More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.04

Awesome: 14%
Worth A Look44%
Average: 6%
Pretty Bad: 4%
Total Crap: 32%

2 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hudson Hawk
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"As opposed to the Louvre in Wisconsin?"
4 stars

A guilty pleasure of mine, but odds are, you won't like it.

You know, I've been pretty ruthless when it comes to reviewing Bruce Willis movies. Occasionally, there's a movie he's in that I do like, such as the first Die Hard, 12 Monkeys...

And oh yeah, this.

Yep, it's a vanity project, and it's a portrait of wretched excess and a shining example of what happens when people with power just don't give a rat's ass. It's basically a mess of a movie, with over the top performances, a weak plot, Danny Aiello singing, and, Heaven help us all, Andie McDowell.

But you know what? I still dig it.

I can't explain why, really. It grossed something like $17 million, on a budget of $65 million. It's a certified bomb, and the benchmark for all the bombs that would come after it. Critics panned it, audiences stayed away in droves. The narrative's a mess.

I think it's funny as hell. The jokes are stupid (upon decapitating a villain, Hawk, played by Willis, says "Guess you won't be attending that hat convention in July") and obvious, the characters and situations absurd (a couple of mob brothers are named, get this, the Mario Brothers), and the singing (courtesy of a passable Willis and a shaky Aiello) is just kind of out there.

So I've hit all the negatives for everyone. But they're all positives for me. It's just a bad movie I happen to like a lot. You probably won't like it, and that's fine. But I do.

I've certainly seen worse movies. Avengers, anyone?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1356&reviewer=7
originally posted: 12/03/98 03:44:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/13/14 Jack Crap then. Still crap now. It's not just bad. It's UNWATCHABLE. 1 stars
5/27/14 PAUL SHORTT INCOHERENT, IMPLAUSIBLE COMEDY-THRILLER, DESPITE SOME GOOD ACTION SCENES 1 stars
7/24/10 bagwell5 I have seen this movie 10 times. A lot of laughs. Was marketed wrong. 4 stars
8/28/09 Jeff Wilder A disaster. What can you say about a movie that has Bruce Willis singing and still no laugh 1 stars
11/10/08 .Totipe Masterpiece, even beyond Bringing Up Baby 5 stars
7/02/08 art A MATTER OF TASTE 4 stars
11/16/07 Brian The Andie-McDowell-talks-to-the-dolphins scene alone makes this movie a masterpiece. 5 stars
4/03/07 Stavko Divine Sillyness 5 stars
6/19/06 JM Synth What's not to like? (Don't answer that) 4 stars
1/29/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old whats worse this or the adventures of ford fairlane 1 stars
1/24/05 Jeff Anderson A ONE OF A KIND FUN ENJOYABLE FILM, LIKE IT OR NOT! Like a big-budget Three Stooges short. 5 stars
6/04/04 John oh my..... 1 stars
4/17/03 Goofy Maxwell Why suspend disbelief if u r never in suspense? Beware the light of reason, Icarus. 2 stars
3/20/03 Jack Sommersby Uncouth, grating, overblown, unfocused, and just plain unbearable. 1 stars
2/11/03 sdfr i liked it, .. so there. 3 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum Willis' worst, and that is saying a lot 1 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 this is the kind of movie made by people with money to burn. 1 stars
7/14/02 Destruction Worker You know what, the lower half of Willis' face looks a lot like the original Martin Luther's 1 stars
7/03/02 Akira_773 The plot is SUPPOSED to be a mess. You were looking for coherence?? Bwah-HA! Great movie 5 stars
3/03/02 Jenny Tullwartz Aptly reduces many silly cast members to their basic essence. 4 stars
1/28/02 DC Very silly but ultimately enjoyable! 4 stars
1/23/02 hum yes, this is as bad as everyone said 1 stars
11/29/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Who could resist Andie? 4 stars
10/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) :| 3 stars
8/23/01 Stonedog My friends and I left halfway thru this- and we were in 3 different cars at the drive-in! 1 stars
7/27/01 Lori Ann Chauvette I wish more audiences were willing to allow the fact that the action genre deserved ribbing 4 stars
7/06/01 Steven Grimm One of my favorite movies. A stream-of-consciousness caper flick with musical numbers. 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) "Slurp my butt"...char-ming! God damn, but this movie rocks...**SARKY!!!** 2 stars
4/13/01 QUENTIN CONGRESS THIS MOVIE HAS AN ORIGINAL STORY AND ITS OWN HUMOR! THAT MAKES IT WORTH SEEING! 4 stars
11/24/00 Jeff G I kept hoping I'd have a stroke and die. No such luck: I saw the whole movie! 1 stars
1/28/00 Edward Turner The worst film I have ever seen! Utter testicles 1 stars
11/10/99 MsLady It was a funny movie, just don't take it seriously, and you might like it too. 4 stars
11/09/99 whos your daddy? Dont let Willis write and direct a movie. Ego + bad talent come through loud and clear. 1 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy It's really not so bad. 3 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Probably the worst film I've ever seen. Really. 1 stars
5/21/99 J. Random Hacker Why, yes, I _would_ like to swing on a star! 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink How bad it was? Let me put it this way: I played hide-and-seek in the theatre with friends. 1 stars
11/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce I'll never become President if word get's out, but I really like this. Andie's best role. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1991 (R)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1992 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast