More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.58

Awesome: 13.27%
Worth A Look51.33%
Average: 19.47%
Pretty Bad: 12.39%
Total Crap: 3.54%

10 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Stir of Echoes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"The Sixth Sense Has Got Nothing on Bacon's Latest"
4 stars

Stir of Echoes (*** Ĺ) Ė On the short list of truly underrated actors, Kevin Bacon is unquestionably at the top. Itís no secret that his body of work spawned one of the greatest cult games ever (Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon) and each successive movie just adds more juice for it. But I look forward to every new Kevin Bacon movie differently Ė because Iím always fascinated at what heís going to make of his next role Ė and Stir of Echoes is no exception.

As Stigmata made me appreciate The Sixth Sense, Stir of Echoes reminded me how much I didnít like it. Both stories have remarkable similarities between the two, but Stir of Echoes, while out to shake up and surprise you, itís not out to insult your intelligence with a lame trick ending. In fact, the central mystery of the film is pretty straightforward as far as guessing it is concerned, but itís the way it drops little clues here and there that makes you think as the pieces finally come together, leading up to a great final gasp at the climax. This film also kept me more on edge than the Bruce Willis movie, including a moment early in the film that gave me the biggest jolt Iíve had in a theater in a long time, one which I actually applauded in the theater. And itís consistently involving, setting up the Chicago neighborhood, then up to the terrific hypnosis sequence and then two great subsequent suspense sequences involving Baconís child and scary visions.

The movie is kind of like Close Encounters of the Third Kind meets The Shining meets Lady in White (another great overlooked ghost story) and unfortunately this one is also going to be overlooked in the wake of The Sixth Sense. Donít let it. Donít let this one get away. Just say no to the Sixth Sense. If you donít, youíll be missing one of the most entertaining films of the year, with another great Kevin Bacon performance, a lot of natural humor, some great jolts, and a ton of suspense.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1335&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 10:20:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell good ghost story the book is good too 4 stars
6/12/10 PAUL SHORTT INTRIGUING SUPERNATURAL THRILLER 3 stars
2/06/09 Anonymous. has a great eerie atmosphere. 4 stars
5/27/07 fools♫gold I keep telling myself to watch the unedited version before rating, but it's too underrated. 4 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday I'm not a big fan of Kevin Bacon, but this was a pretty good movie. Worth a rental at least 4 stars
1/08/07 SAM Very poor movie 2 stars
1/16/06 ronald crap,hey asshole how could you say this was better than 6th sense.Are you fucking nuts? 1 stars
8/12/05 ES very good date movie, a well done movie 4 stars
7/23/05 Indrid Cold Sure it's well done, but never particularly scary or thrilling. 3 stars
11/11/04 beauty is nice Bacon was frying with gas in this one, a cool thriller that sizzles... 4 stars
9/22/04 Anarchist_101 Seemed more like a Halloween episode of C.S.I, then a Clive Barker film... 4 stars
5/13/04 tatum Really excellent 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess Watch this, instead of the overrated "Sixth Sense". 4 stars
11/25/03 homer J. Simpson The best part was the fucking rolling stones song 2 stars
11/24/03 Nicole Pretty decent 4 stars
3/27/03 Jen I -LOVED -THIS -MOVIE!! 5 stars
3/17/03 R.W. Welch A bit too predictable, but overall not a bad paranormal mystery. 3 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby A weak finale can't cancel out the superior minutes preceding it. Bacon is sensational. 4 stars
10/17/02 Jim Effectively spooky little film with a great ending and effective use of Poe 4 stars
9/27/02 Eric Scary, suspenseful, and very engrossing mystery with a great performance by Kevin Bacon. 5 stars
8/05/02 KMG COOL AS SHIT 4 stars
7/05/02 honky harry ...creepy..scary..and.ermmm good 5 stars
6/15/02 Cat Pretty good film, suspensful good developement and creepier then Sixth Sense 4 stars
2/07/02 Phil M. Afficianado I agree with Erik and Spork. A real sleeper that deserved better box office 4 stars
4/29/01 Basil that kid was creepy 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) HOLY SHIT, I love this movie!! On par with the Sixth Sense. GROSSLY underrated. 5 stars
3/21/01 mr. char great movie u assholes 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle On the same level with Sixth Sense. And it might even be a bit better... 5 stars
11/20/00 N Martinez Kick Ass. Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass 5 stars
9/18/00 Paul FANTASTIC! CREEPY! kicks 6th sense ass! will give you the chills 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley Very scary and effective in the right places 4 stars
5/03/00 TIGGER Great! Kevin Bacon was great. So was Kathryn Erbe. 4 stars
5/02/00 bullit17 Pretty cool. Not a classic, but certainly worth admission or rental price. 4 stars
4/16/00 MR joel harwood THE SIXTH SENSE meets FLATLINERS kick ass first hour and a bit, SCARY as HELL, ending=crap 4 stars
4/12/00 fire-n-ice scared the shit out of me!!! 5 stars
4/05/00 Alicia a kick ass movie 6 sense was good but this way better 5 stars
3/15/00 The Bomb 69 really scary stuff, well-paced 4 stars
3/11/00 brentley Good, scary flick. 4 stars
2/28/00 mard all alone, lights are off hands over my eyes, worth a look for bubblegum fright 4 stars
2/21/00 arnold creepy but ending sucked shit 4 stars
2/19/00 tony s actually had me frightened 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Not as good as The Sixth Sense...but why quibble?! 4 stars
2/06/00 Josh the sixth sense maybe a better movie, but stir of echoes is a hell of a lot scarier!! 5 stars
12/04/99 Mark First half scared the crap out of me ... kinda slowed, but really good overall 4 stars
11/16/99 Lamont98 Scary to the bone 4 stars
9/28/99 Ami the Wonderbread Nothing really impressive. Decent all around. 3 stars
9/17/99 Julia i guess i was on drugs cause i actually dug this flick. 5 stars
9/16/99 Ratso Kevin Bacon needs to do a movie where he dies. Not his character. I mean him, he has to die 1 stars
9/15/99 Allen Saunders Would have been more impressive had I not seen The Sixth Sense recently... 4 stars
9/15/99 F PANUCCI Pretty cool, and it continues directly into SIXTH SENSE, which was a bit of a surprise. 4 stars
9/13/99 mason the ending is sooo lame that you cant even throw it a star 1 stars
9/13/99 Mr Showbiz A nice performance from Bacon as well as refreshing intelligence and humor. 4 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Are you surprised IT'S KEVIN BACON 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1999 (R)
  DVD: 17-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast