More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.66

Awesome: 7.87%
Worth A Look: 26.97%
Average: 2.25%
Pretty Bad49.44%
Total Crap: 13.48%

9 reviews, 35 user ratings



Domino
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jack Sommersby

"Lee Majors'"
2 stars

I should have known I was in trouble when an hour into "Domino" I thought to myself, "This is an entertaining Tony Scott film; the best since almost 20 years ago with "Beverly Hills Cop II." Talk about knocking on wood and cursing yourself.

Cut-rate characterizations and a second half that's as deadly as black-mamba venom make the quasi-biopic Domino an unforgivable misfire, one that starts out quite enterainingly just so it can dwindle down to an abyss of complete and utter inanity. The British babe Keira Knightley puts plenty of gusto into the role of Domino Harvey, a Beverly Hills-bred dissatisfied punk-rocker-dressed rich kid who ditches her career as a model and becomes instead a Los Angeles bounty hunter under the tutelage of legendary at-his-trade Mickey Rourke, only to soon find herself pierced-naval-deep in an armored-car robbery and kidnapping that results in numerous bloodbaths that'd make the late Sam Peckinpah weep in admiration. For a while, the film is good fun, with a trashy subject matter given appropriately trashy handling by Scott; unlike his previous misfire, Man on Fire, his uncouth, everything-but-the-kitchen-sink camerabatics punctuates rather than punctures the material. And Rourke, after being relegated to the supporting-actor ranks for far too long, takes his role and invests it with genuine brio and bravado. As for Knightley, she's adequate but isn't given much in the way of opportunity to earn her lunch because the screenplay doesn't bother much with her character -- after she's hired, and after she goes on only one job, the film breezes over her bounty-hunter life as if were a mere after-thought. We don't get to see how she takes down her quarry on an everyday basis, how she succeeds and keeps on the job, and when the second half kicks in she could be just about any tough-talking, two-fisted, gun-toting movie character. (Edgar Ramirez, as the third member of hers and Rourke's team, and her eventual love interest, has a much more romantic and intriguing presence.) For a film that purports to be telling the brave unorthodox tale of a beautiful female bounty hunter, Domino is only interested in plugging her into a threadbare violent story to give it the illusion of grandeur, and it's a facade that quickly wears thin. Scott culminates everything into another of his True Romance-ian grand shootouts, with mobsters and the cops and the heroes shooting it out, and as usual, because of Scott's phantasmagorical juxtaposing, you can't tell where anyone is in relation to one another; yet he seems as addicted to this kind of show-off staging as a horny jock to Red Bull. Can Knightley act? I don't know. She didn't exactly stick out in the lumbering King Arthur, but I don't know who could make something feasible and substantial out of the unjustly-ignored lead character in this overblown, unfocused cinematic mess. Best a bounty be put on the screenwriter, methinks.

There's also Steve McQueen's last film, "The Hunter", that was a better entertainment in regards to bounty hunting.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13168&reviewer=327
originally posted: 06/08/06 05:59:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell spastic filmaking gave me headache 1 stars
8/29/09 Julian Just AWFUL and Knightley lived up to her crap acting fame as usual 1 stars
8/21/08 PAUL SHORTT UGLY, IN EVERY SENSE OF THE WORD 1 stars
7/19/08 mike so bored I took a 2 hour nap while watching 1 stars
8/02/07 fools♫gold Richard Kelly and Tom Waits (and 2 Live Crew, if I remember right)... butIwas disappointed. 4 stars
5/27/07 Steve Newman Keira - what a body - average, would have been crappy without her body!!! 3 stars
5/12/07 The Grinch Guess which one of the Scotts got the talent for storytelling. 2 stars
3/20/07 Brian Mckay more spastic, craptastic directing from Tony Scott. Good thing his brother is Ridley 2 stars
2/27/07 Jason Is Tony Scott an ADHD sufferer on crack? 1 stars
1/13/07 Tiffany great movie. Loved Keira knightley. She is great. 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini keira knightley is hot! 4 stars
9/19/06 PD Pseudo-stylish film whose charicatures are just waaaay to "cool". 2 stars
8/05/06 Agent Sands The most entertaining piece of shit I've ever seen. 4 stars
6/08/06 San Lamar at least lucy liu looked good 2 stars
6/06/06 ad guess I expected much less. It's enjoyable and the cast is good 4 stars
4/13/06 bizenya it's a shame knightley's good performance in this will never be acknowledged 4 stars
4/04/06 Indrid Cold There's a little bit of substance to go with the ridiculous overload of style. 3 stars
3/13/06 elaine I wish they would have told the true story wthout trying to be a pulp fiction wanna be! 2 stars
3/10/06 burton miller choppy, random, goofy - could have been good 2 stars
3/03/06 Tanya awful, very unrealistic 2 stars
2/24/06 ES Got some chills and thrills, maybe re-watchable in a few years 4 stars
2/22/06 Jeff Anderson Not great, but it's daring, ambitious & one wild ride to say the least. Cast is first-rate! 4 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands Incredibly flawed, uneven, and shoddy, but fuck if I wasn't thoroughly entertained. 4 stars
2/20/06 Perry Mason Tony Scott just gave me a very bad headache with this movie. Keira is good though. 2 stars
12/10/05 anka ... 5 stars
12/01/05 louis adcock excellent, one of the best films ever 5 stars
10/27/05 deadwiz Interesting and complex story. good action, but forgetable. 4 stars
10/23/05 jeff fun movie, keira hmmmm. 5 stars
10/21/05 John a great cast in one of the worst movies in recent memory 1 stars
10/20/05 asina good performances, bad directing. 4 stars
10/20/05 odditie Love you Scott, your movies rule 5 stars
10/20/05 Bob Bourgeois One hell of an interesting story even it was only half true. One you'll remember. 5 stars
10/18/05 jcjs Tony's fun style, great acting, wonderfully entertaining, splendid music, not for knitpick 5 stars
10/17/05 Agent Sands Despite the endless amount of major problems, I can't say I didn't enjoy every frame. 4 stars
10/14/05 bizenya could have been great, but has too much glitter and flash. knightley better than expected 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Oct-2005 (R)
  DVD: 21-Feb-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Dec-2005


Directed by
  Tony Scott

Written by
  Richard Kelly

Cast
  Keira Knightley
  Mickey Rourke
  Lucy Liu
  Delroy Lindo
  Christopher Walken
  Mena Suvari



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast