More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.58

Awesome: 6.25%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 25%
Pretty Bad: 8.33%
Total Crap35.42%

1 review, 42 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

Aquaman by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Buffy the Vampire Slayer
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Bluntman

"I hear Ben Affleck is an extra in this flick"
3 stars

I give this movie validation only because it has spawned one of my favorite TV shows.

I dug this movie when it first came out. I was about 13 and I liked the humor and fun of this campy flick. I even bought the laser disc at the time. But as time went by, the flick started pealing off from my mind. "I found this funny?", I thought. I sold the laser disc when I was 16. In three years time the movie ended up slaying itself.

Kristy Swanson gives a spirited performance as Buffy, the high school cheerleader who is "the chosen one" that is supposed to rid all the vampires of L.A. But the film's jokes are idiotic; the story is flat and the action very tame.

Luckily writer Joss Whedon redeemed this story and made it into a brilliant TV series that uses mostrosity as a metaphor for adolesence and finds both potent drama and hilarious situations in it all.

This is one of those rare instances were TV can do better what film can't

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1291&reviewer=45
originally posted: 11/11/98 09:01:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/13/09 the dork knight Everyone acts like they're in a garage with a camcorder. Unholy mess. 1 stars
4/30/09 Dk Horrible. It's only virtue is that it spawned the TV show. 1 stars
12/10/07 mrsinister It's just a parody of "Clueless". Bad valley girl accents. 1 stars
8/16/07 fools♫gold Think of the underrated genius of the SHORT "Once Bitten"... Ok all in all I guess. 4 stars
4/10/06 el burro Campy fun 4 stars
8/23/05 Eden Crap, especially compared to the brilliant tv show 2 stars
2/15/05 J. Elaine Greenup surprisingly good 4 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton It's hard to believe that this film spawned the brilliant TV series. 2 stars
12/04/04 tatum Bad, atrociously directed, and a complete bore, although cast is full of future stars 1 stars
6/28/04 P.Rodriguez Fran Rubel Kuzui: Never work again. Joss Whedon Please make your Buffy Moie 1 stars
10/20/03 Samuel Justus The show is boring too! 3 stars
7/20/03 amy I love BTVS series but come on this is mindless crap. SMG does it way better than this tram 1 stars
6/06/03 Prinsess Irene WWAAHHOOOO!! I got my money back from "Video Ezy" 1 stars
5/17/03 Turtle Swanson has zero acting talent. The TV show, though, is the BEST SHOW EVER!!! 1 stars
2/03/03 scott JUST A OKAY FILM NOTHING TI HOOT AND YELL ABOUT 3 stars
11/05/02 Jim Difficult to believe this is the same Joss Whedon behind the BtVS, Angel, and Firefly shows 2 stars
8/08/02 STEVE YAYAHAHAHA UH MY A LITTLE VAMOIE SLAYER IN HER CUTIE WITIE PJS?AH HOW CUTE!NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/22/02 the Grinch Like John Hughes...if he were a mongoloid masturbating monkey... 1 stars
4/11/02 Anus Lame, sophomoric and completely retarded 1 stars
3/07/02 Bertha Venation Movie is funny, clever, and I didn't know this was made into a tv show 4 stars
3/03/02 Butterbean I liked it when I was a kid. It sucks compared to the TV show. 3 stars
10/29/01 Gary None of the wit, style or strong acting & characterisation of the TV series. 1 stars
9/25/01 leila loved it! 5 stars
9/13/01 ray this movie sucked beyond belief 1 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart As a kid, I loved anything with vampires in it. 4 stars
4/13/01 Andrew Carden The ending was cool, but the rest is ka-boot. 3 stars
12/28/00 mike Heltz Great Film 4 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin BOOOOORRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNGGG!! 1 stars
6/16/00 XXX Joss, how could you??? 1 stars
5/21/00 fiona not as good as the tv series but still funny 4 stars
5/13/00 Hi there The TV series is better. MUCH better. 1 stars
4/11/00 Elvisfan Great & funny movie - Swanson is perfection & you get to see HIlary Swank in a small role!! 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Oh, don't get me started. I don't even like the TV series. 1 stars
10/19/99 Kurtz It's an ok movie but gets a bit too crappy at the end. 4 stars
10/01/99 Devon Dement Great Teen Flick 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Randell Batinkoff. will you marry me??? Ben in this flick?? where??? 4 stars
1/06/99 Schizofrenic Kristy Swanson was better than Sarah Michelle Gellar. The TV series sucked even more ass. 3 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider No comment. The series sucked even more. Flat story and lamed-out action. 3 stars
11/16/98 Lord Of The Dunce Love Rutger Hauer, but this was a little too cool for it's own good. 4 stars
11/12/98 CaptNish Bad...just plain bad....though, Paul Reuben's death scene rocked 2 stars
11/11/98 K-Dog Not at all bad, enjoyable and fun 4 stars
11/10/98 Silent Rob Rutger and Pee Wee elevate this from the tripe it could've been. It's a good wink and nod! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1992 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1992 (PG)


Directed by
  Fran Rubel Kuzui

Written by
  Joss Whedon

Cast
  Kristy Swanson
  Paul Reubens
  Rutger Hauer
  Luke Perry
  Michele Abrams
  Hilary Swank



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast