More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.41

Awesome59.42%
Worth A Look: 21.74%
Average: 18.84%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 0%

3 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Laplace's Witch by Jay Seaver

Eighth Grade by Peter Sobczynski

Unfriended: Dark Web by Peter Sobczynski

Mamma Mia: Here We Go Again! by Peter Sobczynski

Boiled Angels: The Trial of Mike Diana by Jay Seaver

Buy Bust by Jay Seaver

Isle of Dogs by Rob Gonsalves

Room Laundering by Jay Seaver

Mega Time Squad by Jay Seaver

Profile by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Saviour
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"Better than you’d expect."
3 stars

Typical "solder with a soft side" movie with some pretty good action.

Soldier Dennis Quaid joins the Foreign Legion to kill Muslims in ex-Yugoslavia after his wife (Natassia Kinski) is killed in a Paris bombing. He regains his humanity when he escorts a Serb mother and her bastard Serb/Muslim child around the countryside where they are attacked by all sides. Quaid is actually surprisingly good in a film that doesn’t pull its punches despite some cliched scenes such as one where he must hold his hand across the baby’s moth to avoid capture.

Nothing too original, but done well enough. Should please actions fans a little more than others. (Gawain McLachlin--filmnet.org.au)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1301&reviewer=169
originally posted: 12/19/99 22:31:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/06/07 Roxana I am shoked with the brutality of the scenes who makes me think who we are and what we done 5 stars
9/07/06 Tyrel Miranda Nice Flim 4 stars
1/23/06 Aditya Rana A really touching movie. 5 stars
11/18/05 Jovnik Fantastic film, very realistic, hard to watch... 5 stars
8/02/05 ALOK TOTALLY AWSOME there are very few films like this 5 stars
7/25/05 Joseph Placid Very touching, inspirational 5 stars
7/20/05 Jazel Quirante HOPE REALLY IS WORTH DYING FOR... 5 stars
5/02/05 Sourish Dey A must see movie for all those who love war movies but remember that wars are horrible. 4 stars
4/07/05 Greg truely a masterpeice 5 stars
3/13/05 Tamara Burks A haunting movie that informs you of what some countries do to thier women. 4 stars
11/27/04 fiona very touching 5 stars
10/29/04 jay A Beautiful movie, Instance of art of humanity! I would give it 6 stars out of 5 ;) 5 stars
10/23/04 Zeljko Moving, Realistic, Heartbreaking 4 stars
10/19/04 dr mohan ullikashi the filmwhich touches your innercore of humanity 5 stars
10/19/04 kishore wadhwani excellent and very moving 5 stars
10/19/04 harkirat gill a movie which holds on to the viewers with the storyline 5 stars
10/18/04 seshadri it was truly unbelievable 5 stars
10/17/04 Sundar Parthasarathy Great Movie! The style is "in-your-face" kind yet there is human touch and tenderness 5 stars
10/01/04 gnaneeswar excellent movie!! a must seen. 5 stars
9/29/04 Kenna Claude Its a master piece, I admire the originately of ideas by both the writer and director 4 stars
9/26/04 VIctor This is superior, thoughtful film-making; honors the best cinema can be 5 stars
8/05/04 sabarinathan very good touching movie 5 stars
8/02/04 Neeraj Lakhera voilent but with human face to it,moving story 4 stars
6/01/04 ravi kiran excellent movie 5 stars
5/21/04 sanjay Great movie, catchy, leaves you with some thoughts and urge to go back in history, 5 stars
5/21/04 Crysler Emmanuel Moving !! 5 stars
5/17/04 ritu its new experience just grt 5 stars
5/17/04 veda Touching 5 stars
5/16/04 Vijay Kumar Gupta Its a great inspiring movie. 5 stars
5/16/04 Hariharan Disturbing story, but then we live in hell dont we?! 5 stars
4/26/04 Amardeep Singh Worth watching 5 stars
2/11/04 marvin snapp The comments by Gawain McLachlin just shows me that he just doesn't get it. Sad for him. 5 stars
9/21/03 Karen I thought the movie was pretty good. 4 stars
2/28/03 Ger Coughlan Very gritty drama, especially the mass execution scene, - Top marks! 5 stars
1/31/03 Josh fantastic! great filming, scenery, POWERFULL story. 5 stars
1/31/03 Dani Brilliant movie. It brought tears to my eyes 5 stars
12/28/02 anniebelle great flik (but for opening scene)--shock ending 5 stars
12/09/02 Rohit Sharma Suuuuuuperb Brillllliant piece of direction. Very touchin so far the best. Way to go !!! 5 stars
11/10/02 brett schlesinger one of the most disturbing movies i have ever seen 5 stars
8/24/02 brady clarke sensational. a brilliant movie 5 stars
8/17/02 LIAM JACKSON Fantastic! Quaid's portrayal of a psycho-turned-hero is brilliant. a definite must-see!**** 5 stars
8/08/02 I Can't Swim Tremendously brilliant. An emotional work out. See it or lose out. 5 stars
7/28/02 Bachi Heavy and emotionally brutal anti-war movie. Gawain just didn't get the point :( 5 stars
4/20/02 Josip Broz Gawain, you're a moron, not a reviewer. Amazing film, not a Schwartzenegger flick!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/11/02 Gita Sadovska I will never forgot it 5 stars
8/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby Hey reviewer it was real life, not a Stallone vehicle! Great fucking movie!! 5 stars
5/03/01 Bruce Messer Gawain McLachlin comment "Should please actions fans" shows what a complete idiot he is. 5 stars
1/22/01 Cindy Excellent film. Tells the truth from all sides. 5 stars
1/15/01 Mr. Movie Critic excellent film tells the truth about what went on 4 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Much more H.C. than I expected. Shoddy in parts, but stunning in others. 4 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Too mawkish and contrived to stir much emotion. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Nov-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Dec-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast