More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.45

Awesome: 3.23%
Worth A Look: 17.74%
Average32.26%
Pretty Bad: 14.52%
Total Crap32.26%

5 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Hostile 'toons."
3 stars

Rocky and Bullwinkle are bitter and stuck in a world of re-runs. The animated Fearless Leader (soon to become the over-animated Robert De Niro) hatches but another plot to become the Supreme Leader. His answer: RBTV — Real Bad Television.

Not much here, though it’s relatively harmless for the kids. Rocky and Bullwinkle face the usual Hollywoodization of a (classic) TV show-cum-movie. The story and subsequent results are all minor and in most regards, a feature length recreation of the show. The question being, of course (as always), was this the right stuff to be turned to feature length? Who am I to say? The humor is very low brow, very self-referential, and very unintelligent. The movie, or more in fact, the writer (Kenneth Lonergan — Analyze This) is also very aware of this, and makes sure to make a point of it. And because it acknowledges that it’s a stinker and knows such, doesn’t make it a more cogent case, either. Piper Perabo was a nice find as Karen Sympathy (get it — “care-and-sympathy”), and easily fits in with the abundant amount of youthful and attractive actresses rushing the screen. The golden hair, full lips, gleaming smile and “professional” tan are all eye-catching but very much the same as the next. Only her name (and wide, toothy grin) distinguishes her from the next. An unexpected fall down the stairs for Des McAnuff after an auspicious directorial debut with Cousin Bette.

With Janeane Garofalo, Jason Alexander, Rene Russo, Randy Quaid, Jonathan Winters, John Goodman, James Rebhorn, Whoopi Goldberg and the voices of June Foray and Keith Scott.

[Redeemable.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1293&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/10/00 09:08:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

8/22/13 dr.lao One of those movies that really wants to be clever, but isn't, not even slightly 1 stars
7/23/09 the dork knight Exactly ONE funny scene, and (surprise) it's Natasha's solioquy about having babies 2 stars
1/21/08 Sharon M Did you ever hit the nail on the head! I loved Rocky and Bullwinkle... UNTIL I saw this! 1 stars
1/13/08 mrsinister I'm pretty sure DeNiro wrecks this movie. 2 stars
7/03/05 Quigley funny as a kid, but now it makes me want to slap de-niro. don't kill your brain cells. 1 stars
5/28/05 tony best childrens movie ive seen in years 4 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson Man, this is one seriously godawful & deranged film! JAY WARD MUST BE SPINNING IN HIS GRAVE 1 stars
1/21/05 DM Oh, somebody please make the pain stop! 1 stars
5/24/04 Monster W. Kung Once again, DeNiro has lost his mind. 2 stars
5/15/04 tatum I cannot believe I did not hate this film 3 stars
1/12/04 Samuel the most annoying film ever made 1 stars
11/14/03 Sylvie Alice Borden Now Scott, definitely not as bad as BATTLEFIELD EARTH. 2 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Everyone involved has smoked a whole lotta crack. 1 stars
2/19/03 Dana Carvey must DIE!!! de niro simply should not do comedies 1 stars
3/23/02 Butterbean R&B's comedy doesn't work in movies. I'll always love R&B, but this was the pits 2 stars
12/04/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Even my little brother hated it. 2 stars
7/03/01 Elvisfan I couldn't believe how much I liked this and laughed like hell too! 5 stars
6/03/01 Thrillhouse Shrek was soo freaking better than that tepid shitbag. 1 stars
4/02/01 Andrew Carden Cameo Filled, One-Gag Movie, That Makes Cool World look good. 2 stars
3/27/01 Richard Wright Amusing at times, but not enough to compensate for the tired script and the woeful acting. 2 stars
3/11/01 mad hatter This movie is really good, if a few things were tweeked it would have been a classic. 4 stars
8/07/00 Gavin Moore Thought I would hate it, but it was really original and creative 4 stars
7/30/00 Digitalus Russo and DeNiro were terrific... this movie is pitiful 1 stars
7/25/00 Lord Raymos Good movie if you liked the cartoon, though not always true to it. 4 stars
7/22/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble The cartoon of my youth ruined by cheesy computer graphics. 1 stars
7/18/00 mad movie lover de niro has turned into a pussy now......fucking cocksucker 1 stars
7/10/00 Jamie Who the hell is Piper Perabo anyways?? Bad Execution. Bad jokes. Total crap. 1 stars
7/10/00 Andrew J. A lot funnier than I expected. Too bad I was the only one in the theater laughing. 4 stars
7/07/00 Captain Highcrime Be thankful for DeNiro otherwise this movie would never have been made--or watched. 3 stars
7/06/00 Benjamin Lesbian Two jokes and some cameos were the only compelling thing about the film. Zero charm. 1 stars
7/01/00 The Bomb 69 a few laughs but the rest was poorly written and acted 2 stars
7/01/00 Judge Cameo A huge surprise. Funny, Jason Alexander & Rene Russo are the best parts. Makes you smile=^) 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-2000 (PG)
  DVD: 02-Sep-2003

UK
  09-Feb-2001 (U)

Australia
  11-Jan-2001 (PG)


Directed by
  Des McAnuff

Written by
  Ken Lonergan

Cast
  Jason Alexander
  Rene Russo
  Robert DeNiro
  Randy Quaid
  Piper Perabo
  Janeane Garofalo



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast