More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.17

Awesome: 7.5%
Worth A Look: 17.5%
Average: 12.5%
Pretty Bad: 10%
Total Crap52.5%

1 review, 34 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mercury Rising
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Ack."
1 stars

Uh-uh. No way.

Bruce Willis is a negotiator type FBI agent who gets caught up in a bungle during an undercover operation (it's not his fault). People die. Bruce gets pulled off duty for losing his touch. He ends up heading to a home where there's been what looks like a murder suicide. It wasn't. Bruce finds an autistic kid (Miko Hughes) in the closet and figures something's up, and the kid's in danger.

What's happened is that the kid's broken a super-secret sophisticated military code (he found it in the back of...a puzzle magazine. Suuuuuure.). You're never really sure what it is or what it does, only that it's super-secret, sophisticated, and the military is pissed that the kid broke it. So what does the head code guy (Alec Baldwin) do? Change the code? Nope. Explain the flaws to his superiors and ask for more money to fix the flaws? Negative. He decides to have the kid killed. Why?

Because he's evil. Eviillle.

Bruce protects the kid. Bruce saves him. Bad guy dies.

What's wrong? Well, it's dumb, first of all. In one scene, Willis is the object of the citywide manhunt. He's got the kid literally tucked under an arm. He walks into a building, asks a complete stranger to watch him, while he leaves, and you know what?

She does it.

He looks like death warmed over, he's sweaty, he's got a kicking and screaming kid with him and a gun not-so-well-hidden in his belt, and he's a complete fucking stranger. Yep. That's every bit as plausible as the kid breaking the super-secret sophisitcated code.

Willis doesn't suck. The movie does. He's not given enough material to work with to make his character or the film interesting. Hughes is actually quite good in his role, but Baldwin...ugh. The guy's making some seriously bad judgment calls on his projects. The lines he has to recite...ack.

If it's Bruce you want, rent 12 Monkeys or the first Die Hard. Skip this one.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=138&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/24/98 01:01:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/06/11 Chris F Very good movie ignore the idiots who say its crap as its a good film 4 stars
4/17/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL MADE, BY-THE-NUMBERS ACTION FILM 2 stars
7/26/06 drydock54321 not very realistic. 3 stars
2/14/06 Frank Rountree This movie had a good story, even though it was hard to believe. The acting was very good. 4 stars
10/17/05 R.W.Welch Okay conspiracy-actioner, tho too far-fetched to be convincing. 3 stars
10/25/04 bobby da squid Mediocre plot is just a rough idea. Useless role for the female lead. Inexplicable ending. 2 stars
5/08/04 Shelton Aragee One of my faves. 5 stars
4/29/04 Jorge Reyvaldo Gonzalez Really,a sucked and bad movie. 1 stars
3/20/03 Jack Sommersby A bit underrated. Full of plot holes, yet it's solid and smoothly made. Willis is superb. 4 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Bruce Willis does it again! Very exciting and pretty memorable. 4 stars
12/03/02 mr. Pink Boring piece of shit, with Willis and Baldwin giving their worst! 1 stars
8/13/02 blakers a good film 4 stars
10/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) MY friend Tom Griffin worked on this movie as production assistant! I'm better than you! 4 stars
6/03/01 Tim Webster A great movie, which saw Bruce Willis play the part of Art magnificently. 5 stars
5/31/01 Ben Donnelly good movie, well played by Bruce, and the young boy in it was magnificent 4 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin I'd rather watch Fifth Element other than this stupid plotless film. 1 stars
7/28/00 Terrie Smith Certainly not of Willis' better films; Miko Hughes as the boy saves it. 3 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright Not Willis's worst film, but certainly among the most idiotic.The boy is the saving grace. 2 stars
10/06/99 strike I just hoped at the end that the kid would die..... 1 stars
4/26/99 Michael Grimm some scenes were not very believable 3 stars
4/10/99 Shelley a good movie. i'm so used to seeing Bruce as a cop thats why i liked it 5 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder This was definatly crappy, but I don't think it's worth a 1 2 stars
12/10/98 Scion of Graveheart Rent 12 Monkeys or any Die Hard movie. Willis rules, this movie sucks. 1 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Skip this shit if you are a true Bruce Willis fan. It deserves to suck ass. Period. 1 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Baldwin and Willis are terrifyingly awful in this piece of crock! 1 stars
11/05/98 Lord Of The Dunce Seriously, if you don't think this is bad you have no objectivity. At all. 1 stars
10/27/98 Ryan_A Uh...yes, it is. 1 stars
10/25/98 Who do you think??? Its not bad you fucking morons!! 3 stars
10/19/98 Ben piece of shit 1 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Ew. Ew. Ew. 1 stars
9/15/98 Chip Taylor Go to hell, Bruce.But Demi is great, call me Demi. You have a great bush down there. 1 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee It bombed alright, but that just means it didn't make $100m. Stop the Willis rip-off. 1 stars
8/17/98 Matt I certainly hope this flick bombed, it deserved to. 1 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} More crappy Willis consumer exploitation 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Apr-1998 (R)
  DVD: 12-Apr-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast