More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome61.9%
Worth A Look: 13.42%
Average: 12.99%
Pretty Bad: 5.19%
Total Crap: 6.49%

17 reviews, 129 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Brokeback Mountain
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Peter Sobczynski

"Perhaps a tad overrated but still a stirring emotional journey"
4 stars

“Brokeback Mountain” opens in 1963 as two young men–the quiet and reserved Ennis Del Mar (Heath Ledger) and the more gregarious Jack Twist (Jake Gyllenhaal) arrive in the small town of Signal, Wyoming for a summer working as ranch-hands keeping an eye on the sheep wandering around Brokeback Mountain. At a time just before America was to see enormous social change, these two still cling to the mythos of the Old West despite becoming modern-day cowboys for less-than-poetic reasons; Ennis has been mostly on his own since an accident claimed the lives of his parents when he was 14 while Jack is trying to live up to his father, a top rodeo rider. Of course, they don’t actually say these things–they hardly say anything during the endless cycles of long days guiding sheep and watching out for predators, long nights camping in the freezing cold and a diet that seems to consist entirely of beans and whisky. Therefore, it comes almost as much as a surprise to them as us (or it would have if the premise of the film weren’t so well-known by now) when, after one especially cold and drunken night, they find themselves indulging in a sudden, savage roll in the hay.

The next morning, Ennis insists that what happened was a one-shot deal–having seen the violent results of a gay-bashing as a child, he knows exactly what could happen if anyone found out. (Intriguingly, the ranch foreman–nicely played by Randy Quaid–pretty much guesses exactly what happened between the two and while he isn’t exactly pleased, his response is surprisingly restrained.) When the summer ends, the two go their separate ways and Ennis, as though to purge what happened from his mind once and for all, marries the sweet Alma (Michelle Williams) and begins to raise a family while tackling a series of menial jobs. At the same time, Jack himself meets and marries spirited rodeo rider Lureeen (Anne Hathaway) and goes to work for her rich father as a farm-equipment salesman. After four years, Jack tracks down Ennis and they reunite–Jack is barely out of his pick when they find themselves in another passionate clinch. What they don’t realize is that Alma has seen this and, realizing how limited her options are, chooses to remain silent.

Over the next few years, Ennis and Jack reunite for a series of “fishing trips” while Alma quietly suffers in the background–she is more upset about Ennis’s inability to treat her with such passion than with the homosexual aspect–until she can take no more and leaves him for good. (Lureen, for her part, is more concerned with Jack always traveling out to see Ennis instead of bringing him out there.) When Jack hears this, he is excited–he is perfectly willing to leave his own joyless marriage and the two of them can finally go somewhere and be together for longer than the occasional tryst. Once again, Ennis is reticent to make such a leap and it begins to drive a wedge between the two that will eventually (and tragically) separate them for good–the two are both cursed by a joint inability to fully process what was essentially a passionate summer fling and devote and destroy their lives in a effort to throw their arms around a memory.


Although it has been described by nearly everyone as a “gay Western,” “Brokeback Mountain” is actually closer in tone to one of those Edith Wharton stories about people trying to behave in a manner prescribed by society even as their deepest instincts and emotions suggest otherwise. For director Ang Lee, whose previous films (including “Sense and Sensibility,” “The Ice Storm,” “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon” and even the wildly underrated “Hulk”) have all dealt with material along the same lines, this particular story (taken from the short story by E. Annie Proulx) is right up his alley and he has created a touching and thoughtful hymn to passion denied. In fact, I can’t think of another director working today who could have tackled this material with the depth and subtlety that he brings to it–others might have been more tempted to play up the social and political aspects at the expense of the basic human aspects of the story. As a result, what might have once played simply as a film for a niche audience becomes one that tells a story that all audiences, regardless of gender or sexual preference, will be able to completely embrace.

Aiding Lee are strong performances from his four leads. Of the four, Hathaway is stuck with the least interesting character of the bunch (and she suffers the most from the make-up and wigs used to show the passage of time) but she displays enough spark in her early scenes to indicate why she might catch Jack’s eye. Williams, who has gone from teen-TV stardom into a reliably and remarkably gifted actress is quite powerful as Alma–in many ways, her character is the true emotional center of the film and when she eventually leaves the story, the film suffers a bit from her absence. As for Gyllenhaal, it takes him a little while to fully settle into the role of Jack–he doesn’t seem quite convincing at first–but once he does, he is very impressive portraying a person who tasted genuine passion once and who is doomed to spend his life trying to recreate that moment.

However, the standout performance of the film comes from Heath Ledger, whose work here suggests that he, like Johnny Depp or Matt Dillon, is one of those actors whose position as a teen heartthrob may have caused people to overlook his gifts as an actor. Eventually, Depp and Dillon were able to demonstrate their chops and Ledger does that here with his spectacular performance as the emotionally taciturn Ennis. Because much of his dialogue is delivered in a half-strangled mumble, some may look at his work here as little more than an acting stunt. Actually, it is an inspired character bit–as the result of a hard upbringing, Ennis is so closed-off to his emotions that it takes an enormous effort to get him to make even the most innocuous statement. By the time he is finally able to begin to open himself up to others, it is too late and he is left all alone with nothing but his memories. The final shot of the film–I won’t describe it to keep for spoiling a key plot development–is an especially haunting moment that all but ensures him a front-runner slot for the Best Actor Oscar.

Already hailed as a groundbreaking masterpiece, “Brokeback Mountain” doesn’t quite live up to all of the advanced hype–after a hypnotic first half, it gets somewhat unwieldy in the second and the characters played by Linda Cardellini and Anna Faris, playing a pair of women who also find themselves involved with Ennis and Jack for a time, are dropped in right at the point when the story needs to tighten its focus–but when it works, it really works. More importantly, “Brokeback Mountain” is one of those rare films that sets in the mind and grows in the days and weeks after you encounter it for the first time. Even those who feel that the basic premise sounds like a case of Political Correctness gone berserk are likely to find themselves moved by the material.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12764&reviewer=389
originally posted: 12/16/05 16:01:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Toronto Film Festival For more in the 2005 Toronto Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

10/06/17 Barbara Leaf Very good movie and well acted. Not wordy but emotional. I would see it again. 5 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell good film told with class a good gay film 4 stars
11/15/16 Heather Ackland What a load of crap. Unrealistic and bad gay film in every way. YUK. O/10 1 stars
12/29/11 David Hollingsworth More than just a "gay cowboy" movie. 5 stars
7/26/10 JustMe my favorite movie,it's just amazing,i cry every single time i watch it 5 stars
6/08/10 User Name A daring, and successful, film from Ang Lee. 4 stars
5/16/10 Linda Thank you. I thought I was the only one who felt this way! Cinematography 10; chemistry 2. 2 stars
1/25/10 babette REAL gays: See Irreversible's Le Rectum club scenes 1 stars
8/06/09 Tim Can't even hear the music without the welling of tears. Perfection. 5 stars
6/19/09 steven One of the most amazing films ever... only redneck men don't like it,Wonder why! 5 stars
4/11/09 K. Sear A choppy flow and unrealized plot make a disappointing film. 2 stars
4/05/09 Alfonso Turnage Awesome 5 stars
1/31/09 hardfact gay story about a predator praying on a confused minor 1 stars
1/15/09 FrankNFurter Homophobic twats, perch and rotate...this film is absolutely brilliant! 5 stars
1/08/09 =] i don't support homosexuality, but i still loved this film. 5 stars
11/27/08 little Red Heath Ledger is smoken in this movie 5 stars
11/11/08 L.Padilla They should of titled the movie,"Booty call in Brokeback Mountain" 2 stars
10/30/08 Wendell O. Maness As a former California resident, I loved this gay awareness show 5 stars
8/30/08 PAUL SHORTT LUSH SCENERY ENCIRCLES TWO LACONIC CHARACTERS IN THIS STATIC AND REPUGNANT FILM 1 stars
7/19/08 yes Gayest movie I never saw... I'm certain it sucked major balls... Quite literally. 1 stars
6/29/08 Chris Yeah, bad "aging" make-up. But that's it's only flaw - a beautiful, poignant, moving film. 5 stars
5/14/08 Ros So perfect...so real....so tragic...so unforgettable...so haunting 5 stars
4/28/08 Totir Alexandru I recently saw this movie and after Heath passed away it was very hard to watch it. (RIP) 5 stars
4/03/08 Mr Honest God help our country when this crap is "art"! 1 stars
3/08/08 David Cohen Poignant without being exploitative, a first class love story 5 stars
1/11/08 misty overly vomit producing 1 stars
12/08/07 Sam Eli It's not just the "gay cowboy movie" It's excellently acted, haunting and it resonates 5 stars
11/22/07 Kevin A mountain-top experience! 5 stars
10/24/07 Wendell O. Maness I loved it, its sensitive, manly and loving to gays 5 stars
8/05/07 ravenmad it surprised me~beautiful and sad. It's not about sex. 4 stars
7/16/07 Hello Stranger incredibly depressing film. the love between them is so intense and beautiful 5 stars
6/28/07 gr117 Depressing yet beautiful 5 stars
6/18/07 Danielle Ophelia This film will gut you. And you'll be glad it did. 5 stars
5/24/07 Josh Bergin TThis movie was great for the gay community. 5 stars
5/07/07 David Pollastrini didn't think much of it. 3 stars
3/01/07 THE REAL DEAL Cornelius did all his own stunts 2 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday I thought it was over-praised, but still decent, if not completely depressing. 3 stars
1/29/07 Lisa Craven OMG. talk about rough sex. But seriously, a touching movie, kind of depressing, but try it. 4 stars
1/23/07 del i love it as much as starwars,especially the men 5 stars
1/18/07 Becca Only people too stupid to get it don't like this film- and that is the truth. 5 stars
11/14/06 Ernest Alba Well, its three Oscars didn't convince me. The movie did. This is an amazing film. 5 stars
11/14/06 Mark A little slow, but a great film 5 stars
10/01/06 tips if it was about man/woman relationship it would have gotten no attention because it sucks 1 stars
9/16/06 rwelsh Gay just a straw man, the offense-A guy who threatens a pregnant girl to live a lie 1 stars
9/07/06 Albert unless you are a woman, I would pass on this one... 1 stars
8/19/06 Verrine Excellent, but not worthy of awards. Gorgeous scenery. 4 stars
8/19/06 Cosmic Conundrum Apart from the direction, acts etc., the background Score and locales took my breath away. 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist "Its probably not too bad",says my gut, but I'm sick of hearing about the stupid sex scene! 3 stars
8/05/06 CTT Overpraised; "Same Time Next Year" with the spouses played by actresses 4 stars
7/23/06 chris f this is the most romantic and best film ever 5 stars
6/30/06 Jerry Great movie, unless you have no taste. 5 stars
6/27/06 Kimberly Not a good movie in the least. 1 stars
6/18/06 Dave the truth is out,Film critics were sent big checks along with their invitation to see this 1 stars
6/14/06 Lisa Same as most 'gay' flicks - a complete let down 1 stars
6/12/06 Alex H. Who reads Filmview, anyway? 5 stars
6/09/06 Mitch This is the movie that Filmview magazine calls "awful" and "the worst film of 2005" 1 stars
6/09/06 dani Undeserved praise? Yeah, okay. Fantastic movie. 5 stars
5/29/06 jeanne Profoundly sad, gorgeous, hearbreaking - Bravo, everybody! 5 stars
5/28/06 Jethro This is so awful it makes plan 9 from outer space look like oscar material! 1 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands A painfully heartfelt film. One of my top favorite love stories ever. 5 stars
5/13/06 Indrid Cold Aside from the undeserved praise just for tackling the subject, it's still pretty good. 4 stars
5/08/06 Diane Perkins excellent both in story and cinematography. Leaves you thinking for days. 5 stars
4/28/06 Annie G I thought I would love this movie, but the casting and editing werejust awful! 3 stars
4/22/06 Phil M. Aficionado brilliantly written and executed in all respects, starting with the casting 5 stars
4/22/06 Pat Frederick Really loved this movie. The storyline, the actors. Tremendous movie! 5 stars
4/17/06 millersxing Made with such dignity from all involved, Brokeback is a difficult film to dislike. 3 stars
4/13/06 San Lamar Good 4 stars
4/11/06 Frank Gavin Not just a "gay cowboy movie," but in fact an "epic gay cowboy movie." 5 stars
4/10/06 the untrained eye Bad aging make-up Mountain 3 stars
4/07/06 malcolm great film. girlfriend made me watch it. glad she did. 5 stars
4/06/06 Troy M. Grzych The film is well crafted and acted, but not Oscar worthy. 4 stars
3/23/06 Saif Khan A beautifully crafted, supremely acted piece of cinema 5 stars
3/15/06 Shannon Robles i could watch this movie again and again, this deserved the oscar! 5 stars
3/13/06 Hydrogen Very nice. Maybe a tad over-rated, but still very touching. 5 stars
3/10/06 Nicole Overrated. I think that explains it all. 2 stars
3/08/06 Piz great filmaking but wayyy overated. Left a lot to be desired 3 stars
3/04/06 Green Gremlin Ang Lee more than atones for his "Hulk" fiasco !!! 5 stars
3/02/06 tillerman this was the best movie i have seen in a long long time 5 stars
3/02/06 chris f biker bob is a fool this movie is great 5 stars
2/27/06 Monday Morning Reviewer Cornelius doesn't get "understated"; he needs car chases.This film was outstanding 5 stars
2/22/06 Danny If this doesn't win the Oscar, something's wrong. Awsome in every way. 5 stars
2/20/06 Max Gay people CAN love, why is gay sex still portayed as 'violent' and 'messy' ?? 5 stars
2/14/06 ana very good film, explains a lot about them (homosexsuals) 5 stars
2/10/06 Shelly Breekinan My heart ached with this film.........a real "ground breaker" Loved it twice! 5 stars
2/06/06 Deanna save "disgrace" for your hero Pat Robertson. This is a love of a movie 5 stars
2/05/06 Richard Watts A subtle masterpiece of visual narrative 5 stars
2/05/06 Shawn Gadberry Too much hype can ruin your viewing-Great movie but very subtle in its powerfulness 5 stars
2/04/06 Lewis Rappaport A superb hearbraking film that accurately portrays its time and place. 5 stars
1/31/06 Agent Sands Perfect. An important contribution to cinema. 5 stars
1/30/06 Caiphn I guess I don't get it. 2 stars
1/29/06 Sam It is better to have loved and lost... 5 stars
1/27/06 D.Lara Awesome film, tear jerker, its a must see! 5 stars
1/25/06 Mel in NY Amazing and quite sad. I loved it! 5 stars
1/22/06 CJ Peace The movie was very good but it lacked a little "something", not sure what. Ledger was great 4 stars
1/22/06 Anita I thought the movie was over-rated. It needed a good editing. 3 stars
1/22/06 Molly I loved it! 5 stars
1/21/06 orpament just not that great 3 stars
1/20/06 paul movie stayed with me for days 5 stars
1/20/06 Howard Maki great story line 5 stars
1/19/06 phillip Wright Brokeback Mountain deserves all of the praises it receives. best film I have ever seen 5 stars
1/18/06 Deanna Heartbreaking Beautiful 5 stars
1/18/06 Nicky LOVE! 5 stars
1/17/06 Agent Sands Ang Lee doesn't let one frame seem dull. This is a true masterwork. 5 stars
1/17/06 Rob Quite simply the most beautiful film to come out of the US in years 5 stars
1/15/06 chris f a great and touching movie 5 stars
1/14/06 Mario Izigson a masterpiece 5 stars
1/14/06 anonymous The reviewer respectfully doesnt get it, but was respectful at least. Wish comment room 5 stars
1/12/06 jcjs beautiful, real, great acting, wow photography, not for the homophobes, fine masterpiece 5 stars
1/12/06 Jim The Movie Freak One of the most overrated films of the past few years. It's just another love story. 3 stars
1/11/06 H.S. not as daring as made out to be, but great 5 stars
1/11/06 Denis Breathtaking, extremely moving 5 stars
1/09/06 Deanna from Indiana touching beautiful, if you cannot relate, you have no heart 5 stars
1/09/06 Florence Awsome, wonderful love story. It stayed with me for days. I will have to see it again. 5 stars
1/08/06 Elizabeth Pretty, poignant. . .unattainable love is relatable to all. 4 stars
1/08/06 Marilyn Loved the movie. We needed a movie like this 5 stars
1/06/06 sc The best movie I've seen this year. Beautiful, moving. 5 stars
1/05/06 Gayle James agree with David Cornelius movie did not have enough 'romance' between the men so who cares 3 stars
1/05/06 Denis How can anyone trust a review that can't even get its own facts right? Alberta, not Wyomin 5 stars
1/01/06 BrianWilly Beautiful movie about a beautiful thing. 5 stars
12/30/05 TheOthersFan heartbreaking, not so terribly different from the tragic starcrossed-lovers romance 5 stars
12/27/05 Daniel Camacho The film speaks for its self, a classic 5 stars
12/25/05 Hoof Hearted Heath's acting, Ang's direction make for the movie of a lifetime 5 stars
12/25/05 Frédéric Jake and Ennis play great roles, just change the names and genders for your own story 5 stars
12/22/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble Cool flick. Not everyone is in PFLAG. 5 stars
12/21/05 Jonathan emotionally stirring....an amazing film 5 stars
12/20/05 Paterfam001@yahoo.ca How come they couldn't get a little fishing in as well? 3 stars
10/01/05 sbcspin Took the top prize at Venice for a reason. It's amazing. 5 stars
9/20/05 Don Halbert One of the best movies I've seen in years. Genuine characters evoke strong feelings. 4 stars
9/16/05 Skptc2 Tad lengthy 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Dec-2005 (R)
  DVD: 23-Jan-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jan-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast