More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.66

Awesome: 7.87%
Worth A Look: 26.97%
Average: 2.25%
Pretty Bad49.44%
Total Crap: 13.48%

9 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum by Jay Seaver

Long Day's Journey Into Night (2018) by Jay Seaver

Shadow by Jay Seaver

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché by Jay Seaver

Hustle, The by Peter Sobczynski

Detective Pikachu by Peter Sobczynski

Mope by Jay Seaver

Tone-Deaf by Jay Seaver

Bolden by Jay Seaver

Savage (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Domino
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by William Goss

"A No-Win Situation"
2 stars

Director Tony Scott takes every artistic method he used to give 'Man on Fire' a fierce, kinetic energy and puts it to most annoying use in 'Domino,' an aimless attempt at an action movie, complete with convoluted storytelling, epileptic editing, and pervasive pessimism.

Keira Knightley stars in the titular role as Domino Harvey, the daughter of Oscar-nominated actor Laurence Harvey, who gave up a life of modeling to become – say it with me – “a bountee huntah” in Los Angeles. The film starts out clever enough, with the on-screen disclaimer, “Based on a true story. Sort of.” Domino is recollecting her life story to an FBI agent (Lucy Liu) after an assignment has gone awry. She proceeds through her constant disdain for life in Beverly Hills, until a bounty hunter seminar catches her eye, and she suddenly decides to change occupations, from a life of modeling to a life of bounty hunting with Ed (Mickey Rourke) and Choco (a stubbornly one-note Edgar Ramirez).

Once the true story ends, the film forms a stockpile of characters, from Christopher Walken as a TV producer eager to put the trio on the air to Beverly Hills 90210 alums Brian Austin Green and Ian Ziering playing themselves. With the characters come their respective narrative tangents, most of which never pay off, like an amusing Jerry Springer piece that feels out of place with the rest of the film. Screenwriter Richard Kelly (Donnie Darko) tosses in some humorous one-liners, but for the most part, the plot takes over and begins to weave a worthless web. Once the film catches up to where it began, the film becomes notably somber and eliminates any fluke fun the first half may have caused, making the drawn-out climax all the more dull.

Tony Scott brings his typical traits to the proceedings: frantic editing, stylish subtitles, and sloppy cinematography. However, this film is dominated by his latest trick of echoing and overlapping lines, and it is used to a most grating degree. Half of the film’s dialogue seems to consist of Knightley’s monotonous repetition of either “I am a bountee huntah” or her motto of “Heads, you live. Tails, you die.” When a film has to rely on flow charts to advance the plot, it should become apparent that perhaps the tale is too tangled for its own good. Told in a straight-forward fashion by anyone else, this film might have earned a better reception.

I cannot recall the last time that I had been so outright annoyed by just the opening credits. Alas, old habits die hard for Tony Scott, and 'Domino' is a frenzied nuisance of a movie as a result.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13168&reviewer=409
originally posted: 10/25/05 15:28:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell spastic filmaking gave me headache 1 stars
8/29/09 Julian Just AWFUL and Knightley lived up to her crap acting fame as usual 1 stars
8/21/08 PAUL SHORTT UGLY, IN EVERY SENSE OF THE WORD 1 stars
7/19/08 mike so bored I took a 2 hour nap while watching 1 stars
8/02/07 fools♫gold Richard Kelly and Tom Waits (and 2 Live Crew, if I remember right)... butIwas disappointed. 4 stars
5/27/07 Steve Newman Keira - what a body - average, would have been crappy without her body!!! 3 stars
5/12/07 The Grinch Guess which one of the Scotts got the talent for storytelling. 2 stars
3/20/07 Brian Mckay more spastic, craptastic directing from Tony Scott. Good thing his brother is Ridley 2 stars
2/27/07 Jason Is Tony Scott an ADHD sufferer on crack? 1 stars
1/13/07 Tiffany great movie. Loved Keira knightley. She is great. 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini keira knightley is hot! 4 stars
9/19/06 PD Pseudo-stylish film whose charicatures are just waaaay to "cool". 2 stars
8/05/06 Agent Sands The most entertaining piece of shit I've ever seen. 4 stars
6/08/06 San Lamar at least lucy liu looked good 2 stars
6/06/06 ad guess I expected much less. It's enjoyable and the cast is good 4 stars
4/13/06 bizenya it's a shame knightley's good performance in this will never be acknowledged 4 stars
4/04/06 Indrid Cold There's a little bit of substance to go with the ridiculous overload of style. 3 stars
3/13/06 elaine I wish they would have told the true story wthout trying to be a pulp fiction wanna be! 2 stars
3/10/06 burton miller choppy, random, goofy - could have been good 2 stars
3/03/06 Tanya awful, very unrealistic 2 stars
2/24/06 ES Got some chills and thrills, maybe re-watchable in a few years 4 stars
2/22/06 Jeff Anderson Not great, but it's daring, ambitious & one wild ride to say the least. Cast is first-rate! 4 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands Incredibly flawed, uneven, and shoddy, but fuck if I wasn't thoroughly entertained. 4 stars
2/20/06 Perry Mason Tony Scott just gave me a very bad headache with this movie. Keira is good though. 2 stars
12/10/05 anka ... 5 stars
12/01/05 louis adcock excellent, one of the best films ever 5 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz Interesting and complex story. good action, but forgetable. 4 stars
10/23/05 jeff fun movie, keira hmmmm. 5 stars
10/21/05 John a great cast in one of the worst movies in recent memory 1 stars
10/20/05 asina good performances, bad directing. 4 stars
10/20/05 odditie Love you Scott, your movies rule 5 stars
10/20/05 Bob Bourgeois One hell of an interesting story even it was only half true. One you'll remember. 5 stars
10/18/05 jcjs Tony's fun style, great acting, wonderfully entertaining, splendid music, not for knitpick 5 stars
10/17/05 Agent Sands Despite the endless amount of major problems, I can't say I didn't enjoy every frame. 4 stars
10/14/05 bizenya could have been great, but has too much glitter and flash. knightley better than expected 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Oct-2005 (R)
  DVD: 21-Feb-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Dec-2005


Directed by
  Tony Scott

Written by
  Richard Kelly

Cast
  Keira Knightley
  Mickey Rourke
  Lucy Liu
  Delroy Lindo
  Christopher Walken
  Mena Suvari



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast