More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.96

Awesome39.78%
Worth A Look: 28.49%
Average: 21.77%
Pretty Bad: 8.06%
Total Crap: 1.88%

14 reviews, 288 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Annihilation by Peter Sobczynski

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Rob Gonsalves

Monster Hunt 2 by Jay Seaver

Monkey King 3, The by Jay Seaver

Andover by Jay Seaver

Gateway, The by Jay Seaver

Flora by Jay Seaver

Black Panther by Peter Sobczynski

Fifty Shades Freed by Peter Sobczynski

Vanished Murderer, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


X-Men
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mrs. Norman Maine

"Bryan Singer opens a film franchise in pedestrian fashion"
3 stars

The X-men film franchise, currently filming its third installment, began with this less than inspired entry which succeeds as lightweight entertainment, mainly on the strengths of some fine performances from the likes of Hugh Jackman and old pros Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen.

ARE YOU A GOOD X, OR A BAD X?

Labor problems are continuing at the VickiWear plant in Paramus, New Jersey. The Indonesian seamstresses remain restless, despite an increase in their wages to a generous $2.15 an hour and Mr. Carducci, the manager, will not return my phone calls. I have instructed Madame Rose, my publicist along with Fajer and Hellmann, my attorneys, to please deal with the problem. I will not have my good name or the brand names of my fine consumer products sullied in this manner. There is some indication that Mr. Carducci has been funneling some of the payroll to a Mr. Tony Soprano and associates and product keeps disappearing off the trucks passing through certain parts of the region. Personally, I really don't care what octave Mr. Tony sings in, although male sopranos are usually referred to as counter tenors. I just want to make sure my fans get their high quality South Pacific and Tobacco Road inspired outfits in a timely manner. The whole mess has been causing me much anxiety. I almost missed my mark on the set the other day.

August promises to be a busy month for me. The Opp, Alabama concert, The Ssssoundssss of Ssssilence, celebrating the opening of the Snake Wrangler's Hall of Fame, is set for the 12th. If it goes well, Joseph will try to book me for the opening of the Jack Wrangler Hall of Fame later this year. I'm a little leery of this, though. I'm afraid I might be mistaken for Margaret Whiting and she must be nearly eighty while I remain a perennially youthful thirty-nine. My appearance on the Hip-Hop awards is set for the 20th, but the location has been changed from New York, to Miami Beach. All systems seem to be go, but I do wish they would stop spelling MNM 'Eminem' in the correspondence. I'm planning on wearing a red sequined tuxedo body suit for the ' hot tap' number they've asked me to perform, only they keep spelling it ‘rap’. Apparently their secretarial proof reading skills are not quite up to snuff. They want me to do a song called Kim but I haven't been able to find sheet music for it, so I'm thinking I'll do something from Roberta instead. The audience is sure to enjoy Jerome Kern.

As I seem to be beset on every side these days by the forces of darkness, I thought perhaps a good comic-book film where good triumphs over evil might be in order. Therefore, I descended to my home theater with a tumbler of Laphrohaig single malt scotch and the DVD of Bryan Singer's X-men from 2000. I had missed this film at the local cineplex so I was looking forward to seeing how Singer, known for his small character driven films, handled a big budget action picture. Before I begin, I must confess that I am an X-men neophyte, never having read one of the comics or seen the animated series. I did do a benefit once, for the San Diego zoo, where I did a tap specialty dressed as a koala and a very nice young man, dressed as Wolverine, did kung-fu stunts for the kiddies but that is the extent of my exposure.

X-men is the story of a not too distant future United States, when, for reasons that are entirely unclear, certain individuals are born slightly different. These 'mutants' manifest themselves during adolescence when their genetic mutations give them unusual and highly idiosyncratic powers. The incidence of mutation seems to be on an upswing and normal folks, like you and I, are scared of the new and the different. A republican senator (Bruce Davison), is busy trying to have all the mutants in the country rounded up and identified as public threats. A brief holocaust prologue is supposed to make us think of the Nazis but I thought much more of recent right wing rhetoric on the gay community. The senator's speeches seem lifted word for word from the James Dobson’s and Tom DeLay's and even W's remarks on homosexuality. Listen to those scenes and replace the word 'mutant' with 'homosexual' and you'll see what I mean. The chief mutant spokespeople are Charles Xavier, a telepath (Patrick Stewart) and Dr. Jean Grey, a telekinetic (Famke Janssen) who run a school and sanctuary for displaced mutants, tossed out by their un-understanding families.

Meanwhile, a young mutant girl, Marie (Anna Paquin), leaves home on an odyssey, adopting the name Rogue. In the Canadian Rockies, she meets up with Logan, also known as Wolverine (Hugh Jackman), a mutant with extrordinary powers of self-healing and a metal skeleton and claws implanted in some sort of secret experiment. After they are attacked, they are rescued by Xavier's chums and brought back to his school/sanctuary. Here, they meet up with Storm (Halle Berry), a young woman with white polyester hair and serious cataracts who controls the weather and Cyclops (James Marsden), a young man with bad teeth and cheekbones to die for, who shoots laser beams from his eyes. We then embark on a battle between the good mutants under Xavier, known as the X-men, and the bad mutants, henchmen of the evil Magneto (Ian McKellen), who has power over metal, even, apparently non-magnetic non-ferrous varieties (another detail that is not explained). Magneto was a great friend of Xavier's until he chose the dark side (oops, wrong film)... until he decided to confront humanities discomfort with mutants with force rather than understanding. His henchmen include Sabretooth (Tyler Mane), a cross between a Quest For Fire extra and Ron Perlman's Beast, who must have access to industrial strength hair conditioner; Mystique (Rebecca Romijn-Stamos) the unholy offspring of Smurfette and a King Cobra who can shape shift into any other character for purposes of plot; and Toad (Ray Park), who scampers up walls, has a prehensile tongue, and has a predeliction for lavender eye shadow. This sets up a good versus evil conflict with predictable results.

The film is formulaic, but credit must be given to Singer for being able to introduce and maneuver a large cast, especially given its relatively brief 100 minute run time. He also keeps the storytelling clear and only occasionally gives in to pretentious solemnity, especially where McKellen and Stewart are concerned. Fortunately, the two veterans know how to keep their scenes moving and don't allow the messages to muddle the good time. He and screenwriter David Hayter create their world with a perfectly straight face, no tongue in cheek and make it accessible to those with no background in the original comics. The action setpieces are well staged, but riffs on films we've seen before. The visual and storytelling references are legion - everything from Batman to Saboteur to Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome seems to have gone into the blender. Singer and Hayter are also clever enough to have a satisfying resolution without ever dealing with the central enigma of the film - Who is Wolverine and where did those claws come from? This, of course, leaves sequel and franchise opportunities wide open.

Hugh Jackman, the Australian stage actor best known for his musical comedy roles, gives a star making performance as the mysterious and churlish Wolverine, despite the bad 50s hair don't. He has a physical presence and a quiet way of dominating his scenes that seems to be the provenance of Australian leading men. There must be something in the water there that allows them to produce him and Russell Crowe and Mel Gibson, instead of the pretty boy-men that seem to be the norm in Hollywood. McKellen and Stewart are old pros having a good time and make even the lamest dialog bits work. The big losers are Halle Berry and James Marsden. Berry sports some sort of unidentifiable accent and seems to be stoned. Marsden, as Cyclops, performs as if he's in an old Devo music video, rather than a movie. Anna Paquin has some affecting moments as Rogue, but little actual screen time. The villains are given little to do, other than be menacing although it's nice to know Ray Park can talk after his silent role as Darth Maul in The Phantom Menace.

The DVD comes with a number of extras. It's in wide screen with a choice between 2.0 and 5.1 Dolby surround. The 5.1 makes the action scenes come alive and there's good use of the rear channels for extra suspense. There are the usual press junket featurettes, excerpts from an interview with Bryan Singer and Charlie Rose, some 'animatics' showing how action sequences were designed almost as videogames before being filmed, and Hugh Jackman's screen test. There is an option that allows you to view cut scenes in place in the film. No major sequences were cut and most of the cuts were in the second act at Xavier's school. So, unless you really want to hear Halle Berry lecturing on the Roman Empire in that irritating accent, James Marsden teaching auto-mechanics, or more of Rogues twee and underdeveloped high school romance, it's not reccommended. The cuts were made with good reason - the missing footage slows sequences to treacle speed.


Originally Written July 26, 2001
Revised January 7, 2005

Bare Hugh Jackman torso. Coma kiss. Tudor headdress brain wave amplifier. Normal saline senator. Imperiled foreign dignitaries. National monument destruction. Gratuitous dove eating. Bumpy harrier jet landing. Exploding camper. Yellow spandex joke. Bullet control.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1339&reviewer=283
originally posted: 01/08/05 07:38:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell not a good start imho 1 stars
1/17/15 the truth Should be called X-MAN. Focusing on Logan (wasted by Mr. Jackman) was moronic. Poor X-MEN.. 3 stars
9/19/12 Gabrielle Barnard Very enjoyable 5 stars
10/12/10 gfdggdfg hPnDtj pepyaka 5 stars
5/21/10 SmithJ wEB9vR Lol lol lool lol ha-ha! Lol lol lol? 5 stars
12/06/09 asdadssa wesdrf <a href="https://launchpad.net/~stragglgrtgu">you tube shannon</a> qwdwasads <a href 4 stars
12/06/09 dsasdada wedrf <a href="https://launchpad.net/~ptymtsterptc">you tube sex</a> qwerftgq <a href="http 5 stars
12/05/09 fsfdsfdsf wase <a href="https://launchpad.net/~abphibologyolx">lolita sex pics</a> wdesfdrfg <a href= 5 stars
12/05/09 aaaaadd hgggg <a href="https://launchpad.net/~scenehandley">lolita pussy</a> dsdsds <a href="https: 4 stars
11/20/09 PqJDdYJlsj 270_119.txt;8;12 3 stars
11/20/09 DaVZiNmEWZLaBGIW 270_118.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/19/09 xoYuCzxuahZERb 270_117.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/19/09 gRIrbfoIUqGd 270_115.txt;8;12 3 stars
11/19/09 hwbQpwpuQkVQuJ 270_114.txt;8;12 3 stars
11/19/09 nSPvPvSojwusOAHpABv 270_113.txt;8;12 5 stars
11/19/09 IjyyzlWDg 270_112.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/19/09 zplkmGOdFEcBMScuMw 270_111.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/18/09 QKytRoCodGo 270_109.txt;8;12 5 stars
11/18/09 mBuLLrWDG 270_98.txt;8;12 5 stars
11/17/09 Zborhmjm comment5 2 stars
11/16/09 Rqdttkal comment5 2 stars
11/16/09 Pvdaekus comment1 2 stars
11/16/09 Ybafvwvl comment1 4 stars
11/16/09 Vecysuzn comment3 3 stars
11/16/09 Vngldafq comment1 3 stars
11/16/09 Uulvrnnj comment5 5 stars
11/16/09 Luakbxqs comment3 5 stars
11/16/09 Xawnbrfc comment3 4 stars
11/16/09 Kgrfecxz comment2 3 stars
11/16/09 Nnamxynj comment6 2 stars
11/16/09 Mqjkxkeb comment2 3 stars
11/14/09 Rcpnxkds comment5 3 stars
11/14/09 Vttkbddn comment1 2 stars
11/13/09 Emlkrkcg comment1 2 stars
11/13/09 Qkeepplf comment3 5 stars
11/13/09 Vylzwchk comment6 2 stars
11/13/09 Kfycudqf comment2 5 stars
11/13/09 Vvpmnpdn comment4 3 stars
11/13/09 Wqbhiksz comment4 3 stars
11/13/09 Fombpgau comment6 5 stars
11/13/09 Bhdkrdcp comment2 4 stars
11/13/09 Uqabnubw comment4 2 stars
11/13/09 Fvvajeqj comment3 2 stars
11/13/09 Mayrzmip comment1 2 stars
11/12/09 Ocdsyuwj comment3 2 stars
11/12/09 Ndyfhxoh comment6 5 stars
11/12/09 Eruckdpw comment3 4 stars
11/12/09 Shzflvmq comment1 3 stars
11/12/09 Sixlknrk comment1 2 stars
11/12/09 Rdvpwzbx comment1 3 stars
11/12/09 Phiyfzjc comment2 4 stars
11/12/09 Mvvxgndv comment2 2 stars
11/11/09 Ziwmkjso comment2 5 stars
11/11/09 Ieysjvmh comment3 5 stars
11/11/09 Mhbzkbhd comment4 3 stars
11/11/09 Wlnwowcg comment2 3 stars
11/11/09 Fiywvttp comment6 4 stars
11/10/09 Xyyqlvbf comment1 4 stars
11/10/09 Nfhigmoz comment3 3 stars
11/10/09 Aoymkqqp comment4 2 stars
11/10/09 Cyxiijax comment6 5 stars
11/10/09 Aejkxqtv comment5 3 stars
11/09/09 Jxoxwuuv comment1 5 stars
11/09/09 Jnncsbsp comment6 3 stars
11/09/09 Mdpttkwg comment4 4 stars
11/09/09 Gmntdzxx comment1 5 stars
11/09/09 Qqxlctou comment6 3 stars
11/08/09 Kxjisosw comment2 3 stars
11/08/09 Qibnekdv comment3 3 stars
11/08/09 Xzlwocfv comment1 2 stars
11/08/09 Alkgdyue comment4 3 stars
11/08/09 Mweszpvp comment1 4 stars
11/07/09 Soihctds comment5 4 stars
11/07/09 Pagliwoq comment4 3 stars
11/07/09 Rjlplmgt comment2 3 stars
11/07/09 Eaftxgfs comment1 5 stars
11/07/09 Eaftxgfs comment1 5 stars
11/06/09 Jmxwjpvu comment1 3 stars
11/06/09 Zklearww comment6 3 stars
11/06/09 Oqhjlfot comment6 2 stars
8/30/09 CTT Nice start to the series 4 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner Wolverine is Awesome!! 5 stars
5/29/08 PAUL SHORTT A RICH COMIC BOOK FANTASY 2 stars
6/20/07 johnnyfog You're a dick, Cyclops. 5 stars
4/20/07 Lauren Love it keep them coming! 5 stars
3/21/07 dude pretty good 4 stars
3/09/07 Simm Thigh-crusher Bond chick as Jean Grey? Reccomend. 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega An exciting adventure. Don't have to be a mutant to love it. 4 stars
1/20/07 johnnyfog Christ, it's not THAT great! That cast a hot Rogue though 3 stars
1/19/07 MARGARET PESKOFF I THOUGHT THIS MOVIE TO BE VERY IMAGENATIVE 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini great fx 4 stars
10/17/06 David Good special effects and ideas. 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Well depicted, decent storyline,& a good popcorn flick. 4 stars
5/02/06 Cuenzie Wunzie This movie is F*cked! 1 stars
4/18/06 Dave Some style but a bad storyline. The sequel was better. 3 stars
8/29/05 Eden The sequel's much better but this is pretty good 4 stars
8/13/05 ES best hero flick ever made= so good 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington I thought it was slow and boring and awful. 1 stars
5/27/05 jasmine leivers YEWWW it was awesome 5 stars
3/29/05 Lyn excellent movie 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Imaginative and exciting! 5 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Great film, love Patrick Stewart 5 stars
2/02/05 Casey Becher Some good performances, but not my favorite fantasy movie. 3 stars
1/29/05 Carolyn Rathburn I enjoyed this movie, thought it followed the dark comic rather well. Love Wolverine 5 stars
1/08/05 Al Guy Pretty good for a first try. 4 stars
1/07/05 Yowza! Sucked. 2 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Do you know what happens to a toad...worst line EVER. 5 stars
9/02/04 Littlepurch excellent film - who is 'purchkiller'? 5 stars
5/10/04 Daveman Compared to Blade, this is well done, but still falls far short of Spider-Man's wit and fun 3 stars
3/30/04 Faustus Fantastic- Jackman turns in a great performance as Wolverine. 5 stars
2/19/04 me a good film 4 stars
2/07/04 BERNACIKBEATRICE I think themovies is really good in comparation with other movies.Allthow you know howthe 5 stars
1/16/04 ophylia777 how about better actresses for Storm & Jean 4 stars
1/08/04 A F How do you fall asleep in an action movie? Base it on comics. 3 stars
12/22/03 Spikey I didn't ever care about comics, and still don't but this MOVIE was fantastic! 5 stars
12/04/03 purchkiller littlepurch is an idiot! 3 stars
11/28/03 john a comic book summer movie done right!! good fun! 4 stars
11/22/03 Jinnvisible shows promise 3 stars
11/14/03 Littlepurch Gr8 film! Best superhero movie in years. Sequel even better! 5 stars
10/11/03 andru this film kicked ass only bad thing was no gambit, mon cher 5 stars
9/22/03 Jacques better than Spider-man? Sam needs help! 3 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Great Movie better than part 2, and certainly better than Spiderman! 5 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
7/18/03 Chris I wasn't enthusied. Boring plot line involing Woverwrine and just wierd. Some parts o.k. 2 stars
6/16/03 Jareth A dull, lifeless adaptation of an excellent comic book. 2 stars
5/22/03 Desert Rat Yawn! Is this about anything in particular? 3 stars
5/20/03 Jon Lyrik Dull. Sequel is far better. 3 stars
5/18/03 Fairy Princess Sneaky Awesome movie!!!!! The only thing better is X2 5 stars
5/17/03 Turtle One of the best comic book movies of all time. Storm's line to Toad really sucked, though. 5 stars
5/15/03 George Jung At some point in the movie, you wonder if playing with your shit is more entertaining. 2 stars
5/10/03 JL Very cool, but Halle kinda sucked. 5 stars
5/06/03 Dave Did the makers of this film forget about character development and story? Looks okay though 3 stars
5/05/03 yes this is a great movie-rent/buy it hello. you will like this movie. it redeems comicbook movies from Batman 4. Enjoy. 5 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Now THIS is the way to make a sci-fi/action movie, yeah! 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Good-looking but too mechanical and impersonal to score. Jackman is superb; Berry is awful. 2 stars
4/08/03 Mystique great action! luv ya Ian 5 stars
4/02/03 R.W. Welch Basically an F/X show with good cinematography. Not much else to hold you. 3 stars
3/28/03 Matt Thiel Blah. Let's hope X-Men 2 is better (it probably won't be) 3 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite well done; but the ending was all-too Hollywood predictable 4 stars
3/12/03 Shao Kahn Kinda Weak but not pathetic. 3 stars
3/09/03 What?! Did not followed comics but still okay. Halle Berry Sucks! 3 stars
2/24/03 wolvie great shit - '' what do they call you....wheels? '' 5 stars
2/20/03 Dave The action scenes don't do anything for me and it's too short. Watch Spiderman instead. 3 stars
2/06/03 123 after disappointing spawn and mediocre blade, this marvel comic movie rocks ! 5 stars
1/13/03 Stevo intelligent; true to the best x-men concept (fighting prejudice) not the modern comic crap 4 stars
9/27/02 John McNew To borrow from Roger Ebert on Episode II, "too much dialogue" 3 stars
7/25/02 Justin Oh, yeah! The Greatest Marvel Comic Movie Ever! 5 stars
6/22/02 Bart Does not stand up to a second viewing. 3 stars
5/13/02 Darth Haggis FX movie with no FX!! Char's were worthless, followed NO comic past A JOKE 1 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Much better than I was expecting. I'm looking forward to the sequel. 4 stars
2/03/02 chang meng wah it's good to see 2 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden Only McKellen's Performance Was Worthy Of Being Good. 2 stars
11/28/01 KMG God I want Hugh Jackman in my pussy! 5 stars
11/27/01 Jim Best comic movie since they started making comic movies. Where's Dazzler though? <GRIN> 5 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Nice story and comic book to movie transition. 3 stars
11/02/01 I love movies unimpressive, boring, average. 3 stars
10/14/01 jawsboy majorly dissapointing, but, still a pretty decent superhero flick like Blade and Batman 1&2 4 stars
9/26/01 ErinGirl I love this movie! Wolverine is so sexy and Rogue is so appealing! 5 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Finally a good comic movie! *besides Blade* 5 stars
8/31/01 Jon Cheung Actually no, First Contact was decent, but Episode 1 sucked sh*t.X-men was awesome 4 stars
8/29/01 Gary Better characters than any other 'comic' movie. Look forward to an improved sequel. 4 stars
8/28/01 ARCbird Knew the characters, never got into the comics. I want to be an X-Man !! 5 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson It didnt suck, and the Wolverine/Rogue relationship puts it over the top 5 stars
7/19/01 TLsmooth Jackman was awesome. Jon Cotleur(you french fag), you are Billy Zane's ass-demon. 4 stars
6/26/01 Elvisfan Fairly worthless, unmemorable, umimpressive 2 stars
6/09/01 Turtle THANK YOU! Finally, a movie that saves us from the crappy Batman movies. 5 stars
5/25/01 Connoisseur how boring! 2 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon awesome special effects 5 stars
3/12/01 Jon Cotleur I'll bet anything everyone who liked this also dug Episode I and ST: First Contact. 1 stars
3/12/01 james "bite me" womack the acting and directing were enough to save this movie 4 stars
2/21/01 Eric Stern This is my faviorte movie! I'm upsessed with it! 5 stars
2/11/01 Leather jacket Effects/Action cools but where did the story go?? 1 stars
2/04/01 Del R Pretty good, but too short and no character development. Wolverine was great. 4 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman One of the better comic book adaptations. 5 stars
1/26/01 Diego Romero You know it is 5 stars
1/20/01 Gary The characters are great.......felt like it needed something more. 4 stars
1/14/01 Invader x men is quite good action flick despite some discrepencies with the comic version 4 stars
1/13/01 James Curtis I loved this movie 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 First hour is good then gets bogged down in stupid fucking story. 3 stars
1/10/01 anthony cool as hell man 5 stars
1/02/01 Destruction Worker This movie is better than Casablanca and Citizen Kane. 5 stars
12/26/00 Turtle The best comic book movie ever (saving us from the Batman movies!)! 5 stars
12/25/00 mer yeah I liked it. don't miss it people 4 stars
12/25/00 Damion Cain yeah you hould see it. It's hard to see Rebecca's body clearly through all that paint thow 5 stars
12/24/00 bub awesome!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/17/00 Mitja Podgajski pretty funny... good special efects!... 4 stars
12/12/00 jobay it was so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head Excruciating worthless piece of rat dung..one of the worst films ever! NOTHING LIKE COMIC! 1 stars
11/14/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Even as a virgin of the X-Men phenomenon, I know it's better than most comic book movies. 4 stars
11/09/00 Michael A Cantu Loved it. . .only one problem. I loved it so much I wanted more than the 95 min version. 5 stars
10/30/00 Ken Not as good as the Tim Burton Batman movies (which kicked all ass), but pretty good. 4 stars
10/26/00 dan it was BOOOOOORING! 2 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero much better than Spawn and Judge Dredd 5 stars
9/11/00 Maria Vrana The movie X-men is the bast of the best .No movie can be comered to X-men. 5 stars
9/09/00 Jed Sincerely ignore the haters folks this is one of this years best! 5 stars
9/07/00 Gray Very entertaining. Mystique shoulda been given more lines and Storm was crap and boring. 4 stars
9/03/00 The Extreaminizer The Matrix, T2, and Batman Combined.........Plenty of Action and Visuals to vamp the comic 5 stars
9/02/00 Bruce Not being a fan I didn't know what to expect, but it was good 4 stars
8/27/00 minimasterab the movie of the year, so far 5 stars
8/26/00 miguel baddazz69r They didn't even show the fight that wolverine and sabertooth have 5 stars
8/26/00 Stuntman it was awesome 5 stars
8/26/00 Matthew Bartley Roll on part two 5 stars
8/25/00 Eric One of the best comic book adaptations ever! I loved Rogue. This movie rocks!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/23/00 Add Give anyone 100 million bucks and the x men license and they couldda made this. Uninspired. 2 stars
8/22/00 The Bomb 69 great movie, setup the sequel well, too short though 5 stars
8/22/00 biggs it kicked ass 5 stars
8/20/00 perverted pixie Entertaining, but kind of a no brainer. A least STORM was cool. 4 stars
8/19/00 spunkmirej best movie of the year. A must see 5 stars
8/17/00 eric cartman kick ass. 4 stars
8/15/00 iceman best movie of the year 5 stars
8/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A DECENT comic-book movie? This must be the first sign of the Apocalypse... 4 stars
8/12/00 Khaotic it made sense to the Non-fan. It was great and entertaining. 5 stars
8/11/00 J.C. Savior If this movie were any better, I woulda creamed my pants!!! 5 stars
8/11/00 Scott Lee Great 5 stars
8/09/00 PJ Kick ass, Wolverine stole the show, of course, true to it's comic bub! 5 stars
8/08/00 Mic Well done adaptation by young Usual Suspects director. Oscar winner Paquin was the worst. 4 stars
8/08/00 Harriett A. Ferrell A good blend of kick-ass action and despair that make Buffy and the X-files so popular. 4 stars
8/07/00 SuzVoy Watch it, now. Terrific characterisations. Unmissable. 5 stars
8/06/00 Redhawk Thank God it didn't suck as bad at the latter Batman flicks did. 4 stars
8/06/00 Katsat Jackman outstanding--sexy, compelling, humane, masculine--WOW! 5 stars
8/05/00 Hawk Very Nice, may be a little short, but Paquins breathtaking performance made up for it! 5 stars
8/05/00 Viking Better than most other comic adaptions. 4 stars
8/04/00 sohrab lutchmedial A faithful and fun adaptation of a comic classic. 5 stars
8/04/00 Girl 9 Decent effort, a little much at times, but worth a look. 4 stars
8/01/00 Jeff Graham My girlfriend liked it!!! 5 stars
8/01/00 Chazzman Very good introductory movie. Looking forward to the sequal. 5 stars
8/01/00 MKillroy If you have read the comics this is a must see movie 5 stars
7/30/00 NTWRAGE it \was a good movie but they set it up too much for a part two 4 stars
7/26/00 Keekah Very impressive movie 5 stars
7/24/00 The Bomb 69 the only problem I had is it was too short 5 stars
7/24/00 rosemonkey halle berry needs to die. unneccesary mistakes, no justice to epic history of comic 2 stars
7/24/00 koHawk Anybody who claims they REALLY like this movie alot is either in denial or under 16. 3 stars
7/22/00 Jason Kallelis Never watched the show or read the comic, but it still kicked ass 5 stars
7/22/00 burton miller Sure to be a trend-setter for future comic-derived movies 5 stars
7/22/00 satyamata Brilliant. 4 stars
7/22/00 Dylan Wahoo This movie kicked ass 5 stars
7/21/00 Rick A fanboy movie that got it right! OMG! 5 stars
7/21/00 Scott Karsk Loved this movie! Wished it wasa little longer. 5 stars
7/21/00 Pandora Could have used a bit more action but otherwise, good storytelling 4 stars
7/21/00 strider I miss gambit, but patrick stewart did a great job, can't wait for the sequel 4 stars
7/21/00 gwalla Hugh Jackman is awesome, otherwise it's just okay 4 stars
7/21/00 Kai Best movie for the summer, hugh jackman was an awsome actor, hope to see sequel 5 stars
7/21/00 Jeff Lane I agree. Fucking Awesome! My only complaint: Rogue didnt say Sugah, or maybe I missed it. 5 stars
7/20/00 DeadBody Man, don't complain about the lack of action, that's (hopefully) saved for the sequel. 5 stars
7/20/00 Louis Should have been longer and had more characters, Otherwise good 4 stars
7/20/00 Clarance Not much character development but hey! They did a pretty damn good job with it! Go see IT 4 stars
7/20/00 Blaise not bad, but a littul too wishy washy 3 stars
7/20/00 malcolm couldn't have been much better considering source material - i had a ball 4 stars
7/20/00 lina oh my my... what an adventure !!! very well made... funny too ... totally rad !!!! 5 stars
7/20/00 Athena Been waiting forever for this movie - Outstanding work. 5 stars
7/19/00 lordcrumb Brilliant don't listen to jaded critics 5 stars
7/19/00 Kelly Never picked up a comic in my life-didn't matter. wonderful movie! Hugh Jackman was awsome 5 stars
7/19/00 QuickieGirl We saw this movie, adored it, and went back the next night to see it again. WHOOHOO! 5 stars
7/19/00 Janette Nicholson I though this movie was excellent!!!!! I have been waiting for this movie for years. 5 stars
7/19/00 Greyjack Fun film. 4 stars
7/18/00 ramgol A must see to all marvel fans and the likes 5 stars
7/18/00 bullit17 I expected the worst, but was pleasantly surprised. True to the characters and a lot of fun 4 stars
7/18/00 homer simpson outstanding movie, until the end 4 stars
7/18/00 Fenris The most well done comic movie since Batman. 5 stars
7/18/00 M Finke Very well done for the first movie in a series. 5 stars
7/18/00 Overflow Bitch Better than I anticipated.. Interesting characters.. Cool !! 4 stars
7/18/00 Digitalus Patrick Stewart is the star 4 stars
7/18/00 Scotticus Maximus Great fun for X-enthusiasts and beginners alike! 5 stars
7/18/00 DrDemento This could've been so bad, but fucking HELL it rocked! 5 stars
7/18/00 Mortis I was so happy with this movie I nearly pissed my pants. I'll see it a million times!!! 5 stars
7/17/00 Thank god Hollywood didn't screw this up. Thank u Bryan Singer! Obi Wan 5 stars
7/17/00 Benjamin Lesbian Went in expecting drivel. Walked out blown away. Worth $7. 5 stars
7/17/00 Olga Surprisingly good... with no rubber codpieces or protruding nipples... thank God... 4 stars
7/17/00 tcd004 well adapted and well shot, now where's GAMBIT? 4 stars
7/17/00 PJ Kicked ass, wolverine is and will always be the badest muthafucka ever! 5 stars
7/17/00 DarkRomancer excellent design and art direction, beautiful special effects, good cast, AND Famke Janssen 5 stars
7/17/00 Doctor Collosus All it needed was some underaged love-smack'n between Wolverine and Rogue. Liked it. 4 stars
7/17/00 ALiaS WOW, so many references!! so much lore, *drool* and so much room for the sequel BRING IT ON 5 stars
7/16/00 Captain Highcrime I thought this was going to be this year's "Spawn," surprised the fuck out of me. 4 stars
7/16/00 Roman Storm's acting blew but Wolervine was cool 3 stars
7/16/00 Fuck me Wolvie Yes, they got it right. Casting for Wolverine was jaw-droppingly on-target 5 stars
7/16/00 daedalus Loved it, and so did my non-comic-reading girlfriend! 5 stars
7/16/00 thestinker Even with my expectations modestly low, I was underwhelmed. Say hello this year's Godzilla! 3 stars
7/16/00 NoizeFloor Hot diggity damn. Marvel finally got it right. I dig it! 5 stars
7/16/00 Not an X-Men Fan The best cinematic comic book crossover ever. Absolutely perfect, just needed more closure 5 stars
7/16/00 Cody rush Should have been released with TMNT back in the yearly 90s! 2 stars
7/16/00 Zatoichi Jones Good Lord, they did it right 5 stars
7/16/00 Silas This Movie fucking rocks! 5 stars
7/16/00 camelot Forget a sequel, I want a franchise!! 5 stars
7/15/00 CBG "[best] [comic book adaptation] ever" 5 stars
7/15/00 jake carlin excellent! never had to "dumb down" the material for the audience, but was still real fun. 5 stars
7/14/00 matthew smith Sensational with a capital S 5 stars
7/13/00 Klute Move over Batman, we gots us a new superhero franchise! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jul-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Jul-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast