More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.05

Awesome: 6.76%
Worth A Look37.84%
Average: 27.03%
Pretty Bad: 10.81%
Total Crap: 17.57%

8 reviews, 26 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Outside Providence
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"dildo. HAHAHAHAHA."
4 stars

can i just say, that this was one of the more accurate depictions of prep schools ever to be recoded on film? i mean yeah, school ties covered the weasil-ness of the enrolled, but no one seemed to pick up on the fact that when spoiled rich kids rebel, they DO DRUGS. especially in the 70s.

quick plot summary: boy from the slums gets in big trouble, dad alec baldwin sends him to prep school, wackniess ensues.

this movie is worth it for a few simple reasons: three legged dog. shawn hatosy wet and half naked in water with hot girl, marijuana, jonatahn brandis as druggie, guy from that 70s show as a jew, and finally, and most importantly, alec baldwin says dildo.

allow me to reiterate, alec baldwin says dildo. that alone has got to be worth a tleast a FEW bucks! come on!

yes, the plot is contrived, yes, we've seen drug enduced coming of age stories before, yes he gets the girl in the end, but any movie in which alec baldwin says dildo has GOT to be considered cutting edge.

the other positive aspects of this movie are the incredible comedic timing, and a very well depicted look at the two sides of the drug culture of the 70s. the right side and the wrong side of the tracks, all coming together in the name of weed. over simplified as it may be, accurate and funny as shit it is also.

in conclusion, alec baldwin says dildo. 4 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=127&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/01/99 07:22:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/15/09 R Lan Only saving grace of this movie is Alec Baldwin's "Making sex is like Chinese Dinner" line. 2 stars
11/28/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 4 stars
9/23/07 whatever This movie is f-ing great. Yall suck if you dont like it 5 stars
6/10/07 blaze up It's got major funny parts, and unless you grew up then, your stupid butt won't get it 4 stars
6/01/07 fools♫gold The "Won'tGetFooledAgain" song wastooshort. (sarcasm, kind of) Above a 7/10. 3/5 alsoworks. 4 stars
11/20/06 Jeff Anderson Relentlessly dull & mean "comedy" with no laughs & no point. Baldwin tries, though. D.O.A.! 1 stars
5/20/06 rock I recently watched this movie again because I loved it so much thefirst time. 4 stars
11/01/03 Jenny Tullwartz Among Farrellys' weakest. Forgettable. Thanks but no thanks Emily, not in my royal ass. 2 stars
7/17/03 Emily I love that movie and any of you shit holes who don't can stick it up ur royal ass! 5 stars
2/22/02 jpg When you see through all of the pot smoke, you realize this is actually a very good film 5 stars
1/28/02 Andrew Carden Other Then Baldwin's Bizarre Performance, This Movie Has No Life. 2 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa It promotes drugs, but it has some good lines and Baldwin and the Dog are great. 3 stars
3/17/01 Boru Alec Baldwin IS a dildo! 2 stars
9/08/00 Elvisfan Aside from Shawn Hatosy's great performance...this blew cheese 3 stars
5/17/00 Shane Bad acting - Bad Script - Bad Movie 2 stars
5/13/00 Monday Morning More filler than Spam. Baldwin good, tho'. 2 stars
3/18/00 arnold extremely funny 4 stars
11/28/99 Joel Harwood Varsity Blues meets Dead Man On Camus 5 stars
10/08/99 Kimberly Murphy-Smith Formulaic movie, outstanding performances 4 stars
9/25/99 Matthew Briggs pacing is off, but the story has heart 4 stars
9/13/99 Mr Showbiz A dead-end teen stoner flick. The 70's nostalgia kick might have finally run out with this. 2 stars
9/10/99 Alyssa Not a movie to say "I gotta get this when it comes out on DVD!", but a nice little movie. 4 stars
9/07/99 Malbert Not wonderful, but definitely good, a lot of funny parts 4 stars
9/07/99 Wyatt Earp I hate the "Spin" on it but I loved it 5 stars
9/05/99 danimal baldwins best performance ever. overall not a "must see", but good. 4 stars
9/04/99 agustin advertising a teen growing up movie as something about mary shame on you, baldwin sucks 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Sep-1999 (R)
  DVD: 05-Apr-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Oct-1999 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast