More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome53.69%
Worth A Look: 31.54%
Average: 4.7%
Pretty Bad: 2.68%
Total Crap: 7.38%

12 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Aladdin (2019) by Jay Seaver

All Is True by Jay Seaver

Fugue by Jay Seaver

Aniara by Jay Seaver

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum by Jay Seaver

Long Day's Journey Into Night (2018) by Jay Seaver

Shadow by Jay Seaver

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché by Jay Seaver

Hustle, The by Peter Sobczynski

Detective Pikachu by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


40-Year-Old Virgin, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by William Goss

"Broken Flowers"
4 stars

Steve Carell moves up from scene-stealing supporting actor to certifiable comic master as the lovelorn lead in 'The 40-Year-Old Virgin,' a comedy with its heart in the right place, even if everything else isn’t exactly where it should be.

While playing poker and swapping sex stories with colleagues, it soon becomes apparent that middle-aged Andy Stitzer (Carell) has never done the dirty deed. His three friends instantly make it their mission to get his cherry popped.

Most resembling Steve Martin’s performance in The Jerk, Carell’s work in Virgin is destined to propel him into the mainstream, and rightfully so. For years, Carell has lingered on the peripheral with his deadpan delivery on "The Daily Show" to his delightfully naïve work on NBC’s "The Office" and last year’s Anchorman, on which he worked with Virgin director Judd Apatow and co-star Paul Rudd. In this film, he fine-tunes the proper mix of humor and heart that makes his character so appealing.

As great as he is alone, Carell is backed by a surprisingly solid supporting cast. Rudd, Romany Malco, and Apatow regular Seth Rogen play the trio of buddies who vow to end Andy’s celibacy. Their advice lead to several amusing situations, including a speed-dating session, a driving drunk of a date, and a graphic chest waxing session that wouldn’t be half as funny if Carell hadn’t actually done it himself, blood and all.

Andy finally finds a sane soulmate in Trish (Catherine Keener), who hooks up with him only to propose a no-sex policy on their relationship. The Andy/Trish arc is where the movie finds its tenderness. Thankfully, the laughs don’t slow down for the sake of a sense of human emotion (I’m talking to you, Wedding Crashers). However, like Crashers, nearly two hours is a bit long for a comedy, and Virgin is no exception. While it doesn’t suffer from one noticeable drag, the film feels padded overall and meanders on its way to the finish line.

Audiences were lucky to have two terrific R-rated comedies this summer that knocked it out of the park, especially considering that, for every 'Wedding Crashers,' there is a 'Deuce Bigalow: European Gigolo.' If only for Steve Carell, 'The 40-Year-Old Virgin' is a hilarious chance to see a deserving star get some. Attention, that is.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12748&reviewer=409
originally posted: 10/25/05 15:17:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell funny flick 4 stars
4/16/14 Charles Tatum Funny, but VERY overrated 4 stars
8/11/09 sandeep good 3 stars
6/16/09 Sterling chest hair scend was hilarious 4 stars
5/05/09 sandy freeman stupid stupid stupid. garbage film. 1 stars
3/30/09 Anonymous. hilarious and almost perfect-3.5/4 :D 5 stars
7/19/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 3 stars
3/09/08 jbubbles A wonderful comedy with a lot of heart. Steve Carell is so loveable. 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies Very funny, but plot drags. 4 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr so funny! Steve Carell is always really funny! and i love Seth Rogan! 5 stars
12/17/07 gr Brilliant! 5 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White very cute but not one for my library 3 stars
8/15/07 Ashley uggg A-MAY-ZINNGGG 5 stars
6/21/07 Erin People who are so negative about this are only trying to sound smarter than they really are 5 stars
6/09/07 Dave sucked ass 1 stars
6/02/07 ES A good comedy, some great funny moments but the song at the end was too over the top 4 stars
5/09/07 David Pollastrini didn't think much of it. 2 stars
5/06/07 fools♫gold I didn't like it, but props for the three times it made me die from laughing! 2 stars
4/20/07 Chris Redmond The funniest, most compassionate American comedy since Meet the Parents. 5 stars
3/11/07 Steve Maybe my IQ is a little too high for my brain to allow me to enjoy this shit for a movie? 1 stars
2/14/07 The chode Fucking hilarious, the unedited version is 100000 times better. 5 stars
2/12/07 AJ Muller I pity the miserable people who don't find this utterly hilarious. Best comedy in years. 5 stars
12/13/06 Dude Gross and Unfunny. It Sucked so much ass 1 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Disgusting drivel. I carried my father with me, and I was so embarassed I wanted to hide. 1 stars
7/26/06 Kurt AMAZING WEINBURG WAS RIGHT 5 stars
7/26/06 Agent Sands Carell is one of the new generation's great comedians. And it's a well-made film at that. 4 stars
7/20/06 Danielle It was okay. 4 stars
7/17/06 EZ never laughed the whole damn movie!!! 1 stars
5/10/06 millersxing Sympathetic over-the-hill dude scores for the 1st time. Uncomfortable and lol funny. 4 stars
4/24/06 MP Bartley Great jokes, underpinned with a genuinely sweet sensibility. Carell is terrific. 4 stars
4/11/06 Sully f*ck your Grandmother, then ask her for a check for $12........ 5 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Hilarious. A rare comedy where funny dialogue replace sight gags 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Funny once, after that, nothing 3 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis It had it's very funny moments but some were just blah.. 3 stars
2/20/06 Tanya I laughed until I cried 5 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead How can anybodey like this, you have to be a virgin to like this, this movie sucks 1 stars
12/30/05 Simon Specific scenes and dialogue are quite funny, but that's all;drawn-out plot and bit clichéd 3 stars
12/30/05 Taylor Fladgate An instant classic. Learn the punch lines now for your New Years parties. 5 stars
12/28/05 Phil M. Aficionado Lots of kudos deserved, but the overlong and atrocious ending hurts the film, big. 4 stars
12/10/05 Doc Hollywood Absolutely Crap. Bastard copy of Japanese Densha Otoko idea. Humour forced, NO PLOT! 1 stars
11/22/05 13-year old viewer of this film If they keep makin' horror flicks like this, I'll probably be a 40-year old virgin too! 1 stars
11/09/05 rachel very funny and entertaining. worth watching 5 stars
10/28/05 PAG pretty funny 4 stars
10/27/05 Michael Kondo this was pretty good, not great but not bad 4 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz This movie was hilarious! I can't wait for the dvd! 5 stars
10/12/05 Josh Swanson Drop-dead, laugh your ass off funny!!! Way better then Wedding Crashers, which was goodtoo 5 stars
10/08/05 Rosa Fleur It was 'ow you say pretty damn good! I would of had sex with 'im! Poor bloke! 5 stars
10/03/05 bgu nhko bjhýnhý 5 stars
9/29/05 Sarah was ere my name is sarah darymple i lost muh virginty to muh hand 1 stars
9/23/05 Someone who'd mistakenly heard this film was a "comedy" Watching this movie is like having someone piss on your brain, only not as rewarding. 1 stars
9/20/05 ERIC ROBERT WILKINSON Keener steals the film as a sweet foil for the virginal hero (Carell)! So hilarious! 5 stars
9/16/05 Laura Lee Macleod childish, silly, juvenile but oddly watchable 4 stars
9/08/05 Marcia Refreshingly "R"; perfect casting, acting, set dec. Consistent laughs and sweetness. 5 stars
9/05/05 Indrid Cold When a movie like this is the best comedy of the year, we're REALLY starved for quality. 3 stars
9/03/05 KR Jin: You know how I know you're gay? You don't like this movie. 5 stars
8/30/05 Jin further evidence of the dumbing down of America. 2 stars
8/29/05 bullit16 Not quite TSAM, but pretty damn funny 4 stars
8/29/05 KCobain The humor frustrating and tedious. In poor taste. 2 stars
8/29/05 Dan Very good. Best Comedy of the year. Loved the old Indian guy! 4 stars
8/28/05 LittlePenguin FUCKING HILARIOUS! BRILLIANT, FUNNIEST MOVIE I HAVE SEEN IN MONTHS! 5 stars
8/26/05 Caiphn Best Romedy I've ever seen. 4 stars
8/24/05 Lisa Perfect combination -- hilarious and smart, with heart, and an extremely talented cast 5 stars
8/24/05 Lauren this movie was absolutely HILARIOUS I almost peed my pants! 5 stars
8/23/05 Trevor Freakin genius!! We quoted the movie the ENTIRE next day! 5 stars
8/23/05 Alyson I literally got a head ache from laughing too hard. I just might have to see it again. 5 stars
8/23/05 Boy Oxford Constantly hilarious, great acting from everyone 5 stars
8/23/05 Mr. Eff Great movie. Funny through the whole two hours. 5 stars
8/22/05 Uncle Salty FUCKING OUTSTANDING 5 stars
8/22/05 jcjs wow, gees, ooooh, as funny and clever as 'Sideways' if not more so...great 5 stars
8/22/05 SD So good you'll need to see it again 5 stars
8/21/05 Sharline It was hte funniest movie I've seen all year!! I Loved it!! 2 thumbs way up!! 5 stars
8/21/05 Jim The Movie Freak Maybe not the "Best" film of 2005 so far, but my personal favorite. 5 stars
8/20/05 ajay very funny, best movie of the summer. 5 stars
8/20/05 Titus Makes a couple low-brow punches that could be left out, drags a bit. Otherwise: great! 4 stars
8/20/05 buford hilarious. it's a shame that dumb america will probably not see it. 5 stars
8/20/05 Kristina Williams Kelly Clarkson! 5 stars
8/19/05 Danny Pesses Best comedy I've seen in a VERY long time! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Aug-2005 (R)
  DVD: 22-May-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Oct-2005


Directed by
  Judd Apatow

Written by
  Judd Apatow
  Steve Carell

Cast
  Steve Carell
  Catherine Keener
  Paul Rudd
  Seth Rogen
  Romany Malco
  Elizabeth Banks



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast