More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome36.84%
Worth A Look: 28.95%
Average: 19.3%
Pretty Bad: 7.02%
Total Crap: 7.89%

5 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


BASEketball
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It's at least as funny as There's Something About Mary."
4 stars

Don't go expecting "South Park: The Movie"

It's funny. It's funny in the way that Mafia! and Spy Hard and Wrongfully Accused should be.

It's crude. It's occasionally vulgar. But it's just sooooo funny.

The plot is of no consequence. Two guys create a game called Baseketball (note the spelling), an odd hybrid of baseball and the challenging "horse" so often played on cruddy home basketball courts. The sport (if you can call it that) becomes a monster hit and the two friends get caught up in the celebrity status and money that can be made. Will they stay friends? Will they be torn asunder by the evils of modern capitalism? Will I stop making this out to be drama?

Yeah.

Good fun. The production quality is a little weak, as the sets look cheap, but for the most part, plenty of laughs for your money.

Go see it before it even gets kicked out of the discount theaters.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/28/98 04:42:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/27/12 Marty I liked it but a lot of the gags tried too hard. Funny moments. Love trey and matt 3 stars
1/08/12 d fuckin awesome 5 stars
5/12/11 RLan I gave this a one because I can't go any lower. One of the worst movies ever made!! 1 stars
6/06/10 matt flying human pineapple 5 stars
5/21/09 jon trash bullshit 1 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
12/22/07 George a cult classic already 5 stars
11/04/07 William Goss Seriously sophomoric and yet still so very amusing. 4 stars
3/29/07 fools♫gold Why do ppl thnk My Boss's Daughter = less funny? Tiseasytomakemelaugh; all I did was smile. 2 stars
1/06/07 Sugarfoot So much funnier than Team America, but not as funny as South Park:BLU. Really funny still. 4 stars
12/01/05 Arran Fishothy this is a work of art and jake this film is so good it makes ur mum look like shes fat 5 stars
12/01/05 Sam R BASEketball is the best comedy ever made 5 stars
7/06/05 Dm this film rocks its totally bad 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake Make's My Boss's Daughter look like a masterpiece! 1 stars
1/21/05 Jason Kaul When you have a whole conversation only using the word "dude", you know it's funny. 4 stars
1/19/05 Jeff Anderson THE FUNNIEST SPORTS COMEDY EVER MADE, PERIOD!! Take that you snobs. SQUEAK SCOLARI RULES IT 5 stars
10/30/04 HL A bit retarded.. Like the Stooges, you'll like this. 4 stars
8/17/04 Anthony G fucking so funny I jizzed 4 times 5 stars
6/20/04 Dan R. Very Underated... a cult classic 5 stars
4/17/04 BaztarD_101 Jenny McCarthy is HOT! 5 stars
4/13/04 Mr X This movie was okay regardless of what Stan and Kenny said 4 stars
4/07/04 Sig 'sd'... You're horseshit! and all the cheerleaders were HOT! 5 stars
4/01/04 sd horseshit! 1 stars
1/08/04 A F Can't....Stop....Laughing.....It's a sad day for me. 5 stars
11/09/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. THE SOUTH PARK CREATORS CAME UP WITH AMOVIE THAT'S CRUDE, LEWD, & NOT FOR 4 stars
10/06/03 tatum The Farrelly Brothers should take notes 5 stars
9/21/03 Jonathan Nicholas Amasing, Funny as hell. 5 stars
7/03/03 Jack Sommersby Not as barbed as one would like, but it's passable. 3 stars
5/14/03 Joel DeJong this is the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
4/28/03 Vitality1 I don't know why I love this movie more - b/c it's hilarious or b/c Reel Big Fish is in it! 5 stars
1/21/03 tina AWESOME 5 stars
9/23/02 syrius Bob Costas- "U're excited?! Feel how hard my nipples are!" 4 stars
8/07/02 Jon Will you sign my chicken please sir? 5 stars
7/29/02 Claire You'd never admit that you like this movie. Such a guilty pleasure! 5 stars
6/22/02 The Bomb69 the best "Airplane" and "South Park" any questions??? 5 stars
4/02/02 Film Guy Fucking Funny 5 stars
3/05/02 Julia Cox Never a good sign when Jenny McCarthy doesn't know whether she farted or not! 2 stars
3/04/02 Marcia Lartz Excellent beginning. Too bad it runs out of steam and gets dull. 3 stars
11/28/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is so funny as!!!!! it is KICK ASS, SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/24/01 Andrew Carden Very Predictible and Unfunny Movie With Tons Of Mis-Fire Gags. 2 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean I love the locker scene with the dicks swingin around 4 stars
8/17/01 Dakamus "1, 2, 3... fuck the Mexicans!" 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Very funny and great to watch. The mix of "Airplane!" and "South Park" is the best of mixes 4 stars
6/14/01 King Jackass Funny at times, but overdoes its only funny jokes. 4 stars
5/23/01 Bada Bing Crosby As funny as slamming your hand in the car door 1 stars
4/22/01 Luke Funny the first time .... 4 stars
1/22/01 jmr surprisingly funny. a delight 5 stars
12/09/00 SwatchDog Hehe - So hilarious, especially the "milking" scenes. What was with that gross kiss? 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin pretty dang hilarious 4 stars
8/04/00 Bender Sometimes it doesn't work, but there are some truly hilarious jokes in this movie. 4 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Not quite the dog-shit taco I thought it would be. 3 stars
2/04/00 arnold the funniest movie i've seen in a while 5 stars
10/19/99 Knight of the Rose This movie is real f#$@king hilarious. You have got to see it. 5 stars
10/15/99 GiantSlug Crazy shit! Gotta See! 5 stars
9/30/99 Physh One of the worst movies I have ever seen....but laughed 5 pounds off my ass 5 stars
9/05/99 Elizaveta Somehow this was pretty funny... 3 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK This movie is really stupid, but still better than Cannibal. Stick 2 SouthPark, for now. 2 stars
5/12/99 The Bomb 69 just take it for what it is for: stupid comedy done well 4 stars
4/20/99 Tim This movie is poor. I thought that the creators of a funny show South Park would do better 2 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Did I miss something? This movie retched. Go see Orgazmo that's a movie. 1 stars
1/29/99 Scott Stipe Really FUCKING Funny, Matt and Trey rule HELL 5 stars
11/29/98 d`d` In-your-face, twisted humor, gut wrenchingly funny 5 stars
11/19/98 josh m I can't believe these are the same people that created South Park 1 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce They went for cult tackiness, and they got it. Bleeth, McCarthy, Borgnine and Vaughan! Yay. 4 stars
10/29/98 Bad Kosh Woooohooo! Loads of hyped-out fun for any South Park fan! 5 stars
10/24/98 I'm Alfred Packer kick ass. 5 stars
10/17/98 eric sin-chan Hey, Trey Parker and Matt Stone rules! It sounds like fun, but well worth it. 4 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis If you thought this was good, South Park has gone to yer head, i wanted to like it. 2 stars
9/28/98 Heather Fun! Not the greatest movie of all time, but very enjoyable! 4 stars
9/19/98 Chip Taylor Great FFFFFFFUUUUCCCCKKKKKIIIIIINNNNNNGGGGGGGG FILM. 5 stars
9/18/98 {{{OZ}}} Some great moments, but not as good as the hype suggested. 3 stars
9/18/98 Christian I hate movies that all the funny parts are used up in the trailor...I did like Little Bitch 3 stars
9/12/98 Bart Barton horrible film 1 stars
9/08/98 toaster none 5 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein Don't read anything into this movie going in. It's just stupid fun. 3 stars
9/05/98 Mike Lancaster Ernest Borgnine humiliates himself. 2 stars
9/02/98 Bly How Could this movie ever be good? 1 stars
8/30/98 Matt i liked it more than the person who dragged me to go see it. trailers don't do it justice 4 stars
8/23/98 Superfly It's a shame it bombed so terribly like Barb Wire. 4 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Dude, it's fun shit. and there's butts. 4 stars
8/18/98 zubilicious it was okay, not as bad as i thought. i saw it in a shitty porn theater in canada. 3 stars
8/15/98 Schmeekins It wasn't totally awful. But it was kinda. 2 stars
8/14/98 Ryan_A Plot? It was funny as hell, though. 4 stars
8/12/98 Pumpkin Jenny McCarthy sucking the chrome off a bumper. Ya gotta love it. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 21-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast