More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.96

Awesome40%
Worth A Look: 38.67%
Average: 9.33%
Pretty Bad: 1.33%
Total Crap: 10.67%

5 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


October Sky
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Heartwarming Biopic is for Everyone"
4 stars

October Sky (***) - October Sky is the kind of movie that the more of yourself you identify with the main character, the more you’ll enjoy it. Which is not to say that there’s not a lot to like in this movie - but it is a rather conventional one with all the requisite plot twists that anyone who habitually sees movie will see coming like an acquittal in the Senate.

But I digress. Just like this young year’s Varsity Blues and She’s All That, we’ve seen this movie before or at least a variation of it. Small town boy with big dreams but overcome the standards of the town he lives in and his own family to breakout and realize his passion…yadda…yadda…yadda. Varsity Blues came up just a little short for me and She’s All That had a lot of good humor and heart and so does October Sky. All the performances are well handled and there are wise choices in handling the boy’s father. I think I actually learned more about coal mining than I did rockets and wish there was a little more information about some of their accomplishments, but the rocket scenes do take on a simple pleasure, bringing the viewer back perhaps to their own childhood with their sense of wonder.

October Sky certainly isn’t a great movie, but a pleasant one, and one I can recommend - which, so far, in 1999, is a wonder in itself.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1316&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 09:23:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell heartwarming uplifting a great film 5 stars
7/18/10 PAUL SHORTT HEARTWARMING, ENGAGING DRAMA 3 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. very inspiring :] 4 stars
8/31/08 noops Dill Havarti..... go and find another job.. u r not fit for review writing... 5 stars
4/29/07 Jackospacko Oh yeah! That was fucking good! Suck eggs losers who think it sucks! 5 stars
5/08/06 Thomas Semesky A great film score, good story telling, axcellent acting. An underrated film. 5 stars
2/26/05 brandi like it it taught me always try even though it may not go right the first time 5 stars
11/02/04 j mann sooo baddd i thought julia roberts was going to show up 1 stars
10/11/04 Neilmar baldevia it was just a superb movie it really inspired me they better watch it. 4 stars
10/06/04 Beth awesome movie really i loved it 5 stars
9/16/04 DJ WTFPWNT 5 stars
8/01/04 R.W. Welch Apt account of space age dawn and its impact. Likeable cast. 4 stars
5/20/04 Jessica Bourke Sound wasn't greaat at times but it was still moving and a definate enjoyable watch. 5 stars
1/12/04 Chlo Gyllenhaal I think this movie is terribly underrated - outstanding! 5 stars
3/04/03 Phil M. Aficionado Script was sophomoric (esp early part) but good story and touching 4 stars
8/21/02 I Can't Swim No surprises but dependable, solid moviemaking. Jake is jake 5 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden Dern's Performance Is Oscar-Worthy. 5 stars
4/21/01 noah blue William L. Scott deserves more credit for his part as Roy L Cook. 5 stars
4/02/01 William Anders My favorite movie 5 stars
2/24/01 Kathy It was heartwarming and encouraging 5 stars
2/18/01 Amy It touched me 5 stars
1/25/01 jaclyn I love the movie. Seen it about 30 times. 5 stars
7/25/00 Tyler Peterson fuck you david rogers this movie was good. 5 stars
4/28/00 Shawn Burden David Rogers can suck my fucking hairy bean bag. I thought the movie was great!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/01/00 Arnaldo Cruz very moving moving, with an amazing cinematografy,well directed and a fine score 5 stars
3/19/00 David Rogers It had some humor in it, but the rest was just boring. 2 stars
2/22/00 Bozo Of course it was great. If I hated a movie like this I'd question my entire life up to now 5 stars
12/27/99 Malini I've seen this movie 7 times and bought it, i luv it, i luv Jake Gyllenhaal! 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic I expected more from this. A bit too preachy, slammed every point too far. 4 stars
10/01/99 rob Brilliant-this is what movies are supposed to be. 5 stars
9/23/99 GothamDK Really great flick. The fact that it is a true story puts it over the top. 5 stars
9/12/99 Sarah Case An excellent movie for anyone who needs to believe in the power of dreams. Inspirational!!! 5 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy Affecting. 4 stars
7/27/99 Laz I hope I never become as jaded as your reviewer.This is a wonderful film. High marks indeed 5 stars
5/10/99 GG Too bad more people don't have such AMBITION! 5 stars
4/28/99 Space NUT Proud of our space-fairing heritage. More people should dream like these kids! 5 stars
4/08/99 Brian M great reach for the stars story 4 stars
4/06/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne I'd rather saw both my legs off then see this movie again. 1 stars
4/04/99 John Loved It! Best of 99! 5 stars
3/21/99 Daddy Rich A great story. A movie everyone of all ages would enjoy. 5 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz An optimistic, good natured story of improbable success 4 stars
2/26/99 Elizabeth This was pretty good, I enjoyed it myself, Its got a good message. 4 stars
2/24/99 Shad Mallady A nice light - hearted movie, kinda a tear jerker 4 stars
2/21/99 mark h Inspiring true story.Realistic acting.Should win an award. 5 stars
2/20/99 Odie61 Space Camp : The Next Generation 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Feb-1999 (PG)
  DVD: 25-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Oct-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast