More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3

Awesome: 37.76%
Worth A Look: 6.12%
Average: 14.29%
Pretty Bad: 2.04%
Total Crap39.8%

6 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Grandma's Boy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Peter Sobczynski

"Forget 'Hostel'-this is the real torture show for the weekend"
1 stars

“Grandma’s Boy” is another attempt by Adam Sandler to secure gainful employment for his buddies by executive-producing movies, through his Happy Madison company, for them to write and star in. In the past, most of the efforts have resulted in some of the most pitiful comedies in recent memory–“The Animal,” “Joe Dirt,” “Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star” and the “Deuce Bigalow” series entire–but studios are still happy to pony up the cash to produce and distribute them in the hopes that Sandler will bless them with one of his own blockbusters at some point down the line. However, there is always a line when audiences and financiers will eventually say “No more!” and “Grandma’s Boy” may well be that line–this is a film that is so flimsily constructed that it is surprising that the individual frames are able to hold together long enough to make it through the projector, though few would weep if it did literally self-destruct along the way.

Allen Covert, a Sandler buddy who has made brief appearances in earlier Happy Madison endeavors, stars as Alex, a 35-year-old video-game tester who, through circumstances too idiotic to get into, winds up living with his grandmother Lily (Doris Roberts) and her two roommates, senile Bea (Shirley Knight) and skanky Grace (Shirley Jones). For most people, this might crimp their style but since Alex, along with his friends, lives in a state of permanent arrested development, it is a blast–free room and board and the only drawbacks are his chores and the odd times when his new roomies mistake his pot stash for tea and get wasted. (If you didn’t see that joke coming a mile away, you may as well go to this film as there are sure to be other surprises in store.)<

Perhaps realizing that this premise could barely fill out one of those “SNL” sketches that pops up at 11:50 PM on a night when an athlete is hosting, the film tries to pad things out with a work-related subplot involving a weirdo co-worker (Joel David Moore) who dresses like a refugee from “The Matrix,” makes weird robot noises and attempts to steal the game that Alex has been working on in secret in order to pass it off as his own. When this doesn’t quite get the film up to feature-length, it throws in a highly unbelievable flirtation between Alex and the new babe in the office (Linda Cardellini to stretch things further. And when that doesn’t quite do it, they finally give up and throw in an extended party sequence that goes on forever without contributing a single laugh to the proceedings.

Look, I know fully well that a film like this isn’t made for critics–it is made for 14-year-old boys to giggle at when they catch it on Cinemax. However, even by those standards, “Grandma’s Boy” is pretty puerile. The jokes are so base and infantile that there is actually one theoretically riotous scene in which someone teaches another guy to make noises with his armpit, an activity that few attending this film are unlikely to be familiar with. Covert has no discernible on-screen personality to speak of and it is almost painful to watch him interacting on-screen with his co-stars, many of whom actually can act and whose presence here is especially inexplicable. (Going from “Brokeback Mountain” to this, Linda Cardellini takes perhaps the deepest plunge in quality in back-to-back projects since Shirley MacLaine followed up “Terms of Endearment” with “Cannonball Run II.”)

Hell, “Grandma’s Boy” is so bad that Sandler couldn’t even be bothered to make his usual cameo appearance this time around. Instead, he leaves those duties to former “SNL” cohorts Kevin Nealon, Rob Schneider and David Spade–the latter portrays a snotty gay waiter in a vegan restaurant. If nothing else suggests just how bad this film is, let me point out that it features David Spade as a snotty gay vegan waiter and he may well be the highlight of the whole sorry mess.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13713&reviewer=389
originally posted: 01/07/06 10:35:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/24/17 David H. Not even good to watch if you're high. 1 stars
1/05/14 Deez Nuts Your review is infinitely more poorly written than this movie. As in, I enjoyed the latter 5 stars
5/25/11 Eddie I can watch this movie ALL DAY LONG it is FUCKING HILARIOUS PERIOD 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name The occasional chuckle does not sustain the whole film. 2 stars
2/28/10 KVM117 Funny.. Though the poor acting is more apparent while stoned.. 5 stars
2/11/10 HM If you don't love it you are boring. Hilarious. If you want a plot, go watch The Holiday 5 stars
12/15/09 DAGGER DENNIS CHRISTIAN! Grandmas boys was fucking magic, your a terrible biased critic, and that will haunt you 5 stars
9/06/09 stoner have we really been reduced to calling this comedy? i may be a stoner but im not an idiot. 1 stars
2/24/09 matt a very funny movie, criminally underrated 5 stars
1/22/09 Passersby It's increasingly amusing how many people here rave over this film. Witless and stale. 1 stars
7/30/08 K went in not expecting much, but found it hilarious 4 stars
7/21/08 Samantha Pruitt this is pretty funny, good stoner movie, hehe 4 stars
2/14/08 zac best movie ever 5 stars
2/14/08 Grandma If you don't like this movie you need to pull the stick out of your ass! 5 stars
1/01/08 Total Crap Don't listen to the neg. reviews, they are dead wrong. I REPEAT DO NOT LISTEN!!! 5 stars
11/15/07 t(^^t) This movie is a great one with a PLOT. 5 stars
10/27/07 Scott Cutter All the negative comments on here were obviously PLANTED. This movie was Awesome! 5 stars
8/07/07 Chad Hossack David Cornholeius has a dick up his ass and hates anyone who pokes fun at his fag friends. 5 stars
8/02/07 slang I'm gonna get a cb radio for xmas so I can talk to other car beds. Great comedy! 5 stars
6/30/07 Michelle what I want to know is what scott weinberg is smoking...this movie is hilarious. 5 stars
6/09/07 M.S. Hilarious!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/07 Hannah Dude I'm way too baked to drive to the devil's house... DRIVE MONKEY DRIVE!!!! 5 stars
5/23/07 Brian Mckay If you like weed and video games, you'll find it's funnier than it has any right to be. 3 stars
5/18/07 j what is the deal? it was HILARIOUS 5 stars
5/17/07 Yamis I'm still mad--waste of my fucking time 1 stars
5/06/07 fools&#9835;gold An attitude that surpasses 2001 Maniacs, and much funnier than Idle Hands + BASEketball. 3 stars
5/06/07 brian hilarious stoner movie - way underrated 5 stars
4/22/07 ashly my FAV movie ever.. fucking hilarious. 5 stars
4/21/07 Dude unfuny 1 stars
4/14/07 Nusic Funny movie, pure entertainment. Not a chick flick. Pseudo-intellectuals...don't rate it 4 stars
4/06/07 scratchdisk Super Funny ... loved it. 5 stars
3/19/07 Lawrence It doesn't suck, it FUCKING SUCKS! 1 stars
2/09/07 The chode Completely blew ass. 1 stars
1/31/07 Come On!!! Recommended for anyone that has had a lobotomy 1 stars
12/31/06 Hugh Jeballs This is movie is for stoners. AMAZING 5 stars
12/07/06 John Amazing. Really really funny. JP is a riot, Dante is amazing. 5 stars
12/04/06 Emily this movie was insanely crap-tacular 1 stars
12/04/06 Tommy Great fucking movie, not for people who are uptight and don't like to have fun. 5 stars
12/01/06 Scott This movie isn't for pussy faggets like David Cornelius. 5 stars
11/10/06 biron i want to beat the shit out of all of you, this movie is an emberrassment to film makers. 1 stars
11/03/06 MF HANNNA this movie changed my life. ADIOS TERD NUGGETS 5 stars
10/30/06 stacey campbell i thought it was hilarious and those that don't like it is fucken stupid 5 stars
10/15/06 Lauren Im not even into stupid humor movies and I absolutely LOVE this movie! 5 stars
10/09/06 noooicedude this movie was insanely good 5 stars
10/07/06 Andrew Ridiculously Good 5 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Terrilbly embarrasing...I took my father with me to see it. Big mistake! 1 stars
9/30/06 Nacho My fovorite movie for sure! Treu!! 5 stars
9/14/06 Josh P this movie is crazy funny!! you gotta see it 5 stars
9/09/06 Ashley It Was Fuckin Woderful 5 stars
8/30/06 jj i liked this movie, everything doesn't have to be masterpiece theater 4 stars
7/20/06 Mjsgrass This movie was funny, are you guys really movie critics? Take the movie for what its is, l 4 stars
7/14/06 Alex this is one of the best movies I have seen in an extremely long time. its a have to see mov 5 stars
6/28/06 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Danged if I can imagine what about this justifies an unrated version. Bet it's lame too! 2 stars
5/28/06 Jeff Anderson Surprisingly funny. The sexy Cardellini's drunk kareoke jam is a screamingly funny delight! 5 stars
5/22/06 Brandon Norman it was ok, but that robot guy annoyed me 4 stars
5/22/06 Ryan_A Staggeringly unfunny. Covert's fine, but the rest of the cast is beyond awful. 1 stars
5/19/06 your worst goddamn nightmare As a stupid kinda comedy, this flick was sooo fuckin' funny! Chix won't dig it... 5 stars
1/14/06 Ron Dahlem Fricken hilarious 5 stars
1/13/06 Marjorie Cressy Absolutely horrendous movie 1 stars
1/11/06 Tamara D.Leonard Rude, crude and stupid! 1 stars
1/08/06 Evil Wolfie Soo goddam funny 5 stars
1/07/06 Abbath Felt like 3 hours long. 3 painful, unfunny hours. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Jan-2006 (R)
  DVD: 09-May-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Mar-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast