More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome70.49%
Worth A Look: 19.13%
Average: 7.65%
Pretty Bad: 1.09%
Total Crap: 1.64%

11 reviews, 117 user ratings



Toy Story 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"One of those rare better-than-the-original sequels."
5 stars

I don't think the folks who frequent eBay are gonna like this film.

I'm talking about the rabid toy collectors who take to buying action figures and keep them boxed and sealed in the hopes of it increasing in value. The ones who get furious at stores like Target who puncture Star Wars action figure containers to deliberately knock down its value to collectors, putting children first.

The ones that pure greed has blinded them to the fact that toys were never meant to be a hot commodity; they were to be PLAYED WITH. I may still have my Lego sets and Transformers in storage, but not to sell or display with a "DO NOT TOUCH" sign. (Though I might see what's valuable if I'm desperate for money.) I'm keeping them for my future kids to play with. But I digress.

The main evil character in Toy Story 2 is a creepily accurate stereotype of the greedy toy collector type: Al (voiced by Wayne "Seinfeld" Knight), of Al'z Toy Barn, full of collectible toys (and no children allowed). He enters the picture when he happens across a yard sale put on by Andy's parents. Ya see, Andy, owner of our familiar Toy Story characters, is going away to camp, and his folks have raided his room for stuff to put in their yard sale in his absence.

This sends the toys into a panic, especially when one of them, Wheezy the squeaky penguin toy, is snatched up to be sold. Woody (vocalized by Tom Hanks) mounts a rescue mission into the yard sale, but mistakenly ends up in Al's greedy hands. All of a sudden, he's whisked away to Al's penthouse office, to be restored and sold to a collector in Japan as part of a complete "Woody's Roundup" package.

"Restored? Roundup?" I'm sure you're asking. Well, it turns out that Woody is a 40-ish-year-old collectible toy from his heyday as star of a 50's puppet show (a la Howdy Doody). And he meets his original cohorts in Al's office: Jessie the Cowgirl (voice courtesy of Joan Cusack), Pete the Prospector (voix de Kelsey Grammer), and his faithful steed Bullseye. And once Woody realizes how much of a star he was and how important he is to them, he becomes reluctant to go back to the familiar comfort of Andy's room, where his old pals have mounted a rescue effort of their own... among them former rival Buzz Lightyear, Mr. Potato Head and Slinky Dog (the vocal cords of Tim Allen, Don Rickles and Jim "Ernest Goes Straight To Video" Varney, respectively).

All the toys from the original Toy Story return for the second go-round (minus Sid and his mutant toy creations). And there's new faces in the bunch, too, including a slew of Barbie dolls. There's bunches of funny jokes and in-jokes too.

But what really elevates Toy Story 2 far above the original is the clever implication of life-and-death concerns - the toys here now ponder midlife crises, their futures after the kids that own them grow up, and their own basic "life cycle" - one that may put them in various forms of toy hell, like dark storage, the landfill, or behind glass for eternity, only intended to be seen and not touched. Real deep stuff, especially for toys. And the folks at Pixar pull it off beautifully.

This is definitely a must-see for any kid or grown-up with a vivid imagination, who used that imagination in toy play.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1337&reviewer=9
originally posted: 12/01/99 16:04:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/25/13 David Hollingsworth A very worthy, and smart sequel that's better than the first one. 5 stars
10/19/11 Magic Slightly bogged down with references. Otherwise, a great sequel with themes of mortality. 5 stars
3/11/10 Richard Brandt Shocking that Randy Newman didn't win his first Oscar for this heartbreaking song. 4 stars
3/09/10 Chip I slightly prefer the first, but this one is great! Honestly, it's just as good. 5 stars
1/22/10 RealityOfFilms Better than the first! 5 stars
11/08/09 anon Hated this one, with a passion 1 stars
1/25/09 Samantha Pruitt great story, funnier than the first, still original! 5 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT WONDERFUL UNIVERSAL ENTERTAINMENT, A WORTHY SEQUEL TO 'TOY STORY' 5 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White Awesome sequel great characters 4 stars
11/10/07 g webster a scant few movie sequels can boast a five star rating,this one does 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini not as good as the first 2 stars
10/24/06 AJ Muller My opinion is YES, better than the 1st - and since that was a classic, that's saying a lot 5 stars
9/16/06 ProSneakyD WHO HATES TOY STORY 2, NO-ONE I HOPE. 5 stars
8/17/06 David Cohen More serious than the first, but equally as enjoyable 5 stars
7/26/06 Quigley better than the original. I have rarely laughed so hard at animation. don't miss it 5 stars
5/17/06 Ouchy wouchy bang bang more action, more interesting content but can't compare to original. Still a good movie 4 stars
4/03/06 JRE original is better. still solid though 4 stars
4/02/06 chris f quite a good movie 4 stars
3/10/06 Dk The second best disney anaimation of all time. Toy story is best 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor A great family film 5 stars
12/29/05 DARIJA VAN HOUTEN GREAT FAMILY MOVIE 4 stars
11/16/05 Mark Radburn A great Disney movie. How could you not like it 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian A worthy sequel that includes everything you loved about 1, and a bit more. 5 stars
10/19/05 Valerie even better than the original 5 stars
8/13/05 ES the street crossing is classic 4 stars
7/22/05 Quigley timeless, classic movie. don't believe me? watch and see for yourself 5 stars
6/22/05 darick As good (possibly better) than Toy Story I 5 stars
4/19/05 dave goeey is a faggot, suck my cock goeey 5 stars
2/06/05 clinger26 you got to watch 5 stars
1/04/05 t-1000 the crossing the road scene is awesome! 5 stars
12/21/04 2943 awesome 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey ??????????????? 1 stars
9/04/04 Valerie Even better than the first! A great movie! 4 stars
6/03/04 Daveman Pixar's best film period although the Randy Newman ST from the first film is sorely missed. 5 stars
6/02/04 :( A shitty stupid sequel. 2 stars
2/29/04 Littlepurch Even better than the first! A kids' and adults' classic! Nice that all cast returned. 5 stars
12/22/03 Snickerdoodle One of the few Disney sequels that I thought was excellent, probably because of Pixar. 5 stars
12/08/03 john what would Disney do without Pixar I wonder 5 stars
8/31/03 Double G not as good as first, EXTREMLY(sp) OVER RATED 3 stars
8/19/03 Spock_Enterprise Great Disney Movie 5 stars
7/27/03 Monster W. Kung Insultingly overrated. Decent family entertaiment, nothing more. 3 stars
6/18/03 coopy the most fucked up movie i have ever seen 1 stars
6/14/03 Alice The first ones are allways better but still: TOP !!! 5 stars
4/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Better than the original? Well, no. Still cool, though. 5 stars
11/10/02 Jay Slightly better than the great original. This is excellent! 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum As good as the first one 5 stars
8/17/02 Andrew Patrick Wilder,Cooler,& funnier Than The First! 5 stars
6/16/02 Justin The best fucking animated movie ever! Suck dick whoever doesn't like it! 5 stars
5/22/02 Phil M. Afficianado It's all good, even for us 50-somethings. But a little drawn out in spots 4 stars
11/15/01 Bus The movie was all that i watch it all the time 5 stars
8/29/01 Gary Unsurprisingly hilarious. The great supporting characters (Rex,etc.) were underused, tho. 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa One of the best animated movies in the history of anything. So was "Toy Story 1." 5 stars
7/28/01 Steve Good movie, "family" film or not! You can't hate this. DESTROY BUZZ LIGHTYEAR! 5 stars
6/13/01 Matthew Bartley The (fake) outtakes are funnier than just about any other comedy for years 5 stars
5/11/01 J This was just as good as the original. 5 stars
4/23/01 Skip Young A mild diversion. 3 stars
4/10/01 Gary Doesn't surpass the first, but still a good family flick. 4 stars
4/02/01 moviegoer funny, playful, introduces new characters well 5 stars
2/18/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Amazing what they can do with animation now. 4 stars
2/09/01 DREDD "no buzz, I am your father" hehe.. 5 stars
2/07/01 Skip Didn't do a whole lot for me. 3 stars
2/07/01 Macarthur Student Just as good as the original 5 stars
2/05/01 Big Daddy Great movie for ALL ages! 5 stars
2/04/01 Avenger Girl The original rocked..but the second is just as awesome 5 stars
1/15/01 Yoshi great! 5 stars
1/02/01 Emily It was suspiciously GOOD for a "kids" movie! 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Wonderful in every way! Better than the original! 5 stars
12/26/00 Trina the outakes were the best part. 3 stars
11/27/00 hk Even better than the first one! 4 stars
11/07/00 Matthew Bartley It's a movie crafted with genuine love and attention.Pure genius in fact 5 stars
11/04/00 Katherine excellent movie 5 stars
11/02/00 viking if only all Disney films were this good !!! 5 stars
10/24/00 PoOh#7 Lost child what are you talking about it was fantastic 5 stars
9/09/00 Jed Easily one of 1999's best movies. 5 stars
8/07/00 The Bomb 69 better than the first 5 stars
7/01/00 Naushad Khanji No animated movie should be considered awesome. 3 stars
6/05/00 Blubberbot totally good. 4 stars
5/05/00 Bruce The first one is overrated, this one is better 4 stars
4/07/00 Daria Pure fucking joy. 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Just as average as the original, except very annoying at some parts. 3 stars
2/19/00 Matthew Bartley Incredible..should be up for Best Film at Oscars 5 stars
2/13/00 Richard Wright One of the best films of the year. A joy from start to finish. Absolutely incredible. 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman i hear you will (see below). loved it 5 stars
2/09/00 The Marsh Breathtaking animation, and the quality of the writing matches it. 5 stars
1/16/00 Joel Harwood THE FIRST ONE WAS BETTER 5 stars
1/10/00 Will that was adorable. yes I'm a grown man and I'm using "adorable" in a sentence. Fuck off. 5 stars
1/05/00 The Bomb 69 better than the original 5 stars
1/03/00 Lindsey I thought the first one was way better. This one was okay though. 3 stars
12/24/99 sally it was a good humorus movie which was just as good as toy story 5 stars
12/18/99 Melissa Absolutely amazing. Why aren't all sequels this good? 5 stars
12/18/99 Gary Durso I went to see it because my gf wanted to....but I ended up really liking it. 5 stars
12/18/99 Dick Laurent I was very surprised to find myself thoroughly enjoying this film! Can't wait 2 C it again! 5 stars
12/16/99 brentorama I really enjoyed this movie. The animation was incredible. 5 stars
12/15/99 Paradox Better than the first. 5 stars
12/14/99 gnomical As sequels go, it is the best I have seen in years. 5 stars
12/14/99 Ann I love the little green aliens! 5 stars
12/14/99 Dorgon Someone get me a Zurg action figure!!! 5 stars
12/14/99 Mic The worldly themes weren't quite as developed as those in the first, but still excellent. 4 stars
12/13/99 Lame-Oh it was awesome 5 stars
12/13/99 Beno Better ideas, better plot, better effects, better than the first! (And it's real good too) 5 stars
12/12/99 Tyson Stewart Lots of fun! 4 stars
12/09/99 Slurpee_E The rating says it all. 5 stars
12/08/99 Glitter Berry A rare and wonderful children's movie that can just as easily be enjoyed by adults 5 stars
12/06/99 The Cleaner One of the most delightfully joyous and fun movie experiences of all time 5 stars
12/05/99 Randall Sweet, better than the original, one of the years best 5 stars
12/04/99 bullit17 Fun and wonderfully animated. If you didn't love this, you are a cold-hearted bastard 5 stars
12/04/99 Sara Rosales Awesome! Better than the first one. I took my kids the first time; next time, just me! 5 stars
12/02/99 Pininfarina What a phenomenal movie, makes me want to play with the toys even more!! 5 stars
11/30/99 The Bomb 69 Amazing 5 stars
11/30/99 PhilmPhreak I'm going to go back and see it again!! 5 stars
11/30/99 Fenris PIXAR leads the way again with a perfect sequel. 5 stars
11/30/99 shabby Enchanted me start to end 5 stars
11/29/99 Adam Damn. All around good fun. Why can't I make movies this good? 5 stars
11/29/99 Buck I EXCELLENT. Finally, a "sequel" that is equal to the original. 5 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel I loved this movie, it had more laughs and comedy than the first film. 5 stars
11/28/99 Chuck This movie is superb, better than the first! 5 stars
11/25/99 danimal WOW! Even better than the first! Pixar is amazing. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Nov-1999 (G)
  DVD: 23-Mar-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Dec-1999 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast