More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.84

Awesome: 4.42%
Worth A Look36.28%
Average: 20.35%
Pretty Bad: 16.81%
Total Crap: 22.12%

9 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Flightplan
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by U.J. Lessing

"The plot is getting thicker (and Leon’s getting laaaaarrrrger!)"
1 stars

The weight of Flightplan rests entirely on Jodie Foster’s shoulders. She’s practically in every shot. Unfortunately, Foster isn’t simply heaving a substandard thriller on her poor back. She’s also attempting to lift a terrible script, one-note direction, and a ton of clichéd scenes. To top it all off, Foster’s participation in the ludicrous third act, to continue my metaphor, may be just as damaging as a senior citizen lifting barbells from the waist, and may cause Foster to fire her chiroprac… oops…her agent.

Her attraction to this project is not surprising though. Jodi Foster is more prone to fads than an eleven-year-old at Toys-R-Us. She began her career as a lovable tom-boy actor, played a sluttish Lolita-type in the 70s, turned to portraying career-minded women passed over because of their gender in the late 80s and early 90s, and has now moved comfortably into a series of movies about shell-shocked mothers protecting their children.

Foster plays Kyle, an airplane engineer who has a rough time after her husband “accidentally” topples off the roof of their home in Germany. Was it a suicide? Was it an accident? Was he intentionally reducing his role to cameo status? Foster just doesn’t know.

Her husband’s passing doesn’t stop Kyle from taking long nighttime walks with him in the snow. Perhaps these delusional or phantasmagoric episodes are why Foster decides to take her doe-like daughter, Julia, and move back to America to start anew.

Foster and her daughter travel via an airplane the size of Berlin (and with more bathrooms too.) There are lounges, bars, multiple levels, secret panels, luggage compartments, baggage hold (complete with a brand new car within), a cockpit and flat screen televisions everywhere.

Once aboard, Kyle and her daughter fall asleep. When Kyle wakes, her greatest CNN-induced nightmare has been realized—her pretty white child has disappeared, and apparently none of the other passengers remembers her. Is her daughter real, or another delusion?

As realization and doubt creep into Kyle’s subconscious, she storms through the plane with the determination of General Macarthur and a battle cry of, “Where’s my daughter? Where’s my daughter? Where’s my daughter? Where’s my daughter?”

She does get limited help from Captain Boromir, son of Denathor (Sean Bean unsuccessfully attempting to shed typecasting) and a mellow air marshal, Peter Sarsgaard. However, they offer minimal help and maximum doubt.

In the end, Kyle must take charge by forcefully searching every nook and cranny of the plane through sneakiness and sabotage. In this post 9/11 era, I found it perturbing that engineers would place crucial hardware in a crawl space easily accessible from the bathroom.

This is a one-note film, where every scene carries the exact amount of tension and pacing as the previous one. There is no variety, and if one were to shuffle the scenes around in a random order, Flightplan would feel exactly the same.

The film ends with Foster learning that the conniving pilot kidnapped her daughter in an attempt to sell her to a German child slave labor ring. In all seriousness, I made that up, and I don’t want to spoil the ending for you. However, my invented ending accurately simulates the sense of bewilderment you will experience when Flightplan finally reveals its conclusion.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13113&reviewer=396
originally posted: 09/27/05 12:33:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell flawed but tense 4 stars
2/20/11 Ark Mostly turd! Silly writing, she JUST HAPPENS to have designed the plane? Turd writing! 3 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Ugg boring!! 2 stars
6/09/08 PAUL SHORTT AN EXERCISE IN PURE ENTERTAINMENT 4 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann Jodie Foster in most every movie: "You hurt my daughter...I'm gonna kick your ass." Yawn... 2 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White farfetched plan but what it lacks in plot Foster makes up in acting 4 stars
12/12/07 Double M Interesting premise ruined by lame, illogical "twists" and plotholes. just a crowd pleaser. 2 stars
8/07/07 R.W. Welch Contrived, unconvincing, yet mildly diverting. 3 stars
6/04/07 Ropa Dope Pure unadulterated poop. As stupid as it can get. 1 stars
1/30/07 Matt Jodie's magic shines through and saves the day for this otherwise silly bit of nonsense. 4 stars
1/16/07 K Jones The initially interesting plot descends into utter stupidity. Not one I'll be seeing again. 2 stars
12/19/06 MP Bartley Starts well, ends ludicrously, always enjoyable. 3 stars
12/15/06 Cara takes a nosedive at the end 2 stars
11/07/06 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 4 stars
10/28/06 Richard It had a nice atmosphere to it. 4 stars
8/26/06 Stanley Thai A great thriller w/ great acting. Such a fantastic film. 4 stars
6/16/06 lia arab countertype as evident of how villain doesn't related to any race!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
5/08/06 Diane Perkins really good, keeps your attention, very suspensful 4 stars
4/24/06 millersxing Cramped, claustrophobic, & a bit dull. Jodie and Peter give the material a lift. 3 stars
4/05/06 John too predictable and boring 1 stars
4/01/06 Nobody Fun to try to predict what will happen. Has enough twists to keep it interesting. 5 stars
3/31/06 Dan fun 4 stars
3/19/06 Jeromebosch Garbage 1 stars
3/15/06 Indrid Cold A pleasant diversion, but totally forgettable. 3 stars
3/03/06 Simon Valueless. Foster being characteristically irritating; uninspired plot. a slight thrill. 2 stars
2/24/06 ES Didn't mind it 3 stars
2/12/06 Joe Smaltz Boring bullshit plot, effects, ect 1 stars
2/10/06 Monday Morning Many TV shows are better than this flick. And Jody, you're not aging well. 1 stars
1/26/06 Rocky I'll never see another heroic J. Foster cardio-machine mother in dire straits waste of film 2 stars
1/15/06 Quigley a really dysfunctional Red Eye wanna-be, filled with political icons and creepy assistants 2 stars
1/11/06 Tamara D.Leonard I was bored to tears. So disappointed because I thought it would be awesome w/Jodie in it. 2 stars
1/09/06 Anthony Feor i use to hate Jodie Foster untill this movie 4 stars
12/29/05 Jenna Furr Before pushing detonator, Kyle should've said "Whoopy kigh yigh yay, motherfucker!" 4 stars
12/21/05 Littlepurch Really enjoyed it. Great acting from Foster and a good plot - not a let down at the end! 4 stars
12/08/05 Dee portraying arabs as suspects on a flight -how insensitve 2 stars
12/07/05 alice I agree about the ending, they should stop doing that! 3 stars
11/14/05 john bale Foster plays the fighting Mum again well, but the plot is mainly nonsense 4 stars
11/12/05 Dan Its total utter fantasy.. 1 stars
11/11/05 Dan Smith Jodie Foster was alright,but over all needs work. 3 stars
10/25/05 DEEDeeDEEe ITS REDEYE EXCEPT, TAKE YOUR LITTLE KID ON THE PLANE, WOW! 1 stars
10/24/05 Jessy The camra angles were of decent quality but the script direction could have used some work. 2 stars
10/20/05 Agent Sands OK, you know what? These pat endings are really getting out of fucking hand! 3 stars
10/19/05 Valerie awesome. 5 stars
10/12/05 --- So its the air marshals we should be afraid of not arab terrorists..OOOKAAAY... 2 stars
10/12/05 Chelito is the captain the mortuary director? who cares? Why did I spend $8 on this movie? 1 stars
10/11/05 Quigley foster was good, sean bean was wasted. red eye is much better; this one wasn't that great 3 stars
10/08/05 Ryanrc very cool 5 stars
10/07/05 Louise McChrystal Entertaining, a little slow at times 4 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Very exhilirating thriller. Kept me on the edge of my seat. Foster is great. 4 stars
10/03/05 Chris Pretty decent 4 stars
10/03/05 whateverman Waste of money. Decent directing, moronic script. 1 stars
10/01/05 TD Good premise, great Foster/Bean, terrible writing. 2 stars
9/30/05 tony Amazing! I never thought it was that good! Spellbinding! 5 stars
9/30/05 zinnmeister complete crap 1 stars
9/28/05 Ramazan Güneºp 1 stars
9/26/05 Jonathon Holmes same formula thriller crap...only worse 1 stars
9/25/05 Josh Standlee Fucking horrible! Boring characters in a boring movie really sucks! 1 stars
9/25/05 lulu papa excellent and intense; dont read between the lines 5 stars
9/24/05 Raymond it got pretty cheesy at the end. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Sep-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Nov-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast