More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.68

Awesome81.98%
Worth A Look: 10.81%
Average: 3.6%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 3.6%

2 reviews, 99 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Airplane!
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Comedy Film of the Century. The rest are just hang-gliders."
5 stars

"Ever seen a grown man naked?" Okay, so you won't see a naked man on screen, but there is a one-second shot of a topless woman.

Alas, the brothers Zucker (and one Jim Abrahams). It seems they broke the mold when they made Airplane!, a 1980 film that parodied the old disaster movies of the seventies. Back then, the "Airport" series of films was getting worn out. (I believe we were up to "The Concorde: Airport '75" or something.)

And since their golden fart of a comedy came out, nothing they would later film would ever match it.

Maybe you can only stretch the visual-gag-per-minute type satire so far. Maybe the current events became so farcical in itself that parodying them would only be redundant. But in any case, Airplane! made me laugh when I first saw it (I was only 8, so I didn't get everything), and kept me laughing every time I saw it again. It seemed you always found something new to laugh at well into the tenth or so viewing.

Plot? Why bother having one? Well, there IS an overall story... Ted Striker (Robert Hays), a veteran pilot, boards an airplane flight to try to win back the heart of Elaine (Julie Hagerty), a flight attendant on board. Food poisoning claims the lives of the pilots, and Ted must get over his war trauma to fly the plane and save everyone aboard.

Like I said, the plot ain't as important as the sharp satire and rapid-fire gags. Some of them were topical for their times and now seem dated ("WZAZ Chicago, where disco lives forever!" *CRUNCH*), but the good ones - and there were lots of good ones - are timeless.

Turning in memorable performances are Leslie Nielsen, Robert Stack, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Peter Graves, Lloyd Bridges, and a host of others.

No satire-type film released afterwards could ever top this one. Not even Airplane II. So go rent this classic laugh-your-ass-off movie for your next get-together. And stop calling me Shirley.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1286&reviewer=9
originally posted: 07/15/99 12:08:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell comedy classic still holds up 5 stars
10/09/15 Billy34 Hilarious stuff even all these years. 5 stars
3/07/15 stanley welles disaster parody at its finest 5 stars
3/01/15 lolipop pretty shit 1 stars
2/28/15 soyguapYrico comedy idiotic 1 stars
2/20/15 Chris Jarmick Laugh out-loud ridiculous spoof driven anarcy 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name Airplane! created a genre that has yet to improve upon itself. 4 stars
1/05/10 PAUL SHORTT HILARIOUS SPOOF, WITH NON-STOP GAGS 4 stars
9/16/08 Ravenwest Fantastic film. 5 stars
7/02/08 RHawk Funny running gags, situations and one liners. Not spectacular but important. 4 stars
3/07/08 SamanthaPayntr this movie is soooo funny, you notic something different everytime u watch it. 5 stars
2/26/08 pkr the beginning of leslie nielsen's downfall? good comedy though, 3 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic Comedy masterpiece 5 stars
12/08/07 Screwball Super funny 5 stars
2/17/07 R.W.Welch Some say the funniest movie ever made. I would't argue. 5 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini very funny 4 stars
12/31/06 Jess Loved it! I have this memorized 5 stars
11/30/06 Stanley Thai A funny spoof film. 4 stars
11/01/06 Charles Tatum Can't believe I haven't commented on how brilliant this movie is 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies Awesome-set the standard 5 stars
7/13/06 EZ Comedy at it's peak 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer You'd laugh at this even if a loved one had recently passed away. IT'S THAT FUNNY!!! 5 stars
10/03/05 Tim the Enchanter If you do not laugh during this movie then you are legally dead 5 stars
8/21/05 Nobody Like Monty Python in that it's random, quotable, and EXTREMELY funny 5 stars
7/06/05 zeitgeist Looks like I picked the wrong day to quit sniffing glue 5 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Despite cult status, not as good as Naked Gun. But extremely funny. 5 stars
2/27/05 Dr. Lecter White Zone/Red Zone argument - funniest scene ever 5 stars
2/19/05 clinger26 so god darn funny 5 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson Still the funniest movie ever made. Stephen Stucker and Lloyd Bridges RULE! 5 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul Everytime I watch this movie, I see something I missed the times before. 5 stars
9/16/04 conor great excellent 5 stars
2/06/04 Lori You don't like it? Well, the shit's gonna hit the fan! 5 stars
10/11/03 JimmyC Amazingly Funny 5 stars
8/08/03 3man A classic. 5 stars
8/02/03 Big Dick The parody genre began with Blazing Saddles you dickhead! 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese Never gets old, I love it every time I see it. 5 stars
6/06/03 Gray Johnny is so random as is the whole film 5 stars
3/17/03 G-man the craziest movie ever made- i loved this one to death 5 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite nothing socially-redeeming about this film; just flat-out offensively funny 5 stars
1/26/03 T-man Absolutely the funniest movie ever made. Period. 5 stars
1/09/03 Darkmage Airplane shall live forever, and ever, and...uh...you ever hang around a turkish prison? 5 stars
11/09/02 Stevo One of the funniest comedies ever 5 stars
10/18/02 Rachel Every one of Johnny's quotes is now a regular part of my vocabulary. RAPUNZEL!!! 5 stars
7/19/02 Dan The funniest movie ever made 5 stars
6/19/02 Film Dude Haven't seen this yet? Go rent it, bitch. 5 stars
6/11/02 Artist Freak One of the best comedy movies ever made. Fun, biting slapstick, spares no one. 5 stars
5/28/02 The Bomb 69 nothing else to say but CLASSIC!!! 5 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn An ultimate classic 5 stars
5/11/02 Kyle Hate this and die. 5 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson I am serious, and stop calling me Shirley. 5 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee One of my favorite comedies of all time. 5 stars
2/08/02 Gary Anderson Possibly the funniest film ever made, rivalling Blazing Saddles. 5 stars
1/06/02 BWF A classic. One of the greatest comidies ever made 5 stars
11/08/01 groovekitten.com sit back and smudge the proverbial underwear as u lose bowel control during this! 5 stars
9/27/01 Butterbean Now this is comedy! I love seeing those old serious actors shoot the shit! Bridges rocks! 5 stars
8/19/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Funny Movie, Julia Hagerty Is Great. 4 stars
6/18/01 salvo The best one 5 stars
6/15/01 AndyW The funniest movie I have ever seen, and don't call me Shirley. 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle Laughs abound, but this just isn't my cup of tea. I hate tea. 3 stars
6/07/01 D. Bower This is hopelessly funny!!! 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass A definite comedic masterpiece 5 stars
6/05/01 tovah "I have a drinking problem" - Ted, before splashing OJ on face, fucking hillarious!! 5 stars
5/24/01 zeitgeist "Looks like I picked the wrong day to quit sniffing glue" 5 stars
5/23/01 Bada Bing Crosby Excuse me, I speak jive. 5 stars
4/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Anytime I even think of this movie, I laugh. A must-see. 5 stars
4/24/01 Spetters `Joey, do you like gladiator movies?´ 5 stars
4/12/01 Michael This movie was a laugh-out-loud movie; full of satire and of course absurdism 4 stars
4/04/01 PALUCH ain't nothing wrong with that!... 5 stars
3/08/01 Jake A comedic masterpiece. Better than the first. 5 stars
2/25/01 I love movies you call this funny?!? 1 stars
1/21/01 scorekeeper Great film, now let's get some pictures. 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Funny, but some scenes that are meant to be funny don't tickle your funny bone. 4 stars
12/03/00 Phil This movie led me to my drinking problem...... 5 stars
10/29/00 YOUR Movie Expert This movie isn't funny at------Wait...No, this movie is HYSTERICAL!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/30/00 Ben great flick. One of the best comedies ever 5 stars
9/29/00 TJ St John Joey, have you ever seen a grown man naked? 5 stars
7/04/00 Jed I'm sorry folks this is the proper rating for this flick (in my opinion) 3 stars
6/07/00 Bender One of the best spoof movies ever made 5 stars
4/13/00 Rita Joey do you like movies about Gladiators? 5 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Funny but not much of a plot 4 stars
11/25/99 Bryan Clark Surely a riot, And don't call me shirley 4 stars
11/07/99 Anthony Ellis The greatest parody/spoof movie that there will EVER be. Hilariously brilliant! 5 stars
9/28/99 Tim Wolff Have you ever been in a turkish prison? 5 stars
9/24/99 KK The standard by which all others will be measured!! 5 stars
9/08/99 Jason Kinsey fuggin hilarious 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/25/99 David Keech The funniest movie ever made. I love the ways to calm a nervous passenger. 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog Joey, do you like movies about gladiators? 5 stars
4/20/99 Lucas jackson fucking hilarious I like how they have so many stars in it 5 stars
3/16/99 Go Swans The original and the best. How could this genre be reduced to the woeful Mafia!? 5 stars
3/03/99 bill stanbar I didn't even laugh once. 1 stars
2/16/99 Kooky Sal Hilarious. Even the dumb parts are funny enough to carry over to the better stuff. Own it. 5 stars
2/06/99 Don Wilson It kicks ass 5 stars
12/31/98 Todd Surely one of the best comedies ever. Yes, it was. And don't call me Shirley. 5 stars
11/29/98 Mike F jason-guy said it. 3 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink "Joey, have you ever been in a Turkish prison"? 5 stars
11/16/98 Lord Of The Dunce Just a fucking hilarious spoof film. Shame the genre has died in the ass, but this is great 5 stars
11/13/98 J-Guy really really funny parts. really really dumb parts. 4 stars
11/10/98 Silent Rob Still a laugh riot. 'Looks like I picked the wrong week to stop sniffing glue!' 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1980 (PG)
  DVD: 13-Dec-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1981 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast