More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome53.69%
Worth A Look: 31.54%
Average: 4.7%
Pretty Bad: 2.68%
Total Crap: 7.38%

12 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


40-Year-Old Virgin, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"Carell finally gets one right"
4 stars

After some time with middling supporting roles, Steve Carell gets a starring shot with “The 40-Year-Old Virgin.” A deliciously R-rated, wonderfully cast motion picture, “Virgin” is a comedy well stocked with laughs and uncomfortable truths. But most importantly, it gives Carell a chance to shine, hopefully starting a leading man career that will continue to impress.

Andy (Steve Carell, “Anchorman”) is an obsessive toy collector, works full-time at an electronics store, rides a bicycle, and has never had sex. When Andy’s coworkers (Paul Rudd, Seth Rogan, and Romany Malco) learn about his lack of experience, they swarm him, teaching him to look better, act more confident, and to never take his eyes off the prize. However, geeky Andy just can’t get it together. When a kind divorcee (Catherine Keener) takes a shine to Andy, the virgin panics, and is faced with a real possibility that he might have to have sex with this woman, which sends him on an adventure of love he’s never experienced before.

The last of the trilogy of R-rated comedies for the 2005 summer season, “40-Year-Old-Virgin” turns out to be the best of them. This peculiar expedition into the world of an undersexed man is the type of material that could go wrong in a million different ways. Too broad, and you risk National Lampoon wanting to put their moniker on the film. Too serious, and the film will be playing to empty theaters. Enter Judd Apatow.

Apatow is the mastermind behind such television shows as “Freaks & Geeks,” “Undeclared,” and “The Ben Stiller Show.” Over the course of his career, Apatow has mastered the art of staging broad, absurdist comedy with a dash of reality thrown in, which is a perfect gift for “Virgin,” his long overdue directorial debut. Apatow, with star and co-writer Steve Carell, has created a ripe opportunity to frolic in the fields of hilarity, and “Virgin” seldom lets an opportunity for a laugh slip by. From Andy’s geekified, toy-centric existence (and tight connection to his Steven Austin doll) and his butching up for love (by getting his chest waxed – a film highlight) to the terror that sets in once the goal of his quest in within reach, “Virgin” is completely hilarious detailing Andy’s distinct and long overdue journey to manhood.

A fan of the absurd and the obscene, Apatow has thrown in plenty of little treats for the audience, including a dynamite reference to the William Friedkin thriller “Jade,” and, when Andy tries speed dating, a view of the world’s loosest top on a woman who could use all the covering she can find. “Virgin” is a proud R-rated affair, with Apatow and Carell lovingly embracing the naughty atmosphere the concept is begging to indulge.

Take away all the obscenities and the morning erection gags, and the real shocker of “Virgin” is how well Steve Carell acquits himself in the lead role. Always a mid-tempo comedic performer, Carell play Andy beautifully, allowing his fantastic supporting cast (not a bad apple in the bunch) to take many of the laughs, and coming through with his own bit of magic when need be. Carell also manages to make Andy sympathetic, but not in a puppy dog way. The frustration of the character is always percolating, keeping Andy away from sainthood. It’s a stellar lead performance from Carell, and I hope it’s not the last.

Much like the July smash “Wedding Crashers,” “Virgin” feels the need to commit two crimes. First, the film runs a shocking two hours in length. There’s nothing even remotely important in the film that warrants that kind of attention. Second, the picture stops being funny for a beat in the final act. Apatow doesn’t know when to close his film, allowing the story to find some dramatic edges when that’s the last thing it needs. The damage isn’t severe, but is overwhelmingly annoying considering just how well the concoction was cooking before the film started taking itself too seriously. Sadly, Apatow and Carell feel the need to artificially inject sympathy into the film when they’ve had it all along.

“40-Year-Old Virgin” hits swell comedic highpoints, and the sheer vibe of the picture is so cheery and bawdy that it’s impossible to hate. Not having sex has never been this much fun.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12748&reviewer=404
originally posted: 08/19/05 14:09:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell funny flick 4 stars
4/16/14 Charles Tatum Funny, but VERY overrated 4 stars
8/11/09 sandeep good 3 stars
6/16/09 Sterling chest hair scend was hilarious 4 stars
5/05/09 sandy freeman stupid stupid stupid. garbage film. 1 stars
3/30/09 Anonymous. hilarious and almost perfect-3.5/4 :D 5 stars
7/19/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 3 stars
3/09/08 jbubbles A wonderful comedy with a lot of heart. Steve Carell is so loveable. 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies Very funny, but plot drags. 4 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr so funny! Steve Carell is always really funny! and i love Seth Rogan! 5 stars
12/17/07 gr Brilliant! 5 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White very cute but not one for my library 3 stars
8/15/07 Ashley uggg A-MAY-ZINNGGG 5 stars
6/21/07 Erin People who are so negative about this are only trying to sound smarter than they really are 5 stars
6/09/07 Dave sucked ass 1 stars
6/02/07 ES A good comedy, some great funny moments but the song at the end was too over the top 4 stars
5/09/07 David Pollastrini didn't think much of it. 2 stars
5/06/07 fools♫gold I didn't like it, but props for the three times it made me die from laughing! 2 stars
4/20/07 Chris Redmond The funniest, most compassionate American comedy since Meet the Parents. 5 stars
3/11/07 Steve Maybe my IQ is a little too high for my brain to allow me to enjoy this shit for a movie? 1 stars
2/14/07 The chode Fucking hilarious, the unedited version is 100000 times better. 5 stars
2/12/07 AJ Muller I pity the miserable people who don't find this utterly hilarious. Best comedy in years. 5 stars
12/13/06 Dude Gross and Unfunny. It Sucked so much ass 1 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Disgusting drivel. I carried my father with me, and I was so embarassed I wanted to hide. 1 stars
7/26/06 Kurt AMAZING WEINBURG WAS RIGHT 5 stars
7/26/06 Agent Sands Carell is one of the new generation's great comedians. And it's a well-made film at that. 4 stars
7/20/06 Danielle It was okay. 4 stars
7/17/06 EZ never laughed the whole damn movie!!! 1 stars
5/10/06 millersxing Sympathetic over-the-hill dude scores for the 1st time. Uncomfortable and lol funny. 4 stars
4/24/06 MP Bartley Great jokes, underpinned with a genuinely sweet sensibility. Carell is terrific. 4 stars
4/11/06 Sully f*ck your Grandmother, then ask her for a check for $12........ 5 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Hilarious. A rare comedy where funny dialogue replace sight gags 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Funny once, after that, nothing 3 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis It had it's very funny moments but some were just blah.. 3 stars
2/20/06 Tanya I laughed until I cried 5 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead How can anybodey like this, you have to be a virgin to like this, this movie sucks 1 stars
12/30/05 Simon Specific scenes and dialogue are quite funny, but that's all;drawn-out plot and bit clichéd 3 stars
12/30/05 Taylor Fladgate An instant classic. Learn the punch lines now for your New Years parties. 5 stars
12/28/05 Phil M. Aficionado Lots of kudos deserved, but the overlong and atrocious ending hurts the film, big. 4 stars
12/10/05 Doc Hollywood Absolutely Crap. Bastard copy of Japanese Densha Otoko idea. Humour forced, NO PLOT! 1 stars
11/22/05 13-year old viewer of this film If they keep makin' horror flicks like this, I'll probably be a 40-year old virgin too! 1 stars
11/09/05 rachel very funny and entertaining. worth watching 5 stars
10/28/05 PAG pretty funny 4 stars
10/27/05 Michael Kondo this was pretty good, not great but not bad 4 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz This movie was hilarious! I can't wait for the dvd! 5 stars
10/12/05 Josh Swanson Drop-dead, laugh your ass off funny!!! Way better then Wedding Crashers, which was goodtoo 5 stars
10/08/05 Rosa Fleur It was 'ow you say pretty damn good! I would of had sex with 'im! Poor bloke! 5 stars
10/03/05 bgu nhko bjhýnhý 5 stars
9/29/05 Sarah was ere my name is sarah darymple i lost muh virginty to muh hand 1 stars
9/23/05 Someone who'd mistakenly heard this film was a "comedy" Watching this movie is like having someone piss on your brain, only not as rewarding. 1 stars
9/20/05 ERIC ROBERT WILKINSON Keener steals the film as a sweet foil for the virginal hero (Carell)! So hilarious! 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod childish, silly, juvenile but oddly watchable 4 stars
9/08/05 Marcia Refreshingly "R"; perfect casting, acting, set dec. Consistent laughs and sweetness. 5 stars
9/05/05 Indrid Cold When a movie like this is the best comedy of the year, we're REALLY starved for quality. 3 stars
9/03/05 KR Jin: You know how I know you're gay? You don't like this movie. 5 stars
8/30/05 Jin further evidence of the dumbing down of America. 2 stars
8/29/05 bullit16 Not quite TSAM, but pretty damn funny 4 stars
8/29/05 KCobain The humor frustrating and tedious. In poor taste. 2 stars
8/29/05 Dan Very good. Best Comedy of the year. Loved the old Indian guy! 4 stars
8/28/05 LittlePenguin FUCKING HILARIOUS! BRILLIANT, FUNNIEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN MONTHS! 5 stars
8/26/05 Caiphn Best Romedy I've ever seen. 4 stars
8/24/05 Lisa Perfect combination -- hilarious and smart, with heart, and an extremely talented cast 5 stars
8/24/05 Lauren this movie was absolutely HILARIOUS I almost peed my pants! 5 stars
8/23/05 Trevor Freakin genius!! We quoted the movie the ENTIRE next day! 5 stars
8/23/05 Alyson I literally got a head ache from laughing too hard. I just might have to see it again. 5 stars
8/23/05 Boy Oxford Constantly hilarious, great acting from everyone 5 stars
8/23/05 Mr. Eff Great movie. Funny through the whole two hours. 5 stars
8/22/05 Uncle Salty FUCKING OUTSTANDING 5 stars
8/22/05 jcjs wow, gees, ooooh, as funny and clever as 'Sideways' if not more so...great 5 stars
8/22/05 SD So good you'll need to see it again 5 stars
8/21/05 Sharline It was hte funniest movie I've seen all year!! I Loved it!! 2 thumbs way up!! 5 stars
8/21/05 Jim The Movie Freak Maybe not the "Best" film of 2005 so far, but my personal favorite. 5 stars
8/20/05 ajay very funny, best movie of the summer. 5 stars
8/20/05 Titus Makes a couple low-brow punches that could be left out, drags a bit. Otherwise: great! 4 stars
8/20/05 buford hilarious. it's a shame that dumb america will probably not see it. 5 stars
8/20/05 Kristina Williams Kelly Clarkson! 5 stars
8/19/05 Danny Pesses Best comedy I've seen in a VERY long time! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Aug-2005 (R)
  DVD: 22-May-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Oct-2005


Directed by
  Judd Apatow

Written by
  Judd Apatow
  Steve Carell

Cast
  Steve Carell
  Catherine Keener
  Paul Rudd
  Seth Rogen
  Romany Malco
  Elizabeth Banks



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast