More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.97

Awesome41.86%
Worth A Look: 33.14%
Average: 11.63%
Pretty Bad: 6.98%
Total Crap: 6.4%

13 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Difficult Times Lie Ahead, Harry. And Those Hairs Are Normal."
4 stars

I donít know how much there is to figure out about Harry Potter, but thereís something about the series I still havenít quite put my finger on. In the past Iíve likened it to little more than a group of Hardy Boys adventures that deserves credit for sparking the imaginations of children everywhere, but little for their storytelling. Coming in as a late bloomer to the movies, I was initially disappointed with the Sorcererís Stone but can attribute that to uninspired direction by Chris Columbus. Odd considering he also directed the Chamber of Secrets which remains my favorite. My expectations fell again after the vastly overrated Prisoner of Azkaban, which has its merits but reinforced the Hardy Boy mystery theme that I was now officially tired of. Nevertheless, I continue to look forward to each Potter chapter and as we come to the midpoint of J.K. Rowlingís tales, it may have finally turned the page for the better.

Every film seems to be just another year at Hogwarts for Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) and his best friends, Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson). Vacations end and they reunite on the way to school for another dangerous adventure and a new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher. This year begins with a trip to the Quidditch World Cup which is dreadfully interrupted by the Death Eaters, disciples of Harryís arch-nemesis, the Dark Lord Voldemort who is plotting his return to the living. But this is just a stepping stone on the greater challenges that Harry faces. Namely growing up.

Not even the Tri-Wizard tournament which Hogwarts has the honor of hosting can compare to the struggles of jealousy and puberty which are greater tests of friendship than battling pure evil. Any gaggle of friends will band together when their lives are threatened, but how about finding someone to ask to the big dance or the sense that your friend has betrayed you in search of selfish glory? Despite an age limit to compete in the triathlon of peril that even non-Muggles should seem a little more cautious about, Harry becomes a surprise late entry, chosen by the flaming cup of the title in spite of his ignorance. We believe him, but Ron certainly does not.

Like the tournament itself, this fourth entry is three events in one. When Harry isnít battling dragons, mer-people or a maze that Stanley Kubrick would consider overkill, itís the all-important ball occupying his attention draped in little more than a wraparound of Voldemortís plotting. For a film rich in spells, creatures and otherworldly mayhem itís the exploits that all of us Muggles can identify with that bring out some of the seriesí best scenes and performances. Harry and Ron have already started to feel funny about the visiting Beauxbaton students (ďI like it when they walk,Ē Ron says) but canít muster up the courage to have a dance partner until the ones they really want to ask are taken.

Emma Watson may be growing into someone whom her schoolmates may need extra books for, but professionally she gets to play scenes of great emotion in the midst of a period where Hermione is more the worrying galpal than the ďAĒ student one step ahead of the boys. Itís unfortunate to see this route taken with the character after becoming the true hero of the Prisoner of Azkaban, but it affords Watson moments that enrich the friendship past soap operatic dilemmas of sadness. She develops simple motions like hugging Harry before his impending challenge into the weight which comes with the true fear that those you love might be slipping away.

Brendan Gleeson is another standout (as past Dark Arts Defense Teachers Kenneth Branagh and David Thewlis have been) fitting the mold of Alastor ďMad-EyeĒ Moody with ticks that first amuse and resonate further once all the pieces of his story are complete. Since the Goblet of Fire relies less on the aspect of mystery and red herrings than ever before, Gleesonís teacher becomes the focus of speculation. Where do his loyalties lie and why does such an intense competition filled with centuries of honor find it agreeable for its mentors to tip off their players to the many dangers? Itís not exactly steroids, but sorta goes against the whole idea of letting the kids unpaint themselves from the proverbial corner. Although with Voldemort seemingly in every corner, a little help never hurt and neither does casting Ralph Fiennes who must step into a role that is destined to be this generationís reinvention of Darth Vader. And what a performance it is; frightening and stinging with the ripe menace capable of turning nightmares into night terrors. Hopefully his contract includes three more appearances.

Things are certainly changing around Hogwarts; although certainly not the unemployment rate for British actors. Being the midpoint, Goblet of Fire serves as a bridge into the slide of destiny for our heroic trio. Because of that it leisurely goes through the elements of the competition and the hormonal imbalance, leaving Voldemort as more of a wraparound story that doesnít get much play. What mystery there is in the fourth year can be solved by anyone with the ability to count. As the second longest at 157 mins, oneís attention will still be glued to a narrative moved along briskly by director Mike Newell. Harry Potter still has a ways to grow up before earning up to the legacy left by series such as Star Wars and The Lord of the Rings. The awkwardness of their feelings and bodies are just getting started for Harry, Ron & Hermione, but the awkward red herrings and kiddie-esque tell-tales may be coming to an end and transitioning towards a most satisfying conclusion. I, for one, am looking forward to every spell and step on the way.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13497&reviewer=198
originally posted: 11/18/05 16:42:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/22/15 HunterB so many fucking plot holes 1 stars
1/06/15 suck the lord of the rings beats all this shit 1 stars
7/12/12 Aimee Fontenot I really liked this movie! Very entertaining. 5 stars
1/07/11 Stack Laughably cheesy dialogue & characterization make it the weakest entry. 2 stars
8/04/10 the dork knight More streamlined than 3. Gambon rocks the house 4 stars
3/12/10 cr a good movie in the series, great action and entertaining 4 stars
1/28/10 Dane Youssef This one isn't just alive. Dark, demented, grotesque & intense. Worthy of Tim Burton. 5 stars
2/16/09 Samantha Pruitt this one is actually kind of scary, i loved it! 5 stars
7/21/08 R@veeN Ralph Fiennes is the perfect Lord Voldemort.......Voldemort rox!! 4 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT THE BEST SO FAR OF THE SERIES, BUT THAT DOESNT MEAN ITS ANY GOOD 2 stars
10/25/07 Rasockie33 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was one of the best movies out of all the others i next 5 stars
7/27/07 Bitchflaps Doesn't live up to Cuaron's predecessor, but leagues better than Order of the Phoenix. 4 stars
5/22/07 nicky love it 5 stars
4/17/07 Stevo UK Maybe someone should make a cinema where this kind of film is shown, so we can avoid it. 1 stars
2/21/07 Vin I love all Harry Potter films! Daniel U're the best! 5 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog Quit complaining or Chris Columbus will direct another one. *shudder* 4 stars
1/25/07 Cam Rowling, Your book is slow, This one is dumb as dumb can get!!! 2 stars
11/19/06 Ionicera as close to a good HP movie as we're probably going to see 4 stars
11/01/06 Anthony Feor Why did they bother after the Azkaban one 1 stars
9/02/06 Stanley Thai The best of the series. A great popcorn flick! 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Rowling, get over yourself, you're not the next Tolkien,just as medieocre as the others. 3 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber The weakest so far - this feels too forced 3 stars
6/10/06 Billy The First two were fantastic. The Third one was pretty average. This one is borng as hell!! 1 stars
5/08/06 Diane Perkins my daughter and I loved this movie best harry potter yet! 5 stars
5/05/06 Cuenzie Wunzie The Series has gone from steel, to plastic. 1 stars
4/28/06 Tommy McLennox I marvel at how they managed to cut big bits from the book and yet still make it faithful ! 5 stars
4/28/06 no watson is a horrible actress, nobody seems to have noticed 3 stars
4/21/06 Nicko Woooooooooooooooooooooooooooo 5 stars
4/04/06 Valerie Not as good as the book, and not as good as the other 3 movies. But still not too bad. 4 stars
2/03/06 van zwaar LORD OF THE RINGS PWWNS THIS SHITE 2 stars
2/01/06 fluellen best potter film yet and i cant wait for the next one which comes out in 2007 5 stars
1/29/06 Smitty Let's not just pass over the excellent FX. Under Newell's direction it is NEVER boring. 5 stars
1/20/06 daveyt more of the same plot... same old, same old. Pretty though. 3 stars
1/09/06 Jack Farnsworth Boring! 2 stars
1/05/06 jeorge the movie is great but compared to the other 3 movies, the set is much worse. 4 stars
12/28/05 tony Without a doubt, the best Potter movie yet to come! 5 stars
12/27/05 Lady I thought it was the best one the trio did yet. The boys getting hit by the book. Funny! 5 stars
12/23/05 Naomi i thought it was brilliant! can't wait for the next one :D 5 stars
12/22/05 Ethan M. Special Effects Knocked Me RIght Out Of My Seat! 5 stars
12/18/05 A.T. I love you, Emma! 5 stars
12/17/05 captain craig ho-hum film fell completely flat at the end 3 stars
12/16/05 harshita singh excellent and simply superb work by the director as well as all the actors of the movie. 5 stars
12/15/05 millersxing Quidditch World Cup scenes were cut painfully short, the film may be better for it. 4 stars
12/12/05 Matt K. stinks 1 stars
12/11/05 Heidi Better than the previous, but still disappointing. Hermione is a terrible actress! 2 stars
12/08/05 HGTV fanatic It was OK, a little drawn out and boring at times, I miss the younger version of these kids 3 stars
12/07/05 Paitmi The best ever. And people hwo hate HP id like to ask you?WHY THE HECK DO YOU WATCH IT THEN 5 stars
12/07/05 Steve Gene Siskel took the easy way out, rather then see this movie. I was'nt as lucky. 1 stars
12/06/05 JKV Reeeealy sucked. Wastef my time 1 stars
12/05/05 Andrew Emotionally vacant filmaking 2 stars
12/05/05 chacha i diont like this movie 2 stars
12/04/05 Karina Yes, things had to be cut out, but they did it just fine! 5 stars
12/03/05 Aaron Prasad Totally Great - can't wait for the next one. Go Hermione! 5 stars
12/01/05 pym Excellent in every aspect. The finest of the series so far. 5 stars
11/30/05 Zidane Absolute Crap!!! It didnt stay true too the book! Get back a decent director! 2 stars
11/30/05 J.D. Pittman III Harry Potter must DIE!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/29/05 Ming They finally got a Harry Potter movie right! Voldemort could have been more sinister though 5 stars
11/29/05 Noel Jackson The best movie so far I cant wait to see the next one 5 stars
11/29/05 Koitus AWESOME dragon scene! My "1st" Potter movie; probably "better" to have viewed the others. 4 stars
11/29/05 batool ItS simplY amazing story!!full of fantasy & enjoyement!! 4 stars
11/27/05 SG72 Best of the series and the best movie of the year! 5 stars
11/27/05 Angie Much too chopped up! 2 stars
11/27/05 Daveman I prefer both the Chamber of Secrets and the Prisoner of Azkaban 4 stars
11/27/05 rabone This is the worst of the four, this movie sucked. 1 stars
11/27/05 Arnoud Rattink Too many dead ends, like Mr. Crouch sr. 3 stars
11/27/05 dbx Brilliant! They keep getting better! 5 stars
11/27/05 bearfan2112 All I can say is.....AWESOME!!! 5 stars
11/26/05 Bullit16 The best book of the first four makes the best movie of the first four. 5 stars
11/25/05 baseball-nut Definetly worth your money & I'd highly recommend you take your kids to this one! 5 stars
11/24/05 pie weakest of series. shallow plot, shallow characters - needed more story, less flash 3 stars
11/24/05 Shanequa Eh, whateva. 3 stars
11/24/05 clare Why do i keep watching Harry Potter? i'm always left dissapointed. 3 stars
11/23/05 nednevo truly dissapointed,no elves,no bagman,and why show crouch in th riddle house! too different 3 stars
11/23/05 Lily By far the weakest of the series, rushed pacing, minimal character development, weak score 3 stars
11/23/05 Craquehead Sadly, the weakest of the 4 movies so far. 3 stars
11/22/05 KingNeutron Overall pace of the film was FAR too hasty, but you'll see it anyway. 3 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Great movie. Great Cast. Great Score. 4 stars
11/22/05 Smitty exhilerating. disappointed by the graveyard scene, movie as a whole exceeded expectations 5 stars
11/22/05 The Grinch People r2 jaded. Darkest HP yet, engrossing, makes you feel like a kid, Fiennes is awesome 5 stars
11/22/05 Ophidiophile Thrilling, edge of the seat action coupled with a tale of burgeoning adulthood - fabulous! 5 stars
11/22/05 LP1 Cheryl,the innuendo was in the book! Myrtle even tels Harry she likes 2 watch boys bathing! 5 stars
11/22/05 Cheryl Coddington Poor Adaptation, Shame on them for sexual innuendo with Myrtle 2 stars
11/22/05 herkos akhaion Best Potter yet 5 stars
11/21/05 Ed Avenir II awesome film. take it for what it is, and thats a good film adaptation 5 stars
11/21/05 Flounder The first Potter movie that non-Potter fans can actually get into. 5 stars
11/21/05 Littlepurch Best book, best film. They kept almost everything in and it was hilarious 5 stars
11/21/05 Pale Dim Very, very rushed; should have been 2 films. And Volie was a drama queen. 2 stars
11/21/05 Lord Jiggy Felt choppy if well done. Emotionally engaging, great effects, needed to take more time 4 stars
11/19/05 too-much-coffee mistress A++! Great Shipping! Oops... I mean, excellent movie. Really :) 5 stars
11/19/05 Jonathon Holmes The best of the four and one of the best movies this year 5 stars
11/19/05 laura My favorite story yet! Though Azkaban still comes out in the lead. 5 stars
11/18/05 Kristina Williams It was great, and catcalls abounded in the theater when Hermoine wore that dress. 5 stars
11/16/05 Erik Van Sant Azkaban still rules... this film is a worthy follow. 4 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Absolutely stunning. Without a doubt the best of the movies. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Nov-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 19-Oct-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Dec-2005


Directed by
  Mike Newell

Written by
  Steven Kloves

Cast
  Daniel Radcliffe
  Rupert Grint
  Emma Watson
  Robbie Coltrane
  Maggie Smith
  Alan Rickman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast