More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.46

Awesome75.74%
Worth A Look: 9.56%
Average: 5.88%
Pretty Bad: 2.94%
Total Crap: 5.88%

5 reviews, 106 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Clue
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Would anyone care for fruit, or dessert?"
5 stars

As movies based on board games go, this movie kicks ass.

I quote from this film at least once a day. At least. It's not even a really good film, but I love it, and have since the first time I saw it.

Six people are brought to a mysterious mansion to meet with a Mr. Boddy (Lee Ving). Mr. Boddy has been blackmailing them all, including the butler, Wadsworth (Tim Curry). So when Mr. Boddy turns up dead, everyone's a suspect. What's more, they've all been given a lethal weapon. So they've all got motive, and they've all got the means.

So whodunit?

Was it Mr. Green (Michael McKean), the nerdy guy? Professor Plum (Christopher Lloyd), the creepy philanderer? Mrs. White (Madeline Khan), the morbid husand killer? Mrs. Peacock (Eileen Brennan), the flaky old bird? Colonel Mustard (Martin Mull), the twit? Ms. Scarlet (Lesley Ann Warren), the sexpot? Or was it, in fact, the butler who did it?

With three different endings, odds are, you probably might have guessed right at least once.

I love this film. The dialogue is snappy ("What are you afraid of, a fate worse than death?" "No, just death, isn't that enough?") and the performances are top notch from the most unlikely of actors. I mean, come on, has Martin Mull ever had a role this good?

Fast paced, and pretty funny. Check it out if you haven't already.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1284&reviewer=7
originally posted: 11/12/98 02:00:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/05/13 dr.lao I know its a pop cultural phenom, but it still sucks like a hoover 1 stars
11/09/10 the dork knight Witless crap. Aged terribly. 2 stars
7/04/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY COMIC WHODUNIT 2 stars
6/06/10 User Name Enjoyably manic screwball comedy 3 stars
2/27/10 Jeff Wilder Doesn't work as a mystery. As a comedy it's on-point. 4 stars
1/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Lightweight lighthearted comedy. 3 stars
5/11/09 Lu lu its brilliant and i advise anyone whos anyone to see it asap 5 stars
2/15/09 Ringbearer Only humorless (or unintelligent) morons wouldn't love this classic 5 stars
2/09/09 amyhon2000 I love this movie so much that fla. . .flames, flames on the side of my face. . . 5 stars
1/07/09 Bethany Cox Hilarious! Great script, Brilliant performances. Badly underated!!!!! 5 stars
10/04/08 sara An amusing film which i absoulutely love. No one can direct this film better than Jonathon 4 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight Not.......funny..........at............all. 1 stars
3/31/08 Jed A rather entertaining film for the most part. 4 stars
3/12/08 Clue is Crap My ex-girlfriend loved this movie, this from an atheist who believes in Santa Claus 1 stars
8/31/07 the singing telegram killer Brilliant! It actually gets better with repeated viewings. 5 stars
8/26/07 William Goss Treads quite the line between campy and corny, earning only a few laughs. 3 stars
6/05/07 Mark Louis Baumgart Ha!!! And Double Ha!!! Never gets old, and never ceases to amuse. Great stuff! 5 stars
4/25/07 Madamesita I loved this movie soooooo much and think that it is one of the funniest form the 80's 5 stars
3/10/07 MP Bartley I love this film more than basset hound puppies. 5 stars
12/07/06 UGB Great movie 5 stars
11/21/06 jake brilliant a real cult classic I LOVE IT 5 stars
5/27/06 Sheena Great...a must see for all! 5 stars
10/09/05 Donna GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME 5 stars
7/28/05 james d hillllllllllllllllarious 5 stars
5/01/05 Indrid Cold A forgotten gem. A-list cast with great chemistry and comic timing. 4 stars
4/20/05 Littlepurch Hilarious. Could watch it over and over.Plum,Scarlet and Curry al rule!Mysterious as well!! 5 stars
1/21/05 Jason Kaul One of Tim Curry's best roles. Great black comedy. Think "Weekend At Bernie's". 4 stars
1/04/05 Jake Sims reminds me of house on the haunted hill 3 stars
9/05/04 MJM103171 I'm A Senator's Wife! 5 stars
8/16/04 Chad This is an awsome funny movie, i suggest it to anyone, everyone will love it! 5 stars
6/25/04 David i agree with Mr. Green! PEACOCK RULES and so does this movie! 5 stars
2/29/04 Lil' The best movie on murders and comedy I've ever seen. 5 stars
11/17/03 Spiderfan729 Horrible begining with a somewhat interesting end (all 3 that is) 3 stars
11/02/03 Johnny Sedita This movie sucked and is one of the worst ever made. Cast of hacks. 1 stars
8/30/03 Aja G. This movie was worth every min. I have seen it well over 10 times and could always again 5 stars
8/30/03 Mr. Green Mrs. Peacock is the best. 5 stars
8/06/03 Double G underated nu some, 5 Stars, but it only got 2 5 stars
7/18/03 Chris It's surprising how few people know this comdey masterpiece. Terriffic, funny, and clever! 5 stars
7/18/03 Kelly Barber So fab, i bought a mutli region DVD player because you can't buy it here! 5 stars
7/07/03 Jason INCREDIBLE! An absolute classic! 5 stars
6/09/03 brian a blower the best murder film ever 5 stars
2/13/03 lola One of the best movies of all time 5 stars
1/18/03 tomato yeah, it takes real skill to make them unfunny. they weren't. 5 stars
1/16/03 Dan The Ultimate 80's Movie! 5 stars
1/01/03 John Aster Habig clever funny 5 stars
12/31/02 Dominic What do you mean... Murder!? 5 stars
12/06/02 Rl Funny as hell. 5 stars
10/23/02 Anastasia Beaverhausen It takes real skill to make this cast unfunny 1 stars
10/22/02 Caleb "Suspenseful and hilarious! Tim Curry is excellent!" 5 stars
8/26/02 Martin Love the stars...love the story...love all three endings...a nice homage to Murder By Death 5 stars
8/25/02 movie guy you know you dont have to be so mean they can have there epenons to 5 stars
7/16/02 Kyle No, this is not kind of stupid, it rules, dumbass. 5 stars
6/03/02 crush kinda stupid 3 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia By no means high art, but the cast, execution and uproarious one-liners can't be beat. 5 stars
4/15/02 Leco Pop Awesome 5 stars
3/31/02 Movie Dude Bound to become a classic! 5 stars
3/09/02 K y L e Are you people nucking futs? Who the hell rated this a sucks all ass? 5 stars
10/29/01 Gary Manic, trashy, eccentric and always completely enjoyable murder romp. 5 stars
10/29/01 Andrew Carden This Is Such A Funny Movie, and More People Should Know About This One. 5 stars
10/11/01 cornflake without a doubt the most quotable movie of all time .. But look what happened to the cook! 5 stars
9/11/01 rachel crap 1 stars
8/01/01 Nicholas An underrated gem with lots of quotables... 5 stars
6/28/01 mikie laprath clue is dumb and very predictable ...but its wicked fun may just be the best comedy ever 5 stars
6/20/01 wsmith funny... can't forget the maid's t... 4 stars
6/09/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Sophisticated and slow beginning give way to endless one-liners and outrageous phys. comedy 4 stars
5/22/01 mjm103171 A pure rip off of Murder By Death to be sure but I still laughed at it 5 stars
5/07/01 Jesse unF unF unF 5 stars
4/16/01 Mike M. This movie is the best movie EVER!!!!! 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Just drivel. Lesley Ann Warren has a great rack. 1 stars
2/18/01 CubJim Funny 4 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A must for anyone who's ever played the game. 5 stars
2/05/01 analrapier lets get withit people, it named CLUE! 1 stars
1/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy This was a fun movie, but doesn't stand against classic comedies like spinal tap. 4 stars
1/12/01 Skip I'm just baffled by all these glowing reviews. Maybe I need to see it again, but I hated it 2 stars
1/01/01 melina Great 5 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Gee golly I love this movie. I also watch it about once a month!! 5 stars
11/21/00 Bill I agree...its fucking awesome...we watch it about once a month at my house 5 stars
11/19/00 Bob Fugate Mildly entertaining,but one of the great movies of the 1980's? What drugs are you on? 4 stars
11/09/00 iceman Movie is funny in a cute way. I think it's a cult classic now. Great cast though. 4 stars
11/06/00 Michael Grimm multiple endings rock, how come so few people know about this gem? 5 stars
11/06/00 Mike Walsh schweeettt 5 stars
11/06/00 The Bomb 69 extremely witty and very entertaining 5 stars
10/31/00 That Guy Yup, two corpses, everything's fine. A classic! 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff manic and grating 2 stars
9/18/00 Paul Good Cast. Very entertaining 5 stars
9/17/00 JAKE GREAT! 5 stars
7/28/00 Erin I absolutely adore this movie, and I always have. It's my absolute favorite. 5 stars
7/06/00 Rose The funniest movie ever made. It gets better every time you watch it. 5 stars
6/26/00 Wadsworth Jr. Tim Curry deserved Best Actor for this. Such a timeless movie 5 stars
5/07/00 Mike Strocko Absoultely hilarious! An underrated classic if there ever was one! 5 stars
5/06/00 M Finke A pure classic. I can watch it over and over. 5 stars
4/10/00 Kim Harvey Best film of all time 5 stars
3/08/00 Goman86 I love a good movie and this one takes the cake. 5 stars
1/26/00 allymcbealfan One of my favorite movies of all time. 5 stars
11/09/99 Rusty "I *did* what I'm being blackmailed for" 5 stars
9/16/99 elizaveta Every character in this movie is cast perfectly! Needless to say, Tim Curry rocks! 5 stars
8/20/99 Marshall W. The best comedy/murder mystery ever made 5 stars
6/24/99 David Keech Funy. funny stuff. Eight main characters, and not one bum performance in the bunch. Good. 4 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson An undertalkedabout classic. Hee hee, see it makes me laugh thinking about it... 5 stars
2/19/99 nun uf yur businness its so mysterious its awesome!! 5 stars
2/19/99 donkey_dew Come on folks...was it really that good? Not fucking awesome,but not fucking horrid either 3 stars
2/14/99 spork-girl 'I *AM* a singing telegram *bang* *thump*" 5 stars
1/09/99 Thorn Silvertree Totally worthless movie that is so funny I laugh until my eyes bleed every time. 5 stars
11/20/98 Evil Buffy soooooo funny every time i see it. 5 stars
11/13/98 J-Guy This movie is fairly entertaining, although nothing special. 3 stars
11/11/98 Silent Rob Madcap fun! Tim Curry shines in this zany 'who dunnit, who cares' comedy of excess. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1986 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1986 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast