More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome53.69%
Worth A Look: 31.54%
Average: 4.7%
Pretty Bad: 2.68%
Total Crap: 7.38%

12 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


40-Year-Old Virgin, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"This generation's 'Porky's,' only better (i.e., actually funny)."
5 stars

Andy Stitzer is not dumb, unattractive, or even socially awkward, at least not especially. He has an unsexy fondness for collecting action figures and playing video games, but so do thousands of other relatively average men. Yet for some reason, Andy Stitzer is 40 years old and still a virgin.

"The 40-Year-Old Virgin," apart from having a near-perfect title, is also a near-perfect sex comedy, made by smart people who understand that crassness itself is not funny, but that crassness with a dash of cleverness is.

It will also prove to be a career-making performance for Steve Carell, who started out on "The Daily Show," nearly stole "Bruce Almighty" from Jim Carrey and "Anchorman" from Will Ferrell, did the impossible by making the American version of "The Office" nearly as good as the original, and is now being given a chance at leading-man stardom. He plays the titular greenhorn, a stock supervisor at a Circuit City-type store in Los Angeles, and almost everything out of his mouth is funny. Carell can underplay like nobody's business, with an officious, inherently nerdy quality that makes him perfectly suited for a role like this.

Andy's situation comes to light at a late-night poker game with his co-workers, gnarly-dude stockboy Cal (Seth Rogan), playa/cheata Jay (Romany Malco), and David (Paul Rudd), who has not gotten over being dumped two years ago and who loves and hates his ex-girlfriend with equal passion. They make fun of Andy for being a virgin, of course, but only briefly. Soon they are rallying around him, trying to get him into bed with someone before he becomes an old man. Andy doesn't want the attention or the assistance, but what can you do? These co-workers, whom he has barely socialized with until now, are essentially his only friends.

The guys explore the various ways of hooking up, offering advice that would be offensive to me as a man if it weren't for the fact that, shamefully, they represent the way most men really think. They try speed-dating, they take Andy to a bar and urge him to get a girl really drunk -- they even arrange for an encounter with a hooker, but everything goes awry, and the deed is never done.

In a scene destined for fame, they urge Andy to get a makeover, which includes having his chest waxed. Carell demonstrates an admirable dedication to his comedy here: The waxing scenes are of his actual chest hair actually being yanked off, and his reactions are among the film's most hysterical moments. (The things he yells at that poor beautician....)

While his buddies are trying to initiate him into manhood, Andy meets a woman named Trish (the always marvelous Catherine Keener) who runs a store across the street and who likes him. They date, and sex is almost achieved, but Trish wants to wait until they know each other better. Andy is relieved: He's terrified to tell her it will be his first time.

Written by Carell and Judd Apatow and directed by Apatow, the film achieves greatness most obviously by being flat-out, fall-down, laugh-out-loud funny. All four of the leading men spout fantastic dialogue, frequently vulgar, often at least partially improvised, and always with an undercurrent of playfulness. Some scenes have Andy slipping out of the limelight so the other characters can spar with each other, as in the priceless bit where Cal and David play video games and take turns making up reasons why the other is gay. The film has a sense of community in that regard, that while it's Carell's starring vehicle, it's a team effort.

But another success is in the film's attitude, which is not as sexist and Neanderthal as you might expect. In fact, I kid you not, the movie makes a real case for chastity. Not only do Andy and Trish have a relationship that is not all about sex, but Andy's horndog friends realize there is more to life than gettin' it on, too, as they all encounter problems with their freewheeling lifestyles.

Finally, I want to point something out to Adam Sandler (who surely visits this Web site regularly): "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" is a prime example of how to let all your buddies be in your movie, yet still have it turn out well. Judd Apatow, director and co-writer of this film, produced "Anchorman," which co-starred Carell and Rudd. It also featured David Koechner, who has a cameo here in the same scene as Nancy Walls, Koechner's former "SNL" castmate and Carell's wife; Koechner and Walls both earn laughs. Apatow's wife, Leslie Mann, has a couple scenes, too, as a hilariously drunk woman Andy meets at a bar who insists on driving herself home; her inebriated monologue as she careens through traffic is one of the film's highlights. Seth Rogan worked with Apatow on "Freaks and Geeks" and "Undeclared" and had a bit part in "Anchorman," yet no one would suggest he'd gotten his part in "40-Year-Old Virgin" simply because he's pals with Apatow.

In short, the movie is fun to watch, but it also seems like it was fun to make -- not in the sense of a bunch of idiots mugging for cameras without direction, but in the sense that someone wrote a deceptively intelligent script full of sharp dialogue, called friends who knew how to treat such a script, and assembled a drop-dead funny sex comedy. So far, this is the one to beat for Funniest Movie of 2005.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12748&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/19/05 11:43:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell funny flick 4 stars
4/16/14 Charles Tatum Funny, but VERY overrated 4 stars
8/11/09 sandeep good 3 stars
6/16/09 Sterling chest hair scend was hilarious 4 stars
5/05/09 sandy freeman stupid stupid stupid. garbage film. 1 stars
3/30/09 Anonymous. hilarious and almost perfect-3.5/4 :D 5 stars
7/19/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 3 stars
3/09/08 jbubbles A wonderful comedy with a lot of heart. Steve Carell is so loveable. 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies Very funny, but plot drags. 4 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr so funny! Steve Carell is always really funny! and i love Seth Rogan! 5 stars
12/17/07 gr Brilliant! 5 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White very cute but not one for my library 3 stars
8/15/07 Ashley uggg A-MAY-ZINNGGG 5 stars
6/21/07 Erin People who are so negative about this are only trying to sound smarter than they really are 5 stars
6/09/07 Dave sucked ass 1 stars
6/02/07 ES A good comedy, some great funny moments but the song at the end was too over the top 4 stars
5/09/07 David Pollastrini didn't think much of it. 2 stars
5/06/07 fools♫gold I didn't like it, but props for the three times it made me die from laughing! 2 stars
4/20/07 Chris Redmond The funniest, most compassionate American comedy since Meet the Parents. 5 stars
3/11/07 Steve Maybe my IQ is a little too high for my brain to allow me to enjoy this shit for a movie? 1 stars
2/14/07 The chode Fucking hilarious, the unedited version is 100000 times better. 5 stars
2/12/07 AJ Muller I pity the miserable people who don't find this utterly hilarious. Best comedy in years. 5 stars
12/13/06 Dude Gross and Unfunny. It Sucked so much ass 1 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Disgusting drivel. I carried my father with me, and I was so embarassed I wanted to hide. 1 stars
7/26/06 Kurt AMAZING WEINBURG WAS RIGHT 5 stars
7/26/06 Agent Sands Carell is one of the new generation's great comedians. And it's a well-made film at that. 4 stars
7/20/06 Danielle It was okay. 4 stars
7/17/06 EZ never laughed the whole damn movie!!! 1 stars
5/10/06 millersxing Sympathetic over-the-hill dude scores for the 1st time. Uncomfortable and lol funny. 4 stars
4/24/06 MP Bartley Great jokes, underpinned with a genuinely sweet sensibility. Carell is terrific. 4 stars
4/11/06 Sully f*ck your Grandmother, then ask her for a check for $12........ 5 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Hilarious. A rare comedy where funny dialogue replace sight gags 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Funny once, after that, nothing 3 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis It had it's very funny moments but some were just blah.. 3 stars
2/20/06 Tanya I laughed until I cried 5 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead How can anybodey like this, you have to be a virgin to like this, this movie sucks 1 stars
12/30/05 Simon Specific scenes and dialogue are quite funny, but that's all;drawn-out plot and bit clichd 3 stars
12/30/05 Taylor Fladgate An instant classic. Learn the punch lines now for your New Years parties. 5 stars
12/28/05 Phil M. Aficionado Lots of kudos deserved, but the overlong and atrocious ending hurts the film, big. 4 stars
12/10/05 Doc Hollywood Absolutely Crap. Bastard copy of Japanese Densha Otoko idea. Humour forced, NO PLOT! 1 stars
11/22/05 13-year old viewer of this film If they keep makin' horror flicks like this, I'll probably be a 40-year old virgin too! 1 stars
11/09/05 rachel very funny and entertaining. worth watching 5 stars
10/28/05 PAG pretty funny 4 stars
10/27/05 Michael Kondo this was pretty good, not great but not bad 4 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz This movie was hilarious! I can't wait for the dvd! 5 stars
10/12/05 Josh Swanson Drop-dead, laugh your ass off funny!!! Way better then Wedding Crashers, which was goodtoo 5 stars
10/08/05 Rosa Fleur It was 'ow you say pretty damn good! I would of had sex with 'im! Poor bloke! 5 stars
10/03/05 bgu nhko bjhnh 5 stars
9/29/05 Sarah was ere my name is sarah darymple i lost muh virginty to muh hand 1 stars
9/23/05 Someone who'd mistakenly heard this film was a "comedy" Watching this movie is like having someone piss on your brain, only not as rewarding. 1 stars
9/20/05 ERIC ROBERT WILKINSON Keener steals the film as a sweet foil for the virginal hero (Carell)! So hilarious! 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod childish, silly, juvenile but oddly watchable 4 stars
9/08/05 Marcia Refreshingly "R"; perfect casting, acting, set dec. Consistent laughs and sweetness. 5 stars
9/05/05 Indrid Cold When a movie like this is the best comedy of the year, we're REALLY starved for quality. 3 stars
9/03/05 KR Jin: You know how I know you're gay? You don't like this movie. 5 stars
8/30/05 Jin further evidence of the dumbing down of America. 2 stars
8/29/05 bullit16 Not quite TSAM, but pretty damn funny 4 stars
8/29/05 KCobain The humor frustrating and tedious. In poor taste. 2 stars
8/29/05 Dan Very good. Best Comedy of the year. Loved the old Indian guy! 4 stars
8/28/05 LittlePenguin FUCKING HILARIOUS! BRILLIANT, FUNNIEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN MONTHS! 5 stars
8/26/05 Caiphn Best Romedy I've ever seen. 4 stars
8/24/05 Lisa Perfect combination -- hilarious and smart, with heart, and an extremely talented cast 5 stars
8/24/05 Lauren this movie was absolutely HILARIOUS I almost peed my pants! 5 stars
8/23/05 Trevor Freakin genius!! We quoted the movie the ENTIRE next day! 5 stars
8/23/05 Alyson I literally got a head ache from laughing too hard. I just might have to see it again. 5 stars
8/23/05 Boy Oxford Constantly hilarious, great acting from everyone 5 stars
8/23/05 Mr. Eff Great movie. Funny through the whole two hours. 5 stars
8/22/05 Uncle Salty FUCKING OUTSTANDING 5 stars
8/22/05 jcjs wow, gees, ooooh, as funny and clever as 'Sideways' if not more so...great 5 stars
8/22/05 SD So good you'll need to see it again 5 stars
8/21/05 Sharline It was hte funniest movie I've seen all year!! I Loved it!! 2 thumbs way up!! 5 stars
8/21/05 Jim The Movie Freak Maybe not the "Best" film of 2005 so far, but my personal favorite. 5 stars
8/20/05 ajay very funny, best movie of the summer. 5 stars
8/20/05 Titus Makes a couple low-brow punches that could be left out, drags a bit. Otherwise: great! 4 stars
8/20/05 buford hilarious. it's a shame that dumb america will probably not see it. 5 stars
8/20/05 Kristina Williams Kelly Clarkson! 5 stars
8/19/05 Danny Pesses Best comedy I've seen in a VERY long time! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Aug-2005 (R)
  DVD: 22-May-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Oct-2005


Directed by
  Judd Apatow

Written by
  Judd Apatow
  Steve Carell

Cast
  Steve Carell
  Catherine Keener
  Paul Rudd
  Seth Rogen
  Romany Malco
  Elizabeth Banks



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast