More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.94

Awesome48.94%
Worth A Look: 27.66%
Average: 6.38%
Pretty Bad: 2.13%
Total Crap: 14.89%

1 review, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


My Own Private Idaho
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"Idaho? No, YOU da ho!"
4 stars

Praise jeezus! Some shakespeare material that doesn't have Leonardo DiCrappio! Ok, it does have Keanu Reeves, but...Praise jeezus!

Okay, I jus took some Nyquil, so I'm gonna try and make this cohesive, ya know?

It's made by Gus Van Sant...the American version Ken Russel. So, if you like weird stuff, but only weird stuff that makes sense in a modern storytelling vibe, you'll probably wanna pass out like River Phoenix's character...or me, after a half bottle of nyquil.

It's depressing. But isn't Van Sant an anagram for depressing in some dead tongue?..or maybe esperanto?

It has some Shakespearean'esq dialogue in it sometimes...so if you're not to keen on 'ye olde tightswearer, mayhaps you should avoid, my liege. But, really, it's tons better than that 'Homeo and Raul Julia' with Leonardo Duhcappio and Claire 'Jughead' Danes. Sure, Keanu spouts some thee's and thines, but given the choice between two evils, I'll choose the one I've never tried. (thanks Mae West!)

It has Flea in it...playing a kooky homeless guy/zany sidekick...in other words, playing himself.

It's got Udo Keir in it, and that guy rocks, Andy Warhol or not.

Basic plot summary? Keanu and River's characters are teenage gigolo's, spencersforhire, etc. River's character Mike does it because he's seriously lonely, confused, and screwed up..and to top it all off, he's got a serious case of narcolepsy (narcosleepy!)...Keanu's character does it because he's just biding his time away from home until his mean ole' pappy kicks the bucket and leaves him the company. The rest is all about love, soul searching, and betrayal...or something like that..

See it, but be forewarned: River Phoenix gives a fat, sweaty, Capt Lou Albino type guy a bj...and I can definitely put that on my list of things I did NOT want to see. Gottag go, Nyquilll,.taking effectttt.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1297&reviewer=156
originally posted: 10/16/99 20:10:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/16/15 David Hollingsworth Gritty, raw look at repressed love 5 stars
2/09/14 PAUL SHORTT SMART SHAKESPEARIAN VARIATION, WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
11/08/05 Movielover Phoenix was good in this movie. Now that's outta the way, this movie is a piece of SHIT!!!! 1 stars
8/11/05 Jake My Own Private BULLSHIT!!! 1 stars
8/03/05 Danny Phoenix is excellent. But, wasn't he always? 4 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig Love River, but the production was disjointed and hard to follow 3 stars
7/29/04 DM A very confused movie (Keanu Reeves is surprisingly good, though) 3 stars
7/10/04 echo this movie SUCKS!!! its a big shit!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/14/04 MyGreenBed River's finest moment (sadly cut short of many more). Even makes Keanu look ok. Gus's peak. 4 stars
2/02/04 Gabriela Terrific performance by River Phoenix. Deeply touching. 5 stars
1/10/04 kaz River and Keanu shine 5 stars
11/10/03 two-dick timmy this movie is for tea baggin' ball lickers - translation: FAGGOTS!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/30/03 Atalanta Stays with you. Great performances by both River and Keanu. 5 stars
3/12/03 Blabity blah I was blown away. Great ensemble cast. Profoundly sad story. 5 stars
2/05/03 natasha_theobald devastatingly good -- so honest you can't look away 5 stars
12/07/02 Kyle Weird. Good work from River. 4 stars
9/03/02 Shannon Haunting, weird and chilling-A favorite from the 90s. Poor river. 5 stars
10/02/01 Chris Halkides This film has one of River Phoenix's best performances and some pretty terrific imagery 5 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe This & "Drugstore Cowboy" are the only Van Sant's worth ANYTHING 5 stars
3/07/01 Trashstar If only River hadnt died *sob*. Can you imagine depp, River and Joaquin together?*sigh* 4 stars
2/16/01 Becka Excellent. 5 stars
1/27/01 Mike N Surrealism, serenity, and shakespearian references make this indie film a must-see. 5 stars
1/12/01 Sully horrible, horrible movie.....having the shits is more fun than sitting through this crap... 1 stars
1/09/01 Keanuette A dark look at street life with great performances by KEANU REEVES and the late River... 5 stars
12/10/00 Seeker Terrific and deft performances by both River and Keanu. 5 stars
11/21/00 David Scott very postmodern 4 stars
9/15/00 angie lee One of my favorite films of all time 5 stars
6/25/00 KC Woman Keanu and River are terrific at portraying their respective characters. 4 stars
4/08/00 Bernard Heireman Love it! 5 stars
3/15/00 Chrissy T Rivverrrr, I miss you! Go home Keanu. But let Udo stay. 5 stars
1/16/00 spunky A fragile and beautious heartbreaker. It's like divine providence that River Phoenix stars. 5 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie Rent boys? Shakespeare? Van Sant? Rio Phoenix? FLEA?! I'm in heaven! This is my fav film. 5 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Terrific reworking of Shakespeare. 5 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy Is this movie supposed to actually INDUCE narcolepsy? 2 stars
6/17/99 P.S.O.K Pretty good movie overall. 5 stars
5/03/99 Michael Grimm made me sick to my stomach, I like different but only if it is good 1 stars
4/19/99 Em Brilliantly different 5 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug sucked!! 1 stars
11/27/98 G don't like Reeves but Van Sant can do just about anything 5 stars
11/16/98 Lord Of The Dunce Narcolepsy is no easy topic for a film, nor are rentboys, but Van Sant pulled it off. 4 stars
11/14/98 Jules A wonderful film about friendship, love, betrayal, and narcolepsy... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1991 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1992 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast