More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome39.04%
Worth A Look: 27.96%
Average: 21.91%
Pretty Bad: 9.57%
Total Crap: 1.51%

14 reviews, 313 user ratings


Latest Reviews

This is Where I Leave You by Jaycie

Babadook, The by Jay Seaver

Duke of Burgundy, The by Jay Seaver

Redeemer by Jay Seaver

Force Majeure by Jay Seaver

Cub by Jay Seaver

Hardkor Disco by Jay Seaver

Zero Theorem, The by Peter Sobczynski

Tusk by Peter Sobczynski

Maze Runner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


X-Men
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Smart, emotionally credible comic-book adventure."
5 stars

At some level, 'X-Men' -- the comic book and the movie it has spawned -- is, has been, and always will be adolescent hokum, but it's adolescent hokum that can get around your shields and get to you.

When writer Chris Claremont gave the X-Men comic a makeover in the mid-'70s, he knew exactly how to turn it into a fan favorite: tap into the average comic-book reader's feelings of being misunderstood, ridiculed, alienated from the popular crowd. The noble mutants -- superheroes born with uncanny powers, and persecuted by society for it -- were stand-ins for their audience. Whether X-Men can connect with a summer-blockbuster audience on the same metaphoric level remains to be seen, but it deserves to; it's probably the most fully-rounded and satisfying bit of popcorn entertainment we've gotten this summer, or are likely to get.

The movie opens, oddly enough, in a Holocaust concentration-camp setting; we witness a young boy, who will grow up to be the vengeful Magneto (Ian McKellen), traumatically separated from his parents by Nazi soldiers. Manifesting his powers, the young Magneto causes the camp's iron gates to bend. Some will question whether Holocaust imagery should be used to spruce up a summer comic-book movie, but the moment has surprising power; so does much of the rest of the film. Director Bryan Singer (The Usual Suspects, Apt Pupil), who has never worked on a blockbuster scale before, tosses off the special-effects scenes -- they're necessary, but he's not all that crazy about them -- and focuses, believe it or not, on the personalities and philosophies in conflict.

Mutants are under attack; the self-righteous Senator Kelly (Bruce Davison), using rhetoric straight out of Joe McCarthy's playbook, calls for all mutants to be registered ("Would you want your children to go to school with mutants? Be taught by mutants?"). Magneto, who has seen this sort of thing before, mistrusts humans and sees the conflict as a war that mutants must win in order to survive. His opposite, Professor Charles Xavier (Patrick Stewart), is more optimistic -- he runs a private school devoted to helping young mutants refine their "gifts" for the greater good. Among Xavier's recruits are Wolverine (Hugh Jackman), a brutal scrapper with claws that pop out of his fists; Storm (Halle Berry), who commands the weather; Cyclops (James Marsden), whose eyes shoot lethal lasers; Jean Grey (Famke Janssen), a budding telepath; and Rogue (Anna Paquin), whose touch robs people of their essence and/or mutant abilities.

Magneto plans to use some sort of mutating ray on the world's leaders, to turn them into mutants and therefore level the playing field. Trouble is, he's too old to run the machine himself any more; it takes too much out of him, so he kidnaps the young Rogue, and her fellow X-Men swing into action. But X-Men is less about action than about the awkward electricity passing between, say, Wolverine and Jean Grey (she's involved with Cyclops but doesn't seem very intimate with him), or the ideological opponents Xavier and Magneto. X-Men packs a lot into its 104 minutes, but still finds time for a nicely understated scene between the skittish runaway Rogue and the slowly sympathetic Wolverine in his dingy truck; the dialogue, credited to David Hayter (as many as five other writers worked on the script), has much less macho attitudinizing than Claremont's own verbiage (I revisited some back issues after seeing the movie, and winced). Singer and Hayter have taken Claremont's compelling basic blueprint -- weird heroes with wounded souls -- and streamlined it.

The movie deftly sets up each character in a way that establishes his or her powers and personalities (Wolverine is a cynical loner; Cyclops is a stiff; and so on) lightly and quickly, and then gets on to the next thing. As summer movies go, X-Men is remarkably crisp and economical; it's not overawed by its own special effects, even when an unfortunate character's too, too solid flesh melts, thaws, and resolves itself into a dew. The acting is also a lot better than it had to be -- Hugh Jackman nails the balance of brooder and berserker that Wolverine fans will demand; Anna Paquin's untouchable Rogue gives you a pang of sorrow for this poor girl -- though I wish Ian McKellen's saturnine Magneto had more lively henchmen to bounce his wit off of; his minions (Tyler Mane's animalistic Sabretooth, Ray Park's tongue-lashing Toad, and Rebecca Romijn-Stamos' shape-shifting Mystique) have little or no dialogue, yet I must admit that Mystique the freaky blue hellcat is a terrific visual.

Singer and McKellen worked magic together in Apt Pupil -- another movie that used the Holocaust as a jumping-off point quite effectively -- and McKellen approaches this comic-book villain (with the rather embarrassing pronunciation "Mag-neato") without a scrap of condescension or even conscious hamming. The role doesn't take dignity away from him; he gives dignity to the role, and to the film. Like the misbegotten Battlefield Earth, the movie ends with the promise of more to come (there's a terrific final scene between Xavier and Magneto), but in this case you want to see more.

Bryan Singer brings a casual touch to blockbuster wizardry, as in a charming classroom scene when one bored mutant idly makes a fireball and another bored student turns it into an iceball. 'X-Men' shows every sign of being a smart, truly magical adventure-movie series.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1339&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/18/07 03:17:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

8/31/14 mtztbbg USA 2 stars
8/28/14 npuaqm USA 4 stars
8/25/14 Mljcgcuz USA 5 stars
8/25/14 yfabtozu USA 5 stars
7/29/14 stadjzbq USA 5 stars
7/28/14 bdwrpp USA 5 stars
7/24/14 ydjeci USA 2 stars
7/04/14 inatenhbbxh USA 3 stars
7/04/14 majszye USA 4 stars
7/03/14 tqjzuscbly USA 4 stars
7/01/14 miolyjt USA 3 stars
4/11/14 dxhloi USA 2 stars
3/05/14 pdvzbtvm USA 5 stars
3/05/14 zqihoesexo USA 5 stars
1/07/14 immmrxf USA 2 stars
1/07/14 kdpmqzzursl USA 4 stars
1/07/14 yftoaowil USA 3 stars
11/13/13 frzcqmig USA 3 stars
11/02/13 pexuloriw USA 3 stars
11/02/13 vpxndhevgx USA 5 stars
10/26/13 stkslc USA 3 stars
10/16/13 kgwqjlvoet USA 2 stars
10/09/13 mkneabmet USA 3 stars
10/03/13 nicwnnntvih USA 2 stars
9/29/13 tyaajoegkue USA 2 stars
8/21/13 xmjsmaf USA 2 stars
8/10/13 oiflleepqvs USA 4 stars
9/19/12 Gabrielle Barnard Very enjoyable 5 stars
10/12/10 gfdggdfg hPnDtj pepyaka 5 stars
5/21/10 SmithJ wEB9vR Lol lol lool lol ha-ha! Lol lol lol? 5 stars
12/06/09 asdadssa wesdrf <a href="https://launchpad.net/~stragglgrtgu">you tube shannon</a> qwdwasads <a href 4 stars
12/06/09 dsasdada wedrf <a href="https://launchpad.net/~ptymtsterptc">you tube sex</a> qwerftgq <a href="http 5 stars
12/05/09 fsfdsfdsf wase <a href="https://launchpad.net/~abphibologyolx">lolita sex pics</a> wdesfdrfg <a href= 5 stars
12/05/09 aaaaadd hgggg <a href="https://launchpad.net/~scenehandley">lolita pussy</a> dsdsds <a href="https: 4 stars
11/20/09 PqJDdYJlsj 270_119.txt;8;12 3 stars
11/20/09 DaVZiNmEWZLaBGIW 270_118.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/19/09 xoYuCzxuahZERb 270_117.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/19/09 gRIrbfoIUqGd 270_115.txt;8;12 3 stars
11/19/09 hwbQpwpuQkVQuJ 270_114.txt;8;12 3 stars
11/19/09 nSPvPvSojwusOAHpABv 270_113.txt;8;12 5 stars
11/19/09 IjyyzlWDg 270_112.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/19/09 zplkmGOdFEcBMScuMw 270_111.txt;8;12 4 stars
11/18/09 QKytRoCodGo 270_109.txt;8;12 5 stars
11/18/09 mBuLLrWDG 270_98.txt;8;12 5 stars
11/17/09 Zborhmjm comment5 2 stars
11/16/09 Rqdttkal comment5 2 stars
11/16/09 Pvdaekus comment1 2 stars
11/16/09 Ybafvwvl comment1 4 stars
11/16/09 Vecysuzn comment3 3 stars
11/16/09 Vngldafq comment1 3 stars
11/16/09 Uulvrnnj comment5 5 stars
11/16/09 Luakbxqs comment3 5 stars
11/16/09 Xawnbrfc comment3 4 stars
11/16/09 Kgrfecxz comment2 3 stars
11/16/09 Nnamxynj comment6 2 stars
11/16/09 Mqjkxkeb comment2 3 stars
11/14/09 Rcpnxkds comment5 3 stars
11/14/09 Vttkbddn comment1 2 stars
11/13/09 Emlkrkcg comment1 2 stars
11/13/09 Qkeepplf comment3 5 stars
11/13/09 Vylzwchk comment6 2 stars
11/13/09 Kfycudqf comment2 5 stars
11/13/09 Vvpmnpdn comment4 3 stars
11/13/09 Wqbhiksz comment4 3 stars
11/13/09 Fombpgau comment6 5 stars
11/13/09 Bhdkrdcp comment2 4 stars
11/13/09 Uqabnubw comment4 2 stars
11/13/09 Fvvajeqj comment3 2 stars
11/13/09 Mayrzmip comment1 2 stars
11/12/09 Ocdsyuwj comment3 2 stars
11/12/09 Ndyfhxoh comment6 5 stars
11/12/09 Eruckdpw comment3 4 stars
11/12/09 Shzflvmq comment1 3 stars
11/12/09 Sixlknrk comment1 2 stars
11/12/09 Rdvpwzbx comment1 3 stars
11/12/09 Phiyfzjc comment2 4 stars
11/12/09 Mvvxgndv comment2 2 stars
11/11/09 Ziwmkjso comment2 5 stars
11/11/09 Ieysjvmh comment3 5 stars
11/11/09 Mhbzkbhd comment4 3 stars
11/11/09 Wlnwowcg comment2 3 stars
11/11/09 Fiywvttp comment6 4 stars
11/10/09 Xyyqlvbf comment1 4 stars
11/10/09 Nfhigmoz comment3 3 stars
11/10/09 Aoymkqqp comment4 2 stars
11/10/09 Cyxiijax comment6 5 stars
11/10/09 Aejkxqtv comment5 3 stars
11/09/09 Jxoxwuuv comment1 5 stars
11/09/09 Jnncsbsp comment6 3 stars
11/09/09 Mdpttkwg comment4 4 stars
11/09/09 Gmntdzxx comment1 5 stars
11/09/09 Qqxlctou comment6 3 stars
11/08/09 Kxjisosw comment2 3 stars
11/08/09 Qibnekdv comment3 3 stars
11/08/09 Xzlwocfv comment1 2 stars
11/08/09 Alkgdyue comment4 3 stars
11/08/09 Mweszpvp comment1 4 stars
11/07/09 Soihctds comment5 4 stars
11/07/09 Pagliwoq comment4 3 stars
11/07/09 Rjlplmgt comment2 3 stars
11/07/09 Eaftxgfs comment1 5 stars
11/07/09 Eaftxgfs comment1 5 stars
11/06/09 Jmxwjpvu comment1 3 stars
11/06/09 Zklearww comment6 3 stars
11/06/09 Oqhjlfot comment6 2 stars
8/30/09 CTT Nice start to the series 4 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner Wolverine is Awesome!! 5 stars
5/29/08 PAUL SHORTT A RICH COMIC BOOK FANTASY 2 stars
6/20/07 johnnyfog You're a dick, Cyclops. 5 stars
4/20/07 Lauren Love it keep them coming! 5 stars
3/21/07 dude pretty good 4 stars
3/09/07 Simm Thigh-crusher Bond chick as Jean Grey? Reccomend. 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega An exciting adventure. Don't have to be a mutant to love it. 4 stars
1/20/07 johnnyfog Christ, it's not THAT great! That cast a hot Rogue though 3 stars
1/19/07 MARGARET PESKOFF I THOUGHT THIS MOVIE TO BE VERY IMAGENATIVE 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini great fx 4 stars
10/17/06 David Good special effects and ideas. 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Well depicted, decent storyline,& a good popcorn flick. 4 stars
5/02/06 Cuenzie Wunzie This movie is F*cked! 1 stars
4/18/06 Dave Some style but a bad storyline. The sequel was better. 3 stars
8/29/05 Eden The sequel's much better but this is pretty good 4 stars
8/13/05 ES best hero flick ever made= so good 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington I thought it was slow and boring and awful. 1 stars
5/27/05 jasmine leivers YEWWW it was awesome 5 stars
3/29/05 Lyn excellent movie 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Imaginative and exciting! 5 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Great film, love Patrick Stewart 5 stars
2/02/05 Casey Becher Some good performances, but not my favorite fantasy movie. 3 stars
1/29/05 Carolyn Rathburn I enjoyed this movie, thought it followed the dark comic rather well. Love Wolverine 5 stars
1/08/05 Al Guy Pretty good for a first try. 4 stars
1/07/05 Yowza! Sucked. 2 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Do you know what happens to a toad...worst line EVER. 5 stars
9/02/04 Littlepurch excellent film - who is 'purchkiller'? 5 stars
5/10/04 Daveman Compared to Blade, this is well done, but still falls far short of Spider-Man's wit and fun 3 stars
3/30/04 Faustus Fantastic- Jackman turns in a great performance as Wolverine. 5 stars
2/19/04 me a good film 4 stars
2/07/04 BERNACIKBEATRICE I think themovies is really good in comparation with other movies.Allthow you know howthe 5 stars
1/16/04 ophylia777 how about better actresses for Storm & Jean 4 stars
1/08/04 A F How do you fall asleep in an action movie? Base it on comics. 3 stars
12/22/03 Spikey I didn't ever care about comics, and still don't but this MOVIE was fantastic! 5 stars
12/04/03 purchkiller littlepurch is an idiot! 3 stars
11/28/03 john a comic book summer movie done right!! good fun! 4 stars
11/22/03 Jinnvisible shows promise 3 stars
11/14/03 Littlepurch Gr8 film! Best superhero movie in years. Sequel even better! 5 stars
10/11/03 andru this film kicked ass only bad thing was no gambit, mon cher 5 stars
9/22/03 Jacques better than Spider-man? Sam needs help! 3 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Great Movie better than part 2, and certainly better than Spiderman! 5 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
7/18/03 Chris I wasn't enthusied. Boring plot line involing Woverwrine and just wierd. Some parts o.k. 2 stars
6/16/03 Jareth A dull, lifeless adaptation of an excellent comic book. 2 stars
5/22/03 Desert Rat Yawn! Is this about anything in particular? 3 stars
5/20/03 Jon Lyrik Dull. Sequel is far better. 3 stars
5/18/03 Fairy Princess Sneaky Awesome movie!!!!! The only thing better is X2 5 stars
5/17/03 Turtle One of the best comic book movies of all time. Storm's line to Toad really sucked, though. 5 stars
5/15/03 George Jung At some point in the movie, you wonder if playing with your shit is more entertaining. 2 stars
5/10/03 JL Very cool, but Halle kinda sucked. 5 stars
5/06/03 Dave Did the makers of this film forget about character development and story? Looks okay though 3 stars
5/05/03 yes this is a great movie-rent/buy it hello. you will like this movie. it redeems comicbook movies from Batman 4. Enjoy. 5 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Now THIS is the way to make a sci-fi/action movie, yeah! 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Good-looking but too mechanical and impersonal to score. Jackman is superb; Berry is awful. 2 stars
4/08/03 Mystique great action! luv ya Ian 5 stars
4/02/03 R.W. Welch Basically an F/X show with good cinematography. Not much else to hold you. 3 stars
3/28/03 Matt Thiel Blah. Let's hope X-Men 2 is better (it probably won't be) 3 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite well done; but the ending was all-too Hollywood predictable 4 stars
3/12/03 Shao Kahn Kinda Weak but not pathetic. 3 stars
3/09/03 What?! Did not followed comics but still okay. Halle Berry Sucks! 3 stars
2/24/03 wolvie great shit - '' what do they call you....wheels? '' 5 stars
2/20/03 Dave The action scenes don't do anything for me and it's too short. Watch Spiderman instead. 3 stars
2/06/03 123 after disappointing spawn and mediocre blade, this marvel comic movie rocks ! 5 stars
1/13/03 Stevo intelligent; true to the best x-men concept (fighting prejudice) not the modern comic crap 4 stars
9/27/02 John McNew To borrow from Roger Ebert on Episode II, "too much dialogue" 3 stars
7/25/02 Justin Oh, yeah! The Greatest Marvel Comic Movie Ever! 5 stars
6/22/02 Bart Does not stand up to a second viewing. 3 stars
5/13/02 Darth Haggis FX movie with no FX!! Char's were worthless, followed NO comic past A JOKE 1 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Much better than I was expecting. I'm looking forward to the sequel. 4 stars
2/03/02 chang meng wah it's good to see 2 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden Only McKellen's Performance Was Worthy Of Being Good. 2 stars
11/28/01 KMG God I want Hugh Jackman in my pussy! 5 stars
11/27/01 Jim Best comic movie since they started making comic movies. Where's Dazzler though? <GRIN> 5 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Nice story and comic book to movie transition. 3 stars
11/02/01 I love movies unimpressive, boring, average. 3 stars
10/14/01 jawsboy majorly dissapointing, but, still a pretty decent superhero flick like Blade and Batman 1&2 4 stars
9/26/01 ErinGirl I love this movie! Wolverine is so sexy and Rogue is so appealing! 5 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Finally a good comic movie! *besides Blade* 5 stars
8/31/01 Jon Cheung Actually no, First Contact was decent, but Episode 1 sucked sh*t.X-men was awesome 4 stars
8/29/01 Gary Better characters than any other 'comic' movie. Look forward to an improved sequel. 4 stars
8/28/01 ARCbird Knew the characters, never got into the comics. I want to be an X-Man !! 5 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson It didnt suck, and the Wolverine/Rogue relationship puts it over the top 5 stars
7/19/01 TLsmooth Jackman was awesome. Jon Cotleur(you french fag), you are Billy Zane's ass-demon. 4 stars
6/26/01 Elvisfan Fairly worthless, unmemorable, umimpressive 2 stars
6/09/01 Turtle THANK YOU! Finally, a movie that saves us from the crappy Batman movies. 5 stars
5/25/01 Connoisseur how boring! 2 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon awesome special effects 5 stars
3/12/01 Jon Cotleur I'll bet anything everyone who liked this also dug Episode I and ST: First Contact. 1 stars
3/12/01 james "bite me" womack the acting and directing were enough to save this movie 4 stars
2/21/01 Eric Stern This is my faviorte movie! I'm upsessed with it! 5 stars
2/11/01 Leather jacket Effects/Action cools but where did the story go?? 1 stars
2/04/01 Del R Pretty good, but too short and no character development. Wolverine was great. 4 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman One of the better comic book adaptations. 5 stars
1/26/01 Diego Romero You know it is 5 stars
1/20/01 Gary The characters are great.......felt like it needed something more. 4 stars
1/14/01 Invader x men is quite good action flick despite some discrepencies with the comic version 4 stars
1/13/01 James Curtis I loved this movie 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 First hour is good then gets bogged down in stupid fucking story. 3 stars
1/10/01 anthony cool as hell man 5 stars
1/02/01 Destruction Worker This movie is better than Casablanca and Citizen Kane. 5 stars
12/26/00 Turtle The best comic book movie ever (saving us from the Batman movies!)! 5 stars
12/25/00 mer yeah I liked it. don't miss it people 4 stars
12/25/00 Damion Cain yeah you hould see it. It's hard to see Rebecca's body clearly through all that paint thow 5 stars
12/24/00 bub awesome!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/17/00 Mitja Podgajski pretty funny... good special efects!... 4 stars
12/12/00 jobay it was so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head Excruciating worthless piece of rat dung..one of the worst films ever! NOTHING LIKE COMIC! 1 stars
11/14/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Even as a virgin of the X-Men phenomenon, I know it's better than most comic book movies. 4 stars
11/09/00 Michael A Cantu Loved it. . .only one problem. I loved it so much I wanted more than the 95 min version. 5 stars
10/30/00 Ken Not as good as the Tim Burton Batman movies (which kicked all ass), but pretty good. 4 stars
10/26/00 dan it was BOOOOOORING! 2 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero much better than Spawn and Judge Dredd 5 stars
9/11/00 Maria Vrana The movie X-men is the bast of the best .No movie can be comered to X-men. 5 stars
9/09/00 Jed Sincerely ignore the haters folks this is one of this years best! 5 stars
9/07/00 Gray Very entertaining. Mystique shoulda been given more lines and Storm was crap and boring. 4 stars
9/03/00 The Extreaminizer The Matrix, T2, and Batman Combined.........Plenty of Action and Visuals to vamp the comic 5 stars
9/02/00 Bruce Not being a fan I didn't know what to expect, but it was good 4 stars
8/27/00 minimasterab the movie of the year, so far 5 stars
8/26/00 miguel baddazz69r They didn't even show the fight that wolverine and sabertooth have 5 stars
8/26/00 Stuntman it was awesome 5 stars
8/26/00 Matthew Bartley Roll on part two 5 stars
8/25/00 Eric One of the best comic book adaptations ever! I loved Rogue. This movie rocks!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/23/00 Add Give anyone 100 million bucks and the x men license and they couldda made this. Uninspired. 2 stars
8/22/00 The Bomb 69 great movie, setup the sequel well, too short though 5 stars
8/22/00 biggs it kicked ass 5 stars
8/20/00 perverted pixie Entertaining, but kind of a no brainer. A least STORM was cool. 4 stars
8/19/00 spunkmirej best movie of the year. A must see 5 stars
8/17/00 eric cartman kick ass. 4 stars
8/15/00 iceman best movie of the year 5 stars
8/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A DECENT comic-book movie? This must be the first sign of the Apocalypse... 4 stars
8/12/00 Khaotic it made sense to the Non-fan. It was great and entertaining. 5 stars
8/11/00 J.C. Savior If this movie were any better, I woulda creamed my pants!!! 5 stars
8/11/00 Scott Lee Great 5 stars
8/09/00 PJ Kick ass, Wolverine stole the show, of course, true to it's comic bub! 5 stars
8/08/00 Mic Well done adaptation by young Usual Suspects director. Oscar winner Paquin was the worst. 4 stars
8/08/00 Harriett A. Ferrell A good blend of kick-ass action and despair that make Buffy and the X-files so popular. 4 stars
8/07/00 SuzVoy Watch it, now. Terrific characterisations. Unmissable. 5 stars
8/06/00 Redhawk Thank God it didn't suck as bad at the latter Batman flicks did. 4 stars
8/06/00 Katsat Jackman outstanding--sexy, compelling, humane, masculine--WOW! 5 stars
8/05/00 Hawk Very Nice, may be a little short, but Paquins breathtaking performance made up for it! 5 stars
8/05/00 Viking Better than most other comic adaptions. 4 stars
8/04/00 sohrab lutchmedial A faithful and fun adaptation of a comic classic. 5 stars
8/04/00 Girl 9 Decent effort, a little much at times, but worth a look. 4 stars
8/01/00 Jeff Graham My girlfriend liked it!!! 5 stars
8/01/00 Chazzman Very good introductory movie. Looking forward to the sequal. 5 stars
8/01/00 MKillroy If you have read the comics this is a must see movie 5 stars
7/30/00 NTWRAGE it \was a good movie but they set it up too much for a part two 4 stars
7/26/00 Keekah Very impressive movie 5 stars
7/24/00 The Bomb 69 the only problem I had is it was too short 5 stars
7/24/00 rosemonkey halle berry needs to die. unneccesary mistakes, no justice to epic history of comic 2 stars
7/24/00 koHawk Anybody who claims they REALLY like this movie alot is either in denial or under 16. 3 stars
7/22/00 Jason Kallelis Never watched the show or read the comic, but it still kicked ass 5 stars
7/22/00 burton miller Sure to be a trend-setter for future comic-derived movies 5 stars
7/22/00 satyamata Brilliant. 4 stars
7/22/00 Dylan Wahoo This movie kicked ass 5 stars
7/21/00 Rick A fanboy movie that got it right! OMG! 5 stars
7/21/00 Scott Karsk Loved this movie! Wished it wasa little longer. 5 stars
7/21/00 Pandora Could have used a bit more action but otherwise, good storytelling 4 stars
7/21/00 strider I miss gambit, but patrick stewart did a great job, can't wait for the sequel 4 stars
7/21/00 gwalla Hugh Jackman is awesome, otherwise it's just okay 4 stars
7/21/00 Kai Best movie for the summer, hugh jackman was an awsome actor, hope to see sequel 5 stars
7/21/00 Jeff Lane I agree. Fucking Awesome! My only complaint: Rogue didnt say Sugah, or maybe I missed it. 5 stars
7/20/00 DeadBody Man, don't complain about the lack of action, that's (hopefully) saved for the sequel. 5 stars
7/20/00 Louis Should have been longer and had more characters, Otherwise good 4 stars
7/20/00 Clarance Not much character development but hey! They did a pretty damn good job with it! Go see IT 4 stars
7/20/00 Blaise not bad, but a littul too wishy washy 3 stars
7/20/00 malcolm couldn't have been much better considering source material - i had a ball 4 stars
7/20/00 lina oh my my... what an adventure !!! very well made... funny too ... totally rad !!!! 5 stars
7/20/00 Athena Been waiting forever for this movie - Outstanding work. 5 stars
7/19/00 lordcrumb Brilliant don't listen to jaded critics 5 stars
7/19/00 Kelly Never picked up a comic in my life-didn't matter. wonderful movie! Hugh Jackman was awsome 5 stars
7/19/00 QuickieGirl We saw this movie, adored it, and went back the next night to see it again. WHOOHOO! 5 stars
7/19/00 Janette Nicholson I though this movie was excellent!!!!! I have been waiting for this movie for years. 5 stars
7/19/00 Greyjack Fun film. 4 stars
7/18/00 ramgol A must see to all marvel fans and the likes 5 stars
7/18/00 bullit17 I expected the worst, but was pleasantly surprised. True to the characters and a lot of fun 4 stars
7/18/00 homer simpson outstanding movie, until the end 4 stars
7/18/00 Fenris The most well done comic movie since Batman. 5 stars
7/18/00 M Finke Very well done for the first movie in a series. 5 stars
7/18/00 Overflow Bitch Better than I anticipated.. Interesting characters.. Cool !! 4 stars
7/18/00 Digitalus Patrick Stewart is the star 4 stars
7/18/00 Scotticus Maximus Great fun for X-enthusiasts and beginners alike! 5 stars
7/18/00 DrDemento This could've been so bad, but fucking HELL it rocked! 5 stars
7/18/00 Mortis I was so happy with this movie I nearly pissed my pants. I'll see it a million times!!! 5 stars
7/17/00 Thank god Hollywood didn't screw this up. Thank u Bryan Singer! Obi Wan 5 stars
7/17/00 Benjamin Lesbian Went in expecting drivel. Walked out blown away. Worth $7. 5 stars
7/17/00 Olga Surprisingly good... with no rubber codpieces or protruding nipples... thank God... 4 stars
7/17/00 tcd004 well adapted and well shot, now where's GAMBIT? 4 stars
7/17/00 PJ Kicked ass, wolverine is and will always be the badest muthafucka ever! 5 stars
7/17/00 DarkRomancer excellent design and art direction, beautiful special effects, good cast, AND Famke Janssen 5 stars
7/17/00 Doctor Collosus All it needed was some underaged love-smack'n between Wolverine and Rogue. Liked it. 4 stars
7/17/00 ALiaS WOW, so many references!! so much lore, *drool* and so much room for the sequel BRING IT ON 5 stars
7/16/00 Captain Highcrime I thought this was going to be this year's "Spawn," surprised the fuck out of me. 4 stars
7/16/00 Roman Storm's acting blew but Wolervine was cool 3 stars
7/16/00 Fuck me Wolvie Yes, they got it right. Casting for Wolverine was jaw-droppingly on-target 5 stars
7/16/00 daedalus Loved it, and so did my non-comic-reading girlfriend! 5 stars
7/16/00 thestinker Even with my expectations modestly low, I was underwhelmed. Say hello this year's Godzilla! 3 stars
7/16/00 NoizeFloor Hot diggity damn. Marvel finally got it right. I dig it! 5 stars
7/16/00 Not an X-Men Fan The best cinematic comic book crossover ever. Absolutely perfect, just needed more closure 5 stars
7/16/00 Cody rush Should have been released with TMNT back in the yearly 90s! 2 stars
7/16/00 Zatoichi Jones Good Lord, they did it right 5 stars
7/16/00 Silas This Movie fucking rocks! 5 stars
7/16/00 camelot Forget a sequel, I want a franchise!! 5 stars
7/15/00 CBG "[best] [comic book adaptation] ever" 5 stars
7/15/00 jake carlin excellent! never had to "dumb down" the material for the audience, but was still real fun. 5 stars
7/14/00 matthew smith Sensational with a capital S 5 stars
7/13/00 Klute Move over Batman, we gots us a new superhero franchise! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jul-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Jul-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast