenity takes the cake! 5 stars
5/16/07 Letter Liked It, but loved the series so something was lacking 3 stars
5/16/07 Dave Didn't like it 1 stars
5/02/07 Dude Sith was way better 1 stars
5/01/07 Tracey Chambers great movie 5 stars
4/03/07 Guido Sanchez Not the show, but pretty damn good nonetheless. 4 stars
2/10/07 -Cruden- I saw only one episode before the times started switching around and still loved the movie. 5 stars
2/01/07 Jeff Anderson A great valentine for fans of FIREFLY(long live them)& a blast. JEWEL STAITE ROCKS!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/29/06 Veritas Anyone who doesn't like this movie ought to be fed to Reavers 5 stars
11/28/06 Bella awesome awesome romp - very funny and touching. Bring on the sequel or bring back Firely 5 stars
11/27/06 sirina the story line sucked and it was way dum!! 1 stars
10/25/06 Drew G I probably have to see it again, but I wasn't blown away 3 stars
10/24/06 Browncoat If you have any brains,you loved it.If not, you don't count. 't 5 stars
10/18/06 AJ Muller in my Top 5 Best Flicks Ever.(seen 1 ep. before this)simply KILLER 5 stars
10/15/06 Ron Newbold There should be penalties for Fox cancelling the TV series! But the movie is fantastic 5 stars
9/07/06 Booksworm SPECTACULAR! CAN BE ENJOYED BY FIREFLY FANS AND BRIANORNDORF ALIKE! 5 stars
8/26/06 michael just wish it was still on TV 5 stars
8/22/06 fozzybear loved the series,loved the film.if you don't get it,you never will!! 5 stars
8/14/06 Sharon pretty good I didnt expect much but it was awsome 5 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 great movie, great action, they need to make a second one or bring back firefly 5 stars
5/23/06 sarah h can be made better 1 stars
5/19/06 UnpluggedCrazy Pretty much the best movie ever made. I may be biased, yes, but it's still impressive. 5 stars
5/04/06 ES Didn't make it thru this one. Bad acting, strained humur and no one worth mentioning in it 1 stars
4/20/06 Becky I love this movie!! Go browncoats!! I have it on DVD and it really gets better every time 5 stars
4/02/06 john smith would return of the jedi worked as stand alone? Serenity is a great sequel be satisfied...! 5 stars
4/01/06 Steve Newman Not sure what to make of this - would not watch again but glad I watched it 3 stars
3/29/06 mike turned it off after 30 mins. forwarded to cool fight scene in end 2 stars
3/20/06 Marlon Absolutely endearing, engrossing and entertaining--must have more! Sequel please... 5 stars
3/09/06 daveyt bought the box-set dvds, just watched film... blown away. Cheers Joss 5 stars
3/08/06 myzzy A must See movie!! its worth every penny 5 stars
3/04/06 Kris Hall stereotypically Western and Sci Fi setting allow to sit back and enjoy the ride 5 stars
3/01/06 kaz rawked my sawks 5 stars
2/21/06 Sonja Nikolic Whedon > Lucas. This from a Firefly virgin. 5 stars
2/15/06 Perry Mason At least one space opera filmmaker puts some thought in his work. 4 stars
2/07/06 Jim Snappy dialog, good plot and special effects, lots of Buffy and Angel villains 4 stars
1/21/06 Reklc Great sci fi movie! 5 stars
12/31/05 GBFH fantastic background noise 5 stars
12/23/05 gummy Serenity is the best SciFi movie i've seen in a LONG TIME!(i nevr saw a episode of firefly) 5 stars
12/22/05 Steve Does the series justice 5 stars
12/20/05 Dan Awesome movie! Loved it. 5 stars
12/16/05 Rob Proctor This and the series from TV are incredable. 5 stars
12/02/05 Blair K. Ivey This is a good movie. Not a four-star classic but certainly worth more than "Worth a look". 5 stars
12/02/05 Marty Welll thought out and well crafteded piece of work. 5 stars
11/23/05 Guy The best space opera since...well, it's actually the best of its kind! 5 stars
11/19/05 Indrid Cold Why are all these Babalon 5/Andromeda/Farscape things exactly the same? 3 stars
11/14/05 Jade Loved it!!! Need I say more? Well, I could actually go on for pages, but I'll refrain! 5 stars
10/31/05 TRACY WILLIS IT WAS TRULY AN UNEXPECTED TRIUMP OF A MOVIE. I WAS REALLY SURPRISED. I LOVED IT. 5 stars
10/30/05 Jared excellent 5 stars
10/24/05 Pale Dim brianorndorf is a moron. Intelligent fans can have a blast with this. 5 stars
10/23/05 Lord Chu AWESOME. The best movie ever, suckers. 5 stars
10/23/05 momacress Smart and action-packed. If it starred Brad Pitt it'd be a blockbuster by now. 4 stars
10/22/05 Suzz unrelenting gore, violence, noise, bad acting and idiot dialogue 1 stars
10/21/05 Ole Man Bourbon Star Wars meets Judge Dredd meets Jason X. IT SUCKS! 1 stars
10/20/05 marajade29sm FINALLY! This is what sci-fi adventure is supposed to be! Whedon is my master now! 5 stars
10/19/05 Rob G With DVD sales this will be in profit easy. Helloooo sequel! 5 stars
10/19/05 mike brianorndorf lacks ability to follow fast plot points. Never seen firefly, loved the movie. 5 stars
10/18/05 Bradley Timm Sci-fi is once again legitimate cinema. 5 stars
10/16/05 Walter Hillman The reviewer must be getting paid under the table. 2 stars
10/16/05 mirasol eagerly anticipated and not dissappointed! 5 stars
10/15/05 Pooly Pretty decent movie for a space drama. Check it out. 4 stars
10/14/05 Roy Smith How is this movie not making money? Fuck! 5 stars
10/14/05 Eula excellent film - I'd wanted more backstory on Book and Inara but it was still just fine! 5 stars
10/13/05 R White Best Sci-Fi for years! 5 stars
10/13/05 James K Chambliss Nice comeback for a series sadly mistreated. Send in a sequel! 5 stars
10/12/05 Elizabeth S Extremely entertaining! Cast is marvelous! 5 stars
10/10/05 jimbo CGI isn't as good as star wars serenity sucked 1 stars
10/10/05 Meritaten Pure Whedon - a breathtaking roller coaster ride from beginning to end! 5 stars
10/10/05 S Gyles THE BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN! 5 stars
10/10/05 DMF Not perfect, but miles better than the competition! 4 stars
10/09/05 CA Goosmann I love the crew...sign me up 5 stars
10/09/05 ajay wasn't laugh-out-loud funny, but an enjoyable esperience. 4 stars
10/07/05 Titus I vote we eliminate Star Wars I-III and replace it with Serenity. This ROCKED. 5 stars
10/07/05 Bob Roberts absolutely f*cking awesome 5 stars
10/07/05 Jef Stellar. Great action, emotional, fearful...wonderful. 5 stars
10/07/05 S McBurnie Best SF movie I've seen in years. 5 stars
10/06/05 Amy Long One hell of a ride! Really cute guys! 5 stars
10/06/05 RevRob More TV Eps Please! (plus additional movies...) 5 stars
10/05/05 Jack Handy This movie was lacking plot, acting, plot, humor, plot, script, plot. 1 stars
10/05/05 Jeremy Absolutely the best movie I have seen all year. 5 stars
10/04/05 Mark This movie sucks 1 stars
10/04/05 Vince Outstanding 5 stars
10/04/05 Jonathon Holmes Half Outlaw Star, half Cowboy Bebop, all fun 4 stars
10/04/05 Elizabeth S Great fun! Stands alone for those unfamiliar with "Firefly" 5 stars
10/04/05 Brenden Rogers The best Sci-Fi I've ever seen 5 stars
10/04/05 bob Loved it, better than most stuff lately 4 stars
10/04/05 mwr Superb movie! 5 stars
10/04/05 strider3700 Great, when's the next one comming? 5 stars
10/04/05 Lynn Huls Joss Whedon at his best! 5 stars
10/03/05 Duckman Freckin' Sweer 5 stars
10/03/05 Mike Haggar It's Like Cowboy Bebop? More like Outlaw Star. I smell a Rip Off. 1 stars
10/03/05 Bob Roberts excellent 5 stars
10/03/05 McNab any sci-fi fan should enjoy it... bring me more 4 stars
10/03/05 Chico Dude Great movie, go see it 5 stars
10/03/05 Tamara Bycroft fantastic 5 stars
10/03/05 Wally Conger I couldn't have been happier with this FIREFLY "sequel." 5 stars
10/03/05 Surfaday Totally entertained - see it!! 5 stars
10/02/05 J. Marra The best in a long, long time by a far, far piece 5 stars
10/02/05 Susan A terrific movie - more, more! 5 stars
10/02/05 Michael Y. Better than Star Wars Episodes 1-3 combined! 5 stars
10/02/05 E. Milo witty, clever, original, and as far from stifling Star Trek morality as you can get! 5 stars
10/02/05 bullit16 Joss Whedon is a god. Best movie of the year, easily. 5 stars
10/02/05 KingNeutron I was really looking fwd to this, but OMG THEY KILLED KENNY! 3 stars
10/02/05 Dan Absolutely awesome and stunning sci-fi movie! Right up there with Star Wars! 5 stars
10/02/05 michaelb14 smart, witty, dialogue; characters you care about; great action; best scifi in a while 5 stars
10/02/05 Wildcarde1 more than mindless sci-fi action, real feeling 5 stars
10/02/05 KGWyly Long overdue successor to "Star Wars" 5 stars
10/02/05 Norma awesome is the right word! watch firefly though! 5 stars
10/02/05 J. O'Brien great sci-fi 5 stars
10/02/05 dj hanson the best sci-fi adventure ive ever seen!!! 5 stars
10/01/05 Heath This has all the elements of an excellent movie no matter what the genre. 5 stars
10/01/05 Green Gremlin Great sci-fi movies don't need CGI !!! 4 stars
10/01/05 Wyatt Allbright Leaves Lucas in the dust. Stunning, brutal, funny, intense and compelling Sci-Fi. 5 stars
10/01/05 what the fuck is wrong with you this movie is the most overrated peice of shit of all time the show sux and so does this 1 stars
10/01/05 Nick Smith Trek what? 5 stars
10/01/05 Jessica Guilford "Roller-coaster" pretty well sums it up. 5 stars
10/01/05 Trevor Hanson Excellent, shocking and unforgettable, there are scenes that are simply staggering 5 stars
10/01/05 Ashley C. The space battle beat ROTS. Fan gold. Action fun. Being a fan, I rate it 5. 5 stars
9/30/05 Keely333 Thank you, Joss! 5 stars
9/30/05 BrianWilly Pure, unadulterated awesomry. 5 stars
9/30/05 Jakub Wow, better than MENACE and JEDI?!?!?! THERE'S an accomplishment!!!!! 1 stars
9/30/05 Frank Lynch Best Gorram SF flick! 5 stars
9/30/05 cat It blows you away the first time you see it and is somehow even better the second time. 5 stars
9/30/05 GUSH!! OMG AWESOME OMG AWESOME OMG AWESOME the bestest movie ever...not. 1 stars
9/30/05 ellie totally amazing! 5 stars
9/30/05 Paul Rocks Such an awesome film, see it if you get the chance, you won't be disappointed 5 stars
9/30/05 Chris Original and Genera busting Action and Humor 5 stars
9/29/05 celticfeminist Fantastic and fun! 5 stars
9/28/05 Heidialyssa I have to agree that it was similar to the series. 4 stars
9/27/05 Mig Alonso About the same as the TV series 2 stars
9/17/05 kk Fantastic. TV show expectations were changed by JW, now he does the same to movies. 5 stars
9/14/05 Anthony Toledo Absolutely worth a look 4 stars
9/07/05 Chris Munoz Average....a big fan but dissapointed with certain aspects of the film. Missed oppurtunity. 3 stars
9/02/05 Igneous Triffic! A mantlepiece! 5 stars
8/31/05 Anthony Mangiarciana Awesome movie , we had a great time it was funny , sweet , exciting , scary and more 5 stars
8/26/05 robert murray absolutely brilliant 5 stars
8/26/05 Michelle It is incredibly amazing heart-stopping breathtaking movie 5 stars
8/25/05 jt best movie of the year so far 5 stars
8/25/05 Surzel outstanding 5 stars
8/25/05 J.A.A. Awesome. I've found Serenity. 5 stars
8/25/05 tony excellent 5 stars
8/25/05 sorcha silver Incredible - exceeded high expectations 5 stars
8/25/05 dorrie6 This movie surpassed all my expectations, including ones I didn't even know I had. 5 stars
8/25/05 Ste Amazing. Great action, great characters overall great film. You'll laugh you'll cry. See it 5 stars
8/25/05 Stephen Fletcher Fantastic, emotionally charged film, best I have seen in a long time. 5 stars
8/25/05 Ed Smith Saw it at the premiere on Monday. Was worried about the hype. Needn't have been. Fantastic. 5 stars
8/25/05 Douglas Hutcheson Must-see film! A roller coaster of emotions running up and down with humour and excitement! 5 stars
8/25/05 DSK Sometimes dark action packed sci-fi with heart and humour. Laughs and tears for all. 5 stars
8/25/05 Jane Burnett Surpassed expectations. A dynamic blockbuster with true (unschmaltzy) heart 5 stars
8/25/05 Jem Absolutely blew me away. Not what I expected... far, far better! 5 stars
8/25/05 jabby Wonderful Movie. A fast paced, exciting, intelligent and funny sci-fi movie. 5 stars
8/25/05 Jay Starr Wicked Awsome! 5 stars
8/25/05 Hannah It gives the world if SciFi just the kick its been needing. 5 stars
8/25/05 Earl Ferguson Real characters, compelling story, non-stop action, memorable music. Great entertainment. 5 stars
8/25/05 Angelique This movie is so much better than all the crap Hollywood has been coming out with! 5 stars
8/25/05 Duy Dinh Not just a good Sci Fi movie, but a good movie in all regards 5 stars
8/25/05 Diane G. fabulous, a great film 5 stars
8/25/05 Edith Simpson Awesome! Best movie this year! 5 stars
8/25/05 Shiny Very Very Shiny 5 stars
8/25/05 Denise M. FANTASTIC film! 5 stars
8/25/05 Geoff Roberts Hands down the best space SF movies in over 10 years 5 stars
8/25/05 Richard Kenneth Lenseth The best movie of 2005 if not this decade! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Sep-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 20-Dec-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Joss Whedon

Written by
  Joss Whedon

Cast
  Nathan Fillion
  Gina Torres
  Alan Tudyk
  Morena Baccarin
  Adam Baldwin
  Jewel Staite



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast