More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.79

Awesome: 0%
Worth A Look: 11.43%
Average57.14%
Pretty Bad: 30%
Total Crap: 1.43%

6 reviews, 34 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lion King, The (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Stare by Jay Seaver

DreadOut by Jay Seaver

S He by Jay Seaver

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pushing Tin
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Just what is it that sits so wrong about this movie? I know."
3 stars

It's a God damn TV series. Or it should have been. They used TV writers, they skipped over the real danger of the premise, and turned the whole damn thing into a boy meets workmates wife, sleeps with, gets stupid in the head drama. Dawson's Creek in an airport.

But does that mean the film is crap? Noooooo. In fact, if you were going to use TV writers to make a funny movie, you'd get no better than the guys who kept Cheers going for half a century. And the results are on screen - witty off-handed remarks, some great one-liners, simple but effective set-ups and punchlines. It all works well, and the laughs are plentiful enough to get by.

But that ain't enough. Cheers never was a great love-story, so lord only knows why they tried to turn this, a good premise for a psychological drama, into a schamltzy near-romance.

Performances are great. Hands up who didn't like John Cusack in Say Anything.... no hands. I figured as much. Well, that's good, cos if his character had aged ten years and got hitched, this is exactly where he'd be. Cusack brings all the charm he'd ever put into Lloyd Dobler back for another outing, and adds a little bit of dickhead to the mix, the result being someone you root for, but shake your head at. Billy Bob is icy, yet funny and likeable. He's got mega-props over the past few years for roles that, to be honest, haven't set me alight, but here he hits every mark he's supposed to.

Angelina Jolie is ultra-sexual as all hell (and sound performace-wise, smashing my suspicions that she was all hype), and Cate Blanchett busts out of the Elizabeth stereotyping before it's even had a chance to take hold, with a great Long Island yenta impression.

So it's all good, right? Nooooooo. This movie is one of those sad bastards that has all the elements there, but something very important is missing. It's like, you've got the fondue in the oven, and you realise the egg white is still sitting on the bench-top. It's out there, too late to make adjustments now.

To be honest, if I was Ahmed the Magical God of film, I wouldn't know what part of this movie to tap my wand on. It's just... not there.

You know how sometimes you're in a crappy mood and you have no reason to be, but you are anyway so shut the hell up already? Well, that's what mood this movie is in. It wants to be too many things and it fails in being any of them really well.

Put it down to direction, put it down for a matinee, but it is worth putting down on your list for a rainy day. A cheap one.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1318&reviewer=1
originally posted: 05/08/99 23:44:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/14/13 PAUL SHORTT THIN, PREDICTABLE COMEDY-DRAMA DESPITE GOOD PERFORMANCES 2 stars
11/22/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting Movie! 3 stars
2/08/07 Matt Disappointingly lame look at one of the world's worst jobs. Opportunity squandered. 3 stars
12/12/06 shanice not good 2 stars
8/19/06 Michele funny 4 stars
2/24/06 Bad Critic Great performances from everyone, especially Cusack. Very funny and likable. 4 stars
11/14/04 Paul Holding The critic is a little harsh but nonetheless there is some truth to it. Good cast 4 stars
8/01/04 julio laliberte this story has no point 2 stars
10/12/03 laura paterson i found it funny but Jolie annoyed me! 4 stars
7/31/03 francis Misses the mark, not sure why. Credibility a problem. Where did Jolie's lips come from? 3 stars
4/22/03 mr. Pink A low point for everyone in this movie. how could this have happened. Unconvincing, boring! 1 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Jolie's cleavage is more interesting than the unrealized story. 2 stars
3/13/02 Hyacinth Andrews I didn't notice Angelica Jolie was in this. As all too often, she's wasted. 2 stars
4/02/01 Jesse L Cusack and Jolie both falter badly 2 stars
1/24/01 Sully completely predictable - not a typical Cusack funky style flick. Jolie is so fucking sexy!! 3 stars
11/05/00 Gray A film couldn't be more average. It's so average I'm unsure whether or not there was a plot 3 stars
10/01/00 Fishsticks Not bad although it didn't fit somehow.. 3 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island too contrived, although it had its moments. Too sitcom-like. 3 stars
3/23/00 Tom McNulty Missable. 3 stars
1/04/00 Gotham DK This film surprised me. Good rapport between characters. Lame ending, though. 4 stars
12/18/99 SID Long and pointless. The runway scene and Angelina Jolie's breasts save it from being awful. 2 stars
8/03/99 Pierce Lanson Great start, good acting, crappy ending. 3 stars
8/01/99 Meepos Could have been great, but something was missing. 2 stars
6/15/99 David Everything seems right on paper, but why is the film so passionless? 2 stars
5/28/99 pipeman Disappointing finish to an otherwise good film. Walk out 20 min before the end. 3 stars
5/23/99 Ami the Wonderbread Blanchett, Cusak, & Thorton were all fantastic, but too bad no real story 3 stars
5/20/99 Carisa Pretty good. I enjoyed it. Esp. Billy Bob Thorton an John Cusack were great. 4 stars
4/30/99 Lisa I really wanted to love this film, but I didn't! 3 stars
4/27/99 Michelle Interesting concept and characters that just didnt' live up to their potential 3 stars
4/27/99 George C. Boring scenes in the control room-adults playing video games 3 stars
4/26/99 Daddy Rich Cusak and Thornton were great. Jolie is a fucking hottie! 4 stars
4/26/99 Mr Showbiz A gem of an idea that's woefully under-served. 3 stars
4/21/99 schloofy this is smart and well acted. a great workplace comedy 4 stars
4/03/99 E Don't hold your breath for this film to end up as in-flight entertainment. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Jul-1999 (M)


Directed by
  Mike Newell

Written by
  Glen Charles
  Les Charles

Cast
  John Cusack
  Cate Blanchett
  Angelina Jolie
  Vicki Lewis
  Jake Weber



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast