More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome70.49%
Worth A Look: 19.13%
Average: 7.65%
Pretty Bad: 1.09%
Total Crap: 1.64%

11 reviews, 117 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Toy Story 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Best movie sequel in history."
5 stars

"Toy Story" was a tough act to follow, but "Toy Story 2" succeeds in every way -- the rare sequel that is just as it good as its predecessor, mainly because it doesn't just rehash what we've already seen, but adds to it.

The first film was innovative (the first full-length all-computer-animated movie) and had a clever idea to play with: What if kids' toys really do come to life when no one's around? The interaction among them was heartfelt and warm, not to mention uproariously funny.

So while the first film let us see the secret world of toys, the second film had to do more than that. No longer would we be amused merely by seeing Mr. Potato Head talking to a Slinky Dog; there's gotta be something else to catch out attention.

And there is. "Toy Story 2" is so full of sight gags, clever in-jokes and gentle satire (so gentle you could probably miss it) that it's sure to be a favorite among children and adults alike.

Young Andy's favorite toy, Woody (voiced by Tom Hanks), is suffering from wear and tear as his arm starts to come off at the seam -- a reminder of his own mortality, as it were. Then, while Andy's away at cowboy camp, Woody accidentally winds up in the yard sale box, where he's greedily stolen by a loser toy collector (Wayne Knight, "Seinfeld's" Newman, acting very Newman-ish here). Seems "Woody's Round-Up" (read: "Howdy Doody") was once a very popular kids' TV show, and the merchandise sold in conjunction with that show is hot property. And a Woody doll is all the collector needs to complete his set, which he plans to sell for tons of money to a toy museum in Japan.

At first Woody wants to return to Andy, of course, until his fellow "Woody's Round-Up" toys convince him otherwise. In particular, Jessie (Joan Cusack) says that she, too, was once loved by a little girl. But when the girl grew up, she abandoned Jessie. Now, she's just glad she'll be on display somewhere so children everywhere can admire her. It's the next best thing to actually being loved.

(The song that accompanies her story -- the only full song in the film -- is called "When She Loved Me," and it is a truly poignant number, adding a layer of depth beyond the norm for a cartoon.)

Woody realizes Andy's love for him will wear off someday, too, and he agrees that going to Japan is the best thing. Meanwhile, Buzz Lightyear and the other toys have set off to rescue him. On the way, they find themselves in a toy store, leading to a meeting with Tour Guide Barbie, who points out the huge inventory of Buzz Lightyear dolls. ("In 1995, short-sighted retailers didn't order enough to meet the demand," she says in reference to the real-life shortage of "Toy Story" toys when the first film came out.)

One of the Buzz toys gets out of his box and infiltrates the group, imprisoning the real Buzz for "breaking regulations." The new Buzz is an amusing reminder of how naive our Buzz was when HE was fresh out of the box four years ago.

The action and jokes are non-stop, as Buzz and the gang follow Woody and Jessie (and old Stinky Pete, the prospector toy) to the airport. Watch for Buzz to get a luggage tag stuck to his rear end reading "Butte" -- as in Montana.

Watch for about a thousand other great jokes, too, some of them so subtle you may miss them. The videos we see of the old "Woody's Round-Up" TV show are hilarious take-offs of 1950s kiddie programs. There's a brief "Jurassic Park" reference (don't forget, one of the toys is a Tyrannosaurus Rex), and a hysterical "Star Wars" turn of events with the fake Buzz and his arch-enemy.

These references and inside jokes aren't meant in the cynical, self-referential way that many comedies nowadays do things. Despite them all, the movie is still as sweet-natured and innocent as anything, with fantastic voice work from Tom Hanks, Joan Cusack and Tim Allen, just to name three of about a dozen. A feeling of child-like adventure and fun permeates the film from start to finish. Burn your "Pokemon" tickets in a very hot fire, and then go see "Toy Story 2."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1337&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/07/03 10:13:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/25/13 David Hollingsworth A very worthy, and smart sequel that's better than the first one. 5 stars
10/19/11 Magic Slightly bogged down with references. Otherwise, a great sequel with themes of mortality. 5 stars
3/11/10 Richard Brandt Shocking that Randy Newman didn't win his first Oscar for this heartbreaking song. 4 stars
3/09/10 Chip I slightly prefer the first, but this one is great! Honestly, it's just as good. 5 stars
1/22/10 RealityOfFilms Better than the first! 5 stars
11/08/09 anon Hated this one, with a passion 1 stars
1/25/09 Samantha Pruitt great story, funnier than the first, still original! 5 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT WONDERFUL UNIVERSAL ENTERTAINMENT, A WORTHY SEQUEL TO 'TOY STORY' 5 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White Awesome sequel great characters 4 stars
11/10/07 g webster a scant few movie sequels can boast a five star rating,this one does 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini not as good as the first 2 stars
10/24/06 AJ Muller My opinion is YES, better than the 1st - and since that was a classic, that's saying a lot 5 stars
9/16/06 ProSneakyD WHO HATES TOY STORY 2, NO-ONE I HOPE. 5 stars
8/17/06 David Cohen More serious than the first, but equally as enjoyable 5 stars
7/26/06 Quigley better than the original. I have rarely laughed so hard at animation. don't miss it 5 stars
5/17/06 Ouchy wouchy bang bang more action, more interesting content but can't compare to original. Still a good movie 4 stars
4/03/06 JRE original is better. still solid though 4 stars
4/02/06 chris f quite a good movie 4 stars
3/10/06 Dk The second best disney anaimation of all time. Toy story is best 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor A great family film 5 stars
12/29/05 DARIJA VAN HOUTEN GREAT FAMILY MOVIE 4 stars
11/16/05 Mark Radburn A great Disney movie. How could you not like it 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian A worthy sequel that includes everything you loved about 1, and a bit more. 5 stars
10/19/05 Valerie even better than the original 5 stars
8/13/05 ES the street crossing is classic 4 stars
7/22/05 Quigley timeless, classic movie. don't believe me? watch and see for yourself 5 stars
6/22/05 darick As good (possibly better) than Toy Story I 5 stars
4/19/05 dave goeey is a faggot, suck my cock goeey 5 stars
2/06/05 clinger26 you got to watch 5 stars
1/04/05 t-1000 the crossing the road scene is awesome! 5 stars
12/21/04 2943 awesome 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey ??????????????? 1 stars
9/04/04 Valerie Even better than the first! A great movie! 4 stars
6/03/04 Daveman Pixar's best film period although the Randy Newman ST from the first film is sorely missed. 5 stars
6/02/04 :( A shitty stupid sequel. 2 stars
2/29/04 Littlepurch Even better than the first! A kids' and adults' classic! Nice that all cast returned. 5 stars
12/22/03 Snickerdoodle One of the few Disney sequels that I thought was excellent, probably because of Pixar. 5 stars
12/08/03 john what would Disney do without Pixar I wonder 5 stars
8/31/03 Double G not as good as first, EXTREMLY(sp) OVER RATED 3 stars
8/19/03 Spock_Enterprise Great Disney Movie 5 stars
7/27/03 Monster W. Kung Insultingly overrated. Decent family entertaiment, nothing more. 3 stars
6/18/03 coopy the most fucked up movie i have ever seen 1 stars
6/14/03 Alice The first ones are allways better but still: TOP !!! 5 stars
4/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Better than the original? Well, no. Still cool, though. 5 stars
11/10/02 Jay Slightly better than the great original. This is excellent! 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum As good as the first one 5 stars
8/17/02 Andrew Patrick Wilder,Cooler,& funnier Than The First! 5 stars
6/16/02 Justin The best fucking animated movie ever! Suck dick whoever doesn't like it! 5 stars
5/22/02 Phil M. Afficianado It's all good, even for us 50-somethings. But a little drawn out in spots 4 stars
11/15/01 Bus The movie was all that i watch it all the time 5 stars
8/29/01 Gary Unsurprisingly hilarious. The great supporting characters (Rex,etc.) were underused, tho. 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa One of the best animated movies in the history of anything. So was "Toy Story 1." 5 stars
7/28/01 Steve Good movie, "family" film or not! You can't hate this. DESTROY BUZZ LIGHTYEAR! 5 stars
6/13/01 Matthew Bartley The (fake) outtakes are funnier than just about any other comedy for years 5 stars
5/11/01 J This was just as good as the original. 5 stars
4/23/01 Skip Young A mild diversion. 3 stars
4/10/01 Gary Doesn't surpass the first, but still a good family flick. 4 stars
4/02/01 moviegoer funny, playful, introduces new characters well 5 stars
2/18/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Amazing what they can do with animation now. 4 stars
2/09/01 DREDD "no buzz, I am your father" hehe.. 5 stars
2/07/01 Skip Didn't do a whole lot for me. 3 stars
2/07/01 Macarthur Student Just as good as the original 5 stars
2/05/01 Big Daddy Great movie for ALL ages! 5 stars
2/04/01 Avenger Girl The original rocked..but the second is just as awesome 5 stars
1/15/01 Yoshi great! 5 stars
1/02/01 Emily It was suspiciously GOOD for a "kids" movie! 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Wonderful in every way! Better than the original! 5 stars
12/26/00 Trina the outakes were the best part. 3 stars
11/27/00 hk Even better than the first one! 4 stars
11/07/00 Matthew Bartley It's a movie crafted with genuine love and attention.Pure genius in fact 5 stars
11/04/00 Katherine excellent movie 5 stars
11/02/00 viking if only all Disney films were this good !!! 5 stars
10/24/00 PoOh#7 Lost child what are you talking about it was fantastic 5 stars
9/09/00 Jed Easily one of 1999's best movies. 5 stars
8/07/00 The Bomb 69 better than the first 5 stars
7/01/00 Naushad Khanji No animated movie should be considered awesome. 3 stars
6/05/00 Blubberbot totally good. 4 stars
5/05/00 Bruce The first one is overrated, this one is better 4 stars
4/07/00 Daria Pure fucking joy. 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Just as average as the original, except very annoying at some parts. 3 stars
2/19/00 Matthew Bartley Incredible..should be up for Best Film at Oscars 5 stars
2/13/00 Richard Wright One of the best films of the year. A joy from start to finish. Absolutely incredible. 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman i hear you will (see below). loved it 5 stars
2/09/00 The Marsh Breathtaking animation, and the quality of the writing matches it. 5 stars
1/16/00 Joel Harwood THE FIRST ONE WAS BETTER 5 stars
1/10/00 Will that was adorable. yes I'm a grown man and I'm using "adorable" in a sentence. Fuck off. 5 stars
1/05/00 The Bomb 69 better than the original 5 stars
1/03/00 Lindsey I thought the first one was way better. This one was okay though. 3 stars
12/24/99 sally it was a good humorus movie which was just as good as toy story 5 stars
12/18/99 Melissa Absolutely amazing. Why aren't all sequels this good? 5 stars
12/18/99 Gary Durso I went to see it because my gf wanted to....but I ended up really liking it. 5 stars
12/18/99 Dick Laurent I was very surprised to find myself thoroughly enjoying this film! Can't wait 2 C it again! 5 stars
12/16/99 brentorama I really enjoyed this movie. The animation was incredible. 5 stars
12/15/99 Paradox Better than the first. 5 stars
12/14/99 gnomical As sequels go, it is the best I have seen in years. 5 stars
12/14/99 Ann I love the little green aliens! 5 stars
12/14/99 Dorgon Someone get me a Zurg action figure!!! 5 stars
12/14/99 Mic The worldly themes weren't quite as developed as those in the first, but still excellent. 4 stars
12/13/99 Lame-Oh it was awesome 5 stars
12/13/99 Beno Better ideas, better plot, better effects, better than the first! (And it's real good too) 5 stars
12/12/99 Tyson Stewart Lots of fun! 4 stars
12/09/99 Slurpee_E The rating says it all. 5 stars
12/08/99 Glitter Berry A rare and wonderful children's movie that can just as easily be enjoyed by adults 5 stars
12/06/99 The Cleaner One of the most delightfully joyous and fun movie experiences of all time 5 stars
12/05/99 Randall Sweet, better than the original, one of the years best 5 stars
12/04/99 bullit17 Fun and wonderfully animated. If you didn't love this, you are a cold-hearted bastard 5 stars
12/04/99 Sara Rosales Awesome! Better than the first one. I took my kids the first time; next time, just me! 5 stars
12/02/99 Pininfarina What a phenomenal movie, makes me want to play with the toys even more!! 5 stars
11/30/99 The Bomb 69 Amazing 5 stars
11/30/99 PhilmPhreak I'm going to go back and see it again!! 5 stars
11/30/99 Fenris PIXAR leads the way again with a perfect sequel. 5 stars
11/30/99 shabby Enchanted me start to end 5 stars
11/29/99 Adam Damn. All around good fun. Why can't I make movies this good? 5 stars
11/29/99 Buck I EXCELLENT. Finally, a "sequel" that is equal to the original. 5 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel I loved this movie, it had more laughs and comedy than the first film. 5 stars
11/28/99 Chuck This movie is superb, better than the first! 5 stars
11/25/99 danimal WOW! Even better than the first! Pixar is amazing. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Nov-1999 (G)
  DVD: 23-Mar-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Dec-1999 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast