More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.43

Awesome: 24.29%
Worth A Look: 12.86%
Average: 1.43%
Pretty Bad: 4.29%
Total Crap57.14%

4 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Revolver
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Eugene Novikov

"Won't win Ritchie any new fans."
1 stars

I hasten to say that I never liked Guy Ritchie anyway. Not "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels," not "Snatch." "Swept Away" I didn't see, which I gather was for the best. On the other hand it doesn't much matter, since even the legion of Ritchie fans hooked on the kineticism and casual violence of "Snatch" will surely turn on the man after seeing REVOLVER. He has added an insufferable pretense to his usual smugness.

After watching Snatch, I remember thinking that Ritchie has obvious talent but needs very badly to chill out; there's no need to throw everything at the screen in every single scene. He seems to have done that, since Revolver is comparatively sedate, the quick-cuts and camera tricks replaced with hideous sets and a garish color scheme. (The question of which is preferable I leave to you.) The other thing that's new is that instead of the haphazard, convoluted plotting Ritchie the screenwriter previously exhibited, the new Ritchie refuses to plot altogether. How's that for reform?

"Incomprehensible" seems irrelevant as a criticism here. Revolver was created with incomprehensible in mind. There's a gangster story in here somewhere, with a vengeful casino owner played by Ray Liotta, a hero who pisses him off (Jason Statham), and a pair of mysterious loan sharks (Andre Benjamin and Vincent Pastore) who agree to keep him alive at a high price. That much seems clear, but what actually happens and why is a total mystery. We get the vague sense that it's supposed to be clever, and maybe supernatural -- the loan sharks may or may not be able to predict the future. One way of putting it is that the narrative is impossible to follow, but I'm not sure it was made to be followed. Maybe it's supposed to overwhelm us with its hipness.

A possible cause of this, I take it, might be Ritchie's desire to make a propaganda film for Kaballah, the mystical brand of Judaism recently taken up by his wife Madonna. I only found this interpretation afterward, when reading up on the film, though I did at the time find it odd that Ritchie chose to insert a montage of real-life psychologists and gurus (including Deepak Chopra!) discussing the ego and the id between the final scene and the end credits. There's enough gobbledygook in here that I believe it, though I'm ultimately not quite sure what Revolver was trying to tell me. If it's brainwashing, it's not very effective. My beastly ego is my enemy? Sure, whatever.

The film's sheer weirdness, combined with the quixotic hope that the plot might actually come together, managed to hold my attention, more or less. In retrospect, that makes me angrier. Maybe I need to become braver about walk-outs. Revolver merits one, though it's smarter not to go in the first place.

(Reprinted from Filmblather.com)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=12871&reviewer=419
originally posted: 12/07/07 19:11:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Toronto Film Festival For more in the 2005 Toronto Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

4/17/13 Flipsider Ritchie put psycholgists in the credits to explain what the movie was about. Says it all. 2 stars
8/08/10 PAUL SHORTT BORING, STODGY AND PRETENTIOUS 1 stars
12/10/09 A.Wilson Probably the most polarizing film of all time, most people wont understand it Mr.Gold wont 5 stars
3/25/09 Monday Morning Muddled plot, lame acting, a waste of time. And oh, Madonna sucks in her own right. 2 stars
12/04/08 Shaun Wallner Very Boring! 1 stars
7/26/08 pin Psuedointellectual Trainwreck. Truly Awful. 1 stars
6/19/08 OwlJulie Loved the elevator scene. This movie is spiritual, about getting hold of your demons. 5 stars
12/13/07 cristi interesting mind game this movie 5 stars
12/12/07 Emanouil R/evolve/r is not for the Majority. The FILM delivers a profund truth you aren't ready for. 5 stars
12/09/07 Naurto See? Marry Madonna and your career goes to shit. 1 stars
12/08/07 Max I was told by a friend this was a "mind fuck" ala Fight Club/Matrix. WORST MOVIE EVER!!!! 1 stars
12/06/07 Mick Guy Richies take on intelligent sci-fi,future cult classic. 5 stars
9/09/07 Andy Excellent! Worth watching a second time to appreciate it fully. 4 stars
4/27/07 pervez khan it gives u an idea of how to rule and that is , to have some mental strength. 5 stars
10/22/06 Kyle E God forbid an action film with abstract symbolism. quite a thinker 5 stars
10/22/06 Yusef Its symbolic showing how money controls man "MR Green" if you see this its great 5 stars
9/26/06 skunk a movie that requires you to think, consider, reconsider and genuinely use your brain! gold 5 stars
5/30/06 Fer A challenging, exciting and engaging film. Not for grandma or people expecting Snatch 2 5 stars
5/03/06 Dracon Movie = Marvel. Must see for educated individuals. Requires full attention. 5 stars
4/28/06 MrSorter I found myself liking it from the get go.. a few bumps but by the end.. if you get it..wow! 4 stars
4/15/06 a awesome 5 stars
4/13/06 Jordan Bradbury Didn't understand all of it, but enough to know that it is an awesome movie. 5 stars
12/15/05 Apple I have no idea what this film is trying to portry, but it looks cool. 4 stars
12/14/05 gunzoller great movie. great perfomance. real art-house. 5 stars
12/07/05 stickman can words describe how shit this flick is? 1 stars
10/21/05 Vitok Watch it several times to understand that you are about to commit a suicide 1 stars
10/15/05 Bo A huge disappointment for what was going to be the greatest comeback ever 2 stars
10/09/05 Uncle Salty If I can't say anything nice, I won't say anthing at all. 1 stars
10/04/05 Jon Riordan Weird movie, started off really well, then about 45 mins in began to lose itself. Worth see 3 stars
9/30/05 Pete Great film - unless you like to be spoonfed a story 5 stars
9/27/05 beanhead so what and who was real and what was in his head ?? 1 stars
9/27/05 Bexx what the hell was it about, i just dont get it 1 stars
9/26/05 Leon intellectual plot very cleve...guns and violence with enough leaves you working it out A+ 5 stars
9/25/05 Big G Terrible. The greatest load of bollocks since .... ever! 1 stars
9/24/05 Russ ridiculous 1 stars
9/24/05 jonmac what in heaven have i just witnessed? nonsense!! neel, snap out of it!!! 1 stars
9/23/05 Mark G Painful to watch! What a let down. 1 stars
9/21/05 Mark T. Absolute rubbish!!!! 1 stars
9/21/05 Mark T. Absolute rubbish!!!! 1 stars
9/21/05 Mark T. Absolute rubbish!!!! 1 stars
9/21/05 Mark T. Absolute rubbish!!!! 1 stars
9/21/05 John M. Worse film in years!!! 1 stars
9/21/05 Keith Piper CRAP!!!! 1 stars
9/19/05 Neel Idiots of today, namely Katrina and Alex you dont know squat about films. Go read a book. 5 stars
9/14/05 Katrina saw it at the preview screening - worst movie of all time. 1 stars
9/13/05 Alex Brisbourne Astonishingly bad: I'm a great ritchie fan (maybe, was). Needs User Guide to follow it! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Dec-2007 (R)
  DVD: 18-Mar-2008

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Guy Ritchie

Written by
  Guy Ritchie

Cast
  Jason Statham
  Ray Liotta
  André Benjamin
  Vincent Pastore
  Andrew Howard
  Vincent Riotta



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast