More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3

Awesome: 37.76%
Worth A Look: 6.12%
Average: 14.29%
Pretty Bad: 2.04%
Total Crap39.8%

6 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Grandma's Boy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"Somebody make Nick Swardson a star"
3 stars

“Grandma’s Boy” is a pot comedy that is sure to tickle gamers everywhere with its silliness and enviable portrait of a video game tester. There are laughs, mostly provided by comic Nick Swardson, but star Allen Covert keeps the material from reaching a boiling point with his dreadful line delivery and general lack of presence.

Alex (Allen Covert) is a 35 year-old video game tester (nicknamed “Gray Bush” by his much younger co-workers) who loves getting high and not much else. Losing his apartment, Alex reluctantly moves in with his grandma (Doris Roberts) and her roommates (Shirley Jones and Shirley Knight) until he gets back on his feet. Enjoying the attention he gets from the seniors, along with an infatuation with his new boss (Linda Cardellini), Alex soon loses ground at his job, allowing a rival designer (Joel Moore, “Dodgeball”) to swoop in and try to steal his ideas.

“Grandma’s Boy” is a stoner comedy, and there’s not much to criticize since the target demographic will most likely laugh at anything put up on the screen. Yet, “Boy” distinguishes itself from the pack by being about something that stoners love: video games. It’s also an Adam Sandler production, guaranteeing at the very least a cameo by Rob Schneider. The film doesn’t disappoint.

The comedy in “Boy” is defined pretty clearly into what doesn’t work at all and what is gut-busting hilarious. Thankfully, Sandler brought in stand-up comic Nick Swardson to punch up the script and co-star, and his energy and comic spirit saves the film from becoming one long wince. If he’s schooling punks on Dance Dance Revolution or making out with Shirley Jones, Swardson steals every scene he’s in, giving the material a distinctive twist through unexpected line delivery and crack comic timing. Also a good sport is Linda Cardellini, who manages a fantastic moment in the film where she drunkenly performs Salt ‘N’ Pepa’s “Push It’ to a crowd of adoring nerds.

What obviously doesn’t work in “Boy” is the star, Allen Covert. Typically cast in small supporting parts in buddy Sandler’s films, Covert finally gets his chance to shine here, and the results are horrifying. Covert is stiff and obvious, pushing every punchline into the ground with his leaden delivery. He’s terrible, and brings the film down with him whenever the script calls upon him to bring the funny. Also completely wrong is actor Joel Moore, who director Nicholaus Goossen (Covert’s former assistant) must find uproarious, since the film keeps coming back to him for laughs. Playing a “Matrix” wannabe who nurses a desire to act like a robot in uncomfortable situations, Moore is a drag, and along with Covert, acts like a wet blanket on the fun.

Peppered with traditional Sandlerisms, along with appearances by friendly faces (Jonathan Loughran, David Spade, and the always funny Peter Dante show up), “Grandma’s Boy” doesn’t ask much of the audience outside of just having some pot-centric fun.

The film is just barely entertaining, and eventually heads into an irreverence free-fall that includes…well, for those that picked “monkey that knows judo” on your scorecard at home, you can pick up your prize later this week.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=13713&reviewer=404
originally posted: 01/07/06 09:26:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/24/17 David H. Not even good to watch if you're high. 1 stars
1/05/14 Deez Nuts Your review is infinitely more poorly written than this movie. As in, I enjoyed the latter 5 stars
5/25/11 Eddie I can watch this movie ALL DAY LONG it is FUCKING HILARIOUS PERIOD 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name The occasional chuckle does not sustain the whole film. 2 stars
2/28/10 KVM117 Funny.. Though the poor acting is more apparent while stoned.. 5 stars
2/11/10 HM If you don't love it you are boring. Hilarious. If you want a plot, go watch The Holiday 5 stars
12/15/09 DAGGER DENNIS CHRISTIAN! Grandmas boys was fucking magic, your a terrible biased critic, and that will haunt you 5 stars
9/06/09 stoner have we really been reduced to calling this comedy? i may be a stoner but im not an idiot. 1 stars
2/24/09 matt a very funny movie, criminally underrated 5 stars
1/22/09 Passersby It's increasingly amusing how many people here rave over this film. Witless and stale. 1 stars
7/30/08 K went in not expecting much, but found it hilarious 4 stars
7/21/08 Samantha Pruitt this is pretty funny, good stoner movie, hehe 4 stars
2/14/08 zac best movie ever 5 stars
2/14/08 Grandma If you don't like this movie you need to pull the stick out of your ass! 5 stars
1/01/08 Total Crap Don't listen to the neg. reviews, they are dead wrong. I REPEAT DO NOT LISTEN!!! 5 stars
11/15/07 t(^^t) This movie is a great one with a PLOT. 5 stars
10/27/07 Scott Cutter All the negative comments on here were obviously PLANTED. This movie was Awesome! 5 stars
8/07/07 Chad Hossack David Cornholeius has a dick up his ass and hates anyone who pokes fun at his fag friends. 5 stars
8/02/07 slang I'm gonna get a cb radio for xmas so I can talk to other car beds. Great comedy! 5 stars
6/30/07 Michelle what I want to know is what scott weinberg is smoking...this movie is hilarious. 5 stars
6/09/07 M.S. Hilarious!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/07 Hannah Dude I'm way too baked to drive to the devil's house... DRIVE MONKEY DRIVE!!!! 5 stars
5/23/07 Brian Mckay If you like weed and video games, you'll find it's funnier than it has any right to be. 3 stars
5/18/07 j what is the deal? it was HILARIOUS 5 stars
5/17/07 Yamis I'm still mad--waste of my fucking time 1 stars
5/06/07 fools♫gold An attitude that surpasses 2001 Maniacs, and much funnier than Idle Hands + BASEketball. 3 stars
5/06/07 brian hilarious stoner movie - way underrated 5 stars
4/22/07 ashly my FAV movie ever.. fucking hilarious. 5 stars
4/21/07 Dude unfuny 1 stars
4/14/07 Nusic Funny movie, pure entertainment. Not a chick flick. Pseudo-intellectuals...don't rate it 4 stars
4/06/07 scratchdisk Super Funny ... loved it. 5 stars
3/19/07 Lawrence It doesn't suck, it FUCKING SUCKS! 1 stars
2/09/07 The chode Completely blew ass. 1 stars
1/31/07 Come On!!! Recommended for anyone that has had a lobotomy 1 stars
12/31/06 Hugh Jeballs This is movie is for stoners. AMAZING 5 stars
12/07/06 John Amazing. Really really funny. JP is a riot, Dante is amazing. 5 stars
12/04/06 Emily this movie was insanely crap-tacular 1 stars
12/04/06 Tommy Great fucking movie, not for people who are uptight and don't like to have fun. 5 stars
12/01/06 Scott This movie isn't for pussy faggets like David Cornelius. 5 stars
11/10/06 biron i want to beat the shit out of all of you, this movie is an emberrassment to film makers. 1 stars
11/03/06 MF HANNNA this movie changed my life. ADIOS TERD NUGGETS 5 stars
10/30/06 stacey campbell i thought it was hilarious and those that don't like it is fucken stupid 5 stars
10/15/06 Lauren Im not even into stupid humor movies and I absolutely LOVE this movie! 5 stars
10/09/06 noooicedude this movie was insanely good 5 stars
10/07/06 Andrew Ridiculously Good 5 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Terrilbly embarrasing...I took my father with me to see it. Big mistake! 1 stars
9/30/06 Nacho My fovorite movie for sure! Treu!! 5 stars
9/14/06 Josh P this movie is crazy funny!! you gotta see it 5 stars
9/09/06 Ashley It Was Fuckin Woderful 5 stars
8/30/06 jj i liked this movie, everything doesn't have to be masterpiece theater 4 stars
7/20/06 Mjsgrass This movie was funny, are you guys really movie critics? Take the movie for what its is, l 4 stars
7/14/06 Alex this is one of the best movies I have seen in an extremely long time. its a have to see mov 5 stars
6/28/06 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Danged if I can imagine what about this justifies an unrated version. Bet it's lame too! 2 stars
5/28/06 Jeff Anderson Surprisingly funny. The sexy Cardellini's drunk kareoke jam is a screamingly funny delight! 5 stars
5/22/06 Brandon Norman it was ok, but that robot guy annoyed me 4 stars
5/22/06 Ryan_A Staggeringly unfunny. Covert's fine, but the rest of the cast is beyond awful. 1 stars
5/19/06 your worst goddamn nightmare As a stupid kinda comedy, this flick was sooo fuckin' funny! Chix won't dig it... 5 stars
1/14/06 Ron Dahlem Fricken hilarious 5 stars
1/13/06 Marjorie Cressy Absolutely horrendous movie 1 stars
1/11/06 Tamara D.Leonard Rude, crude and stupid! 1 stars
1/08/06 Evil Wolfie Soo goddam funny 5 stars
1/07/06 Abbath Felt like 3 hours long. 3 painful, unfunny hours. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Jan-2006 (R)
  DVD: 09-May-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Mar-2006




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast