More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.73

Awesome: 19.09%
Worth A Look: 24.55%
Average: 6.36%
Pretty Bad: 10%
Total Crap40%

9 reviews, 56 user ratings



Elizabethtown
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Check the map. It's just past Mediocre, but before Worth Seeing."
4 stars

"Elizabethtown" is Cameron Crowe's sixth film, and he's still trying to recapture the magic of his first one.

"Say Anything" addressed youthful indirection and awkward love, and it demonstrated Crowe's knack for creating a perfect movie soundtrack. "Elizabethtown" does the same things, only not as well, and the indirection this time seems to be Crowe's.

It's likable, though, especially for the first hour or so. (After that is when you realize this movie has no ... idea .. WHERE ... IT'S ... GOING!) There are several isolated scenes that are riotously funny, and others that are aw-shucks sweet. Then there's a lengthy scene at a memorial service that has no purpose whatsoever, and is too madcap-wacky besides. What's going on here?

What's going on is a movie about a man's personal journey, re-finding himself after losing his job and his father within 24 hours of each other. Drew Baylor (Orlando Bloom) has just cost his footwear company a billion dollars with his flawed shoe design and is contemplating suicide when he learns that his father has died while visiting relatives in Elizabethtown, Ky. Drew's suicide plans are put on hold while he travels to Kentucky to claim the body, which means having to visit with his dad's down-home kinfolk (most of whom Drew has never met) for a few days, too.

On the way he meets a stewardess named Claire Colburn (Kirsten Dunst), a Southern gal with a perky attitude and whimsical outlook on life. Armed with her phone number, Drew is able to lean on her when things with the Kentucky relatives get too strange, and when she's stationed nearby, he's able to see her.

Crowe achieves a smartly precarious situation with Drew's arrival in Elizabethtown. It will be several days before anyone outside the company knows about his shoe fiasco; everyone in Kentucky just knows him as Mitch's successful shoe-industry son, and they dote on him as if he'd grown up among them. At times he forgets that back home in Oregon he is unemployed and suicidal. Then he remembers, and he realizes he has no plan for after the business with his father is settled.

I mentioned the film is about Drew's journey. This is problematic only because we don't know a) where he was when he started, or b) where he is when he's finished. About the time that Susan Sarandon (in a completely unnecessary role as Drew's mother) is tap-dancing at the memorial service, and the rock band is playing "Freebird" while the hotel ballroom catches on fire -- well, that's when it becomes painfully clear that Crowe doesn't have a plan, either.

This version of the film is about 15 minutes shorter than the one that played at the Venice and Toronto film festivals; it still feels at least 15 minutes too long. Part of the trouble could be Bloom, who, in his first major role not involving tights or crossbows, comes across as bland when put against the backdrop of reality. He's an affable fellow, but not one you want to hang your whole movie on.

Luckily, there are numerous supporting characters to bring smiles and chuckles -- Alec Baldwin as Drew's boss, Judy Greer as his sister, and the various aunts, uncles and cousins in Elizabethtown who are charming and funny in a natural, Kentucky-fried sort of way. The soundtrack, as always, is killer, and used to great effect. I'm not saying you shouldn't see the movie, just that when you do, you might be a little underwhelmed by it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12837&reviewer=247
originally posted: 10/14/05 16:20:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Toronto Film Festival For more in the 2005 Toronto Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Chicago Film Festival For more in the 2005 Chicago Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

4/06/16 Lucia There is literally NOTHING likable about any of the characters in this film. 1 stars
3/18/14 Fykvvqfc Since Aflac japanese remains the No.Men left sterile by cancer treatment as well as with th 4 stars
2/22/14 Bgpstiag 99 unlimited streaming and binary options australia turn it into something bigger., <a href 5 stars
2/20/14 Lola This is the funniest, most spot-on review of this film -- I laughed so hard I peed myself 5 stars
2/13/14 gGrWfmlqrQcdI sverige.txt;1 4 stars
7/02/10 Ninjaboy This dude has written the BEST movie review I have EVER read. It is accurate and 100% corre 1 stars
3/15/10 Shoy I think this reviewer's got issues beyond his hatred of Elizabethtown. I enjoyed the film. 4 stars
2/22/10 Cat Garbage on every leve. As a chick it is ofensive. Orlando Bloom is wooden in this film. 1 stars
1/26/10 Ato I'm happy people have finally realised that Orlando Bloom IS NOT A LEADING MAN!! 1 stars
12/21/09 tom absolutely terrible. No redeemable merit AT ALL! 1 stars
7/19/09 Meg WORST. EVER. 1 stars
11/04/08 Will sucked balls. 1 stars
10/26/08 John McCarthy I had to give up half way through and read angry reviews to feel normal again 1 stars
8/22/08 Stephanie Oh my god, this movie was AWFUL. Pointless, boring, and 2.5 hours of my life GONE FOREVER! 1 stars
8/13/08 Brenda I didn't like it. The main character is unlikable. It has huge sections of nothing. Dull! 1 stars
4/26/08 Pinoy Kabayan Very good. Ilike it 5 stars
4/26/08 Roz Couldn't stand it. Boring on so many levels. 1 stars
4/10/07 Jessie Lee Good film... Not perfect, but not the horrid trash some may lead you to believe. 3 stars
3/11/07 Dominic Rubbish - and this is from someone who is an unabashed Almost Famous fan 1 stars
10/23/06 meredith the feel of the movie was fantastic but the plot was a little piontless but i loved the dia 4 stars
8/26/06 Joe Chris Parry's review is more amusing than the film. Watch "Jerry Maguire" again instead. 2 stars
8/15/06 Ashley Hinz Strange little movie, but fine. 4 stars
5/20/06 Christine Wilbik Boring, lost interest in the movie immediately 2 stars
3/26/06 Thomas Semesky A film that I liked, but I can understand why others wouldn't 3 stars
3/15/06 Michelle D Just read Chris Parry's review. 1 stars
3/13/06 Roderick Cromar Really not good. It's difficult either to believe the plot or to sympathise with the leads. 2 stars
2/28/06 Kevin Smith Orlando Bloom is not a good actor 1 stars
2/26/06 Murray Snowdon total and utter waste of time - pathetic 1 stars
2/24/06 ES Didn't hate it, didn't love it. Re-watchability 0% 3 stars
12/22/05 Kirsten Dunst fan in mourning starting with virgin suicides Painful seeing Kirsten Dunst morph into totally thinking her shit don't stink! 1 stars
12/17/05 Once great Kirsten Dunst continues downward spiral. Anyone else find Claire to be obnoxious?? 2 stars
11/09/05 kammie love love loved it!!! 5 stars
11/09/05 tanja some good ideas and curious dialogues mixed with poor acting 3 stars
11/06/05 rod james Total boring rubbish 1 stars
11/06/05 Laura petersen one of my favorites, more of a chick flick and im not even a orlando fan 5 stars
10/24/05 GiR It was adorable..but not worth paying to see it..good thing I work at a movie theatre. 4 stars
10/24/05 Don A good "substitute" for the movie you came to see . . . 4 stars
10/23/05 John I turned to my wife halfway through, and said that I want to get on his bicycle now 1 stars
10/23/05 jay straight forward poop 1 stars
10/23/05 baseball-nut I didn't care for it, but my wife liked it considering she's an Orlando Bloom fan! 3 stars
10/22/05 Boombala Hey If Kirsten Dunst's head exploded, would it affect her acting? 1 stars
10/21/05 john mills The Congo of romance. Simply awful!!! 1 stars
10/21/05 Bri really, really good! definately worth watching 5 stars
10/20/05 odditie Please make better decisions Orlando! 1 stars
10/19/05 Steve Michaud Even "lesser" Cameron Crowe is scads better than most of the stuff churned out these days. 4 stars
10/19/05 Ron Sandvick Excellent and fun 5 stars
10/17/05 Ryan Possibly a movie that non-20somethings just won't get. Understandably. 4 stars
10/17/05 ajay man, there's a lot of people down on Cameron Crowe. It's not a bad flick. 3 stars
10/17/05 jeff just stupid!!! 1 stars
10/16/05 Cara Undoubtedly, this is the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire 54 years of existence. 1 stars
10/16/05 Tommy Adams Left me speechless, as few moviews have. Loved it! 5 stars
10/15/05 Jim The Movie Freak This should've been better 3 stars
10/14/05 Criddler Diddler More embarassingly inept garbage from pretentious hack Cameron Crowe? Hurray! 1 stars
10/12/05 Alonso Duralde Horrible! Cutesy/phony/precious/fartsyŚmaybe even worse than "Vanilla Sky." Avoid! 1 stars
10/11/05 Dan Moore very insightful film on human nature 5 stars
9/28/05 E. Northam Lightweight, predictable romantic comedy 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Oct-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Feb-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Nov-2005


Directed by
  Cameron Crowe

Written by
  Cameron Crowe

Cast
  Orlando Bloom
  Kirsten Dunst
  Susan Sarandon
  Judy Greer
  Jessica Biel
  Alec Baldwin



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast