More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome53.69%
Worth A Look: 31.54%
Average: 4.7%
Pretty Bad: 2.68%
Total Crap: 7.38%

12 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


40-Year-Old Virgin, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Hey Steve Carell, you’re now a star. And you have earned it."
5 stars

Here’s something that I want to see more these days: an R-rated comedy that has wit, heart and originality in itself and doesn’t resort to the cheap semen-in-pie or explosive diahhrea gag (although I must digress, I did love the one in “Dumb and Dumber” but it ends right about there). “The 40-Year-Old Virgin” is about the pain of a 40-year-old man with a particular problem, and not only does the film keep itself with a hint of reality, it is also gut-bustingly funny to boot. What else would you expect from Judd Apatow, co-creator of “Freaks and Geeks”?

Andy (Steve Carell) would be a best buddy of mine. Here you have a guy who wakes up to his collection of boxed superheroes, has a “video game chair”, a big movie collection, and works at a Smart Tech electronics store as an inventory checker. (And if he wouldn’t be a best buddy of mine, he would at least know me there as a “store regular”) There’s just one little thing…Andy hasn’t popped his cherry yet. Once his fellow co-horts at work find out, they decide to help him.

And these are truly some friends. There’s Dave (Paul Rudd) who has come off a bad relationship and is attempting to swear off women for good. There’s Cal (former “Freak” and comedian Seth Rogen) who has no girlfriend and we can quickly see why, and Jay (Romany Malco) who is a ladies’ man. All of them offer advice that is just different from each other to drive Andy nuts, who isn’t really up to the game to begin with.

There’s a really nice moment early on where Andy and co-worker Dave (Paul Rudd) have a conversation on Andy’s past, and we learn that Andy had several horrific situations with girls which led to a depressing post-school life. Eventually, he gave up trying. Rather than having the characters insult Andy’s character for this, Dave listens. “This is the first time we’ve had a conversation that has lasted more than thirty seconds,” Andy notes, “It’s nice.”

Andy’s radar is up for women, although a bit nervously. He eventually meet Trish (Catherine Keener) who is looking for a DVD player. She works across the street at a store that sells items on Ebay for a small commission. There’s also Beth (Elizabeth Banks who was recently amazing in “Heights”) who seems to be an all-around nice girl who works at a book store but harbours a little bit of odd energy on her own. Andy also meets Vicky (Leslie Mann, who is Apatow’s wife) who has a penchant for driving under the influence.

“The 40-Year Old Virgin” is less about Andy’s sexual awakening; if it were, he could have easily been laid within the film’s first twenty minutes if his buddies had anything to do about it. Andy just wants someone to love rather than someone to fuck and as the movie progresses, we see Andy come to really care about Trish, despite being stuck with the problem of telling her about his virgin-status. What’s nice about the relationship is that they stay together for the majority of the time they are together, rather than having them apart like too many romantic comedies these days (“Must Love Dogs” is a recent example).

The lengths that Apatow, who co-wrote the screenplay with Carell, go to make us laugh are pretty admirable. The film’s standout scene involves Andy getting his chest waxed, and you’d first think that it was all staged, but Carell did insist to get his chest waxed, so multiple cameras were rolling as he painfully accepted his method-acting for this one sequences. The reactions on his face nearly killed the audience at my recent screening.

As well, he keeps all of the characters interesting with three dimensions. Andy’s entourage of buddies keep the laughs coming, the different women that come to Andy have all of their quirks (I especially liked the roster of women in a “Speed Dating” scene) and I especially liked Andy’s female boss (Jane Lynch from Chris Guest’s “Best in Show”) who offers herself as a buddy to her staff members. On occasion, some of these characters spend a little too much time in-front of the camera when the film should be moving along, but it is a minor flaw.

Bringing “The 40-Year-Old Virgin” together is the force of Steve Carell, who has made me laugh on “The Daily Show”, played a hilariously inept weatherman in “Anchorman” and made the American remake of “The Office” much more watchable than expected. He’s so funny and enormously likable in this movie and no doubt will become a star, although I’m not sure if he could carry a movie on his own. I think his talents exist best working off a bunch of like-minded, talented comedians. In this movie, he’s right at home.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12748&reviewer=350
originally posted: 08/26/05 16:25:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell funny flick 4 stars
4/16/14 Charles Tatum Funny, but VERY overrated 4 stars
8/11/09 sandeep good 3 stars
6/16/09 Sterling chest hair scend was hilarious 4 stars
5/05/09 sandy freeman stupid stupid stupid. garbage film. 1 stars
3/30/09 Anonymous. hilarious and almost perfect-3.5/4 :D 5 stars
7/19/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 3 stars
3/09/08 jbubbles A wonderful comedy with a lot of heart. Steve Carell is so loveable. 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies Very funny, but plot drags. 4 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr so funny! Steve Carell is always really funny! and i love Seth Rogan! 5 stars
12/17/07 gr Brilliant! 5 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White very cute but not one for my library 3 stars
8/15/07 Ashley uggg A-MAY-ZINNGGG 5 stars
6/21/07 Erin People who are so negative about this are only trying to sound smarter than they really are 5 stars
6/09/07 Dave sucked ass 1 stars
6/02/07 ES A good comedy, some great funny moments but the song at the end was too over the top 4 stars
5/09/07 David Pollastrini didn't think much of it. 2 stars
5/06/07 fools♫gold I didn't like it, but props for the three times it made me die from laughing! 2 stars
4/20/07 Chris Redmond The funniest, most compassionate American comedy since Meet the Parents. 5 stars
3/11/07 Steve Maybe my IQ is a little too high for my brain to allow me to enjoy this shit for a movie? 1 stars
2/14/07 The chode Fucking hilarious, the unedited version is 100000 times better. 5 stars
2/12/07 AJ Muller I pity the miserable people who don't find this utterly hilarious. Best comedy in years. 5 stars
12/13/06 Dude Gross and Unfunny. It Sucked so much ass 1 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Disgusting drivel. I carried my father with me, and I was so embarassed I wanted to hide. 1 stars
7/26/06 Kurt AMAZING WEINBURG WAS RIGHT 5 stars
7/26/06 Agent Sands Carell is one of the new generation's great comedians. And it's a well-made film at that. 4 stars
7/20/06 Danielle It was okay. 4 stars
7/17/06 EZ never laughed the whole damn movie!!! 1 stars
5/10/06 millersxing Sympathetic over-the-hill dude scores for the 1st time. Uncomfortable and lol funny. 4 stars
4/24/06 MP Bartley Great jokes, underpinned with a genuinely sweet sensibility. Carell is terrific. 4 stars
4/11/06 Sully f*ck your Grandmother, then ask her for a check for $12........ 5 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Hilarious. A rare comedy where funny dialogue replace sight gags 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Funny once, after that, nothing 3 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis It had it's very funny moments but some were just blah.. 3 stars
2/20/06 Tanya I laughed until I cried 5 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead How can anybodey like this, you have to be a virgin to like this, this movie sucks 1 stars
12/30/05 Simon Specific scenes and dialogue are quite funny, but that's all;drawn-out plot and bit clichéd 3 stars
12/30/05 Taylor Fladgate An instant classic. Learn the punch lines now for your New Years parties. 5 stars
12/28/05 Phil M. Aficionado Lots of kudos deserved, but the overlong and atrocious ending hurts the film, big. 4 stars
12/10/05 Doc Hollywood Absolutely Crap. Bastard copy of Japanese Densha Otoko idea. Humour forced, NO PLOT! 1 stars
11/22/05 13-year old viewer of this film If they keep makin' horror flicks like this, I'll probably be a 40-year old virgin too! 1 stars
11/09/05 rachel very funny and entertaining. worth watching 5 stars
10/28/05 PAG pretty funny 4 stars
10/27/05 Michael Kondo this was pretty good, not great but not bad 4 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz This movie was hilarious! I can't wait for the dvd! 5 stars
10/12/05 Josh Swanson Drop-dead, laugh your ass off funny!!! Way better then Wedding Crashers, which was goodtoo 5 stars
10/08/05 Rosa Fleur It was 'ow you say pretty damn good! I would of had sex with 'im! Poor bloke! 5 stars
10/03/05 bgu nhko bjhýnhý 5 stars
9/29/05 Sarah was ere my name is sarah darymple i lost muh virginty to muh hand 1 stars
9/23/05 Someone who'd mistakenly heard this film was a "comedy" Watching this movie is like having someone piss on your brain, only not as rewarding. 1 stars
9/20/05 ERIC ROBERT WILKINSON Keener steals the film as a sweet foil for the virginal hero (Carell)! So hilarious! 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod childish, silly, juvenile but oddly watchable 4 stars
9/08/05 Marcia Refreshingly "R"; perfect casting, acting, set dec. Consistent laughs and sweetness. 5 stars
9/05/05 Indrid Cold When a movie like this is the best comedy of the year, we're REALLY starved for quality. 3 stars
9/03/05 KR Jin: You know how I know you're gay? You don't like this movie. 5 stars
8/30/05 Jin further evidence of the dumbing down of America. 2 stars
8/29/05 bullit16 Not quite TSAM, but pretty damn funny 4 stars
8/29/05 KCobain The humor frustrating and tedious. In poor taste. 2 stars
8/29/05 Dan Very good. Best Comedy of the year. Loved the old Indian guy! 4 stars
8/28/05 LittlePenguin FUCKING HILARIOUS! BRILLIANT, FUNNIEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN MONTHS! 5 stars
8/26/05 Caiphn Best Romedy I've ever seen. 4 stars
8/24/05 Lisa Perfect combination -- hilarious and smart, with heart, and an extremely talented cast 5 stars
8/24/05 Lauren this movie was absolutely HILARIOUS I almost peed my pants! 5 stars
8/23/05 Trevor Freakin genius!! We quoted the movie the ENTIRE next day! 5 stars
8/23/05 Alyson I literally got a head ache from laughing too hard. I just might have to see it again. 5 stars
8/23/05 Boy Oxford Constantly hilarious, great acting from everyone 5 stars
8/23/05 Mr. Eff Great movie. Funny through the whole two hours. 5 stars
8/22/05 Uncle Salty FUCKING OUTSTANDING 5 stars
8/22/05 jcjs wow, gees, ooooh, as funny and clever as 'Sideways' if not more so...great 5 stars
8/22/05 SD So good you'll need to see it again 5 stars
8/21/05 Sharline It was hte funniest movie I've seen all year!! I Loved it!! 2 thumbs way up!! 5 stars
8/21/05 Jim The Movie Freak Maybe not the "Best" film of 2005 so far, but my personal favorite. 5 stars
8/20/05 ajay very funny, best movie of the summer. 5 stars
8/20/05 Titus Makes a couple low-brow punches that could be left out, drags a bit. Otherwise: great! 4 stars
8/20/05 buford hilarious. it's a shame that dumb america will probably not see it. 5 stars
8/20/05 Kristina Williams Kelly Clarkson! 5 stars
8/19/05 Danny Pesses Best comedy I've seen in a VERY long time! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Aug-2005 (R)
  DVD: 22-May-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Oct-2005


Directed by
  Judd Apatow

Written by
  Judd Apatow
  Steve Carell

Cast
  Steve Carell
  Catherine Keener
  Paul Rudd
  Seth Rogen
  Romany Malco
  Elizabeth Banks



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast