More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.09

Awesome: 17.32%
Worth A Look34.65%
Average: 11.02%
Pretty Bad: 14.17%
Total Crap: 22.83%

10 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Little Woods by Jay Seaver

Avengers: Endgame by Lybarger

Avengers: Endgame by Peter Sobczynski

Glass (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Man Who Killed Don Quixote, The by Rob Gonsalves

Hellboy (2019) by Jay Seaver

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Saw 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Doug Bentin

"Understatement department: “Oh yes, there will be blood.”"
4 stars

What are the chances that a movie with the word “saw” in the title wouldn’t be bloody? And did you see the original poster? Two severed fingers were used to indicate the “part two” of the title. Of course, the MPAA sang “The No No Song” and the art had to be changed. But you knew, didn’t you?

Now, I don’t believe that a horror movie has to be drenched in grue to be effective, but in a time of anemic “PG-13” rated boosies, at least the gore lets you know that the filmmaker is trying to get into your blood stream and not just under your skin.

The Jigsaw (Tobin Bell), as he has been dubbed by cops and the press, has returned from his initial outing to kidnap and entrap a group of ne’er-do-wells in an abandoned house. A deadly gas is being released slowly into the air, but vials with the antidote are secreted around the house. If the victims can figure out Jigsaw’s always elliptical clues, there are enough vials for everyone.

Of course since these people were not selected because they have all been beatified, passions of the uglier variety break out and the ones who don’t run afoul of Jigsaw’s deathtraps run afoul of each other. Only Daniel (Erik Knudsen), the teenage son of the cop who is trying to break the case, and Samantha (Shawnee Smith), who survived a game in the first film, form a kind of we-gotta-help-each-other-to-get-outta-this bond.

Meanwhile, Daniel’s estranged dad (Donnie Wahlberg) finds Jigsaw’s hiding place but can’t get him to tell where the victims are being held.

It’s a double race against the clock, the kidnapees to find the antidotes and the cop to find his son.

There isn’t much to admire in any of the characters, and that’s as generous a statement as I’ve ever made. The victims run the gamut from pathetic to loathsome, and the cops are head-busters. Jigsaw at least wants his captives to learn to appreciate every moment of life, but he’s still crazier than a pigmy pole-vaulter.

One bit is as difficult to watch as anything I’ve ever seen on screen. Franky G plays Xavier, a muscled-up drug dealer whose self-inflated ego makes Madonna look like Saint Bernadette. He figures out that one of the syringes of good stuff is hidden, Purloined Letter style, in a pit full of needles and syringes. The only way to find out what’s behind Door Number One is to jump in and thrash about. He even makes a joke about looking for a hay in a needle stack.

So what does he do? In a move reminiscent of an old joke the punch line of which is “The Texan shouted ‘Remember the Alamo!’ and threw out the Mexican,” Xavier picks up one of the other characters and tosses her into the pit.

It’s a bit that works on at least three levels at once. It shows us what an asshole the guy is. It shows us the depths to which frightened people will descend when they are really desperate.

But most significantly, in this situation, it shows us that these filmmakers are not going to pull any punches in their desire to screw with out heads. I recently watched “The Exorcist” with an audience for the first time in 30 years and was pleasantly surprised when the masturbation scene elicited gasps of shock from people who had never seen the picture before. The girl tossed into the needle pit got pretty much the same reaction.

Or maybe viewers were shocked by the depravity of Xavier’s me-firstism. There aren’t a lot of people who won’t be unsettled by the miserable lot of low-life creeps who make up the movie’s cast of characters. These folks are not community chest volunteers, and the film is grim.

But you know what? I don’t care. Who says that all movies should be uplifting? Some of them can be just as cynical and black-humored as they want to be. Love doesn’t inevitably conquer all and there’s no reason to keep that a secret. Besides, art doesn’t have to always be moral or positive. Having a social conscience is great for real life. I’m all in favor of it, especially for everyone else.

New director Darren Lynn Bousman just provides an extension on the first film, using the same drab color scheme, grungy locations, and over-the-top, Grand Guignol performance style. Original writer Leigh Wannell is back, this time working with the director to produce a script with some not so surprising surprises and a few nifties. I like thriller scripts that lead me to believe I’ve got it all figured out only to blindside me later.

And did I mention that there will be blood? Whew. Oh yes.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13441&reviewer=405
originally posted: 11/10/05 07:42:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/17 morris campbell the best in the series rough&raw 4 stars
8/25/16 Matt Gross but effective. 3 stars
4/05/16 Charles Tatum Wasn't much interested in the series after this sleepy sequel 3 stars
3/03/10 Stanley Thai I was expecting much more than just deaths and more people and twists. 2 stars
2/17/09 action movie fan a good sequel=interesting scary predicament 4 stars
10/28/08 Sugarfoot I liked this entry simply because I got to know Jigsaw and his victims. 4 stars
7/23/08 David V Decent enough, but it's too bad Jigsaw became a grandfather figure. 3 stars
6/03/08 PAUL SHORTT NEEDLESSLY UGLY, JOYLESS AND REVOLTING 1 stars
10/25/07 lolz AAAAHH SCARY BUT FUNNY O.o 4 stars
3/21/07 Brandi Pranger awsome to watch 5 stars
3/18/07 Justin P Hated it, was the worst movie ever until Saw 3 came out 1 stars
12/08/06 Angel Chavez Better than the first! 5 stars
11/15/06 Drew Galletti Best one in the series 4 stars
11/09/06 Dark Enchantress i love the saw movies alot! This one was ok...it could of been better, but ok 5 stars
11/08/06 Divin' in Needles Two Saws Up 4 stars
11/07/06 Drew Best one in the trilogy 5 stars
11/03/06 David Pollastrini good gore. Beverly mitchel is hot! 5 stars
11/02/06 Patsyc I liked it. It was very suspenseful and kept me on the edge of my seat. 5 stars
10/30/06 Bitchflaps Really poor 1 stars
10/30/06 Anthony Feor It has bloody deaths, What else ya got? 2 stars
10/28/06 Teanna Wow this movie was awesome and took a surprising turn at the end. WAY BETTER THAN THE FIRST 5 stars
8/17/06 Stanley Thai It's a bad movie that took a HUGE drop from the original. 2 stars
8/02/06 dan no way near as good as saw 1 3 stars
7/24/06 Samuel Pretty F'n awesome...I still thought the origional was better, but this is a fine sequel... 4 stars
6/26/06 raul valdez Jr as good as the first but not better 5 stars
6/05/06 katie A really great movie and just a little bit better than the first one. 5 stars
4/26/06 Logan Horberg This movie kicked so much ass! 5 stars
4/24/06 curtis it was pretty good i liked it....i like the 1st one too 4 stars
4/04/06 Mike Amazing,unpredictable,couldn't have guessed the ending if I tried,cant wait for saw 3 5 stars
3/18/06 Indrid Cold Less coherent and interesting than the original, but still decent Hollywood horror. 3 stars
2/27/06 Danny Not nearly as suspensful as the first one, but still pretty good for a horror film. 4 stars
2/20/06 B "Stylish" sadism = cool!!! So do pseudo-philosophical one-liners and absurd plot twists!!! 1 stars
2/19/06 Elisabeth Eagle Was a great movie in my opinion 5 stars
2/16/06 Rebecca D. Brothers It was an awesome movie with plenty of gore and suspense! Way better than the 1st. 5 stars
1/04/06 alice nothing new 3 stars
1/01/06 metalhead I didn't see the first one so I can't compare them, but i thought it was ok. 4 stars
12/13/05 Mike First was OK B-Movie, this one makes Cube Zero look like Oscar winning material. 1 stars
11/25/05 CONSTANTINE ONCE AGAIN... AWESOME, may've had a few plot, but makes up for it in the end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Stay away. Stay very far away. I wouldn't touch this film again with a 10 ft pole. 1 stars
11/21/05 Stewart Amen, Jason Whyte. This movie only exists to promote pornographic violence. Evil garbage! 1 stars
11/20/05 Evil Wolfie Haha. She fell into a pit full of syringes. 4 stars
11/20/05 Bestit I liked the first (good, not great), but this one was just total crap. 1 stars
11/20/05 Moctezuma I thought it was great 5 stars
11/18/05 malcolm repulsive but fun. actually reminded me more of 'Cube' than 1st 'Saw.' 3 stars
11/18/05 Jabber Crappy, uninspired sequel. Lame-as-hell. 1 stars
11/17/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME, Enjoyable as the 1st! Shawnee Smith was HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/16/05 Littlepurch Not as gd as the first but stil loved it.Clever ending, as ever, and Jigsaw was v menacing. 4 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Enough for fans of the first to be happy, but it doesn't live up to Saws novelty factor. 4 stars
11/15/05 JC This movie is not a fucking horror movie!!!! It's more like a suspense. 5 stars
11/13/05 cypress loved it, i would have preferred a different ending, but great movie! 5 stars
11/13/05 kanita ruined the 1st one like most sequels...vry stupid twist looked like they just bsed the end 2 stars
11/11/05 Dan Smith As good as the first, just in a spine tingling different way. 5 stars
11/06/05 blowsky how can anyone like this crap, looks like 7th graders wrote it 1 stars
11/06/05 jeff not as good as first. 3 stars
11/05/05 ew a good film 4 stars
11/04/05 Meryl I love you, screenwriters of the SAW series. I love you. 5 stars
11/04/05 Agent Sands Not nearly as scary or well-written as the original. But it is VERY GORY, which is good. 4 stars
11/04/05 Lowell Sucked big, fat, hairy donkey nuts!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/02/05 Roy Smith A minor drop from the orginal not a plummet like Ring 2. 4 stars
11/02/05 me a great film 4 stars
11/01/05 Skellington I like this the first time I saw it...when it was called CUBE!!! 2 stars
11/01/05 jcjs funny but no one was laughing, stupider than one, Tobin neat, great for 3rd graders 4 stars
10/30/05 bff a great film 4 stars
10/30/05 Jake Weinberg has no taste. Saw II is "worth a look"? Umm...no. 2 stars
10/29/05 Jacobee SAW TWO IS OFF DA CHAIN!!! 5 stars
10/29/05 Crumbcake brianorndorf gave ELIZABETHTOWN five stars...that says it all. 5 stars
10/29/05 Darren Shea A worthy sequel. It trades much of the stark creepiness of Saw for a more complex story 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Oct-2005 (R)
  DVD: 24-Oct-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Nov-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast