More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.96

Awesome39.78%
Worth A Look: 28.49%
Average: 21.77%
Pretty Bad: 8.06%
Total Crap: 1.88%

14 reviews, 288 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


X-Men
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"I Don't Think They Screwed It Up"
4 stars

There’s a good friend of mine who’s been waiting since he was born for the film version of X-Men. He’s a comic book lover and could tell you every last detail of who the X-Men are, their powers, origins, height, age and weight. He, along with the millions of X-manics out there, have had their hand on the nit-pick button ever since the first pictures of the costumes were published. And while nitpicking is in order for the majority of films that descend onto our local theater screens, I believe that most moviegoers, including the comic book clan, are going to really enjoy this latest effort.

For those void of comic book savvy, the X-Men deals with a group of evolutionally-enhanced mutants who are outcasts from society. As always there are two camps to the outsiders – Professor Xavier’s (Patrick Stewart) school and the dark side led by Xavier’s old buddy, Magneto (Ian McKellen). A McCarthy-like politician, Senator Kelly (Bruce Davison) is proposing for all mutants to register with the state so a close eye may be kept on them and their powerful ways. This does not pose well for Magneto, who being a child of the Holocaust, knows a little too much about human intolerance against certain races. So the war is on. But not before we’re introduced to fan favorite Wolverine (Hugh Jackman), able to project razor-sharp metal claws from his knuckles (the top of his hand in the comics) and Rogue (Anna Paquin) who is able to suck the lifeforce out of anyone who touches her skin. Their relationship (not romantic) is a starting point for a series of relationships which really fuel this film into more than just special effects. The rest of the home team consists of Dr. Jean Grey (Famke Janssen) (who has psychic powers on a lesser plane than Xavier), Cyclops (James Marsden) (who shoots lasers from his eye(s)) and Storm (Halle Berry) (who can control the weather).

Comic book films like X-Men already have a built-in audience. So much so that the majority of people who like going to the show naturally cop the belief that X-Men is for “them, not me.” But such is not the case here. X-Men tells a very literate, adult story with interesting characters and some decent, if not spectacular, action scenes. This is an action film where character and performances stand out above the action. Patrick Stewart is the dream choice to play Professor X and he embodies him with the kind of cool reserve and quiet wisdom one would expect. His equal is met in a great performance by McKellen as Magneto, a villain that one can identify his motivation with. But the true star of this film is Hugh Jackman as Wolverine. Commanding a tone that is part Clint Eastwood and part Russell Crowe, Jackman brings a wide range of emotions as Wolverine from his appropriate rage and standoffishness to true sympathy for the plight of Rogue, herself an embodiment of teenage isolation and misunderstanding. Jackman is going to be a moviestar. Other performances are fine, if cut a bit short. I’d like to know more about the relationship between Cyclops and Jean Grey (Janssen has said that there characters are engaged). Halle Berry and her limited acting ability is thankfully put aside for most of the first hour and I would have liked to have seen more of Davison as Senator Kelly, whose development will most likely disappoint most comic book fans.

Nitpicking will come into play on both sides. Being aimed at the comic book crowd, they are more likely to enjoy the film with its in-jokes and popular characters finally brought to life. Yet they will still be the ones that will nit-pick the little details and make blanket statements like “they screwed it up”. All my knowledge of the X-Men comes from my friend (and a single episode of a old X-Men cartoon where the characters were introduced and they fought the Juggernaut), so I went in with minimal inside material. I didn’t know how old or tall certain characters were supposed to be nor did I catch references to minor characters who apparently went on to superhero prominence in later issues of the comic series. But, like me, the average theater participant should enjoy X-Men as a fun summer excursion. Bryan Singer has once again proven that he is a true director. The Usual Suspects is a modern classic and no matter what you think of Apt Pupil and its story, it remains a well-directed drama. Although Singer still hasn’t proven he’s the right guy to direct action scenes, (James Cameron was attached to this project for a long time) it’s the material surrounding the action that makes the film a success. A little more action utilizing the full range of all the mutant powers is certainly called for and keeps the film from being a home run. But the potential success of this one will guarantee the sequel everyone’s signed for and we can keep our fingers crossed.

The rumors of the fabled 135-minute original cut of the film are true. In the 80s, many fantasy films were chopped for content for one reason or another and then went on to become box office and critical disasters (i.e. Legend and Supergirl). As it stands now at a mere 95 minutes, X-Men could have continued that trend, but Bryan Singer and his writers have done such a commendable job with setting up most of the primary characters, that they were able to lose 40 minutes of character development, perhaps pick up the pace a little, and still managed to come out on top with a very entertaining comic book translation. It may not be out of the park, but it’s a solid hit. One can hope though that the home run lies on a future 2-disc special edition DVD from Fox.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1339&reviewer=198
originally posted: 07/17/00 09:27:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell not a good start imho 1 stars
1/17/15 the truth Should be called X-MAN. Focusing on Logan (wasted by Mr. Jackman) was moronic. Poor X-MEN.. 3 stars
9/19/12 Gabrielle Barnard Very enjoyable 5 stars
10/12/10 gfdggdfg hPnDtj pepyaka 5 stars
5/21/10 SmithJ wEB9vR Lol lol lool lol ha-ha! Lol lol lol? 5 stars
12/06/09 asdadssa wesdrf <a href="https://launchpad.net/~stragglgrtgu">you tube shannon</a> qwdwasads <a href 4 stars
12/06/09 dsasdada wedrf <a href="https://launchpad.net/~ptymtsterptc">you tube sex</a> qwerftgq <a href="http 5 stars
12/05/09 fsfdsfdsf wase <a href="https://launchpad.net/~abphibologyolx">lolita sex pics</a> wdesfdrfg <a href= 5 stars
12/05/09 aaaaadd hgggg <a href="https://launchpad.net/~scenehandley">lolita pussy</a> dsdsds <a href="https: 4 stars
11/20/09 PqJDdYJlsj 270_119.txt;8;12 3 stars
11/20/09 DaVZiNmEWZLaBGIW 270_118.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/19/09 xoYuCzxuahZERb 270_117.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/19/09 gRIrbfoIUqGd 270_115.txt;8;12 3 stars
11/19/09 hwbQpwpuQkVQuJ 270_114.txt;8;12 3 stars
11/19/09 nSPvPvSojwusOAHpABv 270_113.txt;8;12 5 stars
11/19/09 IjyyzlWDg 270_112.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/19/09 zplkmGOdFEcBMScuMw 270_111.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/18/09 QKytRoCodGo 270_109.txt;8;12 5 stars
11/18/09 mBuLLrWDG 270_98.txt;8;12 5 stars
11/17/09 Zborhmjm comment5 2 stars
11/16/09 Rqdttkal comment5 2 stars
11/16/09 Pvdaekus comment1 2 stars
11/16/09 Ybafvwvl comment1 4 stars
11/16/09 Vecysuzn comment3 3 stars
11/16/09 Vngldafq comment1 3 stars
11/16/09 Uulvrnnj comment5 5 stars
11/16/09 Luakbxqs comment3 5 stars
11/16/09 Xawnbrfc comment3 4 stars
11/16/09 Kgrfecxz comment2 3 stars
11/16/09 Nnamxynj comment6 2 stars
11/16/09 Mqjkxkeb comment2 3 stars
11/14/09 Rcpnxkds comment5 3 stars
11/14/09 Vttkbddn comment1 2 stars
11/13/09 Emlkrkcg comment1 2 stars
11/13/09 Qkeepplf comment3 5 stars
11/13/09 Vylzwchk comment6 2 stars
11/13/09 Kfycudqf comment2 5 stars
11/13/09 Vvpmnpdn comment4 3 stars
11/13/09 Wqbhiksz comment4 3 stars
11/13/09 Fombpgau comment6 5 stars
11/13/09 Bhdkrdcp comment2 4 stars
11/13/09 Uqabnubw comment4 2 stars
11/13/09 Fvvajeqj comment3 2 stars
11/13/09 Mayrzmip comment1 2 stars
11/12/09 Ocdsyuwj comment3 2 stars
11/12/09 Ndyfhxoh comment6 5 stars
11/12/09 Eruckdpw comment3 4 stars
11/12/09 Shzflvmq comment1 3 stars
11/12/09 Sixlknrk comment1 2 stars
11/12/09 Rdvpwzbx comment1 3 stars
11/12/09 Phiyfzjc comment2 4 stars
11/12/09 Mvvxgndv comment2 2 stars
11/11/09 Ziwmkjso comment2 5 stars
11/11/09 Ieysjvmh comment3 5 stars
11/11/09 Mhbzkbhd comment4 3 stars
11/11/09 Wlnwowcg comment2 3 stars
11/11/09 Fiywvttp comment6 4 stars
11/10/09 Xyyqlvbf comment1 4 stars
11/10/09 Nfhigmoz comment3 3 stars
11/10/09 Aoymkqqp comment4 2 stars
11/10/09 Cyxiijax comment6 5 stars
11/10/09 Aejkxqtv comment5 3 stars
11/09/09 Jxoxwuuv comment1 5 stars
11/09/09 Jnncsbsp comment6 3 stars
11/09/09 Mdpttkwg comment4 4 stars
11/09/09 Gmntdzxx comment1 5 stars
11/09/09 Qqxlctou comment6 3 stars
11/08/09 Kxjisosw comment2 3 stars
11/08/09 Qibnekdv comment3 3 stars
11/08/09 Xzlwocfv comment1 2 stars
11/08/09 Alkgdyue comment4 3 stars
11/08/09 Mweszpvp comment1 4 stars
11/07/09 Soihctds comment5 4 stars
11/07/09 Pagliwoq comment4 3 stars
11/07/09 Rjlplmgt comment2 3 stars
11/07/09 Eaftxgfs comment1 5 stars
11/07/09 Eaftxgfs comment1 5 stars
11/06/09 Jmxwjpvu comment1 3 stars
11/06/09 Zklearww comment6 3 stars
11/06/09 Oqhjlfot comment6 2 stars
8/30/09 CTT Nice start to the series 4 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner Wolverine is Awesome!! 5 stars
5/29/08 PAUL SHORTT A RICH COMIC BOOK FANTASY 2 stars
6/20/07 johnnyfog You're a dick, Cyclops. 5 stars
4/20/07 Lauren Love it keep them coming! 5 stars
3/21/07 dude pretty good 4 stars
3/09/07 Simm Thigh-crusher Bond chick as Jean Grey? Reccomend. 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega An exciting adventure. Don't have to be a mutant to love it. 4 stars
1/20/07 johnnyfog Christ, it's not THAT great! That cast a hot Rogue though 3 stars
1/19/07 MARGARET PESKOFF I THOUGHT THIS MOVIE TO BE VERY IMAGENATIVE 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini great fx 4 stars
10/17/06 David Good special effects and ideas. 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Well depicted, decent storyline,& a good popcorn flick. 4 stars
5/02/06 Cuenzie Wunzie This movie is F*cked! 1 stars
4/18/06 Dave Some style but a bad storyline. The sequel was better. 3 stars
8/29/05 Eden The sequel's much better but this is pretty good 4 stars
8/13/05 ES best hero flick ever made= so good 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington I thought it was slow and boring and awful. 1 stars
5/27/05 jasmine leivers YEWWW it was awesome 5 stars
3/29/05 Lyn excellent movie 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Imaginative and exciting! 5 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Great film, love Patrick Stewart 5 stars
2/02/05 Casey Becher Some good performances, but not my favorite fantasy movie. 3 stars
1/29/05 Carolyn Rathburn I enjoyed this movie, thought it followed the dark comic rather well. Love Wolverine 5 stars
1/08/05 Al Guy Pretty good for a first try. 4 stars
1/07/05 Yowza! Sucked. 2 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Do you know what happens to a toad...worst line EVER. 5 stars
9/02/04 Littlepurch excellent film - who is 'purchkiller'? 5 stars
5/10/04 Daveman Compared to Blade, this is well done, but still falls far short of Spider-Man's wit and fun 3 stars
3/30/04 Faustus Fantastic- Jackman turns in a great performance as Wolverine. 5 stars
2/19/04 me a good film 4 stars
2/07/04 BERNACIKBEATRICE I think themovies is really good in comparation with other movies.Allthow you know howthe 5 stars
1/16/04 ophylia777 how about better actresses for Storm & Jean 4 stars
1/08/04 A F How do you fall asleep in an action movie? Base it on comics. 3 stars
12/22/03 Spikey I didn't ever care about comics, and still don't but this MOVIE was fantastic! 5 stars
12/04/03 purchkiller littlepurch is an idiot! 3 stars
11/28/03 john a comic book summer movie done right!! good fun! 4 stars
11/22/03 Jinnvisible shows promise 3 stars
11/14/03 Littlepurch Gr8 film! Best superhero movie in years. Sequel even better! 5 stars
10/11/03 andru this film kicked ass only bad thing was no gambit, mon cher 5 stars
9/22/03 Jacques better than Spider-man? Sam needs help! 3 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Great Movie better than part 2, and certainly better than Spiderman! 5 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
7/18/03 Chris I wasn't enthusied. Boring plot line involing Woverwrine and just wierd. Some parts o.k. 2 stars
6/16/03 Jareth A dull, lifeless adaptation of an excellent comic book. 2 stars
5/22/03 Desert Rat Yawn! Is this about anything in particular? 3 stars
5/20/03 Jon Lyrik Dull. Sequel is far better. 3 stars
5/18/03 Fairy Princess Sneaky Awesome movie!!!!! The only thing better is X2 5 stars
5/17/03 Turtle One of the best comic book movies of all time. Storm's line to Toad really sucked, though. 5 stars
5/15/03 George Jung At some point in the movie, you wonder if playing with your shit is more entertaining. 2 stars
5/10/03 JL Very cool, but Halle kinda sucked. 5 stars
5/06/03 Dave Did the makers of this film forget about character development and story? Looks okay though 3 stars
5/05/03 yes this is a great movie-rent/buy it hello. you will like this movie. it redeems comicbook movies from Batman 4. Enjoy. 5 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Now THIS is the way to make a sci-fi/action movie, yeah! 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Good-looking but too mechanical and impersonal to score. Jackman is superb; Berry is awful. 2 stars
4/08/03 Mystique great action! luv ya Ian 5 stars
4/02/03 R.W. Welch Basically an F/X show with good cinematography. Not much else to hold you. 3 stars
3/28/03 Matt Thiel Blah. Let's hope X-Men 2 is better (it probably won't be) 3 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite well done; but the ending was all-too Hollywood predictable 4 stars
3/12/03 Shao Kahn Kinda Weak but not pathetic. 3 stars
3/09/03 What?! Did not followed comics but still okay. Halle Berry Sucks! 3 stars
2/24/03 wolvie great shit - '' what do they call you....wheels? '' 5 stars
2/20/03 Dave The action scenes don't do anything for me and it's too short. Watch Spiderman instead. 3 stars
2/06/03 123 after disappointing spawn and mediocre blade, this marvel comic movie rocks ! 5 stars
1/13/03 Stevo intelligent; true to the best x-men concept (fighting prejudice) not the modern comic crap 4 stars
9/27/02 John McNew To borrow from Roger Ebert on Episode II, "too much dialogue" 3 stars
7/25/02 Justin Oh, yeah! The Greatest Marvel Comic Movie Ever! 5 stars
6/22/02 Bart Does not stand up to a second viewing. 3 stars
5/13/02 Darth Haggis FX movie with no FX!! Char's were worthless, followed NO comic past A JOKE 1 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Much better than I was expecting. I'm looking forward to the sequel. 4 stars
2/03/02 chang meng wah it's good to see 2 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden Only McKellen's Performance Was Worthy Of Being Good. 2 stars
11/28/01 KMG God I want Hugh Jackman in my pussy! 5 stars
11/27/01 Jim Best comic movie since they started making comic movies. Where's Dazzler though? <GRIN> 5 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Nice story and comic book to movie transition. 3 stars
11/02/01 I love movies unimpressive, boring, average. 3 stars
10/14/01 jawsboy majorly dissapointing, but, still a pretty decent superhero flick like Blade and Batman 1&2 4 stars
9/26/01 ErinGirl I love this movie! Wolverine is so sexy and Rogue is so appealing! 5 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Finally a good comic movie! *besides Blade* 5 stars
8/31/01 Jon Cheung Actually no, First Contact was decent, but Episode 1 sucked sh*t.X-men was awesome 4 stars
8/29/01 Gary Better characters than any other 'comic' movie. Look forward to an improved sequel. 4 stars
8/28/01 ARCbird Knew the characters, never got into the comics. I want to be an X-Man !! 5 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson It didnt suck, and the Wolverine/Rogue relationship puts it over the top 5 stars
7/19/01 TLsmooth Jackman was awesome. Jon Cotleur(you french fag), you are Billy Zane's ass-demon. 4 stars
6/26/01 Elvisfan Fairly worthless, unmemorable, umimpressive 2 stars
6/09/01 Turtle THANK YOU! Finally, a movie that saves us from the crappy Batman movies. 5 stars
5/25/01 Connoisseur how boring! 2 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon awesome special effects 5 stars
3/12/01 Jon Cotleur I'll bet anything everyone who liked this also dug Episode I and ST: First Contact. 1 stars
3/12/01 james "bite me" womack the acting and directing were enough to save this movie 4 stars
2/21/01 Eric Stern This is my faviorte movie! I'm upsessed with it! 5 stars
2/11/01 Leather jacket Effects/Action cools but where did the story go?? 1 stars
2/04/01 Del R Pretty good, but too short and no character development. Wolverine was great. 4 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman One of the better comic book adaptations. 5 stars
1/26/01 Diego Romero You know it is 5 stars
1/20/01 Gary The characters are great.......felt like it needed something more. 4 stars
1/14/01 Invader x men is quite good action flick despite some discrepencies with the comic version 4 stars
1/13/01 James Curtis I loved this movie 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 First hour is good then gets bogged down in stupid fucking story. 3 stars
1/10/01 anthony cool as hell man 5 stars
1/02/01 Destruction Worker This movie is better than Casablanca and Citizen Kane. 5 stars
12/26/00 Turtle The best comic book movie ever (saving us from the Batman movies!)! 5 stars
12/25/00 mer yeah I liked it. don't miss it people 4 stars
12/25/00 Damion Cain yeah you hould see it. It's hard to see Rebecca's body clearly through all that paint thow 5 stars
12/24/00 bub awesome!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/17/00 Mitja Podgajski pretty funny... good special efects!... 4 stars
12/12/00 jobay it was so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head Excruciating worthless piece of rat dung..one of the worst films ever! NOTHING LIKE COMIC! 1 stars
11/14/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Even as a virgin of the X-Men phenomenon, I know it's better than most comic book movies. 4 stars
11/09/00 Michael A Cantu Loved it. . .only one problem. I loved it so much I wanted more than the 95 min version. 5 stars
10/30/00 Ken Not as good as the Tim Burton Batman movies (which kicked all ass), but pretty good. 4 stars
10/26/00 dan it was BOOOOOORING! 2 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero much better than Spawn and Judge Dredd 5 stars
9/11/00 Maria Vrana The movie X-men is the bast of the best .No movie can be comered to X-men. 5 stars
9/09/00 Jed Sincerely ignore the haters folks this is one of this years best! 5 stars
9/07/00 Gray Very entertaining. Mystique shoulda been given more lines and Storm was crap and boring. 4 stars
9/03/00 The Extreaminizer The Matrix, T2, and Batman Combined.........Plenty of Action and Visuals to vamp the comic 5 stars
9/02/00 Bruce Not being a fan I didn't know what to expect, but it was good 4 stars
8/27/00 minimasterab the movie of the year, so far 5 stars
8/26/00 miguel baddazz69r They didn't even show the fight that wolverine and sabertooth have 5 stars
8/26/00 Stuntman it was awesome 5 stars
8/26/00 Matthew Bartley Roll on part two 5 stars
8/25/00 Eric One of the best comic book adaptations ever! I loved Rogue. This movie rocks!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/23/00 Add Give anyone 100 million bucks and the x men license and they couldda made this. Uninspired. 2 stars
8/22/00 The Bomb 69 great movie, setup the sequel well, too short though 5 stars
8/22/00 biggs it kicked ass 5 stars
8/20/00 perverted pixie Entertaining, but kind of a no brainer. A least STORM was cool. 4 stars
8/19/00 spunkmirej best movie of the year. A must see 5 stars
8/17/00 eric cartman kick ass. 4 stars
8/15/00 iceman best movie of the year 5 stars
8/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A DECENT comic-book movie? This must be the first sign of the Apocalypse... 4 stars
8/12/00 Khaotic it made sense to the Non-fan. It was great and entertaining. 5 stars
8/11/00 J.C. Savior If this movie were any better, I woulda creamed my pants!!! 5 stars
8/11/00 Scott Lee Great 5 stars
8/09/00 PJ Kick ass, Wolverine stole the show, of course, true to it's comic bub! 5 stars
8/08/00 Mic Well done adaptation by young Usual Suspects director. Oscar winner Paquin was the worst. 4 stars
8/08/00 Harriett A. Ferrell A good blend of kick-ass action and despair that make Buffy and the X-files so popular. 4 stars
8/07/00 SuzVoy Watch it, now. Terrific characterisations. Unmissable. 5 stars
8/06/00 Redhawk Thank God it didn't suck as bad at the latter Batman flicks did. 4 stars
8/06/00 Katsat Jackman outstanding--sexy, compelling, humane, masculine--WOW! 5 stars
8/05/00 Hawk Very Nice, may be a little short, but Paquins breathtaking performance made up for it! 5 stars
8/05/00 Viking Better than most other comic adaptions. 4 stars
8/04/00 sohrab lutchmedial A faithful and fun adaptation of a comic classic. 5 stars
8/04/00 Girl 9 Decent effort, a little much at times, but worth a look. 4 stars
8/01/00 Jeff Graham My girlfriend liked it!!! 5 stars
8/01/00 Chazzman Very good introductory movie. Looking forward to the sequal. 5 stars
8/01/00 MKillroy If you have read the comics this is a must see movie 5 stars
7/30/00 NTWRAGE it \was a good movie but they set it up too much for a part two 4 stars
7/26/00 Keekah Very impressive movie 5 stars
7/24/00 The Bomb 69 the only problem I had is it was too short 5 stars
7/24/00 rosemonkey halle berry needs to die. unneccesary mistakes, no justice to epic history of comic 2 stars
7/24/00 koHawk Anybody who claims they REALLY like this movie alot is either in denial or under 16. 3 stars
7/22/00 Jason Kallelis Never watched the show or read the comic, but it still kicked ass 5 stars
7/22/00 burton miller Sure to be a trend-setter for future comic-derived movies 5 stars
7/22/00 satyamata Brilliant. 4 stars
7/22/00 Dylan Wahoo This movie kicked ass 5 stars
7/21/00 Rick A fanboy movie that got it right! OMG! 5 stars
7/21/00 Scott Karsk Loved this movie! Wished it wasa little longer. 5 stars
7/21/00 Pandora Could have used a bit more action but otherwise, good storytelling 4 stars
7/21/00 strider I miss gambit, but patrick stewart did a great job, can't wait for the sequel 4 stars
7/21/00 gwalla Hugh Jackman is awesome, otherwise it's just okay 4 stars
7/21/00 Kai Best movie for the summer, hugh jackman was an awsome actor, hope to see sequel 5 stars
7/21/00 Jeff Lane I agree. Fucking Awesome! My only complaint: Rogue didnt say Sugah, or maybe I missed it. 5 stars
7/20/00 DeadBody Man, don't complain about the lack of action, that's (hopefully) saved for the sequel. 5 stars
7/20/00 Louis Should have been longer and had more characters, Otherwise good 4 stars
7/20/00 Clarance Not much character development but hey! They did a pretty damn good job with it! Go see IT 4 stars
7/20/00 Blaise not bad, but a littul too wishy washy 3 stars
7/20/00 malcolm couldn't have been much better considering source material - i had a ball 4 stars
7/20/00 lina oh my my... what an adventure !!! very well made... funny too ... totally rad !!!! 5 stars
7/20/00 Athena Been waiting forever for this movie - Outstanding work. 5 stars
7/19/00 lordcrumb Brilliant don't listen to jaded critics 5 stars
7/19/00 Kelly Never picked up a comic in my life-didn't matter. wonderful movie! Hugh Jackman was awsome 5 stars
7/19/00 QuickieGirl We saw this movie, adored it, and went back the next night to see it again. WHOOHOO! 5 stars
7/19/00 Janette Nicholson I though this movie was excellent!!!!! I have been waiting for this movie for years. 5 stars
7/19/00 Greyjack Fun film. 4 stars
7/18/00 ramgol A must see to all marvel fans and the likes 5 stars
7/18/00 bullit17 I expected the worst, but was pleasantly surprised. True to the characters and a lot of fun 4 stars
7/18/00 homer simpson outstanding movie, until the end 4 stars
7/18/00 Fenris The most well done comic movie since Batman. 5 stars
7/18/00 M Finke Very well done for the first movie in a series. 5 stars
7/18/00 Overflow Bitch Better than I anticipated.. Interesting characters.. Cool !! 4 stars
7/18/00 Digitalus Patrick Stewart is the star 4 stars
7/18/00 Scotticus Maximus Great fun for X-enthusiasts and beginners alike! 5 stars
7/18/00 DrDemento This could've been so bad, but fucking HELL it rocked! 5 stars
7/18/00 Mortis I was so happy with this movie I nearly pissed my pants. I'll see it a million times!!! 5 stars
7/17/00 Thank god Hollywood didn't screw this up. Thank u Bryan Singer! Obi Wan 5 stars
7/17/00 Benjamin Lesbian Went in expecting drivel. Walked out blown away. Worth $7. 5 stars
7/17/00 Olga Surprisingly good... with no rubber codpieces or protruding nipples... thank God... 4 stars
7/17/00 tcd004 well adapted and well shot, now where's GAMBIT? 4 stars
7/17/00 PJ Kicked ass, wolverine is and will always be the badest muthafucka ever! 5 stars
7/17/00 DarkRomancer excellent design and art direction, beautiful special effects, good cast, AND Famke Janssen 5 stars
7/17/00 Doctor Collosus All it needed was some underaged love-smack'n between Wolverine and Rogue. Liked it. 4 stars
7/17/00 ALiaS WOW, so many references!! so much lore, *drool* and so much room for the sequel BRING IT ON 5 stars
7/16/00 Captain Highcrime I thought this was going to be this year's "Spawn," surprised the fuck out of me. 4 stars
7/16/00 Roman Storm's acting blew but Wolervine was cool 3 stars
7/16/00 Fuck me Wolvie Yes, they got it right. Casting for Wolverine was jaw-droppingly on-target 5 stars
7/16/00 daedalus Loved it, and so did my non-comic-reading girlfriend! 5 stars
7/16/00 thestinker Even with my expectations modestly low, I was underwhelmed. Say hello this year's Godzilla! 3 stars
7/16/00 NoizeFloor Hot diggity damn. Marvel finally got it right. I dig it! 5 stars
7/16/00 Not an X-Men Fan The best cinematic comic book crossover ever. Absolutely perfect, just needed more closure 5 stars
7/16/00 Cody rush Should have been released with TMNT back in the yearly 90s! 2 stars
7/16/00 Zatoichi Jones Good Lord, they did it right 5 stars
7/16/00 Silas This Movie fucking rocks! 5 stars
7/16/00 camelot Forget a sequel, I want a franchise!! 5 stars
7/15/00 CBG "[best] [comic book adaptation] ever" 5 stars
7/15/00 jake carlin excellent! never had to "dumb down" the material for the audience, but was still real fun. 5 stars
7/14/00 matthew smith Sensational with a capital S 5 stars
7/13/00 Klute Move over Batman, we gots us a new superhero franchise! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jul-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Jul-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast