More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.52

Awesome79.74%
Worth A Look: 7.84%
Average: 3.27%
Pretty Bad: 2.61%
Total Crap: 6.54%

4 reviews, 129 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Glass (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Man Who Killed Don Quixote, The by Rob Gonsalves

Hellboy (2019) by Jay Seaver

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Apocalypse Now
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Steve in Prague

"so which Horseman is this again????"
5 stars

This movie screams: "I AM NOT ALEX CAIN"

"Heart of Darkness"....ever read it? GREAT book! Ever see "Apocalypse Now"? Great flick, one of the all time best.
FFC's $20 million dollar "independent" film paints pictures on the screen that stay with you forever. Martin Sheen's pre-Stallone Rambo gets sent on a "liquidation" mission to terminate renegade Col Kurtz (Marlon Brando in a "what the fuck was THAT" role). Along the way he runs into Air Cav commander Robert Duvall, who likes to play Wagner to scare the holy hell out of Cong villages he flattens (God I love the smell of napalm in the morning..it smells like...vistory).

What was supposed to be a George Lucas project until FFC hijacked it plays out like an LSD induced nightmare. Not until Platoon would Vietnam ever look so hellish again. Coppola's vision, up there on the screen, is both painful and joyous to behold. Painful in its subject matter, the horror of Vietnam, joyous in its over the top film style, combined with images so subtle you do not realize you saw them until days later when they hit you in the middle of the night..(DAMN they REALLY cut that bull's head off!!!).

A tight masterpiece, deserving of all the praise it has gotten over the years. Martin Sheen almost died for this picture, and his performance, if he had died, would have been a great way to go out. Brando is..well, Brando. He both distracts and dominates the screen. Dennis Hopper is whacked out as usual, believe me he was NOT acting! And a young Laurence Fishburne displays the raw talent that has elevated him to this day.

If this was the Apocalypse, we'd all be fucked and working at Subway.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1361&reviewer=253
originally posted: 06/06/01 16:54:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell my favorite war film of all time surreal & sublime 5 stars
7/13/15 stanley welles a paradox of beauty and horror 5 stars
5/31/13 AJzz Those who don't like it are too simple-minded to understand this masterpiece. 5 stars
12/12/11 Chris Yes, Mr. Muskewitz, but what is your one against so mmny! 5 stars
11/12/11 R.W. Welch Ingenious update of Conrad's Heart of Darkness with top grade writing and cinematography. 5 stars
11/22/10 Quigley Overrated, but occassionally masterful. Not the greatest war film, but it gets to you. 4 stars
4/25/10 gordon Purcell Haunting and disturbing--very memorable! 5 stars
4/19/10 Dave IMO, Mr.Muskewitz has missed the whole point of the film. I need more space to explain why. 5 stars
1/25/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Good surreal Vietnam flick. 4 stars
9/25/09 Akemi Gardiner One of the best war movies out there. 5 stars
8/10/09 Jeff Wilder The best film to show how war is a soul killer. 5 stars
7/07/09 Benny Lava Outstanding piece of cinema, a favorite I try to see once a year. 5 stars
7/05/09 Luke Astonishing 5 stars
12/09/08 PAUL SHORTT A FASCINATING STUDY OF THE NATURE OF EVIL IN MAN 4 stars
1/27/08 Pamela White fantastic war flick 4 stars
10/13/07 Pat Cavo Finnegan It's a must see classic film for so many reasons. Defo N.B. 2c it 5 stars
1/10/07 David Pollastrini best viewed while stoned 4 stars
7/31/06 Daveman Too long and pretentious. Two impressive sequences do not a good three hour film make. 2 stars
7/22/06 James Furrh This reviewer is a fool. He fails to note all prized aspects of the film. Coppola? A hack? 5 stars
7/19/06 Tyson Samson This guy is a fucking retard...This movie is simply amazing! 5 stars
4/03/06 Shawn Mcknight best war movie ever made !!!!! 5 stars
2/23/06 Marlon Brando The film is exciting. The film ends unsolved but I dig it. "The horror...The horror..." 5 stars
2/10/06 Tristan Gray It lessens my faith in my fellow man to see people dislike this film. 5 stars
1/25/06 paul fisher seen film 5 or 6 times; just about perfect. 5 stars
11/18/05 John Dog Best Vietnam movie! 5 stars
10/16/05 Ryndon Bull Shit 1 stars
10/07/05 Johnny A Vietnam classic. 5 stars
8/07/05 Movielover Anybody who hates this movie is an idiot!!! Anybody who hates this movie is an idiot!!!! 5 stars
8/06/05 Pierre Apocalypse Now Redux is longer -- and better. 2 stars
5/25/05 Jake The Greatest Vietnam war movie ever made! 5 stars
4/29/05 ThroneofBlood My favorite film, hypnotic and visonairy. 5 stars
2/12/05 ALDO too much nonsense....feel asleep zzzz...zzzz 1 stars
1/24/05 Arun Moving, Poignant, but could use some a tighter structure 4 stars
12/08/04 Tony Best Vietnam movie, without a doubt. 5 stars
12/07/04 Kurt Cobain Francis Ford Coppola's Vietnam Masterpiece 5 stars
11/16/04 Zel ? Like Full Metal Jacket, it started good but dragged on with boring nonsense 3 stars
11/06/04 Tony Huinker This wannabe reviewer wants attention, uses many cliches,and shames one of great moviesever 5 stars
10/26/04 travis b this film is def in my top 5 of all time.it is truly amazing. 5 stars
7/26/04 gareth This film is vastly overated. All below should shoot themselves in the head 1 stars
5/20/04 Fernando can't think of anything that can top this one....reality cinema....the best 5 stars
3/01/04 Daveman A crappy final act is forgivable in such a great film. The air attack is unforgettable. 5 stars
2/01/04 I Would Flawed, but has enough powerful moments to rival Deer Hunter as the best 'nam war film. 5 stars
1/28/04 Elena Has one of the top five BEST endings in film of all time. Breathtaking. 5 stars
1/12/04 Walter Kurtz One of hollywoods best films! 5 stars
11/21/03 homer simpson one hell of a ride with an awesome cast 5 stars
10/31/03 Coppola Fan makes it different from other war movies, like Platoon and Full Metal Jacket. 5 stars
10/08/03 Lesterwink23 The most haunting and important war film ever made. 5 stars
10/04/03 Nasty_Gnorc An intense war movie indeed. 5 stars
6/26/03 cochese O-V-E-R-A-T-E-D 3 stars
6/26/03 J Amazing! I loved to watch war movies in the morning 5 stars
5/22/03 Biff Boffo A tad anti-climactic. Flight of the Valkyries chopper scene, however, is simply epic!!! 4 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon As good as movie as Brando's ass is big. I didn't care for Redux, either. 5 stars
4/22/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik See THIS version. 5 stars
11/27/02 Zack W. Young Brilliant, spectacular, the only film that ever needed to be made. 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Possibly Coppola's last really great film 5 stars
10/04/02 The Man in Top 3 all time movies, dont bother with Redux 5 stars
10/01/02 a big metal pimple For christ-assfucking-greg sake! The movie is NOT about war 5 stars
5/28/02 Phoenix One of the truly great war films of our time. 5 stars
5/20/02 F@rty Bl@st Rockin' good news! 5 stars
5/16/02 Monster W. Kung Hey Muskewitz are you a freaking moron? Yes you are. 5 stars
5/14/02 catherine dumas I thought it was an intense film. The atmosphere was just right for this sort of film! 4 stars
3/13/02 Colin Brunton Im fuckin gay and i love me this movie. Give me gregs number so i can fuck him in the ass 5 stars
3/13/02 david crazy movie 5 stars
3/05/02 Eduardo Del Valle Best war movie, (probably BEST MOVIE ever done)... Who's Greg M? Go see B Streisand, faggot 5 stars
1/19/02 Magnum Craphole Greg Muskewitz is a fucking idiot. AN is one of the greatest movies of ALL time. 5 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks FUCK WAR!!! breathtaking amazing really a good war movie FUCK WAR!!! 5 stars
8/31/01 G-Man I love it more and more every time I see it. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Kick-ass, awesome, tremendous, rockin', cool, action-packed, great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/31/01 DMF My all-time favorite film. 5 stars
7/29/01 Monster W. Kung One of the best war movies ever made (waiting to see the redux). 5 stars
7/26/01 Sarge my favourite film 5 stars
6/27/01 Benois Greg, you are disillusioned my friend. read "HOD" 5 stars
6/05/01 Just like a Wop . . . Hey, Greg. Trivialized, pretentious and overdone=Saving Private Damon 5 stars
4/19/01 Rodrigo Merces Yes, it has a surreal look, but couldnt be more realistic, just notice the internal drama. 5 stars
4/10/01 jack mehoff the film was boring and lifeless i would rather watch a cracker go mouldey 2 stars
3/27/01 Jen Shepherd its great in a super-surreal way 4 stars
2/27/01 jack longmire this was the best vietnam war film i have ever seen 5 stars
2/23/01 matt perry an emotional, thought provoking masterpiece 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog A masterpiece, great cast, great director. 5 stars
2/02/01 Adam Morgan Absolutely fucking incredible. 5 stars
1/27/01 Axe Murderer Fuck that reviewer greg ...the film kicks ass 5 stars
1/26/01 Marc Andre I hate to be human 5 stars
1/23/01 Brian D-?? The best war film of all time. Shoots for feelings(love the smell of napalm)not ideas. 5 stars
1/02/01 Emily Totally speechless. very good, but Heart of Darkness was better. 4 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla almost made me bang my head against the wall, most intense film next to the Deer Hunter 5 stars
11/18/00 The Bill Head One of the best movies of all time.Best of 79'-Masterpiece with no flaws.2 cerebral my ass 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin better than Saving Private Ryan 5 stars
11/10/00 bruno best war movie ever no dought about it 5 stars
10/29/00 Big Al best of the best of the war movies 5 stars
8/09/00 Henry Incredible Movie, Outstanding Performances by every actor in the movie 5 stars
5/24/00 Matt Anderson save me god 1 stars
5/02/00 master.node Best movie of all time. 5 stars
4/19/00 cv Perfection!!!! 5 stars
4/07/00 Gavin Reynolds One of the best Vietnam war movies so far, this movie's a classic. 5 stars
4/01/00 Bruce dissapointing 3 stars
3/24/00 khek wui, lee The film really sent one's into deep soul searching 5 stars
3/15/00 Mic Not as great as it could've been. 3 stars
1/22/00 Will that was NUTTY. 5 stars
1/09/00 John Markham That mumbling tub of lard,Brando,ruins the whole film. 2 stars
1/04/00 PervertedPixie Its like a metaphor for insanity- and it makes the Godfather look PANTS! 5 stars
12/05/99 Aaron Deeply insane, i love it. It explores the deep rifts in the human psyke, fucking awesome 5 stars
12/04/99 Steve Peet A Fairdinkum Masterpiece 5 stars
12/02/99 Anthony This is a well acted, attention keeping, action filled movie that everyone can enjoy 5 stars
12/02/99 Laqundra Glover It was alright! 4 stars
11/12/99 Tom Mullane It leaves you speechless 5 stars
11/06/99 Luis Luzuriaga " I love the smell of napalm in the morning..it smells of victory." awesome opening scene!! 5 stars
11/01/99 Gino Las Vegas Not a film so much as an experience. Mindblowing in the cinema. 5 stars
10/27/99 Glitter Berry "You can't land on a fraction, man!!" Huh? It doesn't matter, it's still great 5 stars
10/20/99 corey singer missing this film means you care little about cinema 5 stars
8/11/99 Japtalian Do you wanna surf or fight? Hand me that damn surfboard sarg!! 5 stars
7/17/99 unstrung one of the most mentally disturbing movies i have ever seen, the only war film that matters 5 stars
7/16/99 Dennis Forcier Expresses the horror of mortality like no other. 5 stars
7/03/99 Jim Preston Powerful stuff. 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Screw Oliver Stone and Saving Private Ryna. This is the greatest war film ever. Period. 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Classic. 5 stars
5/28/99 pipeman Quite possibly the best movie ever made. If you haven't seen it, rent it tonight. 5 stars
5/02/99 PJ A long and mesmerizing journey into darkness. Charlie don't surf! 5 stars
4/30/99 Rob Mckechnie It's nearly 3 hours long, and i still wanted more. Nuff' said. 5 stars
4/20/99 Lucas jackson You will never find a better vietnam movie,ever I swear 5 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam Dennis Hopper IS a God. 5 stars
4/13/99 Jon Jackson It's Apocalypse Now for God's sake!!! 5 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder For some reason I keep falling asleep when I try to watch this movie. Probably my fault. 3 stars
4/04/99 Albert Mostly awesome -- loser ending. 4 stars
3/18/99 Madcap Intense as all Hell,gave me more Nightmares than any horror film 5 stars
1/24/99 donkey_dew Fucking aye. This movie is da bomb. 5 stars
12/06/98 Ryan Meade This film is the definition of 'Fucking Awesome' 5 stars
11/24/98 Vick Di Brecci A great adventure story with an underrated ending 5 stars
11/24/98 Silent Rob Episodic vignettes combined to paint a phantasmagoric portrait of wars many faces. 5 stars
11/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce Words can not describe. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Aug-1979 (R)
  DVD: 15-Aug-2006

UK
  N/A (18)

Australia
  02-Feb-1980 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast