More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.58

Awesome: 13.27%
Worth A Look51.33%
Average: 19.47%
Pretty Bad: 12.39%
Total Crap: 3.54%

10 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Stir of Echoes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"'he's ok, it's not over there'"
4 stars

This was a very valiant effort on mainstream hollywood's part, and i applaud it. The ending was weak, but there were several elements of this movie that make up for that, in my opinion.

it scared me. twice. yeah i saw it twice, shut up, i succumbed to peer pressure. but anyways, the second viewing gave me a better perspective on the structure since i wasn't clutching the armrest the first half of the movie.

so already in one sense, the movie is a sucess. it incited fear. yes, there were the stupid little girls sitting behind me literally shrieking, but they are not the audience that is exactly a challenge. i mean, even a grown man would be frightened, on an intellectual level, at the scene of the young son covering his ears to the hundreds of voices he hears calling his name. eeeek. 'nuff said.

kevin bacon is extremely believeable as the working class malcontent, wishing something interesting would happen with his life, to make him not quite so average. and wow, does it ever. the wife, katherine erbe, is his perfect counterpart, both as wife and as actress. the real show stealer in this flick is illeanna douglas. she rules. the end. however, the most amazing actor, to me, was the young son, zachary david cope, who did a phenomenal job both of scaring the pants off of us and being one of the most sympathetic creatures ever to appear on film.

the plot itself starts out kicker. the premise is pretty damned cool. out there maybe, but the actors make you believe it, especially the little boy: "i don't want to talk about this, cause it scares mommy". eeeek.

i won't give away the resolution of the plot, but the premise is that a ghost of a young girl seeks out kevin bacon's newfound powers to communicate with the dead("orlando, do you like it? It's autumn sunrise." oops, wrong movie") and she tells him to dig. and dig he does. and my, what a great deal of digging kevin bacon does. i suppose it was some sort of metaphor, but uhm... yeah, stop digging, kevin, you're making a mess.

the effects are really good, very scary with an artistic touch (hypnosis scenes most especially), and the acting is what makes the movie. too bad the resolution is so simple and well, a let down... and anyways, we don't even get resolution on if kevin bacon still has his superpowers. we know the boy does, but, c'mon! more freaky dead girls in living room, or no?

in conclusion, the cinematography was outstanding for a scary movie. specificaly, the phonecall scene above chicago, and the living room scene with the couch, made the movie worth seeing for an old artisitic fart like me. 4 sporks. good effort, keep it coming.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1335&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/01/99 08:41:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell good ghost story the book is good too 4 stars
6/12/10 PAUL SHORTT INTRIGUING SUPERNATURAL THRILLER 3 stars
2/06/09 Anonymous. has a great eerie atmosphere. 4 stars
5/27/07 fools♫gold I keep telling myself to watch the unedited version before rating, but it's too underrated. 4 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday I'm not a big fan of Kevin Bacon, but this was a pretty good movie. Worth a rental at least 4 stars
1/08/07 SAM Very poor movie 2 stars
1/16/06 ronald crap,hey asshole how could you say this was better than 6th sense.Are you fucking nuts? 1 stars
8/12/05 ES very good date movie, a well done movie 4 stars
7/23/05 Indrid Cold Sure it's well done, but never particularly scary or thrilling. 3 stars
11/11/04 beauty is nice Bacon was frying with gas in this one, a cool thriller that sizzles... 4 stars
9/22/04 Anarchist_101 Seemed more like a Halloween episode of C.S.I, then a Clive Barker film... 4 stars
5/13/04 tatum Really excellent 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess Watch this, instead of the overrated "Sixth Sense". 4 stars
11/25/03 homer J. Simpson The best part was the fucking rolling stones song 2 stars
11/24/03 Nicole Pretty decent 4 stars
3/27/03 Jen I -LOVED -THIS -MOVIE!! 5 stars
3/17/03 R.W. Welch A bit too predictable, but overall not a bad paranormal mystery. 3 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby A weak finale can't cancel out the superior minutes preceding it. Bacon is sensational. 4 stars
10/17/02 Jim Effectively spooky little film with a great ending and effective use of Poe 4 stars
9/27/02 Eric Scary, suspenseful, and very engrossing mystery with a great performance by Kevin Bacon. 5 stars
8/05/02 KMG COOL AS SHIT 4 stars
7/05/02 honky harry ...creepy..scary..and.ermmm good 5 stars
6/15/02 Cat Pretty good film, suspensful good developement and creepier then Sixth Sense 4 stars
2/07/02 Phil M. Afficianado I agree with Erik and Spork. A real sleeper that deserved better box office 4 stars
4/29/01 Basil that kid was creepy 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) HOLY SHIT, I love this movie!! On par with the Sixth Sense. GROSSLY underrated. 5 stars
3/21/01 mr. char great movie u assholes 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle On the same level with Sixth Sense. And it might even be a bit better... 5 stars
11/20/00 N Martinez Kick Ass. Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass, Kick Ass 5 stars
9/18/00 Paul FANTASTIC! CREEPY! kicks 6th sense ass! will give you the chills 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley Very scary and effective in the right places 4 stars
5/03/00 TIGGER Great! Kevin Bacon was great. So was Kathryn Erbe. 4 stars
5/02/00 bullit17 Pretty cool. Not a classic, but certainly worth admission or rental price. 4 stars
4/16/00 MR joel harwood THE SIXTH SENSE meets FLATLINERS kick ass first hour and a bit, SCARY as HELL, ending=crap 4 stars
4/12/00 fire-n-ice scared the shit out of me!!! 5 stars
4/05/00 Alicia a kick ass movie 6 sense was good but this way better 5 stars
3/15/00 The Bomb 69 really scary stuff, well-paced 4 stars
3/11/00 brentley Good, scary flick. 4 stars
2/28/00 mard all alone, lights are off hands over my eyes, worth a look for bubblegum fright 4 stars
2/21/00 arnold creepy but ending sucked shit 4 stars
2/19/00 tony s actually had me frightened 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Not as good as The Sixth Sense...but why quibble?! 4 stars
2/06/00 Josh the sixth sense maybe a better movie, but stir of echoes is a hell of a lot scarier!! 5 stars
12/04/99 Mark First half scared the crap out of me ... kinda slowed, but really good overall 4 stars
11/16/99 Lamont98 Scary to the bone 4 stars
9/28/99 Ami the Wonderbread Nothing really impressive. Decent all around. 3 stars
9/17/99 Julia i guess i was on drugs cause i actually dug this flick. 5 stars
9/16/99 Ratso Kevin Bacon needs to do a movie where he dies. Not his character. I mean him, he has to die 1 stars
9/15/99 Allen Saunders Would have been more impressive had I not seen The Sixth Sense recently... 4 stars
9/15/99 F PANUCCI Pretty cool, and it continues directly into SIXTH SENSE, which was a bit of a surprise. 4 stars
9/13/99 mason the ending is sooo lame that you cant even throw it a star 1 stars
9/13/99 Mr Showbiz A nice performance from Bacon as well as refreshing intelligence and humor. 4 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Are you surprised IT'S KEVIN BACON 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1999 (R)
  DVD: 17-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast