More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.14

Awesome: 22.83%
Worth A Look26.09%
Average: 18.48%
Pretty Bad: 7.61%
Total Crap: 25%

6 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Drop Dead Gorgeous
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"i laughed. i was jealous, but i laughed."
3 stars

any movie that contains extensive use of the phrase "the tard" referring to the mentally challenged is worth 5 bucks in my book. the previews did take a lot of the best scenes, but not the stuff that was the most wrong. and i love the wrong stuff most. cause i'm evil like that.

"she's skinny, not deaf!" one of the things i admired most about this movie is that nothing was taboo. now, most movies that people say that about contain a lot of humor based on bodily functions. but this one, i mean, they make fun of alcoholics, NRA freaks, farmers, rich folk, trailer park trash, anorexics, beautiful people, ugly people... every. body. it was cool.

girls should see it cause it makes fun of all the girls you hated in highschool. guys should see it because those girls happen to be vixens. man, after seeing kristen dunst dance her way home from school, it really made me want to be skinny and pretty and, you know, a nice person.

yeah right. that'll happen. but it is noteworthy to point out taht the guy i went with was panting over denise richards, the stupid whore, who wasn't even that pretty, and i should have taken it as a cue that he's a big loser. btu i figured that out the next night, so it's all good in my personal life, thanks for asking. so girls, if your date wants denise richards and not kristen dunst, examine him pretty carefully.

moving right along, this movie was choppy, and the mockumentary format of it was unusual and i think was a little distracting, but contributed so perfectly to one of the best jokes in the movie (involving subtitles and overalls) that i feel it was worth it.

the acting was... very over the top. very consistent, very ridiculous. eveyrthing it was designed to be. "oh yeah, dad? well marc's gay. GAY!" wonderful. not good acting in itself, but very entertaining. the casting is what made this movie. ellen barkin was just choice.

the moral of the story is a good one in the end, so it ended up being a cheesy yet edgy movie. an odd combination, and apart from some rocky pacing, i really enojyed it. very slapsticky, so i'm giving it 3 sporks, because it was most certainly worth a rental.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1317&reviewer=6
originally posted: 07/29/99 07:00:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/20/13 PAUL SHORTT IRRITATING, MEAN-SPIRITED AND CONTRIVED 1 stars
9/28/10 Phineas DROP DEAD HOLLYWOOD, for your RACIST depictions of White Minnesotans!!!! 1 stars
11/07/09 art RIDICULOUS! 1 stars
2/19/07 Tiffany funny, in a dumb blonde kinda way 4 stars
6/14/06 Lisa First watch really funny. Second watch didn't laugh. Not a fave. 4 stars
5/23/06 Ashley Hinz Strange, very strange. 2 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson Some very funny moments & the cast is a BLAST, but the film doesn't know when to quit! 3 stars
7/25/04 Michelle Bird I THOUGHT THIS MOVIE WAS REALLY CREATIVE! 5 stars
7/17/04 J I feel like dropping dead after seeing this film. 3 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt A hilarious and underrated dark comedy! 5 stars
12/18/03 funny yeah 5 stars
8/23/03 Valerie Cameron Kirsten D. awesome! then dookyheads go waste her on crap like virgin suicides & bring it on 5 stars
6/14/03 snowconehead Does anyone else miss "The State" ? 5 stars
3/23/03 pj Oh, I thought it was pretty damn funny 4 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig a true look at dark world of midwest life and status quo plus kirsten is hot 5 stars
11/29/02 mr. Pink Flawed, but hilarious in some parts! Cast, even Richards, is great. 4 stars
11/09/02 Stevo Very funny for a while but ran out of good material after about half an hour. 4 stars
9/21/02 I Can't Swim One good scene w/Mo Collins & that SNL chick cannot save this horseshit 1 stars
6/24/02 blake not bad 4 stars
6/12/02 Helen Souter Rated only 3.5 stars??? I loved this movie. This website is bullshit. 5 stars
3/25/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) How is this Fucking Awesome? Jesus Christ, this is more like horseshit on celluloid! 1 stars
1/31/02 Valerie Cameron Kirsten D. awesome! then dookyheads go waste her on crap like virgin suicides & bring it on 5 stars
1/17/02 Jockstud Anyone who doesn't see the great humor in this movie needs a vagina. 5 stars
1/01/02 Andrew Carden It Was OK...Wasn't Much Of A Funny Comedy, but Still Watchable. 3 stars
9/18/01 cinkcool Has its Moments. 4 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Nice comedy that was corny in some places. 3 stars
8/31/01 Gary Solid three-star comedy. Good performances and some really strong comic moments. 3 stars
8/26/01 bob davis this is a funny movie. sorry the critics "missed" it 5 stars
6/12/01 Rebecca Hartnett It was a good movie, kirsten did great. 4 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen I absolutely HATE documentary style films. The mother's hand being fried to a can was good 2 stars
2/07/01 the?girl prob. best viewed by those outside looking in... black and piss funny. 4 stars
9/08/00 Gray Kirsten Dunst is really good in this. Denise Richards is crappy tho. Pretty funny. 4 stars
7/05/00 Elvisfan Janney aside, this movie reeked of yesterday's barfbag 1 stars
6/04/00 Luke *********************!!!!!!! This movie is pure gold!!! 5 stars
3/24/00 SwatchDog Delightful satire on the pageant biz! Allison Janney + the step ladder dance rule! 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic An attempted satire that tried to be funny and biting but failed both tasks miserably. 1 stars
11/28/99 Joel Harwood Worth a look if you no what i mean 5 stars
11/19/99 Lary waste 1 stars
11/16/99 Miyo Funny, got to be in a good/silly mood to appreciate it. 4 stars
10/26/99 H'Woodbigshot Made by ugly, fat H'wood whores who can't get a man 1 stars
10/16/99 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 5 stars
10/10/99 Viral Messiah Worse than Jawbreaker! 2 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Yucky movie 1 stars
9/24/99 Rob hey, who gives a shit about correctness, it's ok too laugh! 5 stars
9/16/99 Ratso Hey, people blow up...that's funny! Denise Richards explodes! Literally! OZZY! 5 stars
9/11/99 Timbo You people suck dancing with jesus rules 5 stars
9/02/99 Nick A very,very funny movie that makes fun of all things close to americans hearts 5 stars
8/20/99 Annie Very fun...we laughed all the way through 5 stars
8/19/99 Admiral Crunch I've seen better on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno 2 stars
8/04/99 Ah Dooey Should've been called Drop Dead Stupid. Stupidity does matter. 2 stars
8/01/99 mara ...tries to be shocking, is just stupid...only good things->kirsten dunst, her mom's hand 2 stars
7/29/99 ralph norton Don't miss this one its a comic gem!!! 5 stars
7/29/99 Narwhal A brilliant poke at MN bumpkinerry and human faults 5 stars
7/26/99 Laa-laa Um, this was bad. It had potential, but it sucked. 2 stars
7/24/99 Malbert Funny movie 4 stars
7/02/99 David The trailers had the best parts; the whole is a horrible, obvious mess. Vulgar, unfunny 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Nov-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast