More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome36.84%
Worth A Look: 28.95%
Average: 19.3%
Pretty Bad: 7.02%
Total Crap: 7.89%

5 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


BASEketball
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Not a total home-dunk."
3 stars

A “David Zucker Game,” wherein South Park creators and cohorts Trey Parker and Matt Stone star as two overgrown, beer-chugging dimwits still stuck in their nonage.

Too lazy to play basketball by the rules, and judging from the steady decline of sports and sportsmanship (“The Raiders moved from LA to Oakland and back to LA — no one in Los Angeles seemed to notice”; “The Oilers moved to Tennessee where there is no oil”), their driveway hybrid of basketball and baseball becomes a licensed sports franchise (albeit with intransigent rules capping salary, player-trades, team city-switches, etc.) after winning over local fans for its booboisie appeal. What starts off as an over-the-top parody of today’s state of sports, with downright hilariously crude gags and set-ups, quickly tapers off to a mere potty humor spoof with no concern — or at least inconsistent concerns — to its own rules of the game. (The cheerleaders parade around as leather-clad biker chicks.) Once Zucker and Co. lose focus of a theme, the broadly spread comedy, oft content at puerile innuendo (“My lobby needs buffing, if you know what I mean” — cut to Jenny McCarthy swinging a buffer), long schlong jokes, etc., infects the earlier stage it had set. The simple formula of repetition causes a mixed reaction and an uneven track record: it has to be funny the first time to keep repeating it, obviously not always the case. The addition of a romance, and the rift between the duo to form a penannular plotting reunion, only further takes the comedy away from where it was going. In the end, the surprisingly funny, though vulgar, energy of the first 30 minutes, is traded for distracted and unfocused vulgarity, without the inspired lampoonery.

With Yasmine Bleeth, Dian (“bitch”) Bachar, Ernest Borgnine, Robert Vaughn and Bob Costas.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/20/03 14:13:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/27/12 Marty I liked it but a lot of the gags tried too hard. Funny moments. Love trey and matt 3 stars
1/08/12 d fuckin awesome 5 stars
5/12/11 RLan I gave this a one because I can't go any lower. One of the worst movies ever made!! 1 stars
6/06/10 matt flying human pineapple 5 stars
5/21/09 jon trash bullshit 1 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
12/22/07 George a cult classic already 5 stars
11/04/07 William Goss Seriously sophomoric and yet still so very amusing. 4 stars
3/29/07 fools♫gold Why do ppl thnk My Boss's Daughter = less funny? Tiseasytomakemelaugh; all I did was smile. 2 stars
1/06/07 Sugarfoot So much funnier than Team America, but not as funny as South Park:BLU. Really funny still. 4 stars
12/01/05 Arran Fishothy this is a work of art and jake this film is so good it makes ur mum look like shes fat 5 stars
12/01/05 Sam R BASEketball is the best comedy ever made 5 stars
7/06/05 Dm this film rocks its totally bad 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake Make's My Boss's Daughter look like a masterpiece! 1 stars
1/21/05 Jason Kaul When you have a whole conversation only using the word "dude", you know it's funny. 4 stars
1/19/05 Jeff Anderson THE FUNNIEST SPORTS COMEDY EVER MADE, PERIOD!! Take that you snobs. SQUEAK SCOLARI RULES IT 5 stars
10/30/04 HL A bit retarded.. Like the Stooges, you'll like this. 4 stars
8/17/04 Anthony G fucking so funny I jizzed 4 times 5 stars
6/20/04 Dan R. Very Underated... a cult classic 5 stars
4/17/04 BaztarD_101 Jenny McCarthy is HOT! 5 stars
4/13/04 Mr X This movie was okay regardless of what Stan and Kenny said 4 stars
4/07/04 Sig 'sd'... You're horseshit! and all the cheerleaders were HOT! 5 stars
4/01/04 sd horseshit! 1 stars
1/08/04 A F Can't....Stop....Laughing.....It's a sad day for me. 5 stars
11/09/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. THE SOUTH PARK CREATORS CAME UP WITH AMOVIE THAT'S CRUDE, LEWD, & NOT FOR 4 stars
10/06/03 tatum The Farrelly Brothers should take notes 5 stars
9/21/03 Jonathan Nicholas Amasing, Funny as hell. 5 stars
7/03/03 Jack Sommersby Not as barbed as one would like, but it's passable. 3 stars
5/14/03 Joel DeJong this is the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
4/28/03 Vitality1 I don't know why I love this movie more - b/c it's hilarious or b/c Reel Big Fish is in it! 5 stars
1/21/03 tina AWESOME 5 stars
9/23/02 syrius Bob Costas- "U're excited?! Feel how hard my nipples are!" 4 stars
8/07/02 Jon Will you sign my chicken please sir? 5 stars
7/29/02 Claire You'd never admit that you like this movie. Such a guilty pleasure! 5 stars
6/22/02 The Bomb69 the best "Airplane" and "South Park" any questions??? 5 stars
4/02/02 Film Guy Fucking Funny 5 stars
3/05/02 Julia Cox Never a good sign when Jenny McCarthy doesn't know whether she farted or not! 2 stars
3/04/02 Marcia Lartz Excellent beginning. Too bad it runs out of steam and gets dull. 3 stars
11/28/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is so funny as!!!!! it is KICK ASS, SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/24/01 Andrew Carden Very Predictible and Unfunny Movie With Tons Of Mis-Fire Gags. 2 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean I love the locker scene with the dicks swingin around 4 stars
8/17/01 Dakamus "1, 2, 3... fuck the Mexicans!" 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Very funny and great to watch. The mix of "Airplane!" and "South Park" is the best of mixes 4 stars
6/14/01 King Jackass Funny at times, but overdoes its only funny jokes. 4 stars
5/23/01 Bada Bing Crosby As funny as slamming your hand in the car door 1 stars
4/22/01 Luke Funny the first time .... 4 stars
1/22/01 jmr surprisingly funny. a delight 5 stars
12/09/00 SwatchDog Hehe - So hilarious, especially the "milking" scenes. What was with that gross kiss? 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin pretty dang hilarious 4 stars
8/04/00 Bender Sometimes it doesn't work, but there are some truly hilarious jokes in this movie. 4 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Not quite the dog-shit taco I thought it would be. 3 stars
2/04/00 arnold the funniest movie i've seen in a while 5 stars
10/19/99 Knight of the Rose This movie is real f#$@king hilarious. You have got to see it. 5 stars
10/15/99 GiantSlug Crazy shit! Gotta See! 5 stars
9/30/99 Physh One of the worst movies I have ever seen....but laughed 5 pounds off my ass 5 stars
9/05/99 Elizaveta Somehow this was pretty funny... 3 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK This movie is really stupid, but still better than Cannibal. Stick 2 SouthPark, for now. 2 stars
5/12/99 The Bomb 69 just take it for what it is for: stupid comedy done well 4 stars
4/20/99 Tim This movie is poor. I thought that the creators of a funny show South Park would do better 2 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Did I miss something? This movie retched. Go see Orgazmo that's a movie. 1 stars
1/29/99 Scott Stipe Really FUCKING Funny, Matt and Trey rule HELL 5 stars
11/29/98 d`d` In-your-face, twisted humor, gut wrenchingly funny 5 stars
11/19/98 josh m I can't believe these are the same people that created South Park 1 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce They went for cult tackiness, and they got it. Bleeth, McCarthy, Borgnine and Vaughan! Yay. 4 stars
10/29/98 Bad Kosh Woooohooo! Loads of hyped-out fun for any South Park fan! 5 stars
10/24/98 I'm Alfred Packer kick ass. 5 stars
10/17/98 eric sin-chan Hey, Trey Parker and Matt Stone rules! It sounds like fun, but well worth it. 4 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis If you thought this was good, South Park has gone to yer head, i wanted to like it. 2 stars
9/28/98 Heather Fun! Not the greatest movie of all time, but very enjoyable! 4 stars
9/19/98 Chip Taylor Great FFFFFFFUUUUCCCCKKKKKIIIIIINNNNNNGGGGGGGG FILM. 5 stars
9/18/98 {{{OZ}}} Some great moments, but not as good as the hype suggested. 3 stars
9/18/98 Christian I hate movies that all the funny parts are used up in the trailor...I did like Little Bitch 3 stars
9/12/98 Bart Barton horrible film 1 stars
9/08/98 toaster none 5 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein Don't read anything into this movie going in. It's just stupid fun. 3 stars
9/05/98 Mike Lancaster Ernest Borgnine humiliates himself. 2 stars
9/02/98 Bly How Could this movie ever be good? 1 stars
8/30/98 Matt i liked it more than the person who dragged me to go see it. trailers don't do it justice 4 stars
8/23/98 Superfly It's a shame it bombed so terribly like Barb Wire. 4 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Dude, it's fun shit. and there's butts. 4 stars
8/18/98 zubilicious it was okay, not as bad as i thought. i saw it in a shitty porn theater in canada. 3 stars
8/15/98 Schmeekins It wasn't totally awful. But it was kinda. 2 stars
8/14/98 Ryan_A Plot? It was funny as hell, though. 4 stars
8/12/98 Pumpkin Jenny McCarthy sucking the chrome off a bumper. Ya gotta love it. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 21-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast