More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome53.69%
Worth A Look: 31.54%
Average: 4.7%
Pretty Bad: 2.68%
Total Crap: 7.38%

12 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


40-Year-Old Virgin, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Luke Pyzik

"Hymen Busting Hilarity"
5 stars

So many modern comedies attempt to generate laughs by showing people being cruel to one another. The characters lie, cheat, steal, screw a best friend’s girlfriend, or empty man seed into a beer cup and laugh when their buddy drinks it. “The 40-Year-Old Virgin” is an anomaly among modern comedies because every character in the film is someone you wouldn’t mind having dinner with. They’re all smart, kind, funny, sensitive, and genuine. Even the creepy, Michael McDonald-loving electronics store manager has her redeeming qualities. The miracle of the movie is how effortlessly it induces laughter, drama, and suspense without vilifying characters, over-cooking its concept, or depending on false plot turns. The movie is such a great example of perfect character writing that it is like a Cameron Crowe or James L. Brooks script, only with funnier, lewder jokes.

Steve Carrell stars as Andy, the virgin in question who works at an electronics store that might as well be Circuit City and who lives in an apartment adorned with video games and collectable action figures. But Andy isn’t the man-child embarrassment you’ve come to expect from comedies staring Jim Carrey or Will Ferrell. While he does suffer from a definite case of arrested development, he's a responsible adult who is able to function socially. Granted, he doesn’t have many friends and his co-workers ignore him, but at least he's able to keep a strict work out schedule and his upstairs neighbors like him enough to have him over to watch “Survivor.” The comedy in the movie, refreshingly, does not come from Andy embarrassing himself - well, mostly.

When a few guys at work need a fourth for a poker game, Andy is reluctantly invited. It's not that his co-workers don't like him, it’s just that one of them thinks Andy is a serial killer. Despite this fact, Andy makes fast friends with the guys, and even though (or maybe because) they quickly figure out he’s a virgin, they all genuinely like him and want to help him out. But even here, the movie does not stray into a formulaic series of the foursome’s efforts to attain the elusive booty, but instead focuses on how Andy’s journey affects his three new friends who are having relationship problems of their own. David (Paul Rudd) is obsessed with an ex-girlfriend and is slowly coming apart at the seams, Jay (Romany Malco) is a in a long term relationship with woman he can't stop cheating on, and Cal (Seth Rogan) is a pot smoking hipster slob who can get women, but can’t really achieve intimacy.

That’s not to say the movie isn’t really about Andy, because it is. Particularly in the last third, when Andy’s friends fade to the background and the film focuses on Andy’s relationship with Trish (Catherine Keener), a sweet business owner that falls for him. Keener, known for edgier, “bitchier” characters like the ones she played in “Being John Malkovitch: and “Your Friends and Neighbors,” achieves in this movie some kind of transcendent kindness. She is the perfect actress for the role. Trish has her own secrets and problems, but is a character that radiates goodness. The audience falls in love with her the same way Andy does – with a sort of cautious optimism.

Writer/director Judd Apatow (“Freaks and Geeks,” “The Larry Sanders Show”) observes Andy’s relationships with pinpoint accuracy. He understands the ways in which guys bond and relate to each other. Take for instance, a scene in which Andy and his friends have a serious discussion while smashing florescent lights on each other in the back of the electronics store ("Dude, new pants"), or the way the guys laugh with (not at) Andy when he gets his chest hair waxed, or the ways in which the guys argue about which one of them is more "gay." Andy’s relationship with Trish also is handled with a sincerity usually not found in comedies. Apatow takes his time developing their connection, and the conclusion feels natural and satisfying.

All that and I haven’t really talked about how funny the movie is. And boy is it funny. I’m talking pants wetting funny. For all I've said about character and relationships and friendship, the movie is not afraid to get down and dirty with plenty of toilet humor, most of which comes from the ways in which the guys talk to each other. “The 40-Year-Old Virgin” is filled to the brim with jokes, some of which come from big laugh moments, like the drunk driving or hair wax scenes, but there are also so many subtle jokes that this movie is destined to become a heavily quoted cult classic sitting in dorm room shelves along side “The Big Lebowski.” Quite frankly, “The 40-Year-Old Virgin” is one of the best comedies you’re likely to see this year or any other year.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12748&reviewer=381
originally posted: 08/27/05 00:39:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell funny flick 4 stars
4/16/14 Charles Tatum Funny, but VERY overrated 4 stars
8/11/09 sandeep good 3 stars
6/16/09 Sterling chest hair scend was hilarious 4 stars
5/05/09 sandy freeman stupid stupid stupid. garbage film. 1 stars
3/30/09 Anonymous. hilarious and almost perfect-3.5/4 :D 5 stars
7/19/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 3 stars
3/09/08 jbubbles A wonderful comedy with a lot of heart. Steve Carell is so loveable. 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies Very funny, but plot drags. 4 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr so funny! Steve Carell is always really funny! and i love Seth Rogan! 5 stars
12/17/07 gr Brilliant! 5 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White very cute but not one for my library 3 stars
8/15/07 Ashley uggg A-MAY-ZINNGGG 5 stars
6/21/07 Erin People who are so negative about this are only trying to sound smarter than they really are 5 stars
6/09/07 Dave sucked ass 1 stars
6/02/07 ES A good comedy, some great funny moments but the song at the end was too over the top 4 stars
5/09/07 David Pollastrini didn't think much of it. 2 stars
5/06/07 fools♫gold I didn't like it, but props for the three times it made me die from laughing! 2 stars
4/20/07 Chris Redmond The funniest, most compassionate American comedy since Meet the Parents. 5 stars
3/11/07 Steve Maybe my IQ is a little too high for my brain to allow me to enjoy this shit for a movie? 1 stars
2/14/07 The chode Fucking hilarious, the unedited version is 100000 times better. 5 stars
2/12/07 AJ Muller I pity the miserable people who don't find this utterly hilarious. Best comedy in years. 5 stars
12/13/06 Dude Gross and Unfunny. It Sucked so much ass 1 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Disgusting drivel. I carried my father with me, and I was so embarassed I wanted to hide. 1 stars
7/26/06 Kurt AMAZING WEINBURG WAS RIGHT 5 stars
7/26/06 Agent Sands Carell is one of the new generation's great comedians. And it's a well-made film at that. 4 stars
7/20/06 Danielle It was okay. 4 stars
7/17/06 EZ never laughed the whole damn movie!!! 1 stars
5/10/06 millersxing Sympathetic over-the-hill dude scores for the 1st time. Uncomfortable and lol funny. 4 stars
4/24/06 MP Bartley Great jokes, underpinned with a genuinely sweet sensibility. Carell is terrific. 4 stars
4/11/06 Sully f*ck your Grandmother, then ask her for a check for $12........ 5 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Hilarious. A rare comedy where funny dialogue replace sight gags 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Funny once, after that, nothing 3 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis It had it's very funny moments but some were just blah.. 3 stars
2/20/06 Tanya I laughed until I cried 5 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead How can anybodey like this, you have to be a virgin to like this, this movie sucks 1 stars
12/30/05 Simon Specific scenes and dialogue are quite funny, but that's all;drawn-out plot and bit clichéd 3 stars
12/30/05 Taylor Fladgate An instant classic. Learn the punch lines now for your New Years parties. 5 stars
12/28/05 Phil M. Aficionado Lots of kudos deserved, but the overlong and atrocious ending hurts the film, big. 4 stars
12/10/05 Doc Hollywood Absolutely Crap. Bastard copy of Japanese Densha Otoko idea. Humour forced, NO PLOT! 1 stars
11/22/05 13-year old viewer of this film If they keep makin' horror flicks like this, I'll probably be a 40-year old virgin too! 1 stars
11/09/05 rachel very funny and entertaining. worth watching 5 stars
10/28/05 PAG pretty funny 4 stars
10/27/05 Michael Kondo this was pretty good, not great but not bad 4 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz This movie was hilarious! I can't wait for the dvd! 5 stars
10/12/05 Josh Swanson Drop-dead, laugh your ass off funny!!! Way better then Wedding Crashers, which was goodtoo 5 stars
10/08/05 Rosa Fleur It was 'ow you say pretty damn good! I would of had sex with 'im! Poor bloke! 5 stars
10/03/05 bgu nhko bjhýnhý 5 stars
9/29/05 Sarah was ere my name is sarah darymple i lost muh virginty to muh hand 1 stars
9/23/05 Someone who'd mistakenly heard this film was a "comedy" Watching this movie is like having someone piss on your brain, only not as rewarding. 1 stars
9/20/05 ERIC ROBERT WILKINSON Keener steals the film as a sweet foil for the virginal hero (Carell)! So hilarious! 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod childish, silly, juvenile but oddly watchable 4 stars
9/08/05 Marcia Refreshingly "R"; perfect casting, acting, set dec. Consistent laughs and sweetness. 5 stars
9/05/05 Indrid Cold When a movie like this is the best comedy of the year, we're REALLY starved for quality. 3 stars
9/03/05 KR Jin: You know how I know you're gay? You don't like this movie. 5 stars
8/30/05 Jin further evidence of the dumbing down of America. 2 stars
8/29/05 bullit16 Not quite TSAM, but pretty damn funny 4 stars
8/29/05 KCobain The humor frustrating and tedious. In poor taste. 2 stars
8/29/05 Dan Very good. Best Comedy of the year. Loved the old Indian guy! 4 stars
8/28/05 LittlePenguin FUCKING HILARIOUS! BRILLIANT, FUNNIEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN MONTHS! 5 stars
8/26/05 Caiphn Best Romedy I've ever seen. 4 stars
8/24/05 Lisa Perfect combination -- hilarious and smart, with heart, and an extremely talented cast 5 stars
8/24/05 Lauren this movie was absolutely HILARIOUS I almost peed my pants! 5 stars
8/23/05 Trevor Freakin genius!! We quoted the movie the ENTIRE next day! 5 stars
8/23/05 Alyson I literally got a head ache from laughing too hard. I just might have to see it again. 5 stars
8/23/05 Boy Oxford Constantly hilarious, great acting from everyone 5 stars
8/23/05 Mr. Eff Great movie. Funny through the whole two hours. 5 stars
8/22/05 Uncle Salty FUCKING OUTSTANDING 5 stars
8/22/05 jcjs wow, gees, ooooh, as funny and clever as 'Sideways' if not more so...great 5 stars
8/22/05 SD So good you'll need to see it again 5 stars
8/21/05 Sharline It was hte funniest movie I've seen all year!! I Loved it!! 2 thumbs way up!! 5 stars
8/21/05 Jim The Movie Freak Maybe not the "Best" film of 2005 so far, but my personal favorite. 5 stars
8/20/05 ajay very funny, best movie of the summer. 5 stars
8/20/05 Titus Makes a couple low-brow punches that could be left out, drags a bit. Otherwise: great! 4 stars
8/20/05 buford hilarious. it's a shame that dumb america will probably not see it. 5 stars
8/20/05 Kristina Williams Kelly Clarkson! 5 stars
8/19/05 Danny Pesses Best comedy I've seen in a VERY long time! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Aug-2005 (R)
  DVD: 22-May-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Oct-2005


Directed by
  Judd Apatow

Written by
  Judd Apatow
  Steve Carell

Cast
  Steve Carell
  Catherine Keener
  Paul Rudd
  Seth Rogen
  Romany Malco
  Elizabeth Banks



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast